Diamond Audio S500a/S500s HEX Speakers

Available At:
S500a/S500s HEX

5 inch Component System with tweeter & crossover

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Emon   [Jan 12, 2010]
Model Reviewed: S500A

Super quality 5*, sound like never hear before, can lisn music all my life with this speakers!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Jumpshotxpert   [May 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: S500A
Strength:

Strong hitting, quick response

Weakness:

Tweeter blows easy.

Great sounding, I did blow my left tweeter listening to Korn but it still had sounded good w/o a front left tweeter, nice base response and good treble.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JonA   [Sep 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: HEX S500s
Strength:

Incredible smooth and accurate sound. Audiophile crossover with "Rear Audio Fill" is a nice touch. Good bass response

Weakness:

Full retail price is bit steep, but you definitely get what you pay for with these speakers.

I first heard these seperates on the board at a local shop, and was totally blown away by the accurate, smooth sound that the speakers produced. I ordered a set from Onlinecarstereo.com, and installed them in my wife's car. They produced a smooth, natural and uncolored sound that I have never heard from any other car speakers. These seperates sound better than the ADS seperates I had years ago. Bass response is very good for a 5 1/4" driver, and the silk tweeter is incredibly smooth sounding. I am powering them with a Soundstream amp.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio System 220MkII (excellent, not quite as good as S500s), ADS and Polk Audio seperates.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ludetech   [Feb 28, 2003]
Strength:

perfection, makes music so much more enjoyable

Weakness:

alot of money but well worth it.

perfect. whatever sound you like you can get out of these speakers lots of bass perfect treble. gods gift to man. first time I heard in my car I was amazed @ quality crazy

Similar Products Used: mb quart, focal, infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
alan006   [Oct 05, 2002]
Model Reviewed: S500a
Strength:

Super clear, take a lot of power

Weakness:

none

The first time i heard these speakers in my friend's car, i was blown away! I'd never heard anything so clear from a speaker in my life. that's when i decided to go with the diamond hex's. I listened to the 551's in the store but they compete more with the MB quart's than the hex's. I have these speakers running off a Zapco AG650 amp with 2 JL 10w1's and they definitely overpower the subs. Once you hear these you won't get anything else

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jim ronald   [Sep 24, 2002]
Model Reviewed: diamond s500a
Strength:

every thing

Weakness:

none

I listened to them at a dealer and will not buy any other speaker now! they are the best sounding speaker ever! hopefully i can find some soon e-mail me at jm7713r@aol.com if you can get me a good deal on them!

Similar Products Used: who cares
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Marc   [Jun 13, 2001]
Model Reviewed: S500s
Strength:

Will NOT distort, great bass for a 5" woofer, incredibly clear sound, silky smooth sound will not cause listening fatigue

Weakness:

Don't under power them. You'll wish that your home stereo sounded this good.

When I was looking for an upgrade from my a/d/s a4is component set, I came across these. The look is what attracted me to them initially, but after a listen, I didn't care how they looked. These are the best car speakers I have ever auditioned. However they were a bit out of my pricerange at my local dealer. Luckily I found a set of them new on ebay. I took my chance, ordered them, and got them in. In order to give them justice, I had custom fiberglass kickpods made and lost a little foot room as a result, but I haven't had one regret. I did end up keeping the a/d/s in the car and have then now in the dash reflecting off the windshield for a bit of a fill. They seem to match perfectly! With these speakers I hear new things in music all the time!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Damon   [Jun 28, 2001]
Strength:

Sound quality, power handling.

Weakness:

None that I can think of.

Excellent component set. I listened to them in a stereo shop first before I ordered them. I was considering the M5 components and the Hex. The M5's were a little bright for me and the titanium tweeter a little harsh. Not that they sounded bad, but compared to the Hex there was a significant difference. The Hex sounded much smoother, and the sound was a little richer and thick. I have them crossed over at 120 @ 24db/oct but they could definately stand lower than that. They are getting about 75 watts per channel from a US Amps USA-150 and they are not stressed in the slightest. I have then mounted in kick panels, which are sprayed with sound deadener, and although 1/8" ABS plastic isnt exactly the ideal material for baffling speakers, they still perform to my expectations. They are definately a good buy for the money. If you wanted something that sounds better you are going to have to step up quite a bit in price.

Similar Products Used: MB Quart, Oz Audio, Altec Lansing (yes they used to make car audio), Sony, Infinity, Orion
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com