Boston Acoustics Pro Series 10.5LF Subwoofers

Boston Acoustics Pro Series 10.5LF Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

10 inch subwoofer.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Apr 16, 2020]
craigallison


Strength:

BOSTON ACOUSTICS 8.5LF, 10.5LF, 12.5LF ”Pro-Series” in my opinion were within the “top 3” of best subwoofers that money could buy. Even today I seek them out for purchase. They are pretty much indestructible, providing you have the correct in closure made for them. And yes you do have to have a box made for them do to their insanely small cubic volume requirements. I was told a sealed in closure was best and I agree because you’ll get tighter bass and the speaker will last longer since it is unlikely that overextension would occur. (1/4 cf for the 8.5LF / 1/2 cf for the 10.5LF / and 1 cf for the 12.5LF) The box for the 10.5LF should be about the size of a briefcase for each speaker. I’ve got two in my Freightliner FLD day-cab with two PM1000X1 “1000w RMS 2000w peak Rockford Fosgate amps”. I regularly try to go deaf with them and have NEVER had any issues.

Weakness:

In closure size is critical for these subwoofers. You will do damage to the voice-coil from the cone traveling too far if your box has more than the recommended cubic volume. The sealed in closure is best because it helps limit the cone travel. They are power hungry (with bass benefits lol) the 10.5lf starts sounding good around 1000 watts although I’ve seen them take 2500 watts in stride. Highly recommended subwoofer in my book!!!

Price Paid:
220
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2014]
DrBoom
Model Reviewed: Boston Pro 10.5lf

Strength:

Built like a tank, five way binding posts, rubber surround and polycone woofer, built tough and handle lots of power, Very detailed with minimum overhang, purely focused for those seeking sound quality over street bass. Tiny 0.5cuf ft per woofer, One of Bostons best products to come out!

Weakness:

Sensitivity low so lots of power to get volume, either than that, nothing!

I bought this off a friend and proceeded to download the manual from the net and made a box with 0.5cu ft per woofer for the two drivers. The woofers were being run off a Rockford Fosgate Punch 800a2 amp rated to run at 200rms x 2 at 4 ohms to the voice coils. Upon receiving power, I realised these pair of Boston subwoofers were very accurate, detailed with minimum overhang. They blended in nicely with my Boston Pro60se component speakers and my rear, boston RC51 components. The speakers were run by an old school Precision Power PC450 amplifier. The speakers suit most discerning listeners who like the sound or original recorded music compared to compressed (mp3) format but if you use them, it will still sound decent enough to get your feet tapping and your head bopping to the music. I have used many products over time expanding over 25 years and now that I am more inclined to sound quality rather than booming bass, these subwoofers suits me well. Highly recommended but don't install them in a larger enclosure as I tried before and it did not like it at all. Stick to Boston's box recommendations and it should provide you years of enjoyment. These subwoofers are true sound quality subwoofers.

Similar Products Used:

ADS R12S, Morel, Cerwin Vega, Earthquake, Kicker F15C, Boston 780LF, Boston 10LF, Pioneer, Kenwood, Rockford Fosgate P210S4,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2012]
GonZo
Model Reviewed: Boston 10.5lf

Strength:

accurate bass like no other 10" you will find. durability, and small enough for ANY vehicle.

Weakness:

wires connecting the +/- the the cone/coil. this is the only weak point on this sub. everything else is tough as nails.

i have never seen something so small produce that kind of bass. i am completely speechless! it sounds like a bad ass 12" on steroids! i have never seen or even heard of a 10' sub that can hit the deep, low bass like this sub can. it is truly unbelievable. i had to hear it myself to believe it! i am a producer at a recording studio so i really know my stuff when it comes to any kind of subs. it's what i use in my studio and my car! if you have enough money to afford this sub (kinda pricey but worth every last penny) i strongly recommend you buy this series of Boston. the magnet alone speaks for it self (double stacked magnets!) Boston really took it to Boston with this one!

Similar Products Used:

none. no other 10 can compare to this one. others may "rattle you head" more but this sub has cleaner, clearer, harder bass than any other on the market when you compare 10' subs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2007]
danny hung
Model Reviewed: Boston Acoustics Pro Series 10.5LF

Strength:

Cool, stable, Accuracy, Sound Quality

Weakness:

More power can easy handle the sub.

I also feel that the sound and bass is more powerful by my Apline 1000W amp. It can proivde you that incredible and the bass is rattling. Is a very Good product.

Similar Products Used:

SPL 12", Kenwood 700W

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 18, 2003]
Kevin
Model Reviewed: Boston 10.5LF

Strength:

All the bass that you would expect from 12" subs delivered from a 10" sub.

Weakness:

Works best with a lot of power, but too much power can destroy the sub.

This is the sub you want. The sound is incredible and the bass is rattling. I used this sub for about 4 years in two different enclosures. One custom built for my ford explorer. Then I removed it from the Explorer and installed it into my Maxima using a bandpass box. This sub had the trunk of my Max rattling so bad that I was about to get it Dyno matted. Well I'm talkin in past tens about this sub because I finally pushed it to the limit. It blew on me about a week ago. My advice is to push it with a lot of power BUT no too much I was running an Alpine MVA-100 amp. Not the most powerful amp out there, but it pushed this sub like a champ until the sub couldn't handle it anymore. So be careful how you push the sub so that you can enjoy it for as long as I did.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2003]
Kenneth Johnson
Model Reviewed: 2001Boston Acoustics 10.5lf

Strength:

Accuracy Sound Quality Versitility Quality of craftsmanship You can look at them and just tell they are the best

Weakness:

None

These are by far the best sounding and most accurate subs I have ever heard. I just cant say enough good things about them. Once you have these subs in conjunction with a Phoenix Gold amp, you will never want anything else ever again. I am running two tens 1 ohm mono on a ZX600ti. It has been this way since 2001 and I will never use anything else. I have all Phoenix Gold amps and all Boston Acoustics pro series speakers. It is as close to a home theater as you are going to get. I just dont believe better sound can be achieved in an automobile.

Similar Products Used:

There are no similar products.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2003]
johnnyjackass
Model Reviewed: Boston Acoustics 10.5LF

Strength:

Unbelievable sound quality extremely small enclosure Great power handling Unassuming looks

Weakness:

Does require an amp with alot of guts to power them; at least 400 Watts RMS.

If you want the cleanest, punchiest subs on the market buy Pro Series. These may not have the market coverage of Rockford, but they are much more accurate. It doesn't matter if your playing Jazz, Rap, Rock, classical, etc. they sound better than you would believe. What's the most impressive about these subs is that the harder you push them, the better they sound. They never run out of steam as long as you give them what they want: power.

Similar Products Used:

Phoenix Gold XMAX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 12, 2001]
John
Model Reviewed: 2001/Boston Acoustics Pro Series 10.5LF

Strength:

Power handling capabilities, clean bass, small enclosure required. LOUD!!!

Weakness:

box needs to have no air leeks what so ever. make sure you give it the correct air space boston says. i talk to the rep from there and he said .7 cu ft. is ideal.

The Boston Pro is a perfect ending to my system. I already have the boston RC620s for my mids and hi''s. I have the boston pro in an MTX thunderform for a toyota tacoma regular cab. It pounds!! I have a Punch 250.2 bridged to it going at about 400 RMS and it handles the power just fine. Works good with all kinds of music. although i would have to say it sounds best with rock, but it handles rap just fine. good clean sound. picks up every part it should. if you are only capable of only putting one sub in your vehicle i would recommend this one, but just make sure you have a good amp on it.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer Premier 10", Rockford Fosgate HX2, Diamond M3, Boston Competitor, Kicker CompVR.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 09, 2001]
Jeff Montagna

Strength:

Awesome sound quality and output. Small enclosure volume. 1/2 cubic foot for 10"

Weakness:

Quite power hungry. Use ALOT of power to get maximum output.

Awesome subwoofer. Very tight and puncy bass. I am using one 10 in a regular cab truck. With a PPIA600 bridged with all 600 watts going into it. I read some reviews from the idiots who had the 12's with all the problems. This sub will sound great, just follow the directions!!!!! Use MDF not particle board. The sub needs to be perfectly sealed!! No air leaks for maximum sound output.!!!! I used 1lb of fiberfill and the sub plays to 125db in my truck. Follow directions from BA. this sub is very very picky about air leaks in the enclosure. I had to reseal mine 2 times. The suspension should be very stiff when you push down on the cone. Excellent sub

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 18, 2001]
tollingbell
Model Reviewed: 1999 10.5 2-ohm

Strength:

Fits into small enclosures, sings half the midbass, tight tight tight!

Weakness:

Needs a LOT of power - but look at that driver and you'll know why.

The Boston Pros, in construction, fit somewhere between music subs (Image Dynamics, JL Audio, a/d/s, etc.) and death-by-bass SPL subs (Orion, Earthquake, Ground Zero). Fortunately, they combine the best of both worlds, being musical and extremely powerful at the same time. The downside is that, yes, you actually DO have to feed them that much power. Not necessarily the rated 1000W for a 10.5LF, but at least 500W. They are more musical than most subs out there, definitely in their power range. And they punch holes in the walls of your car. Expensive, but worth the dough.

Similar Products Used:

Kicker Solo-Baric 15", a/d/s, Image Dynamics - better than any of them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com