Orion HCCA 12 Subwoofers

Orion HCCA 12 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

HCCA Series 12-inch Dual Voice Coil

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 52  
[Feb 19, 2012]
mrgixxer07
Model Reviewed: orion hcca 15d

Strength:

Very strong subwoofer. Can take any amps that has 600 watts rms and play all day long these subs sounds soo clean at low feqs

Weakness:

Got to be careful with the magnet of these subs the glue will come apart between the magnet and the frame I had one that did that to me n I repaired it with no problem just got to know how lol.. just handle them with care

I love these subs I've had total 10 of these orion hcca 15's n I love them I still have 4 of these n will never sell or get rid of them I've owned soo many diffrent subs n this is far by the best subs I've played with I wish they keep making these subs unlike all these new ones weighting near 100 lbs these old school subs acually sounds just like the new ones if its in the right box n being powered right then its loud!!

Similar Products Used:

Crossfire, kicker, mtx, sony, jbl, jl audio, auidobahn, powerbase, rockford fosgate, jvc, planet audio, hifonic, re audio, soundstream, soundstrom, TC sound, power acustik, kenwood, alipine, Dr.Crankstien, memphis, kove, hollywood audio, ample audio, profile, pyle, the godfather m&m audio, impact audio, thumps audio, ma audio, mmats, dd audio, poineer, I've had soo many subs amps stereos I've been doing these for over 25 years and ORION RULES!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 07, 2010]
f5chop
Model Reviewed: orion 15 hcca

Strength:

its strong

Weakness:

none so far

just an older 15 hcca orion came with a ported orion hcca box built for the hcca 15 by orion the last system i had 2 15 rf p1 the 1 15 hits way hardergot to be hittin over 145 using a 600 watt ppi i was worried i did not have enough power boy was i wrong ppi is a great amp as well.i would buy anther in a sec

Similar Products Used:

ma audio no good,rockford p1 15s ,mtx,polk audio they dont even belong in the same legue

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 03, 2010]
danedog311
Model Reviewed: Orion 12inch HCCA

Strength:

Original USA made Orion not the newer outsourced sub

This thing trys to rip itself out of the box! 1200 watts RMS thrown at this all day long, my car has eaten 3 alternators powering it... CRAZY LOUD for one 12

Weakness:

I let you know if it is possible to blow this thing

Original Orion Products were GREAT!! I don't think the quality is anywhere near the original quality of this sub.

Similar Products Used:

Sony Xplod 10's
Sony Xplod 12's
Pioneer 12 IMPP
MA Audio HK15
MA Audio MA150XE
MA Audio MA153XE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2008]
brett
Model Reviewed: Orion HCCA 12

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

how much I wish I did this 5 years ago when they first came out.

man these things are so durable running a 1000 watts to one 12 and is pounding. I reccomend sealed boxs because it sounds so clear . sealed would be louder but not as clear as sealed. Most bang for u buck. Your not going to find a better twelve this cheap

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 11, 2008]
Cuztomarrow
Model Reviewed: orion hcca

Strength:

takes anything i throw at it wired up to my 275r got to hold cd player in hand to keep from skiping extend wires so you can stand outside car to prevent hearing damage

Weakness:

weight of speaker and needs pretty big box. Oh well You cant win them all unless its bass contests

orion hcca subs cause hearing damage play smart 1 sub Sounds better than my 3 audiobohn 12 by far

Similar Products Used:

mtx sledgehammer mmats cerwin vega stroker earthquake never used but would love to have a jl w7

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2007]
DO2ER
Model Reviewed: HCCA 15D

Strength:

ALMOST INDISTRUCTABLE, LOW POWER FOR HI SPL AND LOOKS AS FAT AS IT SOUNDS

Weakness:

THE FIRST SERIES OF HCCA 15 D HAD THE BRAID WIRES WOVEN IN TO THE NOMEX OF THE SPIDER WHICH BROKE WITH MEMORY CAUSED BY THE MOVEMENT OF THE SPIDER DURING EXCERSION. AND THIS SPEAKER NEEDED A 4 QUBIC FOOT BOX AND TWO BIG 4" DIAMITER BY 14" DEEP PORTS TO DROP

THE BEST SUBS IN THE WORLD AND IVE HELP PROVE IT WITH MANY WINS IN MY OLD MINI. I COMPETED FOR A COUPLE YEARS WITH HCCA 15D. I POWERED THIS MONSTER WITH THE TRUSTY HI FONICS MARS AMPS AT 1200RMS AND EVEN BEAT PEAPLE USING 2 HCCA 15D JUST BECAUSE MY BOX WAS CORRECT AND THAY HAD CRAMMED 2 HCCA IN TO 2 SMALL BOXES. I TOTALY AGREE WITH THE FIRST PERSON WHO WROTE AN ACURATE DIPICITION. OF THE HCCA. ALSO YOU TRY FINDING A SECOND HAND HCCA 15D, YOU WON'T AND THATS NOT BECAUSE THAY ARE DEAD IT JUST BECAUSE THAY DONT DIE AND THERE IS NOTHING YET ON THIS PLANET TO COMPARE. LETS SEE WHAT THE HCCA 2 IS GOING TO DO.

Similar Products Used:

CERWIN VEGA STROKERS, KICKER L7, JL, ORION H2'S

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 20, 2004]
TrueRMS
Model Reviewed: Orion HCCA 12

Strength:

The HCCA series of subwoofers – especially the 1999 series – do what the others cant. It is very difficult to make such an efficient woofer that can take more than a couple of hundred watts RMS, and to do this Orion made these subs with EXTREME quality control, this is why the were expensive when new. SQ is very reasonable for the amount of output you will get with a clean amp. I consider a Rockford Fosgate amp an absolute minimum quality amp for running these subs. Zapco and the old school Soundstream reference amplifiers are the best match for these subs as they will control the cone movement best, preserving as much SQ as possible. Hell, these subs are so efficient you could probably get decent results running them off a head-deck!!

Weakness:

The only disappointing thing is that there are a lot more year 2000 model HCCA’s made than the better spec 1999 series(rated at 99dB @1w@1m!!!!!!). And seeing as you can only get these second hand nowadays, finding one that hasn’t had the voice-coils clipped by an idiot with cheap amps can be a problem. In my opinion Orion should dump the H2 line and start selling HCCA’s again! I could rave on about dB readings with these subs but that is such a subjective topic and gives little merit when people throw false dB readings all over the net. Unless the dB is measured in the official way at the dash with a properly calibrated microphone don’t believe a word people say about their impossibly high 150+dB readings with only 2 subs. Im sorry but your dB reader must be a ChineseCheapie from a flea market or your placing it next to a tweeter which will throw the needle off the scale.

(This review is actually for the HCCA 15D) Well you've all read the countless other reviews on HCCA subs, and the hype about this sub is true! But what no-one seems to talk about is why this subwoofer, released 5 years ago is so much better than the competition, even today!! It is the efficiency of the woofer that allows such modest wattages to outpump the competition. The first series of 15D’s released in 1999 boasts an SPL sensitivity of 99dB @1w@1m while the year 2000 revision actually downgraded this to 96dB. This was Orion’s response to so many damaged subwoofers being returned from people putting too much power into them (the spider’s and surrounds would rip and become unglued), so the next year Orion released a more resilient revision which had slightly less efficiency but took more than the recommended 600WattsRMS without issues. The 600WattsRMS rating is based on longevity, but the subwoofer will competently handle burst’s- not peak- of 1200WattsRMS CLEAN power without question. Most people seem to get conned when shopping for SPL subwoofers by looking for a high wattage rating first, and so companies have responded by making high power-handling, chrome plated boot ornaments to satisfy this market demand. This is one of the reasons why the old school Orion went broke and was forced to merge with DEI a couple of years back. They underrated their expensive but quality US made gear and received limited sales as few people ever saw past their competitors marketing garbage. Orion has since stopped manufacture in the USA opting in favour outsourced production to Asia. The new line of H2 subwoofers have inferior SPL to the HCCA even when powered with their rated wattages (2000WRMS vs. 600WRMS) When looking for high dB readings people will typically go for products such as Fosgate, Kicker, JL, Phoenix Gold, Audiobahn, Digital Designs, Adire, Image Dynamics, Resonant Engineering, Beyond Audio and the Orion H2 series of subwoofers. These are common winners in the SPL arena but all suffer from one common trait when compared with the old school HCCA line, LOW-SENSITIVITY (usually in the order of 85dB-93dB). Although the HCCA line can’t take more than 1200wattsRMS, it uses this power to push a lighter cone than most with more compliance and more flexible surrounds/spiders. It also creates more bass, not heat. Some of the worst power guzzling sub’s come from Kicker, Audiobahn and even the new Orion H2 series of woofers. They can be rated up to 4000WRMS but when compared with the HCCA powered with 1200WRMS they still fall behind in competition by up to 12dB. It is not just a matter of comparing woofer sensitivity’s either. A quality software program such as WinISD will reveal the truth about the HCCA’s superior frequency response and SPL gain in acceptable enclosure sizes. In one case it shows you would need TWO Digital Design 9515e subwoofers (each powered with 1200WRMS) to match the SPL of ONE Orion 1999 HCCA 15D (powered with 600WRMS). You would also need TWELVE Kicker L715’s (powered with 1000wattsRMS each) to match TWO Orion 1999 HCCA 15D’s (powered with 600WRMS each). Note this is not entirely accurate because of the 3.2” of peak excursion limitation of the HCCA 15” version, but the point I make is the ratio of wattages needed by competitors to match the modest HCCA wattage demanded. This ratio matters because upgrading an electrical system to draw over 250 amps without voltage drops costs ALOT, not to mention all the extra amplifiers you need. Many people reading this will argue that what I have just stated is wrong “…Because their mate made blah blah dB with a pair of Audiobahn….blah blah’s”. My statistics stated above are based on equal electrical systems including, voltages, Capacitors, available battery current and the amplifiers with exact same output (ie. same bass boost). Another variable that changes my statement is that many people have their enclosures tuned for a large resonant peak which is where they take their SPL reading. The results I state above are based on enclosures designed for a dead straight frequency response to provide a fair basis for comparison. If any of these variables differ between two systems of course you are going to get completely different results. I commend those who own or plan to own any of the HCCA line of Subwoofers and Amplifiers. Did you know the range of HCCA amplifiers were built with Military spec’s/tolerances for reliable performance under battlefield heat stress? My primary occupation is subwoofer box design and I have not found a more well-rounded SPL sub than the HCCA series, although I highly commend the Image Dynamics IDMAX series as they have better SQ at a slight trade off in SPL. Neil

Similar Products Used:

ID, RE, DD, RF, SS, etc (people who know their stuff should be able to decipher those prefixes)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2004]
Demasi1515
Model Reviewed: Orion HCCA 12D 2ohm

Strength:

This sub will take what ever you can throw at it. Super loud, clean.

Weakness:

Power hungry.

I've always been a faithful Orion guy. Started off with 2 cobalt 12's, then upgraded to 2 xtr pro 10's, now I'm running the HCCA 12d. This is by far the best sub I've ever run. Loud, clean. I'm running this with a HCCA 250. Needs atleast a ported box with 1.5 cubic feet, and a 10" port (suggested by Orion). The sub is a little on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for.

Similar Products Used:

The only sub out there that I have heard that would be worth replacing the HCCA with is either another HCCA, or the new orion H2.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 08, 2004]
mazdatrix
Model Reviewed: hcca 12d

Strength:

capable of hitting 150s with right amp. i have a 12d with a 2250 xtr beast and this will intimidate any one who sees it.

Weakness:

the only weakness about this is YOUR inability to know what this is capable of.

this is the baddest f@#$%n sub you will ever see or hear. what subs do you know that rip its self out of a box.

Similar Products Used:

there is nothing similar to this.my one 12 is pounding harder that 2 L7 15s.thats right. the right amp and box and u have a spl machine

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 02, 2003]
littletarheel401
Model Reviewed: 12" Orion HCCA

Strength:

not alot of rms but SLAMMS like it has alot..

Weakness:

Weaknesses and 12" orion HCCA...its an oxymoran :)

AWSOME sub won me 3rd place in a comeption could win 2nd with right mods on it..really slams...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 52  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com