Orion HCCA 15 Subwoofer Subwoofers

Orion HCCA 15 Subwoofer Subwoofers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Jun 05, 2013]
crookedThebassgod
Model Reviewed: orion hcca 15.2

Strength:

Power handling woven spider

Weakness:

Heat

Don't get me wrong this things a monster it was destroying "Stuff" making ne 2 ohm amp I threw at it that is until I bought a crescendo bc3500.1 on it then this speaker went nuts believe me I easily had a 6 block radius off of 1 speaker granted I had a 2nd bat custom box and drive a 2Dr Yukon but still thing was crazy but I'd say 4000 max is almost dead on if ur playing in continuous but enough being said I fried the bad boy so power hungry? I say not hungry enough I'd give it a 3.5 out of 5 due to the fact I can't find a recone kit nowhere

Similar Products Used:

Re 5000xtx crescendo bc3500 xs power bat henchman alt 00awg

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 01, 2013]
Ashton
Model Reviewed: 2 black cone 1 silver all 12'

Strength:

all

Weakness:

needie

hcca is the best subs iv had needs alot to run right new everything dont go cheap and building a box go with orions spcs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2012]
Ramon
Model Reviewed: orion hcca 15.2

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

power hunger

great subs have 2 in a 2009 silverado crew cab took out the back seat hit hard hit 148 on term lab with 1 soundstream 3400d tower amp stock battary and alt looking to do 2 dc audio 3.5ks and 6 xspower 3400, meckman 270 alt for summer

Similar Products Used:

dc xls some around same power

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 18, 2012]
milton
Model Reviewed: 2x10" orion hcca's

Strength:

everything!!!!

Weakness:

Uhhh nothing ?????

Anyone who makes a bad review on the HCCA's are morons if you plan on running any hcca you best be ready to spend thousands to prep your car these subs are not ment to be just slapped in a car with some random crap you need lots of power first off the guy lol talking about his amp being too hot lol you dont have anywhere near enough power stoopid your lack of power is causing severe voltage drop if you have a clue what ur doing you would know that less voltage means more resistance increasing amp draw causing more heat if you were properly maintaining 12v or better your amp wouldnt get hot and cut off on voltage limits and overloads that guy with the one optima is killing his amp even two optimas of any kind may not be enough you got to remember the car need power duhhh so one battery is enough to run the car efficiently. ok now add 1500watts of longterm draw aka ONE 10" orion hcca to the system that one sub alone needs another battery just for itself to run propery then you need a beast of an alternator or your batteries will be trash in a matter of hours you need to maintain as close to a full charge on you batteries as possible if you want them to last even if you have an upgraded alternator i would suggest regularly charging your batteries to make sure they are at maximum potential and as far as what batteries to use ther is NOTHING BETTER in my opinion than KINETIK they can get expensive but you get your money worth im running kinetik batteries for those who dont know capacitors are completely worthless they dont do crap cause they have no reserve 1,2,3 hits of extreme bass and the cap is drained and cant charge until a break in the songs bass kinetiks on the other hand have a huge reserve of energy because its not just a rediculously powerfull capacitor its a battery you can accualy replace your car battery with them and power your rediculous stereo at the same time when properly sized ok so my system is perfect in my book and heres the details two 10inch hcca orions 3000watts a piece for a total of 3000rms plus maybe another 400watts rms for interior speakers plus the average maximum draw from the car maybe 1400watts thats a total of 4800watts crazy when you look at the full equasion it says i need atleast 3 batteries to run this and a bad ass alternator to keep them charged 90% of the systems i see are severly underpower cause people just dont know so technically i could get away with 2 hc2400 kinetiks aka 4800watts of power supply aka 3 or 4 traditional batteries but i went ahead and got 3 hc2400's its best to have more power than you need so you dont drain your batteries and comprimise their life expectancy not to metion we are only talking rms dont forget the addition power that orions and other subs will peek above the rms rating if you plan on slamming these things with perfection a lil bit over overkill never hurt anything except your wallet lol and im leaving room for other power hungry additions to my car suck as air ride compressors, inverter, and such im pushing these bad boys with an orion d5000 mono block amp and it doesnt get hot at all...ever its a friggin beast orion hcca's and kinetik's together equal perfection i have not listened to anything better

Similar Products Used:

ORION D5000 mono block amp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2011]
Dillon
Model Reviewed: Orion hcca 15.2

Strength:

looks very good.

Weakness:

power hungry.

I have had this sub for a little over a month. I already know im doing something wrong. this is more of a question than a review.
I bought the wrong sub for the amp lol
i have an MAaudio hk4000d and was blind to not see it was stable at 2 ohms so i have the sub wired at 4 ohms...
I have seen my friend travis play his and he hits the 4 inch excursion its amazing, I however am maybe at 1 to 2 at max...
my question is if i can buy a recone kit for a 15.4 and just change the coil.
there is a smell that comes from the woofer when i play very hard hitting songs and I know its hard on the sub its the smell of it blowing.. smells exactly like the little sony xplod we had fun blowing..
If anyone knows anything please help me out.
dbeaulac1@hotmail.com

Similar Products Used:

Rockford fasgates
P1 10
P2(x2) 12s
T1(x2) 12s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 01, 2011]
Groolie83
Model Reviewed: HCCA15.2

Strength:

Damn near indestructable.

Weakness:

Haven't found one yet.

Anyone who says these are the worst subs they have ever owned. I would love for you to post WITH PICS all of your electrical. KEEP IN MIND YOU BEST BE RUNNING 0 GAUGE CABLE!!!!! I upgraded to a HO Alternator 240A. 2 Red top Optimas. Cap. Bought the box from fatboxusa.com ( DAMN GOOD BOX!!!!!). Use to use a Hifonix 2400 amp pushing 2400 to it and it wanted more.... AMP finally went 2 weeks into it. It has cracked my windshield already. Just bought the Orion HCCA 25001 amp. Also my alternator has already began to go out. So I ordered a 350A alternator. So far all in all I am into this bad boy for about 4 grand. Everyone throwing 1000 RMS to these subs....careful you may be hurting it in the long wrong by not giving it enough. No clue what DB it can hit yet but I am sure what ever the amount is it will be retarded.

PS: If you say this sub is crap YOU did something wrong.....

Similar Products Used:

JL/Kicker

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2010]
alex arel
Model Reviewed: orion hcca

Strength:

SPL

Weakness:

SQ

alright i have been reading all over on reviews on this sub, seems to be a pretty heated debate on it. I have been in the whole car audio thing for 10 plus years now, not trying to sound like i know it all because i dont just that i have been around. The hcca, i have heard it sucks, its great, bad SQ, great SPL, its a waist of money, its power hungry, its loud. Them are just a few things i have heard about it. Well i agree and disagree with all of it. The hcca IS NOT a sq sub, in no means what so ever. It was not designed to have great sq, i mean christ look at it does it look like a mb quart or a HF? no.. but under the right conditions and in a sealed box it actually does an okay jab at the whole sound quality thing. On the other hand it is a great SPL subwoofer, i am currently running two 15.2 HCCA'S, of one stet 7k and the box is 5.8 cubes per sub, tuned to 25hz peaking at 29-30 hz. At the dash i can do a 153.5 at 30hz. have pics, trophies have papers to prove it. for an average of $450 a sub its a great investment if you plan on spending the money to power it. dont let people fool you the hcca in the right box getting the right power is not a joke

Similar Products Used:

btl, nightshade, ss audio, psi builds, mmats, and aftermath.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 09, 2009]
Scott Killian
Model Reviewed: orion hcca 15

Strength:

amazing spl and sq when done correctly

Weakness:

extremely power hungry

Anyone who says this sub doesn't deliever is a downright idiot. All of the morons are complaining about not getting enoungh bass out of it, and then go on to say they have it hooked up at 4ohm pushing less than 1000rms. This sub is an absolute beast and need massive amount of power to run it. i have mine in a 5ft ported box tuned to 32hz and im hitting 146db. Also keep in mind that this is with a factory alternator and one battery. I'm using a power acoustik BAMF5500 to power it at 2ohm pushing arounf 2300 true rms into it and it can handle mush more. This sub need to be installed correctly in a proper enclosure to boast good numbers, and pushing it with some walmart amp like some of these idiots isn't going to get it done. If done correctly this thing will blow away anything but the TC sounds woofers, but then ur looking at thousands of dollars. Give it the power it needs and it will deliver.

Similar Products Used:

friends got a 15 FI BTL and i blow him away

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 02, 2008]
Cody Oebel
Model Reviewed: ORION AUDIO

Strength:

This thing is the very definition of strength. Orion (DEI) did underate this subwoofer. Meaning It can take more continuous power than what they are rating it at.

Weakness:

Sucks a heck of a lot of power, and requires almost 1000$ of auto electrical upgrades to support it's demands. This is to say a 300amp alternator (450$+) min 3 decent sized batteries: Suggested min 2(Opti gel batteries).
Suggested Amplifier (Old School 2100HCCA)
but it depends on which model HCCA you get and the voice coil impedence rating.

Forget the idiot and his crappy AUDIOSUX IMORATAL driver. Snoop Dan posted a 148db output @ 30hz. He did it in a last option replacement of some 18's that did not come in on time. The two HCCA 15's were placed in a ported enclosure tuned to 30hz that was made for 18's. In the nick of time and install he posted at the dash 148. In the proper enclosure a single driver could easily do 150+.
You wont see any Audiobahn(CHEAP CRAP WOOFERS) ever post numbers in MECA.
And anyone here who states their doing 150+ db's best show some proof with links! It's difficult using this driver which is so power hungry has one of THE largest motor's of any woofer in it's class to do 150+ db's without modified electrical system, or HO alternator.
This subwoofer has 4" of linear excursion and they hype of 5000W burps is not hype. It can do it with no problems. Orion is not owned by ORION for those who fake their knowledge of the company, they were bought out years ago by DEI. The gentlemen posting about the 15" XTR's he used, those are manufactured by the real original ORION. Orion has come downhill in the "CUSTOMER SERVICE" department, but even being owned by DEI they are producing nice products. For the price they are a great buy, and can do the numbers if given the necessary power. The enclosure is one of the other most vital components necessary to get close to boastable numbers. I have seen the subwoofer in action and it's amazing! I am waiting to see one do real numbers though. A single Digital Design Subwoofer holds a world record single subwoofer. Their 10" subwoofer held at 164db's single subwoofer! They also hold the single subwoofer world record 18" subwoofer with the 9917. These subs can cost up to 5000$ each!
So if your just wanting an amazingly huge woofer (Size doesnt always matter in the audio world if not designed properly) and a woofer that can do competitive numbers then this subwoofer is for you. Please do add in using any model of this new HCCA line, is going to require an after market alternator, or a huge tank of parrallel installed batteries. THE BOX is very important, this is an SPL subwoofer, though Orion reccomends a sealed enclosure! ODD and not something most real competitors have ever heard of, it's almost like ORIONS design team is holding something out.
So.. if you have the cash buy one, and post a video of it in action. The 30mm XMAX is impressive, but thats not the most excursion a woofer has , there are others with further travel! Some hold world records.
OH AND IF ANYONE POST YOU NEED A CAPACITOR TO SUBSTITUTE BATTERIES.. DONT LISTEN THEIR IDIOTS.
I wont even begin putting formula's here, do the research yourself! IF you desire to give more stiffening you can add a capacitor, but it actually acts more as a load, then helping you. An ALT + BATTERIES = SUFFICIANT ENOUGH->per one HCCA 15.2 @ 3000Watts RMS.

Similar Products Used:

Owned
Orion XTR 10, 12, 15
Orion XTR series 2, 10, 15
Orion XTR series 3, 15
Orion HCCA (older original HCCA) 15
Orion C series (DEI OEM) 12
Orion P series (Currently still own) 10

Owned many other's and am an Orion fan, this HCCA series hopefully will get ORION back in the boards and get a name for themself's out there like old days.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 18, 2007]
bigphilly16
Model Reviewed: orion double 15s

Strength:

they look pretty

Weakness:

orion

i bought two of these a month ago and hooked them up. they are by far the worst 15 inch subs i have ever had. i own a sound system shop outside of la so i have heard almost every sub out there and this is the equivalent to a sub from walmart. ive heard 10's that hit harder. as for the sound quality, that is what really took me back. i would've thought that even though they didn't have crap for power they would atleast have decent sound quality but when they hit, they aren't precise at all its like listening to the same note for the whole song. if you are paying this kind of money on 15s just stick with audiobahn immortal series or some jls.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com