Orion XTRPRO 12 Subwoofers

Orion XTRPRO 12 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

XTRPRO Series 12-inch Dual Voice Coil Subwoofer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Feb 16, 2017]
K.K.
Model Reviewed: Xtr pro 124d

Strength:

after the break in period these orions are badass

Weakness:

long break in period,dont like the termination plat form lugs they need to be bigger lugs and some type of quick termination setup because its a little rough installing into box because they heavy

dont pay attention to alot of the so called audio quality gods they may steer u in the wrong direction but the truth is orion XTR PRO SERIES AND UP ARE HANDS DOWN IN THE TOP 10 BEST CAR AUDIO!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2008]
John Soligo II
Model Reviewed: Orion XTR Pro 12

Strength:

After three month break in (New subs require a break in) they really take off!!! Can take a LOT of CLEAN RMS...keeping your wits and understanding excursion.

Weakness:

There bigger brother makes them look bad...the 15xtr pro and the HCCA12d

If can be true to yourself and not try to be stuck on one brand or keep an open mind about REAL sound and quality,you need to try these if you have the money to do so.The Kicker L7's,Rockford P?'s,JL slash whatever for your hard earned dollar WILL NOT COME CLOSE to the Xtremly HARD hit I found with a set of these on a Lanzar Optidrive,then bought an Orion HCCA 250 and after using the intelliQ Never will I use anything else again. Sans my new set of HCCA 12d's and this Orion 200NT amp.I can't imagine the look on peoples faces when the window comes out of the mustang....AGAIN!!!

Similar Products Used:

ALL of em'

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2003]
Matt
Model Reviewed: Orion XTRPRO

Strength:

Definetly able to turn the heads (if not get the heads out of the cars), and upset your nagging neighbours.

Weakness:

Well I thought that at low volume they weren't too crash hot, but once the volume kicked in they were kicking it.

A guy at my work had a pair of Orion 10" NT, and so when I started looking for subs I didn't look any furthur than Orion and their XTRPRO range. I picked up a pair of 12s (wanted to go better than my mate) and they were hooked up to some full range, reference Alpine amp which got awfully hot considering it was getting a 1ohm load (shop jewed me into the amp when I didn't know much about car audio at the time). Anyway, I made the box which was under spec (didn't take sub basket into account) but this didn't matter as I still got many complaints from neighbours, and was able to shake fences with roughly 300WRMS going through each sub. At the time of the system I was listening mainly to dance / club / dnb music, and it was absolutely joy. I never was able to get an SPL test done as I ended up losing my license and had to sell my car, but I still got my subs and hope to use them soon (for SQ purposes- full SQ freak now) as they've been sitting in their box for the past 3 years and I've heard good responces from Orion owners in regards to the SQ of these subs.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 07, 2003]
BABYFACEPLAYBOY
Model Reviewed: ORION XTR PRO 12

Strength:

HARD HITTING LOW BASS THAT TRAVELS PRETTY FAR. THIS IS THE KIND OF SUB THAT WILL ANNOY ANYONE SITTING IN THE CAR NEXT TO OR IN FRONT OF YOU. I GOT MANY PEOPLE LOOKING BACK AT ME WHEN I WAS SLUMPING MY SUBS. NOT TO MENTION ALOT OF TICKETS.

Weakness:

BLEW THESE SUBS OUT ABOUT THREE TIMES. MUST HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE GAIN CONTROLLER!!!

WHEN I FIRST PICKED UP THESE SUBS I WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED. I WAS SHOPPING AROUND AT THE TIME WITH SOME KICKERS IN MIND. I HAD PREVIOUSLY OWNED A PAIR OF COMPETITION SERIES KICKER SUBS AND WAS PRETTY HAPPY WITH THEM. ANYHOW,THE REASON BEING FOR MY DISSAPOINTMENT WAS THAT WHEN I BOUGHT THE SUBS I HAD NO IDEA THEY HAD TO BE BROKEN IN. THE SALESMAN THAT SOLD ME THE SUBS PROMISED THAT IF I WASNT HAPPY WITH THEM I COULD EXCHANGE THEM FOR ANY OTHER SUB IN THE PLACE. THE PLACE STOCKED JL, ROCKFORD FOSGATE, EARTHQUAKE, AND SOME OTHER NAME BRANDS. WITH THAT IN MIND, I DISHED OUT $550 BUCKS FOR A 1250 WATT AMP AND THESE TWO SUBS IN A SEALED BOX, INSTALLED. WHEN MY SYSTEM WAS FINALLY INSTALLED I WAS VERY UPSET AND THOUGHT THAT ORION WAS JUST STRAIGHT LAME. I WENT BACK IN THE STORE AND TOLD THE GUY THAT SOLD ME THE SUBS THAT I DID NOT WANT THESE SORRY ASS SUBS AND MY KICKER SOLO BARIC L7'S. HE SAYS TO ME " WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT DUDE YOUR CARS BEATING OUT OF CONTROL". I LAUGHED WHEN HE SAID THAT AND I JUST TOLD HIM TO GET ME MY KICKERS BY MONDAY. BEING FRIDAY AND ALL HE SAYS " OK JUST KEEP THESE SUBS OVER THE WEEKEND AND COME BACK ON MONDAY". I THOUGHT OK FAIR ENOUGH. I DROVE MY CAR HOME PLAYING SOME RAP MUSIC THAT I REMEMBER USED TO SLAM WITH MY KICKER SET UP. I WAS SO PISSED OFF AT THIS I JUST SHUT IT OFF. OCCASIONALLY THROUGH OUT THE WEEKEND I WOULD TRY TO CRANK IT UP TO THE MAX BUT IT STILL SOUNDED WEAK. MY FRIENDS KEPT SAYING THAT IT POUNDED AND THAT I WAS JUST TRIPPIN OUT. SURE ENOUGH AFTER THESE SUBS BROKE IN, THEY KICKED MY ASS. I WOULD PULL UP TO MY FRIENDS HOUSES AND THEY WOULD LITERALLY TELL ME THAT THEIR WINDOWS VIBRATED AND THAT MY SYSTEM WAS VERY VERY LOUD. AFTER HEARING THAT I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THEM. DEFINETELY A NICE HARD HITTING SUBWOOFER. AFTER HEARING THESE ORIONS (AFTER THE BREAK IN PERIOD OF COURSE) I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THEM. NOW I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT THE ORION H2'S ARE CAPABLE OF DOING. IT WONT BE LONG BEFORE I UPGRADE TO THESE MONSTERS.

Similar Products Used:

KICKER COMPETION SUBS WITH A KICKER ZR 360 AMPLIFIER. THESE SUBS CANT TOUCH THE ORION XTR PRO 12!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 07, 2003]
BABYFACEPLAYBOY
Model Reviewed: ORION XTR PRO 12

Strength:

HARD HITTING LOW BASS THAT TRAVELS PRETTY FAR. THIS IS THE KIND OF SUB THAT WILL ANNOY ANYONE SITTING IN THE CAR NEXT TO OR IN FRONT OF YOU. I GOT MANY PEOPLE LOOKING BACK AT ME WHEN I WAS SLUMPING MY SUBS. NOT TO MENTION ALOT OF TICKETS.

Weakness:

BLEW THESE SUBS OUT ABOUT THREE TIMES. MUST HAVE SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE GAIN CONTROLLER!!!

WHEN I FIRST PICKED UP THESE SUBS I WAS VERY DISSAPOINTED. I WAS SHOPPING AROUND AT THE TIME WITH SOME KICKERS IN MIND. I HAD PREVIOUSLY OWNED A PAIR OF COMPETITION SERIES KICKER SUBS AND WAS PRETTY HAPPY WITH THEM. ANYHOW,THE REASON BEING FOR MY DISSAPOINTMENT WAS THAT WHEN I BOUGHT THE SUBS I HAD NO IDEA THEY HAD TO BE BROKEN IN. THE SALESMAN THAT SOLD ME THE SUBS PROMISED THAT IF I WASNT HAPPY WITH THEM I COULD EXCHANGE THEM FOR ANY OTHER SUB IN THE PLACE. THE PLACE STOCKED JL, ROCKFORD FOSGATE, EARTHQUAKE, AND SOME OTHER NAME BRANDS. WITH THAT IN MIND, I DISHED OUT $550 BUCKS FOR A 1250 WATT AMP AND THESE TWO SUBS IN A SEALED BOX, INSTALLED. WHEN MY SYSTEM WAS FINALLY INSTALLED I WAS VERY UPSET AND THOUGHT THAT ORION WAS JUST STRAIGHT LAME. I WENT BACK IN THE STORE AND TOLD THE GUY THAT SOLD ME THE SUBS THAT I DID NOT WANT THESE SORRY ASS SUBS AND MY KICKER SOLO BARIC L7'S. HE SAYS TO ME " WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT DUDE YOUR CARS BEATING OUT OF CONTROL". I LAUGHED WHEN HE SAID THAT AND I JUST TOLD HIM TO GET ME MY KICKERS BY MONDAY. BEING FRIDAY AND ALL HE SAYS " OK JUST KEEP THESE SUBS OVER THE WEEKEND AND COME BACK ON MONDAY". I THOUGHT OK FAIR ENOUGH. I DROVE MY CAR HOME PLAYING SOME RAP MUSIC THAT I REMEMBER USED TO SLAM WITH MY KICKER SET UP. I WAS SO PISSED OFF AT THIS I JUST SHUT IT OFF. OCCASIONALLY THROUGH OUT THE WEEKEND I WOULD TRY TO CRANK IT UP TO THE MAX BUT IT STILL SOUNDED WEAK. MY FRIENDS KEPT SAYING THAT IT POUNDED AND THAT I WAS JUST TRIPPIN OUT. SURE ENOUGH AFTER THESE SUBS BROKE IN, THEY KICKED MY ASS. I WOULD PULL UP TO MY FRIENDS HOUSES AND THEY WOULD LITERALLY TELL ME THAT THEIR WINDOWS VIBRATED AND THAT MY SYSTEM WAS VERY VERY LOUD. AFTER HEARING THAT I WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THEM. DEFINETELY A NICE HARD HITTING SUBWOOFER. AFTER HEARING THESE ORIONS (AFTER THE BREAK IN PERIOD OF COURSE) I WAS VERY IMPRESSED WITH THEM. NOW I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT THE ORION H2'S ARE CAPABLE OF DOING. IT WONT BE LONG BEFORE I UPGRADE TO THESE MONSTERS.

Similar Products Used:

KICKER COMPETION SUBS WITH A KICKER ZR 360 AMPLIFIER. THESE SUBS CANT TOUCH THE ORION XTR PRO 12!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 01, 2002]
johhny

Strength:

none

Weakness:

everything

they suck

Similar Products Used:

nothing

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 31, 2002]
Jade

Strength:

Pounded SOO DAMN HARD!! the sound was Tight & very hard hitting

Weakness:

dont handle enough power - goin to Upgrade to HCCA!

I got(2-10z) these to replace my JBL load & clear series -- They hit soo damn hard- i already had a 12" 2intense -- They were prob tha best woofers ive owned-- BUT they are FOr sale now-- NEED HCCA!! SOME1 buy my 2-10" XTR Pro'z!! (used less than 6months)

Similar Products Used:

hrmm - maybe JLW6 ---

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 24, 2002]
khronox
Model Reviewed: 2001

Strength:

nice 500 watt power rating.. beautiful design.. dual voice coils.. nice looks.. sounds great and pounds like no tomorrow.. scare the crap outta yur friends that think only one sub sounds weak

Weakness:

none really.. not the prettiest sub out there.. but its in yur trunk how often are you gonna look at it? sike i look at mine all the time :)

bought this sub after looking at several other subs.. picked it even over the HCCA b/c the hcca was gonna eat a hole in my wallet and i wanted more SQ than SPL. nice sub that doesnt need a whole lot of space. Hooked it up to one side of my RF power 800.2 (yeah getting another xtrpro very soon) and this thing pounded. I played it with rap, rock, and classical music. It sounds and performs beautifully. I could literally abuse this sub and it wouldnt even flinch. I put 1000 watts (subs max rating) into it and it performed perfectly. Thats kind of what i''ve come to expect from orion subs. the hcca can do 1200 with no problem also. If you are looking for an excellent sq and spl sub then i would highly suggest you look into this one. Sub''s i''ve heard/used dont hold a candle to this one.

Similar Products Used:

sony, JL, kenwood, kicker

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 19, 2001]
Jerome Puno

Strength:

YOU NAME IT! Definatley the best sub in its price range. I paid $200 for both.

Weakness:

None! Best all around sub! Picks up tight and low bass with no problems. They dont hit low bass as low as the HCCA's but its ok! I guess they could look a bit more stylish but who gives a rat's a$$ if you're hitting high db levels! Right?

I have 2 2NT 12's and I hit a 151.8 using a crossfire 1000D amp and a custom box. Basically they're the same as the XTR PRO'S. I cant believe I hit that db level with just 2 of these subs in my Integra! Big BOOMIN Bass for a reasonable price..........

Custom boxes with the right cubic space helps out alot! I built my own!

I use to have 2 Stroker 12's in my car but when I got these 2NT's, I just started using one Stroker as an ashtray and I gave the other one to my grandfather. His alarm clock speaker broke, so I replaced it with the Stroker. It still did'nt make a difference so he bought a small sparkomatic speaker and gave the stroker to my 6 year old cousin.He brought it to school for show and tell and the teacher thought it was a record player or just a big top or something. I guess you can tell how much I like the CV Strokers! Huh? ORION RULES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Stroker 12's(Garbage),MTX Thunder 8000,RF power DVC, he2, hx2! NO COMPITITION! ORION'S PRODUCTS ARE #1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 19, 2001]
Rebecca Stamos
Model Reviewed: 1997

Strength:

Jawsome power. These things hit harder than any subs I've ever heard. They The price is nothing for the quality. They have a honeycomb carbon-fiber matrix with quadruple voice coil and 4 inch excursion! I've competed in two major competions with these and placed well every time.

Weakness:

At extremley high volume the bass gets slightly choppy.

I've tested it against many other subs and nothing compares except for the THUNDER 8000's. Nothing compared. If you want great subs at a reasonible price than these are the subs for you.

Similar Products Used:

This blows out basically all other subs in the price range except for the all omnipotent THUNDER 8000's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com