volfenhag ZX-4712 Subwoofers

volfenhag ZX-4712 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

  • 1000 Watts Max Power
  • High temperature 4-layer voice coil
  • Double damper
  • Heavy duty industrial magnet structure
  • Push type terminals

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Jan 08, 2020]
tjevans1029


Strength:

i have noticed that they hit harder at lower frequencys and they go really loud, i have one of the original volfenhag 1600w amps and they sound great, the the only problem is that they are only recieving 368w rms instead of the actual power they need, i keep overheating my amp, i just ordered a skar audio amp that pushes 1000w rms @1 ohm to push them, they will be wired in parallel to equal the load, cant wait to see what they do, mine are already starting to destroy my ported box they hit that hard.

Weakness:

none yet they are great

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 26, 2012]
Brian
Model Reviewed: zx 4712dvx

Strength:

Sound great for price. aluminum cone and basket, rubber surround. good spring terminals. good parimators, x-max

Weakness:

none so far

I traded a amp I bought for $20.00 for a pair of these on craigslist. Wow, they sure sound good for cheap subs. Have them in 1.15ft each with 300rms. Would get alot more from the right vented box. Need another one, my amp don't like them at 1 ohm so I have to run them at 4 ohms. Some may disagree but I prefer a good spring terminal to binding post. They seem to work loose and inside the box where you can't see them is a bad place. Great sub for the money

Similar Products Used:

Jl audio, rockford fosgate, sony, ultra linear.mcm, jbl,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 23, 2010]
Chuck
Model Reviewed: Ford / Mustang

Strength:

These subs hit hard and have very crisp sounding bass . The 12 inch 1200 watt sub I bought out performed the Orion XTR I had .

Weakness:

None yet

I would recomend these subs to other people . For the price you can't go wrong . My 12 inch sub is running off a 360 watt Kicker Impulse 4 channle and it sounds very good for the cash I spent on it.

Similar Products Used:

Orion XTR , Fosgate Punch XLC , and Clarion

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 07, 2009]
Justin

Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

best ever my friend has rockford fosgate he spent 300 for both together and i spent 60 and mine is bumping as good as his he just wasted his money

Similar Products Used:

rockford fosgate

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 31, 2008]
jake

Strength:

Hit hard, Sound Clear, Good solid bass feeling. The type that makes your ears tingle and your throat jump

Weakness:

gotta be precise about your box and amp for best sound and quality cant just throw them in any box with any amp

Many people dont understand that underpowering subwoofers can blow them just as easily as overpowering them. Volfenhags are power hungry subs so if your running like 350 rms their not gunna hold up very well if you up the wattage to about 500 and also make sure you have a big enough box most subwoofers come with directions that tell you what dimensions the sub sounds best at..... Also if you lookn at volfenhag go for the 47 series and not the 48 they are made much better.

Similar Products Used:

Jackhammers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 02, 2008]
Cyberslayer
Model Reviewed: ZX-4712

Strength:

I did like the aluminum cone. Very stiff and light.

Weakness:

Both voice coils burnt within days of each other. They did sound nice at lower volumes but up in turbo mode they flattened out. (Running on a Rockford Fosgate P6002 350 watts RMS per channel @ 2 Ohms) They say "German Concept" but they are really made in China! (boycott China!) The bolts on the rear are only for show. The magnet structure is glued together.

Stay away from these subs! Not worth the "deal" you'd think you'd get.

Similar Products Used:

I spent $139 on a pair of Pioneer TS-W307D4 from newegg.com (made in Mexico.) An extra ten bucks apiece but these are twice the subs the others were. They don't let me down in turbo mode.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 28, 2008]
VIGILVV@AOL.COM
Model Reviewed: ZX4712 DVX

Strength:

VERY POWERFUL

Weakness:

NONE YET

I BOUGHT 2 SUBS FOR MY CADI AND CADIS ARE HARD TO BUMP.WELL THE SPEAKERS OUT PERFORM ANY OF THE SUBS IVE BOUGHT EVER.I HAVE A INTERFIRE 1100 WATT AMP TO THEM AND A PORTED COMP BOX SOUND BEUTIFUL DEEP BASS STRONG HIGH BASS EVEN BETTER SET OFF CAR ALARMS.THESE ARE TRULEY THE BEST SUBS IVE EVER OWNED GOT EVERY BODY JELOUSE HOW GOOD THEY SOUND I RECOMEND THESE TO ANYONE

Similar Products Used:

KICKER,MTX,MEMPHIS,JL AUDIO,PIONEER,MENACE,AUDIO PIPE AND MA AUDIO

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2006]
Austin
Model Reviewed: Taurus

Strength:

cheap for how loud they are

Weakness:

none yet

these are great subs for the price! i had 2 sony xplods before my volfenhags and the volfenhags are so much louder and clearer sounding. i recommend them to anyone who wants a good system.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 30, 2006]
Matt
Model Reviewed: zx-4712

Strength:

Looks pretty sweet with the red, hits certian frequencies pretty good

Weakness:

It doesnt hit real deep at high levels

For the price you pay, your geting a good deal. They are great for a starter system but ive noticed at very high volumes they sound like they get distorted and lose there deep bass. Im powering them with a Profile AP2000, both subs are wired for 2OHMs. They sound good with rock music, and pretty decent with rap.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 30, 2006]
Dan
Model Reviewed: ZX-4712

Strength:

Great base for a better price

Weakness:

havent found any yet

Sound very good especially for the pirce. I have a pair that I only paid 100 bucks for so they are a great value also. They are running in a ported enclosuer with a kenwood KAC 7201 amp which only has 460 rms watts and 800 max and they still out base my friends car where he has 4 audiobhan subs. The only problem I have had is that my amp keeps overheating, but that is my fault cause I dont have an amp that can provide as much power as the subs ask. I did this because I didnt think that the subs would actually handle as much power as they advertised, Boy was I suprised. Overall a great sub for an even better price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com