volfenhag ZX-4715 Subwoofers

volfenhag ZX-4715 Subwoofers 

DESCRIPTION

  • Dual voice coil
  • Surround pure rubber
  • 180 oz magnet circuit
  • 1200 Watts
  • Vented magnet structure

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Dec 31, 2016]
Jared Oliver
Model Reviewed: 15" 1200watt volfenhag

Strength:

Handles lots of different types of music, i listen to everything. For being in a sealed enclosure i dont lose them completely until 38hz

Weakness:

Im sure there are some but havent found them yet.

So ive had these for almost 2 years now. 2 15" 1200watt volfenhags in a sealed enclosure wired to 1 ohm beigbmpushed by an m.a. audio hk-1998 putting out 1200watt rms @ 1ohm.

I paid 200 for both subs enclosure amp and capacitor so i figured if i blew them i wouldnt have lost anything but they wont die.

When i first got them the previous owner had the gains and bass boost cranked way up. Typical but sounded like $#&*. Found the box they were in was falling apart and was no longer sealed.
Purchaced a new sealed enclosure and since these say they handle down to about 40 hz i set a tone and played with the gain until they clipped at 2/3rds volume of my radio and then turned them back so they werent clipping. No bass boost on on the amp and no equalizer set on the head unit.
This is key to any sub lasting and sounding good.
I run a kenwood dnx 7140 head unit so am able to set x-overs through the head unit. So i set the subs to handle 180hz and down.
I always got compliments of the sound from these guys and ive had my fair share of systems. My stock door speakers could handle the volume and the voice portion would become distorted so just recently installed 4 kicker 6x8's to compliment these subs and make the sound crisper all the way through.

The only issue i have had with these subs is that they will cut but thats due to my amp and trunk getting to warm and going into protect mode in the warmer months.

They are no spl maker but are a great bang for your buck. Im definitely thinking of going to a vented enclosure to tune them in for lower freq. But im more about the overall sound quality compared to making earthquakes.

Similar Products Used:

2 12" rockford fosgate punch p1 500watt rms ported
2 10" powerbass 750 watt rms ported
2 15" kicker comp cvr purchased and tested but box was garbage and sold them for what i paid for them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 22, 2013]
Jacob cooper
Model Reviewed: volf comp 15 1200w

Strength:

Great if you know the seaker baddest 15s I've ever owned

Weakness:

Not a lot of excursion low low power rms is bs on these

I bought a pair in a sealed box with a kenwood amp and pioneer head unit I had them in my extended cab silverado for about a year a little more. These subs are cheap but if you know what your doing there great I ran them on a no name 800w amp for a long time. Hit but wasn't to great. Upgraded to a 2400w Boss class D monoblock(Phantom series) had them blowing alpine type Rs out the water kicker comps hifonics cerwin vegas mtxs a guy with 5 boss phantom "2500w" 15s on a soundstorm 6500w 2 channel barely any compatition I wwa hitting 151 DBs eventually voice coils burnt up after putting in a 2.4 farad power cap.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 12, 2009]
Riley

Strength:

techno music

Weakness:

rap $hitt

ok for all those people who talk $hitt about this German concept. This is a techno subwoofer. The thing plays at 15 000 herts. the average for a subwoofer is around 800. It is better to be put in a ported box and to buy a pair with around 200 rms running to each speaker but it really dosent matter. If you like boom boom this is not what your looking for. If you looking for a subwoofer that plays fast music and all the lows even the lower mids then this is the best out there.

Similar Products Used:

....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2008]
krikus050
Model Reviewed: volfenhag 4715

Strength:

price and value. have only impressed people since i have had it.

Weakness:

even when i give it the right amount of power I have still pushed it to where it maxes out on it's excursion and have to back off a little.

I am redoing my previous review which can be found below. So far people seem to either enjoy this sub or hate it. Many of the people who hate it have not given it a proper chance. I would like to tell anyone considering this subwoofer should not go with a sealed box because they suck. The best alternative is to go ported and tune somewhere between 23 and 30 hertz.

The worst part of this sub is that it takes a very very large box to make it sound good. Most people probably have not put it in the right box. At best it wants an 8 cubic foot box and at least 4 cubic feet. If going for the larger box tune to 23 Hz. You will get a pretty flat response all the way to 20 hertz. If going for the 4 cubic foot box tune to 30 hertz. It will not go as low as the other box BUT you will get really good output at 35 hertz.

If you want a sub that you can shove in a ready made crappy box then look somewhere else. The new shallow series from jl audio can be put in amazingly small boxes.

An alternative to having a huge box size would be iso-barik loading. You should look into this if you want great low frequency response. problem is it takes 2 subs for about the same spl and you need to power 2 subs. Good thing is you can halve the box size.

Similar Products Used:

12" pioneers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 29, 2008]
Tom
Model Reviewed: volfenhag 2400 watt15s

Strength:

Straight poundin

Weakness:

distortion blow very easily

Volfenhag subs hit real hard but they are very over rated ive had my subs for two weeks and there already blown. I was only pushing 900 watts to two 15 inch 2400 watt woofers Volfenhag subs suck the big one

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 05, 2007]
ricky
Model Reviewed: saturn

Strength:

ok size magnet for cheap sub produced ok sound at low volume

Weakness:

red sticker glued to magnet. magnet plate glued on bolted only for show,easy to burn coils if not carefull no xmax movement at all looks like the sub moves 2mm before max out noise then very distorted. german concept made in china yeah never buy brand again better than sonys though wich are horrible.

broke in for a week when powered at 300 rms on rockford punch amp voice coils started burning. max out at very low volumes on certain bass notes only type box sound even close to decent was sql vented box. still even ive heard way better 1000 watt subs alpine e series sound wich are only 750 max each so volfenhags are seriously over rated.

Similar Products Used:

power acoustik, cerwin vega, polk audio, alpine, rockford, cadence, lanzar, legacy, ma audio, pyle, audiovox, concepts, ultra linear, mtx, kicker, kenwood, memphis audio, acoustik audio wich suck horribly, and mb quarts

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 17, 2007]
Clayton

Strength:

anyone who isn't into car audio thinks it sounds amazing

Weakness:

distorts left and right, sure it plays at 500w, but it sounds like fingernails on a chaulkboard

Hellz yea youz should get youz handz on dis sub nukka. this mutha hitz so hard, my afro bounces.

honestly, this sucks don't buy it, you get distortion like crazy, its junk.

Similar Products Used:

many subs, bought this to mess around with

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 15, 2007]
Mike
Model Reviewed: Pontaic Trans-Am

Strength:

great performance as well as good looks.

Weakness:

none that i've found

I bought this sub after I heard a friend talk about them. I have never heard a sub hit with the clarity this one has. even mounted inverted I still couldn't turn it up more than half way before i couldn't handle the volume. ran it with a 1200 watt max 2 channel monoblock SPL amp. and you know power when your car becomes the box for the sub. had it for about a year and it still hits as strong as the first day i hooked it up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 06, 2007]
Kirk
Model Reviewed: volfenhag 4715

Strength:

price and value. have only impressed people since i have had it.

Weakness:

even when i give it the right amount of power I have still pushed it to where it maxes out on it's excursion and have to back off a little.

I have had this 15" sub for over 2 years. Still working strong. Many people's problems are running too much power to it. it says 600 rms right on it. Don't ever give it more than that. Turn the gain down on your big amps if needed. I could not ask for a better bargain subwoofer.

Similar Products Used:

only other subs i had were pioneers 12"

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2006]
matt

Strength:

deep, powerful bass! GREAT!!!

Weakness:

i got ripped off for what i payed for em :(

i have 2 of these subs and i think they are great. im pushin 1000 watts into them both and man do they pound! i havent had a problem out of either one of them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com