Mugen Twin Loop System Mufflers

Twin Loop System

As a result of Mugens quest for the ideal design for racing engines, they have developed the Twin Loop Silencer exhaust system. It surpasses normal systems in power and torque over the full range, and provides the required silencing and the clear Mugen-Honda sound. The

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
mike thomas   [Dec 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: prelude/sh
Strength:

been in snow,rain,mud,and salt still holding up good over 5 years.

Weakness:

none

i have a full mugen exhaust header back with a test pipe in place.the sound of this is great ive never heard a car like this at low speed a nice rumble at full throtlle a steady scream.it would remind you of a lambo or ferarris muffler it compliments your motor.

Similar Products Used: dc,apex,hks,greedy, good products but either raspy or you sound like every body else.uuse mugen to set yourself apart.i no its expensive as hell but trust me its worth it in the long run.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
mark   [Jun 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: honda civic si
Strength:

Great sound!
good performance gains over stock
rare (because of price)
extremly good fabrication
less police attention

Weakness:

price
may make 1-2 hp less then some other straight thru mufflers

Great sounding muffler!!

when looking for an exhaust for my civic i was afraid i was gonna have a very loud ricy kind of tinny sound if i bought certain exhausts. I then read up on this marvelous muffler and foudn out it was perfect for what i was going for. the sound made my b16 sound like a motor twice its size very deep growl down low (not too loud) the open it up it and it really comes alive, like a simphony tones only vtec and mugen can make.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mugen_addict   [Jul 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: RSX Type S
Strength:

Fit and finish, torque gains and sound.

Weakness:

$$ but worth it. If you have to ask why, perhaps you shouldn't buy it.

Excellent. Beautiful. Superb. And P.S. kinda like the other poster said, Mugen is THE official aftermarket builder of Honda performance parts. Started in I believe 1973 by the son of the founder of Honda. All in the family, and all super sweet stuff.

Similar Products Used: Mugen aero, mugen engine, oil, radiator cap, intake, header and cat, wing, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Adrian   [Jun 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: JDM Prelude SiR
Strength:

Overall quality
Original design
Quiet sound
Can't notice any power loss over straight thru 5Zigen Fireball
Mugen brand & logo etched on the tip =)

Weakness:

Rather heavy - to be very pedantic
Price & availability: new one would cost me NZ$2K for the catback system

I bought the rear section only, second hand in immaculate condition. It is off JDM Accord Torneo F22B, so needs custom piping from axle back to the inlet of this gorgeous muffler.

It's a whole new experience: never seen a muffler so well built before (Remus,RS*R and HKS Super Dragger included), sounds relatively quiet, and yet it's the closet thing to straight through muffler without the noise which is a problem at warrant of fitness check. Performance is great, can't notice any loss power over my old 5Zigen straight through muffler...and I'm quite senstitive to any changes with my Lude.

Its peculiar but almost artistic shape tempted me to use it as a house decoration but that would be silly =)

The bottom line is: once you have Mugen Twin Loop, you will NEVER want any other muffler brands/types...unless you own Italian supercars which can't use Mugen =)

Similar Products Used: 5Zigen Fireball
Hayame (forgot the type)
Stock
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Aaron   [Jun 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Honda Accord
Strength:

quiet unless pushed hard

Weakness:

looks like a trombone at first but then realize it looks more badass then a ricer fart cannon and it sounds better too

The muffler sounds amazing on my 94 honda accord LX non-vtec it is not raspy at all and sounds good all throughout the range , i feel the power bump down low definatly

Similar Products Used: fart cannon 4.5 inch'
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EK-GSR hatch   [Nov 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Civic Hatchback
Strength:

-great sound -quiet enough (cops don't notice" -not too big (all you see is the tip, the muffler is tucked perfectly behind your bumper) -DEFINATELY WORTH THE MONEY -sounds better than my CD player! I listen to MUGEN when i'm on the freeway! ^_^

Weakness:

-NONE

This exhaust sounds GREAT. It has a very nice low growl that doesn't become deafening fart noises at high rpm like other exhausts. It's still quiet even at wide open throttle VERY NICE. If you are running n/a on a honda/acura this is a MUST for an exhaust system, don't go out buying some piece of crap $75 muffler and have it welded on! this fits perfectly, I didn't need any modification except for welding new flanges onto the cat. I recommend that if you only buy the muffler and not the full system, please install a resonator! I installed just the muffler for dyno test before installing the B-pipe and it sounded like RICE =( With the B-pipe and resonator on it was nice and quiet =)

Similar Products Used: -stock exhaust
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance Sirvis   [Apr 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 94 Integra
Strength:

Design - Craftsmanship - Fit - Sound & Power

Weakness:

Ummm....

This is the best made system I've ever seen! It fit perfect and looks great. It is quiet and does not look like a cannon. No more modified exhaust tickets! My car sounds well tuned and has a low pitched purr that sounds great on the high end too. Nice mid range power and torque that you can feel. $975.00 seems cheap for what you get. I loved my Trust (Greddy) sport exhaust but this one does not attract the PoPo5rizo.

Similar Products Used: Greddy Sport
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
h22pwr   [Oct 22, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2001 Honda Prelude
Strength:

deep, clear throaty growling exhaust note (no farting, hooting, coughing sounds) beautiful design quality workmanship weight is much lighter than stock no low end torque loss mid-top end torque/hp gains envy of the masses who settled for less

Weakness:

$1000 price tag $1000 price tag $1000 price tag (but worth it IMHO)

Let's not beat around the bush: The bottom line is that everything that all the good things you've heard about Mugen products are absolutely true. I'll admit that I was as skeptical as anyone would be when shelling out over $1000 for an exhaust system that not one person I know has or had ever even seen up close. The closest I came was a video of someone with a Mugen 'Lude exhaust doing a pass at a track somewhere. So, what made me take the plunge then? Mostly Mugen's well-respected reputation for its' R&D/testing and overall quality. Ok, and I'll admit that and all the "Oohs" and "Ahhs" you get when you even whisper the word Mugen anywhere real Honda heads are. When I called for an install appointment, the tech at the shop asked me how fast I could get there after I said "Mugen exhaust" (he even corrected my pronunciation like it was blasphemy or something), then when I got there pulled another guy's Prelude out of the bay and left it in the parking lot so that he could work on mine; just because he had never installed/seen.heard one before. Mugen is to Honda what Nismo is to Nissan, TRD is to Toyota, MazdaSpeed is to Mazda, so on. They are considered in Japan to be the official Honda aftermarket product developer. Not Spoon, not JUN, Mugen. Doubt me? Ok, fact: the stock exhaust on the Honda S2000 is licensed from Mugen for use by Honda. They know Hondas. On the site they said the system was 100% bolt-on and they weren't kidding; the exhaust install took tech less than 25 minutes start to finish. The defense rests. Now, for the exhaust itself. First of all, the workmanship is immaculate; when they said polished, they meant polished. When it was first delivered and I tried to take some pictures, I had to turn off some lights and the flash because the reflections in the finish were ruining my pictures. Tight TIG welds all around, JASMA (Japanese Automotive Sport Muffler Assoc.) ID plates on the piping and canister, "Mugen Power" plate on the canister and engraved on the right side of the tip. It came in 2 boxes that were so light I could have carried them both myself with one hand (except the box with the pipe was about 7-8 feet long!). Nothing I've ever seen compares to the tip design. You really can't appreciate it until you see it up close. As for any official hp/torque gains, I haven't had the Lude dyno'ed again since I added the exhaust

Similar Products Used: I've used 2 others (GReddy, etc) but NOTHING was similar or is even close to this!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
h22pwr   [Oct 22, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 2001 Honda Prelude
Strength:

deep, clear throaty growling exhaust note (no farting, hooting, coughing sounds) beautiful design quality workmanship weight is much lighter than stock no low end torque loss mid-top end torque/hp gains envy of the masses who settled for less

Weakness:

$1000 price tag $1000 price tag $1000 price tag (but worth it IMHO)

Let's not beat around the bush: The bottom line is that everything that all the good things you've heard about Mugen products are absolutely true. I'll admit that I was as skeptical as anyone would be when shelling out over $1000 for an exhaust system that not one person I know has or had ever even seen up close. The closest I came was a video of someone with a Mugen 'Lude exhaust doing a pass at a track somewhere. So, what made me take the plunge then? Mostly Mugen's well-respected reputation for its' R&D/testing and overall quality. Ok, and I'll admit that and all the "Oohs" and "Ahhs" you get when you even whisper the word Mugen anywhere real Honda heads are. When I called for an install appointment, the tech at the shop asked me how fast I could get there after I said "Mugen exhaust" (he even corrected my pronunciation like it was blasphemy or something), then when I got there pulled another guy's Prelude out of the bay and left it in the parking lot so that he could work on mine; just because he had never installed/seen.heard one before. Mugen is to Honda what Nismo is to Nissan, TRD is to Toyota, MazdaSpeed is to Mazda, so on. They are considered in Japan to be the official Honda aftermarket product developer. Not Spoon, not JUN, Mugen. Doubt me? Ok, fact: the stock exhaust on the Honda S2000 is licensed from Mugen for use by Honda. They know Hondas. On the site they said the system was 100% bolt-on and they weren't kidding; the exhaust install took tech less than 25 minutes start to finish. The defense rests. Now, for the exhaust itself. First of all, the workmanship is immaculate; when they said polished, they meant polished. When it was first delivered and I tried to take some pictures, I had to turn off some lights and the flash because the reflections in the finish were ruining my pictures. Tight TIG welds all around, JASMA (Japanese Automotive Sport Muffler Assoc.) ID plates on the piping and canister, "Mugen Power" plate on the canister and engraved on the right side of the tip. It came in 2 boxes that were so light I could have carried them both myself with one hand (except the box with the pipe was about 7-8 feet long!). Nothing I've ever seen compares to the tip design. You really can't appreciate it until you see it up close. As for any official hp/torque gains, I haven't had the Lude dyno'ed again since I added the exhaust

Similar Products Used: I've used 2 others (GReddy, etc) but NOTHING was similar or is even close to this!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
turbosi1999   [Oct 06, 2002]
Strength:

Construction is excellent. Sound is deep and quiet. Performance is there espcially at vtec.

Weakness:

Good for N/A cars only. Turbo - need a bigger diameter to get the full potental of car. Wise they made a 3' dia. twin loop.

Perfect. Not to loud yet the performance is there.

Similar Products Used: Universal mufflers (carbon fiber) suck Advice- Do it right the first time.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com