MSD Coils Ignitions

Coils

All of the Blaster Coils are designed for improved spark output! Special 100:1 windings are used to provide maximum build-up of voltage! These windings are held secure and kept cool in an oil filled metal canister. The tower assembly is molded of durable alkyd material due to its high dielectric characteristics while wide spaced brass primary terminals prevent the possibility of spark.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Fred Townes   [Mar 29, 2017]
Model Reviewed: 454 Chevy
Strength:

CRAP !!!!!

Weakness:

Quite working in less than three months !!!

Quite working in less than three months !!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Car racer   [Jun 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 8226 Blaster coil for 1993 Trans Am
Strength:

It looks good.

Weakness:

It is not reliable.

Installed as a replacement for my stock GM coil. The MSD delivered absolutely no improvement in any way over the stock unit. Only 3 months after it was installed it died in the first rainstorm the car had experienced that summer. I paid $160 for a tow home and checked everything except the coil. It couldn't be the coil right? It's brand new right? Wrong. I finally tested the coil and it was delivering a weak current. I bought a $25 replacement and the car started right away. This is the second time I have had problems with MSD products in as many buys. I will not buy from them again.

Similar Products Used: Stock coil (it worked for 14 years). Aftermarket coil, two years later several rainstorms, floods, torrential downpours an still works like a charm.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
liggettj   [Feb 28, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Ford
Weakness:

I have had the wires before and they are awesome.

These Mazda Motors are crazy. I had the Jacobs Ignition and the freakin bumbs sold out. I am very dissappointed. The jacobs coil is 65K. I am so about power. I am thinking of trying the MSD 10 on a 1.8L motor.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam   [Dec 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: civic si (HB)
Strength:

-better gas milage -looks better in the engine -running a stock coil is so uncool

Weakness:

-dont expect extra power, unless u have alot of intake mods (like: manifolds, ingectors ect) -u have to buy a cap -u have to drill -instructions they give u SUCK

The blaster ss coil is a good product. right now im not running alot of extra fuel yet, so im not getting much extra hp. This is one of the things u have to bye if u dont want to foul out your plugs if u want to be running more fuel (i only have aem V2 cold air and headers). The only negitive thing is you need a msd distrubitor cap. dont make a custom cap, that cr*p dont work. you also have to run better spark plugs and spark plug wires if you want the coil to truly work. to get the full effect im going to invest in the new MSD Digital SCI+ Ignition Control system.

Similar Products Used: MSD Spark plug wires, Bosch plugs, msd cap
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
b n   [Mar 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 1996 Honda Accord Lx
Strength:

+noticable gain throughout RPM range +stronger pull +faster accerleration +car runs a lot smoother +makes the exhaust sounds deeper +worth the money to invest in

Weakness:

+the only bad thing about this is the installation instruction. It is very bad. The manual doesn't show details. It shows the wrong wire for my car to hook up to (for 96 ACCORD, the trigger wire is the green one, not the blue one, the blue wire is the tachometer output signal). Not only that, it doesn't show the complete set up, I have to go online to look for other people 's tips and techs how to install it. The installation is simple is straight forward but I follow the manual, it confuses me. All you need to do is to know which one is your stock positive and negavtive wire.

I have the MSD 6A box with MSD Blaster 2 Coil for less than a month. It is really good! It adds a big improvement to my car, very noticable gain through out the whole RPM range. My car has an AEM cold air intake, catback, and many other serious mods. I hear a lot of people say that the gain is small, barely notice it. That depends on what else you have under your hood. I definitely feel the stronger pull on highway, the accerleration is faster, car runs smoother, and make the exhaust sounds deeper. Great price for some power gain. It is a good thing to get because it works with any cars , not limit to any specific make/model.

Similar Products Used: Stock ignition coil!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
glenn408   [Feb 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 94 Prelude
Strength:

Great product when working.

Weakness:

Will leave you dead in the middle of the road or highway. Have fun pushing your car.... don't say I didn't warn you....

About 5 months into using a blaster 2 coil, my car died while idling at a light. I eventually got it to start again, but it took me 3 days to Troubleshoot the problem to the coil. Have fun when your pushing your 3000 lb car off to the side of the road when traffic is behind you. Hopefully it isn't raining at the time...... (It wasn't in my case, but wouldn't it just piss you off even more?)

Similar Products Used: Switch to Crane stuff.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
4
bwoodson18   [Oct 01, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 1998 Civic
Strength:

better than stock, better gas mileage, overall good value

Weakness:

none that i've found yet

installed after turbocharger and this product really helped my car idle better, run smoother, and is better than the accel ignition stuff

Similar Products Used: accel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
honda3gprelude   [May 16, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 91/prelude
Strength:

more power. saves on my starter too.

Weakness:

none yet

I have a blaster SS this thing is great!

Similar Products Used: accel. but thats nothing like this
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ligdiggler1   [Jan 03, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 80 Dodge P/U
Strength:

The price of the coil was the same as an OEM and it had an exact fit.

Weakness:

None that I can see

I have a 76 5.2L 318 in a 80 dodge P/U with only 5 out of the 8 Cylinder''s fireing on it. I bought the coil to hopefully help it out and it did a great deal and for the price paid I can''t complain. It idles much smoother and runs a little stronger now. Usually just a coil upgrade to a vehicle won''t do much but in my case with 3 out of the 8 cylinders firimg it helped out a lot.

Similar Products Used: Jacobs Ultra coil. Jacobs coil is better putting out 65K volts VS MSD''s 45K but the Jacobs coil also costs $150-160 VS MSD''s $30-40. If you want the ultimate coil and don''t mind the price go with J
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bob   [Aug 31, 2000]
Model Reviewed: 1978 Jeep CJ7
Strength:

I out this coil on an older Jeep CJ7 that I restored and wanted a little more power. Why you can't FEEL the difference I can tell that the engine starts a little quicker, idles better. Facing facts that this Jeep is more for off road fun than drag racing, its nice to know that I have a coil that will never be overwelmed by whatever the little 304 V-8 needs as far as spark. I will soon be getting one for my C4 Corvette to replace the stock one. It is about the same price as OEM (+/- $50)

Weakness:

None. Installation just like stock. I also used their wires to complete the red look. Good quality stuff.

Worthwile investment, escecially if you need an new coil anyway. Trash thay OEM unit and get more volts.

Similar Products Used: Accel. They seem just like any other mass produced part - cheap.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com