MSD Distributors Ignitions

MSD Distributors Ignitions 

DESCRIPTION

MSD Billet and Pro-Billet are the finest performance and racing distributors available. Every feature is designed to provide the best in performance and endurance to top off your ignition system.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Nov 01, 2018]
ivebeenconned


Strength:

FAILED after 10 to 12 starts, 9 months after fitting. We had bought it from Summit 2 years ago Summit wasnt interested, MSD quoted $11.00 to $110.00 depending on how serious the fault was, so we mailed it to MSD, They sent us Invoice $65.00 for the repair, BUT later we found they had taken $262.00 from my Credit Card. They have ignored all emails. I have reported them to UK Financial Authorities. BEWARE of MSD !!!!!

Weakness:

RUBBISH QUALITY -- RUBBISH COMPANY

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
1
[Jun 11, 2010]
Car racer
Model Reviewed: MSD Optispark Distributor

Strength:

Decent bearing, cap construction. It looks good.

Weakness:

Unreliable.

I bought this unit new. It was a new product from MSD to replace the original GM Delphi unit (some owners complained were problematic) that lasted 90,000 miles on my 1993 Trans Am. The MSD came with a peculiar (read CHEAP) O-ring gasket that was almost difficult to install in the unit properly. Mine slid off the rim and squeezed the housing upwards until it rubbed the rotor. In 1600 miles the unit began to fail. I sent it back to MSD at my cost, who then honored the warranty and did basic repairs, and advised that they had a 'special tool' for installing the problematic O-ring seal. I installed it properly the second time. 1500 miles later the unit failed again, this time the screws attaching the rotor to the unit had come loose. The rotor was also rubbing against the housing again, despite the properly installed seal. I bought a new generic made in China distributor off eBay, similar to the GM unit, and have had no problems in 4000 miles. MSD charges a premium price for their product but didn't deliver on quality. The absence of a properly designed gasket to seal their unit and poor design/assembly is intolerable at their prices. I still have the MSD unit, but it is not worth the postage or fee to have it fixed. I'll probably just end up throwing it away.

Similar Products Used:

GM Optispark distributor (good). Made in China distributor, 4000 miles and still works like a charm.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 03, 2006]
Jordie
Model Reviewed: 8360

Strength:

Looks pretty, billet is always nice

Weakness:

Unreliable,expensive,wont get you home,hard to find service parts.

For some unknown reason a very small piece of the reluctor broke off and small fragments of metal became attracted to the magnetic pickup leaving me stranded with a no spark condition.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 03, 2006]
Cuda66
Model Reviewed: Pro Billet

Strength:

It uses a stock FORD pick-up coil and reluctor so don't think your buying some new state of the art handcrafter piece of VooDoo Magic. It's just a piece of aluminum spun out on a CnC Lathe and finished with off the shelf components. This is a RACE only piece and in most cases will not make your street hot rod go any quicker, if anything it'll give you a tuning nightmare. Before you decide to empty your wallet put a timing light on your engine and see what the initial timing is with the vacuum unit hooked up do you think it'll run with 18* RACE ONLY

Weakness:

Maximum limiter bushing is 18* which means you can only run 18* intial for a total of 36*. Try and buy a cap at your local Auto parts store, then think about that trip your planning 200 miles from home....Pay up your AAA Membership. RACE ONLY

I agree with most of the Manufacturers propaganda.....but.... RACE ONLY

Similar Products Used:

There is plenty of good performance rebuilders out there that can and will build you a really good distributor for your classic car or street machine for 1/2 the money and it'll probably perform better and be way more servicable down the road. Search "Distributors" +Mopar, +chevy or +ford and find a good distributor company, your money will be wisely spent. RACE ONLY

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 15, 2003]
Randal
Model Reviewed: Ford Pro Billet

Pro billets suck. They are very hard to hook up to a msd 6a ignition

Similar Products Used:

Ford Dura spark

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 30, 2003]
Chris
Model Reviewed: MSD Billitech Distributor

Strength:

Good looking, easy to install and it makes horsepower!!!

Weakness:

None except that they don't give it away for free :(

Wow, pulls so much smoother up top! My Mustang is heads, cam , intake, exhaust modded and this thing was the ticket. I feel as if the car picked up about 10 hp from 5500-6200 rpm. Already it makes 311 RWHP and 329 RWTQ. With this and the MSD 6al I hope the car will make 330 RWHP. Direct replacement for stock

Similar Products Used:

Stock piece of timing jumping $hit...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2000]
Joseph Scaramuzzo

Strength:

Quality of part, performace gains and technology used. Plus it looks really cool.

Weakness:

None really....possibly high cost

I highly recommend a MSD distributor for anyone who's serious about performance. I have installed 3 complete MSD ignitions (coil, box, and distributor). The GM HEI distributors can be expenssive. I've installed the product on a 5.0 Mustang, a 454 Blazer, and a 69 Mustang 351W. Each time the install was simple and performance increased, but more important, performance gains of other modifications optimized. I've also had great service from MSD. My 351W needed a special distributor due to my highport heads and intake. They custom made me a unit using parts form thier distributor for a 460.

Similar Products Used:

Mallory, Accel.....really don't compare

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 26, 2001]
Kris
Model Reviewed: 1966 mustang

Strength:

overall quality, performance

Weakness:

had to buy new wires to fit the distributor cap

looks great, drives great, very little tuning needed and installed within an hour. Much improved overall performance (otherwise stock 289). Very noticable at highway speeds and high rpm. Points style distributor would bog and skip, MSD stays smooth at all rpm's

Similar Products Used:

OEM points style, does not compare

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com