Comptech Ice Box Intakes/Filters

Comptech Ice Box Intakes/Filters 

DESCRIPTION

Gets added onto our air intake kit. Picks up air behind the turn signal. Makes 8 hp and 7 ftlb over stock air intake on a car with our headers and exhaust. Won't suck up water! For Honda and Acura applications.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jul 07, 2006]
corey
Model Reviewed: acura integra

Strength:

run even with my friend with an integra. same drive, engine, and year just i have a four door. Assuming his short ram gives him no horsepower and then calculating horsepower to weight ratio i would have 149hp 7+ over stock.

Nice sound, quiet but growls when you give it more.

looks stock
carb legal
very improbable hydrolocking
company focuses on honda and acura engines

The diameter of the pipe looks like it could flow a turbo diesel, restriction what is that.

You can use it with stock intake tube

plastic to keep air cooler

Weakness:

it comes from comptech
if you want bling dont go for it.
a little pricey for plastic, but you pay for the engineering

found out comptech is ten minutes away from my house and drove the teg there and purchased the foam filter and the icebox, but not the polished intake tube.
purchased seperately first the filter was ~$50 and the ice box was 160 plus tax. The hardest part was ripping the stock airbox out. That thing is ridiculously unnecessary. If you can get the airbox out you can install the icebox. Took about 45 minutes to install. Worst part is puting on the lower bracket that is right next to the ac lines(tight fit) Nice sound good pickup. plus you can take off the turn signal SCZAMMM intant ram air.

Similar Products Used:

aem short ram
open stock box
both of which were louder

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2003]
mike
Model Reviewed: Civic with b18c1

Strength:

Low end torque Better throttle responce

Weakness:

None.

Overall Great product! One of the best intake's i've seen out there. Proven.

Similar Products Used:

Injen CAI

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 24, 2003]
Bobby Moua
Model Reviewed: ITR

Strength:

The ice box is very nice and the looks looks mean...

Weakness:

Maybe a little to quiet. Needs a little more noise when hitting 3000-5000 rpm.

Nice intake...

Similar Products Used:

AEM Short Ram

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Dec 31, 2002]
Traysliding-com
Model Reviewed: 95 GSR

Strength:

Quiet, no one knows you have it. Great power response. No bogging in power even in the summer time and even on VERY hot days.

Weakness:

Fitment on the Icebox to the intake is a question. Goes in smooth and works fine, but it looks like it could fit just a little bit better if the engineers took a little bit more time.

This for both the Short Ram and Icebox. The products are made of very high quality materials. Fitment is pretty good. Though the top of the icebox doesnt latch on very well, but good enough so that it doesn't fall off or move around. It stay put. The icebox is designed very well.

Similar Products Used:

AEM Short RAM AEM Cold Air InJen Short Ram InJen Cold Air

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2002]
Mike M
Model Reviewed: 00 Civic EX

Strength:

Low end to mid range torue Responsive throttle No water ingestion risk Good design

Weakness:

expensive

The Comptech intake combined with the Ice Box that draws cold air from below the headlight is the ultimate set up. It made nice low end to mid range torque and a responsive throttle response due to the high flow filter. I like it better than those cold air filter on a stick setup.

Similar Products Used:

AEM cold air intake Stock air box

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 23, 2002]
sivic00
Model Reviewed: 2000 Honda Civic SI

Strength:

More power than stock and comptech short ram. Don't hear annoying whistling from short ram intakes. Nice sound when combined with apexi n1 catback. Don't have to work about hydrolocking engine.

Weakness:

Price, but you get what you pay for.

Great intake, comptech quality parts, making carbon fiber cover for the ice box to add to carbon fiber hood, not as noticeable as aem style intakes

Similar Products Used:

AEM cai, which got water into my engine, even with the air bypass valve properly installed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 05, 2002]
Sean W
Model Reviewed: 2001 ITR

Strength:

Quality,Quality,Quality

Awesome Intake. Great Comptech quality. Sounds great and makes good HP.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 08, 2001]
Matt

Strength:

Comptech Quality, Quiet or deep throaty sound. No fear of hydrolock, stock appearance

Weakness:

None.

Great intake. Comptech quality, great deep sound, yet still quiet when you want to cruise on the highway or around town.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 08, 2001]
eric
Model Reviewed: 2000 civic si

Strength:

it almost looks stock (had the intake pipe powdercoated black) and its also a CAI. you dont hear vtec kick in

Weakness:

the price and an unofficial dyno sheet comparing AEM CAI, Injen CAI, and Comptech Icebox showing that Injen had a couple more horsepower at certain RPM. you dont hear vtec kick in

the sound is a lot quieter than DC Sports DAC but a little louder than stock. the car feels more responsive now and i dont feel the power loss i had with the DAC after the driving around and sucking up hot air from under the hood.

Similar Products Used:

DC Sports DAC and stock

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 18, 2001]
chris
Model Reviewed: 01 integra gs-r

Strength:

horsepower gain u can feel!!! worth ur $.. no fear of hydrolock

Weakness:

none

very very sweet deep sound. not as loud as other cold air intakes(aem,iceman).. great horsepower grain u can feel. no fear of hydrolock

Similar Products Used:

i used aem cold air intake, great intake but annoying at wot. and makes me nervous when i drive in bad weather (rain)..not much horpower gain w/ bypass valve..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com