Futura Super Sport GLS Tires

Futura Super Sport GLS Tires 

DESCRIPTION

T Speed Rated to 118 MPH Siped Clock Tread Steel Belted Contruction Dual Tread Compound 50/60/65/70 Series Raised White Letters UTQG 440-AB (50 Series 15" 440-AC)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 24  
[May 01, 2013]
Ray
Model Reviewed: S-10

Strength:

Price, one of few white letter tires available in a 60 series.

Weakness:

Alot of negative reviews about the Futura tires. keep in mind anything over 5 years old should be replaced. Budget price tire soft side wall.

Any used tire or tire 5 years or older may fail at any time, especially if out doors!
Most people buying a futura are looking for cheap, may not have the best driving habits, curbs, pot holes, Alignment, Proper tire Pressure, tire plugs and patches all play a part. Don't expect a $300 set of 4 to do what a $1000 set can.

Similar Products Used:

Just bought a small S-10 truck and it had 3 different types of tire, with plugs etc, wanted a new set for piece of mind.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 14, 2010]
Fred C Dobbs
Model Reviewed: 1976 mercdes benz 450sel

Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

cheap

I bought futura touring radials years ago for an old car I drove once a month or less. The tires were several years old but had less then 7500 miles on them. All four bubbled under the tread or seperated. The last tire I had to change looked brand new but I guess it should since the treadwear was 560. However it was no longer round.

worse tire puchase of my life.

Similar Products Used:

Don't skimp on tires

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 08, 2009]
Gerald C

Strength:

They are black!!

Weakness:

You put them on a car.

I bought 4 of these tires for my 2005 impala, which my wife drives with mt children as passengers. 3 of the 4 tires suffered catastrophic failure with more than half of the treadlife left.
If you are into suicide, these are the tires for you.if you hate someone enough to murder them, buy them a set of these puppies, game over!!If ever a death trap was concealed in petroleum based substances, that trap is a Futura GLS Super Sport, sorry dinosaurs your tar pits are obsolete!
I will not ever buy a Futura tire again, even if it is to make a tire swing! Not fit for rubber mulch.

Similar Products Used:

Tires (actual ones)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 30, 2009]
baran220
Model Reviewed: 235/55/16 Futura GLS tires

Strength:

Good below 30K miles, they are cost effective compared to others.

Weakness:

After 30K Miles they go away and in a Camaro that handles well, it is very pronounced. Also, I live in the North East and it seems that these tires do not like the cold, especially cold and wet weather.

Tires had less than 20,000 miles when I bought my 2000 Camaro V6 Coupe. I have put 13,000 miles on the car/tire in one year. Tires felt and drove great until they went over 30,000 then they fell off drastically. Wet traction, ride, feel, the cold and/or hot weather really have a different effect on these tires. In the heat they feel and are have good handling, in the cold they ride and feel terrible. Now that they have over 30,000 miles the rear traction has gone away tremendously from a standing start. I have not pushed them in the wet because I like my Camaro too much to trust the tires now. The strange thing about them is this; they don’t build that much air pressure even after highway driving @ 65 or 70. Normally a tire will build a couple of pounds of pressure, these don't? If you run them at 30 PSI cold and go on a long highway trip your actually wearing them out!

Similar Products Used:

I have 4 cars and I have used every type of Goodyear, Bridgestone, I hate Dunlop tires, they are worse. Goodyear has a good tire most types, it is to bad they are such a rip off with their prices.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 30, 2009]
jackpepper2000
Model Reviewed: P225/50/15

Strength:

Dry roads they are a great tire.Good price if you can stay alive long enough to enjoy them

Weakness:

Just cann't see me running them ever again.

Ok, here goes.I bought my friend's 89 Mustang GT Conv.I bought it cause it's a classic. it has the Futura 225/50/15 on the front. They seem to be great tires,the next thing I knew my right front tire sepperatied with a great big bump on it.And havn't had the car but just 6 months.Now I got on the web page and read all the bad things here, I just cann't bring myself to ever buy another Futura ties,Thxs for the posted notes...

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 18, 2009]
kevin
Model Reviewed: chevy s10

Strength:

awesome handling in the rain, i have never experienced any loss of control.

Weakness:

they have to be purchased at pep boys

i bought a truck with one brand new tire on it. it was a futura super sport, so i replaced the other three.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2009]
Phillip Stephens
Model Reviewed: futura gls super sport

Strength:

they look good

Weakness:

tires are bumping up not even 10,000 miles on them

my tires 4 I bought originally have less than 10,000 milesI replaced one that bumped up last month and this week another bumped up , i check my pressure each week i dont understand this Ibought another the same style and type last month is this one gonna go bad also

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 06, 2008]
Supra1984
Model Reviewed: Toyota Supra

Strength:

Price point looks handling, treadwear

Weakness:

Not much grip after 30K miles, especially in rain

I am on my second set of these tires. Really good grip when under 30k miles. In winter of 2003 I was able to drive to work on ICE. I was able to get about 50K miles on a set with spirited driving

Similar Products Used:

BF Goodrich TA radials

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 24, 2007]
Jim Mullinex
Model Reviewed: chevy 1500 silverado

Strength:

Extremely long tread life.
Zero maintenance for me.
Decent looks.

Weakness:

Wet weather traction.

I bought these tires because of the price. On dry pavement the were great. Wet or snow, they sucked ...but I got 70000 miles out of them, and probably could've gotten 20000 more. I never once had to put air in them. We would joke about them being solid rubber throughout. Good tire for the money.

Similar Products Used:

BFG Comp T/A (fast wearing tires)
BFG Excentia GT (better in wet weather)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 10, 2006]
Luke
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen GTI VR6

Strength:

-Grip pretty decent
-Come in hard to get sizes (195/45/r15)
-Cheap price

Weakness:

-Slide when pushed really hard
-Tread pattern looks cheap

I have these tires on the back of my GTI. The car has a limited slip (posi-trac, torsen, whatever you want to call it) differential, H&R cup kit, and Bilstein sport shocks installed. The car handles ridiculously amazing and these tires have held up to exit speeds out of corners over 70mph without losing grip.

I am able to get the car to oversteer with them if i go into a turn at a certain angle, but its easy to avoid and easy to compensate for. I believe they do grip very well for what they are and im supprised by the preformance of the so called "crap tires". Im sure they aren't a match for the potenza's on the front, but i have kept them on the back. Im might put them up front just to experiment. Final verdict, these are decent tires, good grip at (at least for not the drive wheels), and good value overall.

Similar Products Used:

Worse than the Futuras:

Goodyear Eagle GT (Garbage! Not recomended!)
Goodyear Eagle LSA (Even worse than the GT's!)

Better than the Futuras:

Bridgestone Potenza RE910 (One of the best tires i've ever driven on)
BF Goodrich T/A Traction (Also an amazing tire, comparable to Potenza's)
Toyo Proxxes 4 (Very very good tires, especially for the money!)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com