Nitto NT-555 Tires

Nitto NT-555 Tires 

DESCRIPTION

This ultra high performance radial tire accentuates all aspects of pleasure in driving your street machine.The NT-555 is designed to transfer power efficiently to the road, provide superior and reliable traction, even on wet surfaces, resist tread wear, provide high speed driving stability and yield a quiet and comfortable ride. ZR-W speed-rated, up to 168mph. Available in 16-18 inch sizes.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Dec 23, 2015]
Bret
Model Reviewed: Corvette

Strength:

Sticky

Weakness:

Terrible tire shake. No amount of balancing would correct. Had to have them shaved, and they still bounce, just not as bad.

Would never purchase again

Similar Products Used:

Yokohama. Longer wearing. Very smooth

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 14, 2012]
jessie nath
Model Reviewed: NT555

Strength:

Great Tyre. Stable at high speeds. Cornering is tight even with brace struts.

Weakness:

Most Tyre shops in Vancouver BC don't carry them on hand. Not great for Canada's cold weather climate an ever changing.

Awesome hats bout it.
20" BOSS 336 staggered
Fr 235 35,s
Rr 265 35
2000 mustang vert US Highway patrol conversion.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2012]
Karl
Model Reviewed: Mercury Marauder

Strength:

Dry and wet traction, cornering, noise.

Weakness:

Snow (although its a summer tire, I tried)

Amazing tire. i drive an 03 Marauder and have a 4.10 final drive ratio and with the 265/50/18 nt555 in the back i only get minor chirp at WOT from a stop, and on the road I never loose traction (its even difficult to get a good slide in even when its intentional) but what made me want to write this review was when I was doing 140 in the rain, and was able to take light banking turns without worry. GREAT TIRE!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 02, 2011]
roger davis
Model Reviewed: 295/45-zr18 nitto 555

Strength:

good traction and grip, good tread wear for a performance tire.

Weakness:

developes noise as they wear, tend to hydroplane in anything more than a light rain

Nitto warranty s****.I'm not talking road hazard, try getting something done if a tire is out of round.

Similar Products Used:

good year f1

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 09, 2010]
john
Model Reviewed: cobra

Strength:

none at all.

Weakness:

everything they suck ass.

sucks fat nasty ass.

Similar Products Used:

wooden wagon wheels

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 26, 2010]
MIKE123
Model Reviewed: audi s4

Strength:

awesome tire's some of the best I have had. These tires offer comfort and securty in both wet and dry conditions. also these tirs have great feed back for normal and aggressive driving habits.a+++ for anyone with the passion to drive.

Weakness:

traction a at temp a instead of aa at a but then they would ware quicker>>>>

all around a great tire and would recommended to anyone great bang for the buck.

Similar Products Used:

kumho ecsta supra

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2009]
Jeff
Model Reviewed: Ford Mustang GT

Strength:

Grip, turn-in, road noise, wear, ride quality, price

Weakness:

Could have slightly better straightline traction in the wet.

These tires kick ass. I purchased these in June after my old Kelly EVO-1's were toast. Since then I have put 6k on my tires, including in-town driving, highway driving, and racing. These tires have relentless grip. I am running 255/40/17's and the handling is unreal. On a stock suspension setup w/live rear axle, I can beat MR2's and IRS cars in the corners. These tires hold the road extremely well and are very very predictable. In wet weather they have excellent cornering traction. These tires are extremely quiet and very composed on rough roads. So far, treadwear is excellent. They appear to be brand new after 6k. Very meaty tread design, great cornering, excellent grip, everything you could want in a perfomance tires.

Similar Products Used:

Kelly EVO-1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2007]
Laurel
Model Reviewed: Corvette Coupe

Strength:

They look cool, easy to break loose if you're trying to show off.

Weakness:

They're just okay, nothing special, better tires can be had for the money.

I got these tires nearly new on a set of wheels that I needed. The only reason that I got them was because they were mounted on the wheels that I was purchasing, and I saved about $1000 this way. I was initially happy with them as they seemed quiet enough at freeway speeds, and did okay in the dry. They're a joke in the wet if you have a car with any amount of torque. I can't count the number of times I've gone to change lanes or slowly accelerate up a hill and lost traction. It's irritating, and makes you look like you're trying to show off. I recently did a track day, and as I have no particular fondness for them, left them mounted on my wheels for the day. The first couple laps around the track I was very impressed with their grip. After they heated up properly, I felt the opposite. Though they lose traction in a linear and predictable fashion, they still lose traction way too early. A friend with a similar Corvette with Bridgestones the same size was able to carry over 30 mph more through one turn. For a similar price, I'd get Falken Azenis RT615's, or for a little more, and good wet traction, Bridgestone Potenza RE750, or for really good wet traction, Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3's.

Similar Products Used:

Bridgestone Potenza RE750

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 09, 2007]
Laurel Larsen
Model Reviewed: Corvette Coupe

Strength:

They look cool, they're cheap, they're okay for daily driving, it's easy to break them loose if you want to show off.

Weakness:

They don't get very good traction, for similar money, get a set of Azeni RT615's

I got these tires nearly new on a set of wheels that I needed. The only reason that I got them was because they were mounted on the wheels that I was purchasing, and I saved about $1000 this way. I was initially happy with them as they seemed quiet enough at freeway speeds, and did okay in the dry. They're a joke in the wet if you have a car with any amount of torque. I can't count the number of times I've gone to change lanes or slowly accelerate up a hill and lost traction. It's irritating, and makes you look like you're trying to show off. I recently did a track day, and as I have no particular fondness for them, left them mounted on my wheels for the day. The first couple laps around the track I was very impressed with their grip. After they heated up properly, I felt the opposite. Though they lose traction in a linear and predictable fashion, they still lose traction way too early. A friend with a similar Corvette with Bridgestones the same size was able to carry over 30 mph more through one turn.

Similar Products Used:

Bridgestone Potenza RE750

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 26, 2007]
Kalven
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Trans Am

Strength:

Tire Looks Cool

Weakness:

No wet traction, short tread life.

I really like the look of the tires, but have a few complaints, the wet traction is just nonexistent. The tires do not grip when turning in wet weather causing sideways sliding, however fun it may be, it sucks when cops are behind you. Tires loose traction with my Trans-Am even when taking a turn in even in second or third gear from a full stop. Dry traction is good, but you can break traction without much effort even on dry roads. For traction I liked my old “BFGoodrich Comp T/A” tires much better. I’m not impressed with the treadwear I have just over 9000 miles, about to rotate the tires myself and my rear tires are almost at their wearbar. The front tires look very worn too. I would buy the “BFGoodrich Comp T/A” or “Cooper Zeon Sport A/S” instead of the “Nitto 555’s. again” I have a manual Trans-Am with out traction control, so if you have an automatic or are equipped with traction control you results may very.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com