Sumitomo HTRZ II Tires

Sumitomo HTRZ II Tires 

DESCRIPTION

Whether you prefer ultra high performance driving or handling with a quiet comfortable ride, the HTRZ II is your tires. The performance is nothing less than sensational. It sticks to the road in wet and dry conditions. The handling and stability are exceptional without sacrificing ride comfort. They're available in 17 and 18 inch sizes.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 24  
[Jan 29, 2015]
Isaac
Model Reviewed: Acura Integra

Strength:

The tires were new when I purchased this car roughly 18 months ago. I had to replace the fronts and rotate to the back after roughly 10 months, but had crazy negative camber from lowering. After it was fixed, the remainder of the tread lasted until today when i noticed a crack in my sidewall, from a shard of metal driven into the lip where the sidewall meets the tread. I did a lot of spirited driving for a good 6 months being as it was my first car, but these tires took everything i threw at them with ease. Taking a 90 degree corner at 35 mph was a walk in the park with these. Wet driving was incredible too. I could still take turns at the same speed as when dry.

Weakness:

A little quick on the wear, but that was from horrid camber settings. Would slip up a little in a 1-2 shift, but nothing but a chirp came from these tires.

These tires seem to be more oriented around import cars that don't have massive amounts of weight to throw around. every bad review i've seen for these has been on forums where it orients around muscle, hot rod, and heavy weighted vehicles. If you want a good tire for the money and you drive a light import car, pick up a set of these. Tirerack has them for 300 for a set of 4 shipped. I'll be buying these again when my new set runs out. Had to go with low ball tires from Les Schwab because of funds, but when taxes roll around next year, I'll be getting a other set for sure.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 16, 2014]
W John
Model Reviewed: Chrysler Crossfire

Strength:

Less expensive than Michelins. Pay for what you get!

Weakness:

With less than 60 miles on tire, the sidewall split from tread.

I bought the new Sumitomo tires for wife's Crossfire. Within a month (60 miles, we normally carpool) the sidewall completed separated from the tread while she was driving home from work. She is not an aggressive driver and was going 60 mph, dry pavement, nice weather and hit nothing. One third of sidewall separated on the inside of a rear tire. Inspection shows the other 2/3rds was nearing failure. I discussed this with dealer in person and was advised they would check into it. I have called twice and they will not return the call. They did advise that they did not think they could get these tires anymore so they can do nothing. Ya...sure

Similar Products Used:

Michelins, Only had to replace tires twice because of age.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 08, 2012]
Miguel
Model Reviewed: sumitomos htrz ii

Strength:

Like all tires they are good when the road is dry aond in the tarmac.

Weakness:

they don´t "work" in the wet, they are awful.

Don´t buy them, hankook are a litle bit more expensive but a lottttttttt better!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 14, 2011]
dogyham
Model Reviewed: Envoy

Strength:

They ride smooth with fair traction

Weakness:

Very poorly constructed tire

We owned these tires for less than 3 month's, The wife and I were driving out of town one day when with the wife at the wheel the tire came apart, The treads litterly left the side walls, There were 10 seconds of some real hard praying going on as she had actually lost control of the vehicle. NTB DID NOT CARE !! They said they couldn't tell if it was road hazard or product failure, I guess that will be determined when someone loses their life. I will buy my next tire s from someone else. Meanwhile it's $47.00 prorate and driving very slow, If you see a envoy holding up traffic by driving very slow, See if it has the HTR Sport tires by sumitomo and wave.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 24, 2010]
Es
Model Reviewed: Saab 900SE

Strength:

Looks.
heavy rain.
Low road noise (if you care

Weakness:

Junk rubber (soft would stick to the road)
Corners
accel/braking
light rain

If you are looking for a tire that has the directional and tuner look this is it. Plus you get the price!!
These tires will feel like you put on a REAL direction tire on backwards. They do not corner stop or accel. They do handle heavy rain good, but they wear poorly. I dont know how they got into this ultra class.
I had a set of firehawks that were balding and they 100% better on cornering and braking. not so well with acceleration.

Similar Products Used:

balding firehawks. and a set of sigmas that look kinda like these but hanlde better

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 12, 2010]
davef
Model Reviewed: Volvo s40

Strength:

Quite ride, comfortable ride

Weakness:

Poor cornering and handling, made in China

I recently purchased the Touring LSH Had Yokohama AS530's before that. The Sumitomos did not handle as well as the Yokohamas, the cornering and steering responsiveness was poor. They did ride quitely and comfortably though. I ended up returing them and exchanging them for Mich Primacy MXV4's which were about the same price. My other concern with the Sumitomo's were that they were made in China. Ultimately I ended up with the Michelin's though. I would have been happy with another set of Yokohama's as well, as my experience with them was good also but since they were all similar in cost I went with the Michelins. I would not consider these again as for the price you can get a better handling Yokohama or Michelin that are also not made in China.

Similar Products Used:

Yokohama AS530, Michilen Primacy MXV4

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 17, 2010]
Denis Vandale
Model Reviewed: Mustang GT Coupe

Strength:

Cheap, nice looking.

Weakness:

Plagued with vibration in spite of repeated balancing and even had 3 of the wheels replaced. Can't get any action from their support. Very disappointed.

Basically they suck. Would not recommend.

Similar Products Used:

Nitto 555E

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 13, 2010]
HAMMSFALCON69
Model Reviewed: F350 4X4 SUPERDUTY

Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

SUMITOMA TIRES ARE THE WORST TIRES I'VE EVER HAD AND THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT. IS A JOKE. THE GUY I TALKED TO SAID THEY THAT THEY WERE NOT HIS TIRES BECAUSE THEY WERE BOUGHT AT NTB. THEY WERE ACTUAL SUMITOMA HTR TIRES, NTB SAID THE CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS INCORRECT AND THOSE TIRES COME FROM SUMITOMAS FACTORY JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSES. STAY CLEAR !! NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS !! SIDE WALLS WON'T HOLD UP THEY ARE WEEK ..

SAY NO TO SUMITOMA TIRES. TIRES ARE MADE CHEAP !!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 16, 2010]
J L Grau
Model Reviewed: Madza 3 Hatchback

Strength:

About 8/32" tread left after 4000 miles.
Decent tires for a lesser known brand.
Tires came nearly brand new on used car.

Weakness:

1 tire picked up a screw, but I was able to plug it w/ a plug kit & glue.

These are the HTR50Z 205/50ZR17 89W tires.
After 4000 miles, no problems. about 8/32"
tread depth left on outer part of tire.
About 2/3 drivng on highway, 1/3 in city.
I try to drive car smart so as to save brakes & tires.
I see pretty low prices on these tires and
the quality I see is pretty high.
These tires are just under the radar.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 13, 2010]
kirk anderson
Model Reviewed: sumitomo 195 60 15

Strength:

look nice and ride nice

Weakness:

rubber to soft

I bought these tires just over a year ago for my wifes car which does not get alot of miles on it and allready the front tires, tread is pretty much gone and whorn evenly. front wheel drive 1996 volvo 850

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 24  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com