Tokico Illumina Shocks Shocks

Tokico Illumina Shocks Shocks 

DESCRIPTION

The Tokico Illumina uses a specially calibrated orifice bypass system which allows simultaneous adjustment of both compression and rebound. Each adjustment "clicks" so you always know your shock settings. The adjustment range of Tokico Illumina is one of the widest available, with 5 separate positions. Position 1 is the softest, or lowest damping force, while position 5 is the stiffest.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[May 07, 2013]
Joseph B
Model Reviewed: Honda Accord ex sedan

Strength:

5 adjustment settings, very durable and reliable

Weakness:

NONE

I've had these shocks on my car for almost 10 years and they still perform at their finest, I keep my setting on 5 all the way around

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 18, 2011]
Jose
Model Reviewed: Civic hatchback

Strength:

i love htem they take bumps really good i have them with some skunk2 coilovers and the ride is smooth like the ability to change the stiffness

Weakness:

i havent found any

if you like to just daily your car these are some good quality struts

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 09, 2008]
Dubs13
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic Hatchback

Strength:

Reliable, ride comfort, adjustable damping

Weakness:

Not made to be dropped more than 1.75 inches, even though I did it anyway.

Very pleased with these shocks. I ran them with Tokico Red Springs for a little over a month, they worked great and now I have them with H&R Race springs and they're even better. The Tokico springs were pretty weak which is why I could only really tell how great they were when I started using the H&R springs.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Shocks

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 07, 2007]
OttoCycle
Model Reviewed: Mazda Protege ES 5spd

Strength:

Nice and tight. Adjustable. Complex damping characteristic gives a smooth and controlled ride.

Weakness:

Some units may have valve alignment problems. Try suggested method above, or exchange them under warranty. Either way its worth it.

The best struts I have owned. Gives a dream ride along with the Eibach prokit springs.

I must mention one problem I had with these struts, and I am sure it may have happened to others as well though they may not realize it. The first few days with the adjuster at 3, the struts were tight as a drum ! Superb ride, great control and little to no body roll. However slowly over the next week or so I felt the struts losing their tightness. I moved the settings up a couple of notches but made little to no difference. The strut felt soft and especially bad was the rebound damping. Even though it could take bumps fairly well, after the bump the front would bounce right back up. Most non-enthusiast drivers probably wouldn't even notice, but it was pretty unsettling to me. Tried a number of things-- removed the struts myself, changed the strut mounts, gave them the struts a good shake (!!)..nothing. Called Tokico , they said they would exchange it with a new pair of fronts (the rears were ok).

And then-- I did something yesterday I hadn't done before. Put the screwdriver on the adjusting screw and turned it rapidly several times backwards and forwards.
VOILA !! Struts are like new again , tight as a drum. I am very happy, I have decided against returning them for now. If it becomes a recurring problem then I will reconsider.

So here is the lesson- if the struts feel they are going soft give the adjuster a few quick turns, forwards and backwards. If there is a valve misalignment inside that should take care of it.

Other than that the illuminas are dream struts.

Similar Products Used:

KYBs -- S U C K. Got the non adjustable ones. One of them wore out in 6 months!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2005]
grngocolombiano
Model Reviewed: Eclipse GS

Strength:

Adjustibility, Lifetime Warranty

Weakness:

None.

This suspension is amazing. Teamed with Tein S. Tech springs is the way to do it. Definately the best suspension for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Stock

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 26, 2005]
jake11375
Model Reviewed: tokico illumina 5-way adj. kit

Strength:

5-way adjustable dampening, Easy to change settings, Smooth, comfortable ride (on setting 1), 1.5 drop not too low, Red and white color scheme looks good, Paint and build quality are good, Limited lifetime warranty

Weakness:

None

Bought the Tokico Illumina kit on Ebay about 3 1/2 months ago. (comes with shocks and lowering springs) So far they've been really good. There was a point when I first got them for about a week where they squeaked a lot but that stopped. I keep them set on setting 1 most of the time because Oklahoma roads are so bad. Ride is equal to stock as far as comfort even with the 1.5 inch drop. Absorbs bumps very well considering I'm running on 205/40/17s. I like the appearance of the drop it's not too low and not too high, absolutely perfect! No issues with tire rubbing or anything. Now I have put them on setting 5 a few times just to see what they were all about. I was very impressed. This is my first spring set so I can't compare but the handling is very good, IMHO. Much more responsive and minimal body roll. You take corners almost completely flat. Even on setting 1 they provide better than stock handling. But I just cannot take the rough ride of 5. It is definitely for track purposes only. You take a chance on damaging your suspension components on less than perfect roads. But, I love having the option to change the setting if need be. The Illuminas come with a special key to change the dampening of each shock accesible by simply opening your hood and your trunk. A small red and white dial is labeled from 1-5 and clicks into each setting firmly. Takes less than a minute to adjust all 4 shocks. I read a few reviews where some complained about the dials slipping out of one setting into another. I haven't had this problem as of yet. They have stayed secure in the position I choose. But overall I would recommend these to anyone wanting to lower their ride to a height that is safe and comfortable. They perform 100% better than stock and you don't have to compromise any real world, daily driving comforts.

Similar Products Used:

Stock shocks and springs...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2005]
d3vilinsice
Model Reviewed: honda civic dx

Strength:

Adjustability ( i leave mine on 4 front, 3 rear ), quality, stability, perfect for the price

Weakness:

none yet; install was 70 bucks and only took 40 minutes (not counting my spring, camber kit, and allignment)

paid 40 each shipped/// love them. 'Nuff said.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 12, 2004]
miked16z6
Model Reviewed: civic ex coupe

Strength:

Can take the abuse of crappy streets. Better launch, braking, and conering. Night and day difference

Weakness:

None so far.

Great shocks. The adjustability is a definite plus. I keep my fronts on 2 and backs on 3. They are paired up with eibach pro-kit. Car handles awsome now, so much more fun to drive.

Similar Products Used:

stock

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 10, 2004]
Brandon
Model Reviewed: Accord LX i4

Strength:

Adjustable. 1 for a soft ride. 5 for a stiff ride and anything in between. Great bang for your buck too.

These struts are amazing. I use them with Eibach Sportline springs. Its night and day when compared to stock. After testing out the ride on each setting I have found that I like the 5 setting the most. It isnt that harsh ans it really stiffens up the suspension and makes the car handle better.

Similar Products Used:

stock

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 18, 2003]
Marshall Sparks
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic SI

Strength:

Easly adjusted notice diferance in all settings. Setting 5 in very very stiff and setting 1 is actually a slfter ride than the stock suspention ever was.(great for road travel and preformance driving!!)

Weakness:

I have Had not problems to report for to be ideal

Great for the money used with Eibach Sportline springs found to work out great on handling and extensive cornering manuvers

Similar Products Used:

Stock, Bilstein, KYB

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com