Honda Civic Hybrid Hybrid | EV

Civic Hybrid

The Honda Civic Hybrid is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the CVT AT-PZEV to the CVT AT-PZEV w/ Leather and Navigation.

All trims are equipped with a standard 1.3-liter, I4, 110-horsepower, hybrid engine that achieves 40-mpg in the city and 43-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
richard freund   [Apr 05, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Honda civic Hybrid
Strength:

gas miser

Weakness:

too many to list here

Honda has produced a vehicle with many design flaws on many levels. This vehicle seems to be designed to make sure the dealerships drain your pocket. I would not buy one. Honda america has become a horrible company to deal with. they do not treasure their customers anymore.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic LX, Honda Accord EX
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
rrttpp   [Sep 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Civic hybrid
Strength:

My second Civic Hybrid. First was a dream 45 mpg

Weakness:

Do not buy this car. Batteries are failing. A software update has virtually eliminated IMA use and reduced gas mileage from 45 to 32 mpg. Major loss of power. Designed to help Honda avoid replacing battery pack ($3,000).

If anyone knows of a class action suit please post here.

Do not buy.

Similar Products Used: previously owned a 2006 civic hybrid.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Joseph Lopez   [Aug 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: sedan
Strength:

Car overall design, smooth and quiet ride, curtain airbags, stability and 50 mpg hwy fwy at 59 mph.

Weakness:

34 mpg city, not a lot power( common in hybrid models). Going uphill the car goes backwards like the manual transmission. You have to accelerate to 3500 rpms to avoid this problem.

This car is amazing for those people who want to have a stylish and classy car. It feels very sporty and offers great stability and can't hear the outside noises as well as the motor. Vs the toyota prius this is a smarter car for many reasons. The car is more comfy, cost slightly less, operates more like a normal car: The prius depends on a 67 horsepower aprox electric motor. If the electric motor fails then your car is a piece of junk not like the honda civic which relies mainly on its 110 hp gas motor with an Integrated motor assist electric motor. If the IMA fails the car still operates on its own gas motor. Before you buy a hybrid you have to keep in mind that you have to keep a steady accel to achieve the best mpg. After 55 mph the car lowers the mpg 1 mile per gallon per additional mile. For example 70 miles per hour equals to 45-15=30 to 33 mpg.

Similar Products Used: Toyota yaris hatchback( great mpg and car for the money), toyota prius--> nothing but dissapointment( expensive to fix) not much different than my yaris.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
DKR   [Aug 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Civic Hybrid
Strength:

Its a Honda, nice fit and finish. Hybrid is Green.

Weakness:

DO NOT BUY this car!!! My dealer did all it could to make me happy but I traded this junk after 6 months and 13000 miles. The headlights cannot be called lights. You have to hold a candle in front of them to see if they are on. Illumination on low beams is non-existent. After about 10000 miles I noticed the rear tires were completely worn out. A review of other Civic owners' experience reveals this is a consistent problem with the Civic. Even with rotation every 5000 miles the tires wear out VERY quickly. My dealer offered to put new tires on the rear, but what is the use of a fuel efficient car if the tires wear out every 15000 miles.

I hated this car. I traded a Prius for this hybrid and wished I had the old Prius back shortly after I bought the Civic. Mileage wasn't all that great either. I traded the Civic for a new 2010 Outback and have not regretted losing about $6000 on the trade.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord, Subaru Outback, Toyota Prius.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Robert   [Apr 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic Hybrid
Strength:

Gas mileage ! I drive , round trip 150 miles a day to and from work. Freeway driving with some scattered stoplights
I average around 42 MPG

Weakness:

Wheels wear out REAL quick K on the average . Dealer , Frank Kent of FTW. said no problem with the alinment...
Bought another 4 tires like the same ones that came with it ..same problem. K and its ready for another 4 !!

Good , cheep car with excellent gas mileage
The tire seem to to be the biggest problem

Similar Products Used: The Toyoda gets better milage but would compaired to driving a coffin...to small !
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Andy bliss   [Jan 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Civic hybrid
Strength:

Great gas mileage and quietness helps conversations in the car whether on the phone or with a friend. Great tire wear.

Weakness:

Slow but expectantly. Hello it's a hybrid!! Sketchy stop and go from every stop due to engine cutting off and on.

Overall this car rides like a luxury car when going down the road. I own a E63 AMG and this Honda has a luxury ride to it haven't felt in a Honda before. It sits lower to the road I suppose for better gas mileage and aero- dinamics. I had the electrical unit device serviced and my mileage has increased to 40-47 miles to the gallon. I currently have 48,000 miles on the car and the break in does really make a difference in mpg. Great car!!

Similar Products Used: Honda prelude 1996 SI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
T.Lanci   [Aug 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic Hybrid
Strength:

Decent ride, dash layout convenient.

Weakness:

Transmission is a disaster. Mileage is not what was promised 38 is average mpg. Multiple repairs, expensive and parts that have to come from Japan.

DO NOT BUY A CIVIC HYBRID WITH THE CVS TRANSMISSION.
Though a Honda driver for 20 years, this is my last one. Problems started at 68K. At 125,000 highway miles I have had two catalytic converters (the same one) replaced, replaced the $5,000 battery, had the transmission worked on three times, and now am facing a $3800 bill for the "other" catalytic converter, additional start up transition part buried under the rest of the transmission, starter, plugs, etc.

The trade-in value is only $5000, about the same as a non-Hybrid Civic, so I'm guessing Honda knows they have a lemon. The ongoing and unfixed rattle in the dash should have warned me.

Similar Products Used: 1989 Mazda 626
1993 Honda Civic Hatchback
1998 Honda Civic Coupe
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
DaisyHCH   [Jul 13, 2009]
Strength:

Good mileage when it is out of the garage!

Weakness:

Not reliable.

DO NOT BUY! My 2004 Honda Civic Hybrid has been very unreliable. Only have 66,000 miles on it and have had to replace the battery three times. I take it to the dealership where I bought it (Midlands Honda in Columbia SC) in the hopes that Honda will actually teach them how to fix what seems to be a common problem with the Honda Civic Hybrids but so far no luck. Also problems with the clutch (standard car - have to double clutch quite often to go from neutral to First) and the airbag sensors (air bags get turned off for no apparent reason - dealer can't fix this either).

Similar Products Used: Spouse has Honda CRV and child has Honda Accord and they are having a lot better luck with their Hondas. It seems to be the hybrod technology that is screwed up.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Louella M. Harty   [Jul 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic Hybrid
Strength:

Driveability, gas mileage, blue-tooth capability, satellite radio, great dashboard, heated seats, roomy interior, better trunk space

Weakness:

electronics, no sun roof, brakes (used to German engineered brakes),storage slightly slight, no automatic lights (have to remember to turn lights on and off)

I just purchased a Honda Civic Hybrid. I have been a previous owner of a Toyota Camry Hybrid for two years prior to this car. I have learned that there is a break-in period for a hybrid. I experienced this on the Toyota. Sometimes it takes six months before a hybrid optimizes its gas mileage. I am presently averaging 40.4 mpg with the Honda Civic Hybrid. To optimize mileage, you need to learn how to glide often. It takes practice. If you drive it like a gas engine car with heavy acceleration, you will not get good mileage. I like the tighter suspension of the Civic and the tighter steering - driveability very good. It can come fully equipped which is what I opted for. The negatives are manual adjusting seats, no rear-view mirror dimming feature, no automatic garage door opener, manual lights (don't forget to turn them on and off). The dash board is great and this car really likes to glide. As a previous luxury car owner, I have decided to go green in the last few years and do my part to clean up the environment that we have made a mess of. The dealer thought that I might get close to 50 mpg given the way I drive. It is all over the internet about the break-in period of a hybrid. They just begin to cruise at around six months of driving. So be patient. This is coming from an experienced hybrid owner. This is my second hybrid. I don't have all the luxury that I had with the Toyota Camry Hybrid ( I had every option available); however, I now have a satellite radio, the car's suspension is not as floaty, it drives better, and I have a little bigger trunk. I opted to get even better gas mileage. The view of the road in this car also is exceptional which is important. My side view mirrors have defrosters and fold in also which I like. They have definitely maximized the space in the interior so I actually don't feel like I have given up any room when I am seated inside. There is a certain way in which you have to drive a hybrid to optimize mileage and there is definitely a break-in period. I have gotten up to 52 mpg with my Camry. Also, hybrids do not like humidity and do not get as good a gas mileage in times of high humidity. Spring and fall, when temperatures are not as extreme are times when the hybrid shines. It is very different from a gas engine. My air conditioner in my car works very well and takes the humidity out of the interior of my car. In fact, I have to tone it down even in hot, high humidity weather; so, if you are having trouble keeping humidity down, there could be a problem. I have previously driven German luxury cars; and, while this is not a luxury car, I do not feel like I am suffering, except for less electronics which I willingly trade for the stupendous gas mileage if you are willing to work with a hybrid.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Camry Hybrid - great car; opted to get better gas mileage and like to driveability of the Honda Civic - more like the European driving experience.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Polys   [Apr 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic Hybrid
Strength:

low consumption, quiet, reliable

Weakness:

revs high when need power due to excessive weight

Best reliable car, over 65000kmh on the clock and not even minor defect. A comfortable family sedan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com