Audi A6 Luxury

A6

The Audi A6 receives exterior updates including a high-gloss single-frame grille, new bumpers, air vents, fog lights, new LED taillights and chrome accents for the doors and trunk. Available xenon plus headlights now include LED daytime running lights. The new 3.0 TFSI V6 engine combines the benefits of direct fuel injection and a supercharger to deliver 300 horsepower and 310 lb-ft of torque, combined with a Tiptronic automatic transmission and new 40/60 asymmetric rear-biased quattro all-wheel drive. Three equipment levels are offered: Premium, Premium Plus and Prestige.

User Reviews (101)

Showing 1-10 of 101  
dustinaudi   [Feb 09, 2011]
Model Reviewed: audi a6 3.2 sport
Strength:

styling, attaction, curb appeal. performance, quietness, opulence, quick,

Weakness:

I can't really comment here. I am a home mechanic so I do most repairs myself and pay wholesale for parts so save a ton of money there, but if i had to go to the garage all the time it would be very expensive.

Well my story began many years ago when i purchased a vw passat and loved it, then one day i was going up an icy road and got stuck with my passat and a quattro passed me with ease, then i knew i was missing out big on something, i bought an a4 (2002) and loved it but is is smaller than a passat so i bought a 2005 a6 black low suspension fully loaded, i don't buy new cars a total waste of money i paid 20k for a 65k car, so what it has some miles on it but not worth the extra expense, cars loose value all the time but less as the car gets older. i always buy the newer model, i would never have bought a 2004 because the model was revamped in 2005 next change is 2012 i think, that will be my next car when i buy another one in 2017 perhaps. so the quattro is second to none and goes like stink on ice and snow, esp is like the hand of god controlling the car. i have a steep driveway and would often get stuck with my passat, now ha it is a joke, the other day for the fun of it i sprayed my driveway with water when it was 0 degrees outside then drove out of my garage and stopped on the ice.....there was some wheel spin but it was not an issue to get up the hill. fwd or rwd forget about it never would make it up, i love quattro i don't mind it being winter anymore i love driving in the snow now, not many people can say that, much more fun to drive in the snow than dry because it is so capable, love passing people on the side of the road that are stuck or can't make it up a hill, my little devil inside me.
so i will drive quattro for life now. super comfortable on long trips, i do pei and montreal often and don't need to stop to stretch. great car and used is a bargain. funny i went to the car show and liked the jeep wrangler rubicon with the top off and doors as well, i drove one but it was not bad for a 2011 model but certainly no where close in comfort to my audi but as a second car to play around with yes and to go off road rock crawling etc......invest in a innova 3100 to read the codes if you get a check engine light and change the part yourself if you can will save a ton of money. well hope this helps and prompts some of you who are not sure if you should buy one or not. you should just for the quattro alone, but you still have everything else that you want in a car as well.

Dustin
Canamsport@bellnet.ca

Similar Products Used: vw passat
audi a4
bmw z4 convertible
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andog_79   [Sep 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Audi A6 2.7L, Quattro
Strength:

Beautiful Car, comfortable drive.

Weakness:

Customer service with Audi North america SUCKS! Oh and excessive, costly repairs do not help with this either.

This car is a great car, but will be my last Audi. I have had this car now for 4 years and have put 150K miles on it. I bought it with 45K miles on it. I have a very long commute and when there are no issues, this car is great. When there are issues, you are screwed! I have ran te gammit of possible problems and I currently am driving my back-up vehicle, a 2000 ford mustang as my car needs to go back into the shop. I have driven several vehicles to 200K+miles and this is the only one that has had this many issues. I have had to replace all 6 coil packs, the turbos, the suspension, the 2nd water pump, 1st was replaced during timing belt service, abs sensors, flasher relay, brake light switch and alternator. Currently my car is leaking oil and needs the ABS module replaced, the sunroof needs fixing as it leaks, and the torque converter needs replacing. Which by the way is in an Audi technical bulletin as this is a common failure. Also, my digital display in my dash is starting to disappear and my physical dash is starting to warp, remisnicent of the cheap ass Kia's in the mid 90's. I think that is it, but I have not driven the car in 8 months as I need to replace the Torque converter and will probably rebuild the tranny to be safe. Audi Customer service is non-existant which is why I will not own another Audi. I have persuaded at least 10 drivers not to buy Audi's. And before you think that this is a German car I am friends with multiple people whose vehicle Line-up range from BMW 3-7 series, Mercedes from C-s Series, SL and Kompressor, Lambos, Porsche's, Ferraris, Bentleys, Jags, and Rolls. Not a single one experiences anything like I have on this vehicle.

Similar Products Used: Rolls, Jag, Bentley, Lambo, Ferrari,BMW, Mecedes. I myself I have driven 2 pontiacs(grand Prix and Bonneville), Mitsubishi 3000GT, Chevy corsica and Beretta to over 200k and all 5 cars added together needed fewer repairs than this audi in both qty and cost.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
bsykora   [May 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Audi A6
Strength:

Nice interior and amenities

Weakness:

Engine and what ever else is wrong. Problems that even the specialist can't figure out!

Started off as a great car. Loved the sunroof and leather seats. The Bose speakers are great. BUT then after owning it for 5-6 months it starts to act up. I will be just driving down the highway or any road for that matter and it will die. Like completely die. Do you know how scary that is to be going 75 mph and have your car die? I took it into the Audi dealership in the area to have them look at it and nothing. They had it for a month and couldn’t figure it out.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
DENISE   [Aug 26, 2008]
Strength:

LOTS OF POWER AND FAST

Weakness:

AUDI SERVICE DEPT. IS HORRIBLE, EVERYTIME I HAD A PROBLEM AND BELIEVE ME THERE WERE MANY, SERVICE ALWAYS SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG, I TOOK MY CAR TO ANOTHER AUDI DEALERSHIP, MY CAR HAD MAJOR PROBLEMS, TRACY AUDI KEPT DENYING THERE WAS A PROBLEM AND THE PROBLEMS WERE OBVIOUS, LIKE NOISES ETC. I CALLED AUDI DIRECTLY THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT HELP ME SO I WAS SCREWED!! ALSO THEY REALLY TRY TO ROB THE CONSUMER YOU CAN'T EVEN CHANGE YOUR OWN BATTERY. I HAD SO MUCH BETTER LUCK WITH HYUNDAI THER SERVICE WAS AWESOME!!! I TRADED MY AUDI IN FOR A FORD AND HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. THE ONLY WAY I'D EVER HAVE ANOTHER AUDI IS SOMEONE WOULD HAVE TO GIVE IT TO ME AND THEN I'D TRADE IT IN. I PERSONALLY BELIEVE THE DEALER AND AUDI ITSELF IS RACIST OR JUST PLAIN DUMB

AUDI HAS A GREAT RIDE AND THE SOUND SYSTEM IS INCREDIBLE, YOU LITERALLY FEEL LIKE YOU ARE DRIVING ON AIR

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Dale Orthner   [Aug 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 3.2 quattro
Strength:

The exterior styling of the 2008 model contains an extra grille slot below main grill that adds a significant amount of additional flare to the front appearance. Also, the now standard 18” 5 spoke wheels should be easier to keep clean and are an aesthetic improvement over most smaller and higher spoke count wheels.

The interior design features the classic Audi attention to detail with very attractive wood inserts and stitched leather seats. I opted for the lighter beige interior color and the segmented steering wheel which has wood sections to complement those of the dash, doors, and center console.

As for features, those that I most like include the adaptive air suspension (special order only on the 2008 3.2) which allows for selecting comfort or dynamic modes depending on your current whim, and also a “lift” option which provides more ground clearance at lower speeds. The back up camera is ready to go right on startup and is very useful once you get used to its indications. The Bose sound, audio pilot, and surround sound options make for great listening, which is a little surprising for a company (Bose) that seems to be almost entirely focused on marketing. The headlight washers will be great for keeping the lights bright even when driving home from skiing in the mountains through sand filled road spray. The rain sensitive wipers do not have a non-rain-sensing intermittent option, but perform reasonably well in most circumstances. The trunk is large with the entire back seat being able to fold down for all the storage one might want in a sedan or just the left seat to retain the right seating position. The full size spare keeps you riding in safe control in case of a flat. The adaptive headlights really help to illuminate corners, especially on dark nights with unlit roads.

Weakness:

WARNING about Audi’s European delivery program: While I highly recommend taking European delivery (go to audiusa.com and look under “experience”), Audi’s program, which just restarted a couple of years ago, is extremely behind schedule. I had to fight very, very hard just to get my documentation two days before my departure, not the two weeks promised on their web site. They seem to be critically understaffed in this area.

Having just returned from driving my A6 in Europe for two weeks (see WARNING below about Audi’s European delivery program), during which I drove over 2,400 miles, I can report my complete satisfaction with the vehicle. Even when trying in vain to make sense of Italy’s road signs (which display far too many route numbers, city names, and regional descriptions, yet at the same time rarely what you need to reliably navigate through to your destination), the car was still a joy to drive.

The A6 is a very comfortable car to drive, whether on a quick hop down the street or a long haul spanning a country. The seats (standard, not sport) hold you firmly in place yet produce no sore spots even after hours of riding. The low noise levels of the cabin aid greatly in limiting fatigue and the controls are well positioned for easy use. The much maligned MMI (main controller for navigation, radio, phone, and car setup options) does require some study, but is convenient to operate and a much better alternative than having 100 or so separate buttons. If you can point and click your way to this review, you can easily learn to operate all of the MMI functions.

The performance and handling of the A6 is impressive. I opted for the 3.2 liter (3,123 cc) instead of the 4.2 to optimize both fuel economy and handling. The extra cost of the 4.2 both to purchase and operate is not easily justified by the moderate increase in acceleration. When I want to accelerate my eyeballs to the back of my head, I hop on my FJR1300 motorcycle. And the 3.2 does just fine in getting up to speed, whether merging, passing, or setting the pace for autobahn traffic.

Driving in Germany is an experience everyone should have. After limiting my pace to 100 mph or so for the break in period, I reached the car’s electronic speed cap of 134 mph several times. In the A6, that seemingly reckless velocity is in reality a rather mundane occurrence while at the same time still very cool. Even at that speed, the car is rock solid with very tight steering and no drift, shake, wobble, or float. And when the time comes to rein in the horses for slower traffic ahead, the brakes are very controlled and predictable. The downside of course is that once my car is back here in the states, my ability to keep within our paltry speed limits will be greatly impeded.

The suspension of the A6 is a surprising combination of road surface sensing and isolation from harsh jolts. The feel is like reading the road with your hands, having the ability to detect any grove, bump, ridge, or even surface composition changes. But that ever present and useful information is easily ignored and imposed on the driver only with substantial impacts with surface imperfections. You always “know” what conditions the tires are encountering but rarely do you have to think about it.

And the quattro all wheel drive is truly remarkable. While I didn’t have any snow to drive on in Europe (Switzerland doesn’t allow cars up to it’s Jungfrau and Schilthorn areas), I did test out the traction control on a dirt parking lot. I stomped on the accelerator and got nothing but a surprising amount of forward acceleration. Any other drive system would have dug a hole and spread a lot of dirt.

Having done a lot of research on quattro at torsen.com and other sites, I summarize its operation with the following: All other four wheel drive systems are like walking on a slippery sidewalk, slipping, and then catching yourself before you fall. Audi’s quattro is like not slipping in the first place. It does this by mechanically and instantaneously sending extra torque to the set of wheels (front or rear) that has more traction. Other systems have to slip first, then detect the slip with ABS sensors, then actuate a clutch which then sends more torque to the wheels with more traction. Audi does use ABS sensors to regulate slip between the left and right wheels on the front or rear of the car, but uses the ingenious and completely mechanical TORSEN center differential to distribute torque between the front and rear pairs of wheels. In most cases, this prevents slip before it happens, rather than trying to play catch up like those systems on BMW, Lexus, Mercedes, Acura, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skyfire   [Nov 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi A6
Strength:

- Great interior, very elegant
- Nice sound system
- Handling and acceleration

Weakness:

- Repairs are costly
- Electrical issues

I bought a used Audi A6 2003 from a dealer in New Jersey for $21,500. It was a pretty good bargain, especially since the car had less than 50K miles on it. The car was "pre-certified" so I assumed that everything was checked/inspected and in like-new condition. I drove it back home and the car handled very nicely. The car could accelerate quickly thanks to the turbos. The inside is also very spacious and refined.

After 2000 miles (4 months of VERY light driving), however, the engine started making a strange whining noise. Soon, a lot of smoke started coming out from the tailpipes. I brought it to the dealer and they told me that the turbochargers needed to be replaced. Thank god the car was covered by a 2 year 50,000 mile warranty. I believe a single turbocharger costs about $1000. I had to get both of them replaced and The car was in the shop for a week. I had a spare vehicle so I was not inconvenienced much, but be warned that most repairs to Audis will generally last several days.

On the plus side, the repair seems to have fixed the problem. The car now performs like how I first bought it. The mechanics that repaired the car were also quite pleasant to deal with and test-drove the car for a day to make sure the problem was fixed.

Still, I just hope that nothing else becomes an issue with the car in the future. I am experiencing some of the electrical problems that other people have described. My seat memory stopped working a while ago and I will get it repaired soon, under warranty of course.

So, if you plan to buy an Audi, I would definitely recommend getting an extended warranty if it is an option. I like my Audi but if the car acts up again, I will not consider buying another Audi for my next car. On the other hand, my Lexus RX300 has been quite reliable and only needs to be serviced every 30K miles or so (repairs/service is generally around $2000). It has 140K miles on it and still drives great. Like several of the other reviewers here, I would recommend getting a Lexus if you are looking for a luxury car.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Samdad06   [Aug 22, 2006]
Model Reviewed: A6 2.8 Quattro
Strength:

Beautiful appearance and interior and well thought out luggage space

Weakness:

Quality of every other thing except possible the engine!

Nice beautiful car when new.
BUT I have to retire early just to take care of my Audi A6.
Three visits to dealer to repair fuel sensor and gauge within 3 months of delivery. Teeth-trouble with new model A6!
Water pump leaks, radio replaced, speakers replaced, numerous tie-rods replacements.

Flimsy control joystick for rear side mirrors - broke within 3 year!
Seat sudden jammed 10cm from steering while on a trip to Nashville! Now lumbar support not working.

Replaced timing belt at dealer - Mrak Motor of Ottawa, Canada. Found by other mechanic to be leaking oil within the week! Terrible workmanship. Why does Audi make such a beautiful car only to be wreck by their "factory trained" mechanics?
Latest and now - sudden- no response with climate control, no honk, no turn indicators, no wipers!!!

You will NEVER catch me buying an Audi ever again in this life time.

If you give me bumper to bumper service for life I will still not have the time to go and spend waiting at the dealers.

I bought the Hyundai and it is like a dream compared to the A6 at a fraction of price and stress!
Help, Help, help.

Similar Products Used: Benz, Toyota Camray, Hyundai Sante Fe, Jeep Grand Cherokee.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
sujesharukil   [May 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: A6 3.0 Quattro
Strength:

Good Power, great control, amazing Audio system, memory seats and a decent mileage for its power!

Weakness:

Electrical problems, and bomb in your pocket if it is not covered under warranty. Believe me, always have it covered under warranty.

All in all a very stylish and great car. Requires good care and treatment and not just start and drive, stop and forget one ofcourse. Not much of a mileage churner, but considering the roads and traffic in Pittsburgh, I wouldnt be surprised.
What most importantly appealed to me is the amazing smoothness in driving this car, which I never felt for driving any other car. Believe me when I say that I will think 10 times before I switch over to another brand.
I dont want to give you an extra ordinary technical spec of it which many wont even understand. If you are looking for absolute power, well this is not it, but for good power, speed, amazing winter condition driving then this is it.
The inbuilt Bose system is just beyond words one of the best for your ears. The car is very spacious and a pleasure to take for a long trip.
Coming to the snags, well, the electrical systems are not much of a trust gaining aspects. My car had trouble with the auto seats, the door and headlight indicators, but only once. Since it was under factory warranty, got it replaced without much of a problem.
Proper care and driving will ensure a good mileage too. What I initially gathered to be just 16 miles a gallon now gives me a nice 18 to 19 in city limits, which considering the engine and power, its just cool.
Great road grip, might control, good power, nice big sunroof, heated seats and a good air conditioning system and beautiful styling makes this car a owners pride! Enjoy the drive if you decide to buy this.

Similar Products Used: Previously driven a 1989 Mazda 626, 1999 Toyota Camry, 1997 Honda Accord.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
kevin daniel   [Apr 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi A6 3.2
Strength:

Absolutely beautiful looking car. When it runs right it is quite fun to drive.

Weakness:

Audi service department spends more time with my car than I do.

Let there be no doubt this is a beautiful car. I have only one issue with this car and its somewhat of a big one- its in the shop every 3 months. A few weeks after leasing this car I went to start it up at the airport after being gone a few days. It died. Took it in and Audi service found nothing wrong with it. From then on, each time I started it the idle would stutter for a few minutes until it "warmed up." Audi service looked at it again and tried to convince me thats the way these cars are. It continued to die and had to be taken in again. This time it was faulty fuel injectors which they replaced under warranty. More recently the gas guage would fall from 1/4 tank to empty in a matter of seconds. I took it in again to find out it needed a new float in the tank and needed some software upgrades. No problem. Driving home I could smell a very strong odor of gas. This morning I walk into the garage to find my A-6 above an enormous puddle of gasoline. Ive had it with this thing.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
drastic   [Feb 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: A6 4.2
Strength:

Superb handling, nearly the equal of the 1981 Porsche 911 Targa I once owned. Power and smooth power delivery (from the V8) and the Tiptronic transmission is fun. Great understated style and a nice interior layout. Very large range of adjustability in the seats, so both a 6'2" and 4'11" driver could fit comfortably.

Weakness:

Poor reliability, excessive noise, front end rumbling. Poor dealer service, and terrible corporate customer service.

I foresee big trouble ahead. Despite its age, its mileage is only 21K and it has had immaculate care from the dealer. Yet, it was delivered with defective tires and neither Audi nor their supplier Dunlop has taken responsibility. Dunlop looked for every evasion possible to avoid making good on their warranty. Audi simply refused to help once the problem was identified, which is astonishing considering the cost of the car. The many service visits under the Audi warranty did cost them more than the price of those tires, but 4 attempts to correct a front end rumbling only made matters different and not better. Replacing tires at my own cost fixed that problem for a while, but now I again can hear an alarming level of low frequency rumbling and grinding from the front end. Audi technicians say the car is noisy like that under the best conditions, but I don't trust what they're saying. I wonder if it isn't more likely that something major is about to give way in the drive train. Then there's the matter of the ball joints. As a fan of Car Talk on the radio I learned (too late) that an Audi is little more than a fancied up VW, and the front end is designed just like a VW. In particular, where any normal car company puts two ball joints up there, Audi uses 8 and what's worse, they are unreliable. When 8 ball joints have to be replaced at once, I shudder to imagine what that will cost. So, I've now owned three of the German high sex, hot handling, unreliable trash marques: Porsche, BMW, and Audi. Yet like most car lovers, I'm fascinated with the style and personality of German cars and I am tempted to trade the Audi for a Mercedes. If good sense takes hold of me, I'll trade it for a Lexus. Some of them have good handling, power, and luxury to match any German car, perhaps excepting a Porsche 911, and I won't be spending weeks of my life in a repair shop.

Similar Products Used: Porsche 911 Targa, BMW 325is, Lexus 250.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 101  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com