Chrysler 300M Luxury

300M

Chrysler launched the completely new, sport-oriented 300M in 1999. The 300M used the same front-drive chassis as the Concorde/Intrepid, but had distinct styling and a shorter body. Power was supplied by a 3.5L 253-horsepower V6 engine and 4-speed automatic transmission, though the 300M was fitted with Chrysler's AutoStick automatic, which permits manually-selected gear changes using a separate shift gate. The 300M distinguished itself with 17-inch wheels and a sport-tuned suspension and steering settings. The Performance Handling option gave the 300M more aggressive 16-inch rubber. The 300M is a 5-passenger sedan with leather upholstery and heated front seats standard.

User Reviews (148)

Showing 1-10 of 148  
PattiKay   [Nov 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chrysler 300M
Strength:

Great pick-up and go, easy to maneuver, feels solid, but smooth over bumps. The the way it handles. LOTS of leg room, especially up front, and plenty for even longer-legged passengers in back.

Weakness:

Longer front end with a lower seat takes some getting used to when pulling into spaces.

I LOVE my 300M. It looks and rides identical to the Lexus 300, without the additional cost. The leather seats are super comfortable, even on long drives, the A/C is ice cold, the engine has plenty of get up and go. The A/C is weird where when you turn it on it automatically hoots onto a high setting, and there is a bit of air noise at the windows and sunroof, but not enough to speak louder or be annoying.

Similar Products Used: Lexus convertible, Cadillac Escalade
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jay   [Apr 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 300M
Strength:

looks, power, preformence, seating.....everything.

Weakness:

road noice, and they shoud of added better signal light on the side of the body.

Amazing car, love it soo much. looks good and drives even better. love the options and handeling. the only major problem it gave me was replacing the fans, $1200 from chrysler.
i think people on here dont have the right to compalin bc 99% of them have bought this car used. even my 5yr old brother knows that the cars running condition depends on maintining the car. so unless you bought this car brand spankin new, dont complain bc you dont know what the previous owner did to it or how they treated it.
honest to god people it hasent given me one problem and i hope it stays that way. right now i have more than 200k on it and it still runs flawlessly.
recomended car, it really stand out in everything. it has more HP than Audi TT and handels better than one too.

Similar Products Used: Focus, Grand Am, Sunfire, Saab, Grand prix, Dodge Durango.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
D300M   [Jan 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 300M
Strength:

The car looks great, still turns heads. http://public.fotki.com/300mclub/300_mom/1402/
Handling is superb for it's size, and plenty roomy, even in the back.

Weakness:

Fan noise, and the 4-disk CD changer jammed up within a couple of weeks, and the door speakers blew. Replaced with Pioneer stereo and door speakers for less than $300, well worth it. Only current complaint is that it takes a very long time for the heater to warm up in the winter. It can sit running for an hour and won't defrost until I push on the accelarator for a while.

By far the best car I've ever had. I took a risk and bought it with 93,000 miles. It now has 109,000 and still looks and runs fabulous. I had to have an axle seal replaced, but no other mechanical issues.

Similar Products Used: 1994 Concorde, Dodge Caravan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ashaffstall   [Dec 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 300m
Strength:

The car is spacious, fast, and has good handling. Mileage is 18-27 with average of 21.

Weakness:

Road noise is high.

I bought the 300m in Dec 1998 and have 102,000 miles. The biggest problem has been tire vibrations in the 50-65mph range. I believe its in the optional 17" chrome wheels and not the tires as I have had many different brands and installers but no one can get the vibration out.

The car is as tight now as it was new. The only mechanical problems have been a leaking A/C evaporator under the dash ($1100 mostly labor to pull dash) and driver side window ($250.00). Everything else has been scheduled maintenance. It does have an electrical issue where the automatic lights will come on and flash in the middle of the day. Its not often so I can't have it repaired short of going for a new computer. The windows also creek when they reach the closed position. This was fixed in later models as my "repaired" driver side window no longer has the problem.

Prior to this car I owned two BMW's and a Toyota. The BMW's cost a bundle more to keep running and the Toyota was a little less.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dennis   [Dec 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: chrysler 300M
Strength:

styling of the body and interior

Weakness:

mechanics are terrible

This is by far the worst car I have ever owned. I bought the car in early 2007 ith just over 42K on it, hit 46K and the transmission went out. 2500 bucks and 5 months later it's backin the shop. Fortuantly the mechanic has a 12 month warranty on his work. Also the struts gave out, replace those and not long after the strut mounts started making that clunking noise. Need to replace those now and realign the car... again. Also the engine is leaking oil out the head on the passenger side between the head and the block. replaed the brake pads inthe front, normal maintenance, but I noticed the rotors were already warping. Pretty early mor the milage. Replaced the factory infinity speakers in the doors, they were cheap low wattage speakers, replaced with pioneer 150 watt. Sounds much better. I love the styling on the car, the interior is well thought out and comfortable. However from whet I've been reading in this forum and the advise of my mechanic, I'm unloading this lemon. I had a 94 infinity J30t that went 145K with no major problems other tha the normal maintenance. I regrett selling it! My advice, stay away from the 300M. So here I am just turned over 50K and I've dumped a ton of money into this hog!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Danielle   [Nov 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Chrysler - 300M
Strength:

everything. GReat car. couldnt ask for anything else.

Weakness:

bought used....

Very nice car, great options, great ride, great styling. Feels like a Mercedes with a Chrysler badge...theres a good reason for that....

Of course there has been some maintenance probs...but For a seven year old car this thing is great. Mostly just regular maintenance stuff (relay, tune ups here and there, transmission coolant lines etc)

VEry Nice Buy. I love my 300M, awesome performance. Gotta love that HP!

Similar Products Used: many many vehicles.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
B. Peru   [Apr 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 300M
Strength:

Looks
Comfort
Powerful Engine
Great in the Winter/Snow
Roamy
Exquiste Interior Design

Weakness:

Input/Ouput Censors fail to frequently

I purchased my Chrysler 300M two years ago, and like alot of people out there, I was initially very unhappy with the car.

A day after buying it, my check engine light came on and the car locked me into second gear. It was an input/output censor on the tranny that was causing the trouble, and I repaired it for less then $100.00.

With that said, I have come to love my 300M. With just a little TLC and some minor upkeep and maintenace the car has been rock solid for the last two years that I've owned it, and I couldn't be happier.

So, to all those who've purchased a 300M and are having minor problem, I would recommend working through them, and with any luck you too will start to see the benefits and rewards of owning this great car.


Similar Products Used: Dodge Stratus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mark Kovalcik   [Feb 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 300M
Strength:

Powerful engine
Comfortable ride even on long trips
Sound system … 340 watts!
Handling

Weakness:

Too much understeer!
Door trim panels

I purchased my 1999 300M w/ 34K miles on it in Dec of 02. It has been an outstanding performer! Sure it’s had its problems, but nothing that a little maintenance & TLC wouldn’t take care of. For example, the check engine light came on at 64K and it wouldn’t shift out of 2d gear. Not problem, I downloaded the fault code and replaced the output speed sensor on the transmission … cost $14.95. Then I reset the check engine light http://www.autoxray.com/. Oh yea! My wife ran it into a curb and bent the right front strut. I had to replace the struts, but that was easy. The only problem I had after I replaced the strut was the alignment shop in Layton, UT jacked up the tie rod ends (Must have had the new guy doing it.) and didn’t bother to tell me. So, I replaced them and had the alignment re-accomplished at a Chrysler dealer. All is well. I had problems with the window regulators too, but I just took them out, cleaned and lubricated them, and they are as good as new. True, the door panels could use a better design. Mine cracked at the lower attachment points. I have also performed repairs outlined in the TSBs that affected my car (listed below). Go to www.alldata.com and subscribe. It’s worth the money. The TSBs give you all the part number you’ll need to order parts from the dealer.

I’ve been on a military assignment in Germany since Dec of 04 & yes my 300M is right at home on the Autobahn. To tell you the truth, I’ve had it up to 145 MPH (GPS). I’ve made two trips from my home base a ski resort in Bavaria (400 miles) at 100 MPH and never had a single problem. I even managed to get 22 MPG while driving 100 MPH. The car has 102K miles on it now, and I’m about to replace all the items called for in the service manual at the 105K mileage point (timing belt/water pump). I’ll change out all the pulleys while I’m in there. After all, it’s all about the maintenance.

2-Apr-06
TSB 21-10-99
Differential Vent) Completed $25.00

8-Apr-06
TSB 23-33-98B (Window Regulator Completed) $21.75

15-Apr-06
TSB 23-019-01 (Power Seat Adjuster Loose Fore/AFT) $15.00

Similar Products Used: 1992 BMW 520i
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kerry Olson   [Aug 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: CHRYSLER 300M
Strength:

Nice looking, lots of options and rides smooth (when the steering works)

Weakness:

Sagging door trim, engine problems, steering problems, alternator, belts/pulleys, trunk won't latch, interior lights flashing at random, over heating

Do not buy this hunk of junk! I bought this car used and have had nothing but trouble with it. 1 month after I purchased it, it started mis firing in the engine. The interior window trim started sagging and shrinking. I've had to replace the Rack&Pinion which cost over $800.00. When it went out the steering went out completely and threw me into the ditch on a gravel road. Thank God I wasn't on the interstate with my 4 month old daughter! The Alternator went out as well which cost $300.00+. The trunk won't stay latched and the interior lights keep flashing off and on. The check engine light is a problem too. I recently took it on a trip about 800 miles from my home and it over heated on us for two days straight. I took it to the shop and they said it was a $2.00 relay switch which cost me over $100.00 after you add up shop time. I am very unhappy with my Chrysler and I should have listened to my brother who has been a mechanic for 15 years. NEVER BUY A CRHYSLER!

Similar Products Used: Pontiac Grand Prix
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
sandra and tommy   [Aug 20, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 300 M
Strength:

Nice looking, decent price, and handles well when its running! lol

Weakness:

EVERYTHING! weather striping, windows, road noise, bad tires, radio dont work.....Chrysler what were u thinking! lol

Ive had this car for about 2 months and now the windows dont work and the radio...ac dont work ...check engine light turns off and on...and now the power steering and anti-freeze is leaking..! wow what a piece of *&%$ i bought

Similar Products Used: Cadillac, BMW all types! Honda and almost every car u can think of
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 148  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com