Chrysler LHS Luxury

LHS

The LHS is shares the same 3.5-liter, 253 hp V-6 with the 300M, only in a more traditional luxury car look. It also shares the 4-speed automatic transmission and standard ABS.

User Reviews (71)

Showing 1-10 of 71  
scott   [Jan 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: LHS
Strength:

power reliable styling interior

Weakness:

none at all

perfect car

Similar Products Used: taurus not even close
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brittany Roberts   [Jul 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chrysler LHS
Strength:

This car does have some balls!Its a big car wich makes me fill more secure while on the road with all those idiots.

Weakness:

It does not turn sharp at all.I replaced the water pump,timing belt,battery,front and rear brakes (expensive),some electrical wiring,brain,cam,circut.Thats just naming some things at the top of my head.If you are thinking of buying one of thease cars get one with low miles and keep up with oil changes and regular items that need to be replaced.

Nice roomy car for my family of 5.I bought the car 3 years ago with 99,000. miles. Now 3 years later at 130,000 its holdin on pretty well.Its the most luxurious car I have ever owned.Wood grain and leather make the car look and fill nice.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
stargazers1998   [Jun 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chrysler LHS
Strength:

This 3.5 V6 conserves gas better than most other luxury cars of it's size.

Weakness:

Had a problem with the car jumping, jerking, and stalling at the traffic lights, the master mechanic (Firestone) had to spend half the day resolving the issue, after changing the plugs, the headers had to be removed to clean the injectors. $400.00 and two days later the problem was solved.

A pleasure performance ride overall, with 138,000 city miles when I purchased it, quick pickup when you need it, and good gas mileage. I changed tires and replaced with the goodyear eagle, much smoother ride, Infinity audio system is a blast.

Similar Products Used: My other car is the 96 4X4 Chevy Blazer go's most anywhere the LHS can't go.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
fireforce1144   [Jun 14, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Chrystler LHS
Strength:

I LOVE the pick up & go of a V-6. The car is slick looking, comfertable and I do love it. I am glad that I got this car, it over all hasent been to bad. (Whew.... almost had to use THIS space, to continue the gripes of my worthless car LOL) I call her Bertha.. cause shes a HUGE Bi*c*!! lol

Weakness:

- The AC belt comes off, if you dont shut the AC off, when going into passing gear. (Blows belt, takes out serpentine belt too!!) - Battery needs changed about annually (Dies VERY easily, leave a light on.. 20 mins its dead) - Replaced rack & pin (2nd time its been replaced) - Power Locks & Windows (drivers window) give me fits of working.... have to man handle the window. - NICKLE and DIME you to DEATH! Spent $4100 for the car, and another near $3500 in parts... remember, I get them AT cost and FREE labor..... thats WAY to expensive - The rear caliper has locked up 3 times, causing the front left break to over work, eat into the roter.. and piss me off.... - Replaced the power steering line, resovar, pump and it STILL leaks & whines.... - TIRES ARE $200 EACH... for the CHEAP ONES - You have to be with in 20' of the car, for the keyless entry to work (On NEW batteries) - THE FRONT END!!!! OMG.. I have replaced the CV joints (blew out while driving), both the Inner & Outter Tie Rod's & Ends... CV Boot, axils... etc.. SEVERAL TIMES (Alligned each time too!) - Luckily, only spent $144 on Front Roters, and break pads for both front & back.. daddio put them on (I helped...) (** Not very car suave, as Im a politician now Lol**) - OH YES>.. theres the MASSIVE over heating problem... Replaced the Water Pump.. VERY hard to get to, and expensive.... the car likes to get hot & spew all the water out of the over flow tank... dunno WHAT causes that, does it about every 4 weeks or so.... Im sure theres MANY more things I could rattle off... but you get the point... I love the car, but MAN... there comes a time, u just up the insurance to full, strap on a helmet & drive in front of a simi...... then go by a GM!

I bought this car, in January of 2001 while in the USAF, in Minot North Dakota. It works GREAT in the winter time, which ND has a lot of. It HATES the summers in Ohio, now that Im not in the Air Force. I have spent probally a good $3000 in repairs. My dad has a shop, and I get parts 1) at cost, 2) tax free & 3) he does free labor... THANK god for that. I drove back and fourth from North Dakota to Ohio several times, I LOVE the car.... it now has 252,405 Miles. Today, the transmission decided to blow.. (a seemingly common problem). I bought the car, it had one owner before me, and I recieved an envelope with every thing that had ever been done to the car, including oil changes every 2500 miles. (All done at the dealership). The car had about 150K when I got it, but had the transmission and engine both replaced (the former owner accidently drove 60 in Low Gear)... so the Auctual miles on the tranny & engine were 70K, which isnt bad for a 1996.

Similar Products Used: Well.. Ford Tempo 96 & an 87 & a 89 Cavalier. (This is a BIG move up...)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
vikin   [Nov 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: LHS
Strength:

Looks, styling, comfort, stereo and more than enough power for those of us who aren't speed freaks.

Weakness:

The transmission will need to be replaced at some point if you get enough miles on the car. Mine went at the 230,000 kilometer mark. The water pump is a costly job and will also need to be done. The front end steering components are weak and will also need to be swapped out after time. I realize that as the years and miles add up that most of these items will need to be replaced. The problem is the cost. Nothing is fixed easly on this car and if you buy a used tht hasn't been looked after it will force you into the poor house. If your thinking about picking up a used one, make sure you have a good mechanic check it out from top to bottom.

The styling of this car is what first attracted me to look at buying one. Now that I've had it for 2 years I still love the look. I have 240,000 k's on it and the body and paint still look brand new. The premium stereo package is the best of any car I've ever owned. This is a large comfortable car that is perfect for those who travel or spent a great deal of time in there vehicle.

Similar Products Used: Intrepid, Concorde
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
fastexas   [Jan 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Concorde Limited
Strength:

Roomy! Much nicer materials and fit 'n finish than I expected. I think DiamlerChrysler has made real strides in quality in these cars over the last 5+ years. Power is good, pretty smooth engine. Ride and handling are a revelation to me for such a large car. Paint & build seem to be on a higher level than Ford or GM. No rattles or harshness over ruts and potholes. Very solid build.

Weakness:

Tranny could shift smoother, but it's not too bad, but not as good as GM products. Radio/ CD good quality, but non-infinity speakers are junk. Replaced with Alpines. As usual for this platform, road noise is noticable. I think a different tire would be a real help. I'll be in touch with Tire Rack when the time comes.

The Concorde Limited replaced the LHS in '03. Same car cosmetically and functionally (interior, body, 250HP V-6, ect.) Just an amazing vehicle for the price. List in '03 was abt. 33k; I bought this one 8 mos. old & 16k miles for $17,000! A LOT of car for the money if you can avoid the crippling 1st year depreciation. MUCH nicer day-to-day driving car than my wifes '00 BMW 325i, just not as sporty when one wishes to drive that way. Great highway/ long distance car. Very attractive, practically a show car! Looks much more expensive that it really is.

Similar Products Used: Taurus..no comparison, a real plebian car Linclon LS...the best American large sport sedan, but too expensive BMW 325i...super car, but cramped for a family, and not as many amenities.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
D Davis   [Jan 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: LHS
Strength:

Great comfort car. Good looks.

Weakness:

Motor on window and door locks continually go out. Service departments never seem to find the problem within a reasonable time.

We purchased two identical LHS's. His and Hers. We have both experienced the same trouble issues on our vehicles. One vehicle is always in the shop for repair. Windows and door locks have been repaired a total of nine times. Side mirror fell off for no reason. Both fuel pumps went out within two years. Water pump out on one. Transmissions constantly need repair. Cooling lines broke on one. Currently have one car in for repair because it would not start. Service center cannot find the reason.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Jack Cummins   [Dec 26, 2003]
Model Reviewed: lhs
Strength:

Good ride, comfortable.Fast!

Weakness:

Window motors replaced, heated seats not working. Front end knocks

Great horsepower, runs good. Had to replace window motors at 60,000. Tires avg. $200.00 each. Replaced rack on steering at 65,000. Still having front end problems with knocking when turning or breaking and mechanics do not know what the problem is.

Similar Products Used: 1998 ford windstar
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Bruce Clemons   [Dec 08, 2003]
Model Reviewed: LHS
Strength:

Engine has plenty of power, great handling. Looks both sporty and luxurious. Leather seats hold up good.

Weakness:

Turning into a money pit. Replaced rack and pinion at 72,000. A/C smells and does not cool very good sometimes, even after being serviced. Climate control switch had to be replace, no A/C without it. Electric windows come and go. VERY Poor resale and trade in value.

Real nice car, has plenty of power. Lots of leg room. Interior is has held up good. Tires are expensive, but that goes with sport touring cars. I thought it would hold its value better and major parts would last londer. Electric windows and locks go hay wire sometimes.

Similar Products Used: 95 Chevy Lumina, 91 Hyundia Elantra
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
jeff oslund   [Nov 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: chrysler LHS
Strength:

Good road handling, great back seat leg room and trunk space (4 sets of golf clubs).

Weakness:

Poor rear window visiblity. Design flaw in power window mechanism (replaced 5 motors in 5 yrs).

Purchased in 1998 and have driven 116,000 miles, mostly highway, with few problems until recently. Now it has an apparent electronic shifting problem at high acceleration as if it temporarily loses power. Neither my personal mechanic nor the dealer's service center can diagnose the problem with the the latest computer diagnostic equipment.

Similar Products Used: Owned 1989 Dodge Spirit for 13 yrs and 160,000+ miles before retiring it.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 71  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com