Infiniti G37 Luxury

G37

The G37 is a luxury sports coupe or sedan. The all-new second-generation G37 coupe followed as a 2008 model with a more powerful engine, redesigned look and refined interior.

The 2011 Infiniti G Coupe receives a new front fascia design, the Navigation Package is now standard with the Premium Package on the Sport 6MT trim and new 18-inch and 19-inch wheel designs are added.

The 2011 Infiniti G Sedan adds the new G25 powered by a 218-horsepower 2.5-liter V6 combined with a 7-speed automatic transmission.

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
Dave   [Jul 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti G37X Sedan
Strength:

Engine, transmission and suspension are superb; as is the rest of the package.

Weakness:

Could use a couple of inches of cabin width and rear seat leg room.

An ideal mix of luxury and sportiness in a package that rivals both the BMW 5 Series and the Mercedes E Class on nearly every level. Though often compared to the BMW 3 Series, it virtually matches the 5 Series inch for inch. Add the superb reliability record and one wonders why one should ever pay more for a European sedan.

Similar Products Used: Acura TL and Saab 9-5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Danny Boy   [May 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G37x AWD
Strength:

Good acceleration, great looks and excellent value

Weakness:

Speeding tickets

I was looking for summer car and was interested in the new 370Z. I test drove it and love it but was a little concerned that it is purely a two seater and there is very little cargo space. My golf bag/clubs have to sit in the open and that is dangerous in case of an accident.

I went to next showroom and looked at the G37x Coupe. The G37 has the same engine (my fourth vehicle with the VQ engine) with more luxurious amenities plus the two doggie seats which I need two nights a week going out with the wife and kid. I purchased the AWD which is new in 2009.

I also looked at the Audi TT and the BMW 335ix. The G37x essentially offers you much better value and reliability.

The coupe rides fairly firm but not punishing. The acceleration is strong (0-60 at 5.4 sec) and one can sit comfortably in the bucket seat. The exhaust sounds great on acceleration. The brakes are very responsive.

The Infiniti BOSE system is so and so. However, the interior is quiet with a lot of high tech toys to keep me entertained.

Gas mileage is around 22mpg for its first 1000 miles. Not bad comparing to my FX.

Similar Products Used: Infiniti FX, Maxima, Pathfinder. Test drove Audi TT, BMW 335ix and 370Z.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin Martinez   [May 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G35 Coupe
Strength:

Performance, Looks, Standard features, Comfortable seats, Sound system (Bose). Sound of the car aint bad either. Fun to drive.

Weakness:

MPG aint that great. Then again it has a big engine. Tire wear. Tires need to be replaced every 10,000 miles or so. Brakes as well. No I-Pod kit for all you music lovers.

The 2007 G35 is a car to buy if you have a budget of about $35,000. All other cars around that area won't compare to it. I've done a lot of searching when it came to buying a car and the G35 came with more standard features than most other cars did. It is way better than a BMW 3 series I can tell you that. It is a great car from the looks to its performance.

Similar Products Used: BMW 3 series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
zelda21   [Mar 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G35X
Strength:

Good acceleration

Bose sound

Looks good

Weakness:

Most uncomfortable seats ever

Audio controls inconveniently placed

Bluetooth system takes way too long to place a call

Gas milage worse than claimed

The positives of this car are the looks and the engine performance, though the acceleration could be smoother.

The negatives, though, far outweigh the positives. Beware on test drives, as many of the negatives are not things that are apparent when driving for just 20 minutes or so. I have never been this dissatisfied with a car and have had many. Unfortunately, I lease. If I had bought this car, would take taken my losses and put it up for sale before I hit 1,000 miles.

First and foremost, the seats are so uncomfortable it is hard to concentrate on any of the positives. Another review mentioned being uncomfortable if you are over six feet or 250 pounds+. As a female more than 100 pounds lighter than that reviewer, I still say stay away because the seats are so bad.

My previous car was a BMW 525 and had an Audi A6 before that. The dealer claimed Infiniti is in the luxury range with those manufacturers. I say they have a long way to go to get into the same class.

The audio system also is problematic. It switches between ipod and radio randomly. Also, the steering wheel function does not include XM, so you need to lean way over to switch between the 100+ XM stations. The ipod interface is very cumbersome to switch and find what you want. If you want to hear an artist who is 50th down on the alphabetic listing, you get to hit the little button 50 times to get to that artist.

The bluetooth interface is very weak. First, there is no automatic tranfer of your phone book to the car. Placing a call through the car system takes about 10 times longer than it would take to just dial.

The actual gas milege is lower than claimed, though hopefully that will improve as the engine breaks in. Right now, straight highway, say 250 miles at 70 mph steady, does not get as good a gas mileage as they claim the car gets in city driving.

The ride itself is pretty bumpy and when on the highway,the road noises is very high.

Similar Products Used: BMW 525xi
Audi A6 quattro
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
ATL Rob   [Feb 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G35 Coupe
Strength:

Performance, looks, sounds

Weakness:

paint, no ipod,

My G35 came from the dealer with several Steve Millen upgrades (intake, suspension and exhaust) and rims treated by Helios with a Black Mirror finish. (was $2K a peice just for that) I started with a 4 door G35 sport but had to have the 2door. Needless to say i love the car. Even though i said i would never have another black car it is black on black with the black mirror rims. I get crappy mpg due to wanting to hear the exhaust roar everytime i drive it. I only have 2 really big complaints, the paint does not look as good as most other cars of this type and no freekin ipod input. Even the 07 Nissans have that. I have had 2 1st Gen RX7s and several other sports cars and this one has not been a let down. now that i dont need a back seat the 370z is looking better and better but it would be hard to leave it on the lot for someone else. I have gotten several others to buy one and now my wife even has the new EX. She loves it but had to take a class to figure out all the technology it offers.

Similar Products Used: RX7,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Blazer9er   [Feb 10, 2009]
Model Reviewed: G35 6MT Coupe
Strength:

+Awesome performance for price.
+Many luxury options standard (VS comparable other car models such as BMW 3series).
+Comfortable seating (driver & passenger).
+Bose system a must (the other G35 I had driven did not have this, and being a music addict I was disappointed by the regular system).
+Bluetooth handsfree phone system (For me this is a must, and with regulations changing today, simply happy it was included).

Weakness:

-Gas/mileage (you aren't going for economy when you buy a car with a big engine...)
-Headroom in the back seat (It's a coupe, let's face it).

My first experience with Infiniti was with a family member's G35 sedan. After that I was sold to the Infiniti level of comfort/standard options/pricing offered so I bought my own. I have been driving it for a little while and I am not disappointed by this little beauty at all. Basically I have the gray/silver 6MT model (black leather interior) with all bells and whistles including NAV. It drives smoothly, the sound it makes with the 298hp engine is awesome. Obviously the interior is loaded with features and comforts (for a coupe model of course). Infiniti's reliability and resale value is also a definite must. I scored an awesome deal here, considering it's from a dealer and is still under warranty but I would have paid more for this for sure! (Price in CAD).

Similar Products Used: 2006 G35 sedan. 2007 BMW 3 sedan. 2005 Porsche Boxster.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
biffster   [Oct 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: G35 coupe
Strength:

Looks, power

Weakness:

Most uncomfortable car I've ever driven

I've just test driven a 2005 G35. Wow, those seats suck. I'm 5'6", 170 lbs and the side bolsters on these seats stick into my lats so much that my back doesn't completely press against the back of the seat. Its not like I'm a big guy or a body builder. Are these seats just for slim women or scrawny guys? The ride is truly rough and I'm used to "sport" suspension. Maybe that's why there are so many late models on the market. Man, do I want my old turbo Talon back - it was a dream to drive.

Similar Products Used: Eagle Talon TSI, Lotus Elise
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Simon   [Oct 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: G35 Coupe
Strength:

Above all the power and handling is my main focus when initially buying it. When you press on the gas its gone, you got love that, the comfort in the seats are above average but you get use to them. The gas mileage on the freeway is a lot better than I expected. I’ve read reviews about the ambient noise on this car and I think it’s pretty quiet and ultimately a smooth ride overall; I would buy the G37 or the 4 door G35 as my next car. I definitely recommend this car.

Weakness:

The city gas mileage isn't great, the weels get dirty very fast due to the break dust and other debri that likes to accumulate on the rims(18inch), The front right side is bit hard to see when driving but still manageable. Also the tire pressure sensors are so touchy, they always seem to come on when going on 100 plus mile trips, the dealer has looked at them twice now. Oh well who cares my tires are fine.

Great car, Ok gas mileage, great handling, Maint overall is great, speaker system is awesome when your not playing CD, the right system comes on and off based on your breaking, wierd, haven't had the dealer check it out yet but thats my main issue, which is pretty good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Gillis   [Aug 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: G35 Coupe 6MT
Strength:

Style, fit and finish, the car feels and looks like it's worth so much more than it is.

Weakness:

Engine is defective; owners of vehicles with this engine have already had them replaced. Nissan support is deplorable.

I would have loved to rate this vehicle highly for what it provides in the way of styling and price. I can't find another vehicle that looks and feels like the G does for the price (exception being the Z). The fit and finish of the vehicle's interior is fantastic and the car's exterior lines catches people's eyes. People taller than 6' beware, it's tight in the drivers seat - my heads sits in the sunroof opening and I'm almost 6'2".

There is a dark lining on this cloud I'm describing however, read on...

I have to say that I found out too late that cars based on the VQ35DE engine (REV-UP) motors can be prone to engine knock and/or oil consumption. I don't believe there was too much data out back in 8/06, but I am now seeing many ’06 G35 as well as Z owners complaing of both. Nissan is refusing to stand behind its product and only replacing engines when the owner presses their issues through the BBB or legal action. Given what transpired with the 2006 Altimas, I am not surprised that our engines are defective. The pistons and the rings are the suspects for the G and Z. I will be pursuing this matter with whomever I have to in order to get my G fixed. Recommend pass on Nissan products.

Similar Products Used: 2001 BMW 330i
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
bm14582   [Jan 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: G35 Coupe 6MT
Strength:

Power, handling, performance character, looks, Infiniti support for overseas military

Weakness:

Cheap interior, buggy radio, fast tire wear, overactive VDC

I have had a 2004 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (what a mouthful) for the a little more than 12 months. I'm currently stationed in Germany and I have been able to run notoriously twisty B-roads, no-speed-limit autobahns, and the Nurburgring, as well as dry, wet, and snow environments. Here's what I've noticed:

The Interior.
This car is really comfortable to drive in (although it took me a while to figure out how exactly to sit in the seats without my lower back hurting, I now have no pain with hours of driving.) The driving position is good, with plenty of ways for you to orient yourself in the cabin. And the gear leaver falls perfectly into your hand.

If I have a gripe it would be with the quality and fitment of some of the materials and some of the plastics scratch easily. A less serious irritation is that I am also not a big fan of the peculiar stereo/HVAC button section, which seems like a sea of buttons (the 350Z’s layout seems simpler.) However, they are logically laid out and easy to operate.

Driving Impressions.
At low speeds (below 70 MPH) the G35 has an incredible amount of grip! Turn-in is pretty good and in dry weather it is really, really hard to get the car to spin uncontrollably. In the wet, however, it is really, really easy to kick the butt out and the VDC should be kept on. The snow isn’t too difficult for the G35 Coupe, but its low ride height makes it easy to get stuck in deep snow. In very deep snow you might find that the VDC is so intrusive that you cannot get the car moving up some uphill sections of road (with your butt constantly trying to shoot out.) But this experience is with ultra high performance all-season tires and dedicated winter tires will probably do better.

On the famed Nurburgring I was able to set a “safe” lap time of 9:49 seconds. I can tell you that I lost my nerve before the car did. Certain sections allowed me to do 100+ MPH speeds with little problem, but the world goes by very quickly at that speed on a twisty two-lane B-Road. Overall the car was predictable, agile, fairly neutral (with some under-steer at the edge of the handling envelope), with incredible grunt, and transmitted tons of useful feedback. In other words it was A LOT of fun. (You can see my video at G35Place.com.)

Heel-toe shifting is stupidly simple and really fun in this car.

At high speeds the G35 6MT’s less aggressive suspension (when compared to the 350Z Track) makes the car float a bit when executing tight turns at 120+ MPH (while straight-line cruising is rock solid.) But this suspension also makes bad roads much more tolerable.

The 3.5L V6 engine has no problem accelerating the car out of corners with real addictive authority and can easily propel the car up to its electronically-limited top speed of 155 MPH. Fuel economy is pretty bad (18 MPH average in city driving), but that is because of the way I drive (aggressively all the time.) If I’m really good I can get about 20 MPG average on the autobahn (driving at about 90-100 MPH.)

The VDC sucks in dry weather and really takes all the fun out of driving the car spiritedly (better tires reduce this problem.) When the VDC is turned off, on a dry surface the G35 is fairly neutral and either slightly under- or over-steer. When the roads get wet, you should just leave the VDC on.

The Problems
This car is not without its problems. Shortly after I purchased the car I found that the gas tank wouldn’t fill all the way when it was cold. I later found out that there was a service bulletin for an overly sensitive fuel flow valve.

I also found that the radio would skip spontaneously for about 10 minutes the first time I started the car when the outside temperature was below 50 degrees. This problem was followed by the loss of the sound that came out of my driver’s side tweeter. Both of these problems were fixed with the replacement of the head unit and was accomplished under warranty.

Finally, I noticed that there was an odd clicking coming from the back of my car when I was accelerating from a dead stop and the windows were open. With some research I found that there was another service bulletin that identified this as a problem with the rear axel bolts. This problem was also fixed under warranty.

Is it Worth Buying?
I spent $35,500 for my used G35 Coupe 6MT, which is twice as much as I have spent on any car in my life and I do not regret it at all. Despite the few annoying problems I’ve had with it I still feel like I lucked out and won the lottery. Fun-to-drive is the most important factor that I value in the cars I buy and I still look for excuses to drive this car. I am always looking to do a milk-run or eat out for dinner so that I can experience driving my G35 Coupe. When I get to actually race it, and I do frequently, it stands up to my abuse without a hint of objection (actually just the opposite.) Most importantly, this car still puts a very big grin on my face EVERY TIME I drive it.

Similar Products Used: 2004 Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com