Infiniti I30 Luxury

Infiniti I30 Luxury 

DESCRIPTION

The I30 is powered by a 3.0-liter, 190-hp DOHC V-6 4-speed automatic or a 5-speed manual transmission. ABS is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 101  
[Feb 16, 2008]
Bruce
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30

Strength:

Good reliability, low cost to maintain compared to most of the other imports, comfortable ride considering the perfomance suspension. Recommended over anything out of Sweden or Germany and most of the cars from Asia. Replacement parts identical to Maxima equating to many optional sources.

Weakness:

Weak mid/high end torque, High low end torque equating to high treadware. Somewhat rough ride due to suspension and tire requirements. OEM Struts lost seal and had to be replaced at 120k miles. Not much difference between I30 and Maxima except the interior and of course the price.

The I30 has been a good car. Bought in 2005 with 92k miles. Replaced variable speed sensor, alternator, struts, belts. Now has 138k miles. O2 sensors need replacing and rotors have warped. Suspension has always been tight resulting in a moderately rough ride (uses H, V or Z class tires). Somewhat louder road noise and less reliability than the 95 Lexus es300 I had before. Owner's manual offers 'how to' instructions on routine maintenance items which I thought to be odd. Oil changes are a breeze. I use synthetic oil and K&N oil/air filters. Noticed that the car has a significant of low - mid range torque - this equates to faster tire wear for obvious reasons. The I30, however it lacks on high end torque. There is very little difference between the I30 and Nissan Maxima (only the interior) Wish I had shopped further to purchase the I35 or purchased one of the 95/97 Lexus es300's I was looking at.

Similar Products Used:

1995 Lexus ES300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 29, 2007]
Jordan Young
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30t

Strength:

Power, handling, style, space

Weakness:

car has some trouble keeping traction in rain and other than that I would prefer it be rear wheel drive.

I have owned quite a few cars including a 1984 Toyota Supra and this car over all is one of the best I have ever driven it has all the extras that I like to see and it is just an all around fun car.

Similar Products Used:

Lincoln LS V8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 16, 2007]
Prutopia
Model Reviewed: infiniti i30t

Strength:

Very well designed, efficient engine. Great bose stereo, Great interior coverings, paint is still in great shape after 10yrs in florida, smooth with plenty of power, no big problems just normal maintenance mostly, lots of room in back seats and trunk

Weakness:

engine hard to work on, seats could be more comfy, various fluid leaks are annoying. Change those struts!!

This is a very reliable car. The t package makes this car much better looking and more fun to drive. While this is probably one of the most problem free cars I have owned, it has had some minor issues. A rattle in the dash board that has nearly driven me insane but finally went away after jamming a qaurter under the upper padded dash. The black leather seats are tough as nails and still look perfect after 125000 miles but are quite uncomfortable on long trips. The tranny stopped shifting at 50000 miles and the dealer said that they had a recall notice and would fix for free but the tranny case has leaked slowly ever since. I have always used synthetic lube and so far so good. At about 100k miles we drove on a long trip and the rear struts went. This was scary as a decent bump in the road sends the wheel darting into the wheelwell with no tire touching road. Allmost wrecked it but I replaced all 4 struts with KYB AGX 4 way adj sport struts and this thing handles like a porsche on the stiff setting. What a difference that made. All standard maintenace complete, ie. new axels (cv's), brakes twice (buy good trw rotors and never get warped rotors)trust me I live in florida and they get hot), bosch plat-2 plugs, belts and hoses, fuel/air/oil changes, pvc, etc. At 120k, just developed coolant leak and power steering pump leak. What a bioch to change them.. 10hrs. This is a very high tech engine and very effecient but very hard to work on. The water pump is behind the timing chain cover and runs off the timing chain. The tie rod end has to be disconnected to even think about removing the ps pump. I am an ex mechanic that changed careers but this car has always been a challenge to work on. That said she should go another 75k to 100k no problem. I am not changing the timing chains so if they go all bets are off but I doubt it. If your car start idiling rough pull the intake and clean it, esp the egr pipe to intake fitting. Will be completely blocked at 100k if this has never been cleaned. I was thinking of trading for QX4 but they dont make them after 03. Maybe a pathfinder or 4runner or gx470 (have a new baby and need more room) Sorry so wordy. Love this car and would buy another.

Similar Products Used:

91 honda civic, 95 nissan p/u v6, 01 chevy van 1ton

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 21, 2007]
Wayne In Manila
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30/Nissan Cefiro

Strength:

Engine, appointments, fit & finish, comfortable, understated design which I like.

Weakness:

Paint does seem to easily stain..but at almost 6 years old I still get compliments on the car.

I've owned 11 cars throughout my life, and this one is hands down my favorite. Fun to drive when I'm feeling spunky yet extremely comfy on long hauls. Well appointed and more bells and whistles than a Lexus 300..and sooo much more reliable than a BMW, Benz, SAAB, Volvo..well you get the picture. I love the engine. absolutely no problems so far and given that the Philippines has the roughest roads in the world (dont argue it, it's true) this car should be near death..it still feels and runs like new.

Similar Products Used:

BMW 328,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2007]
skihowie
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30T

Strength:

Smooth 5 speed, nice mpg, great stereo, handles great, hugs the road.

Weakness:

Looks like an old persons car (no offense intended).

I do not work for Infiniti---
The best car value I have had in 35 years of driving. Mine I30T is a 5 speed, one of the very few made. 30 mpg highway, once went 500 miles on a tank of gas. 23-34 mpg combined now. I have not had one thing go wrong on this car since July 99. Only replaced the brakes once. The car now is getting a new clutch at 138,000 miles-the first repair.
Great stereo but must be listened to loud (Bose). Great handling with the sport suspension. Looks like a car an old man or woman would drive--but people soon learn otherwise. Too bad there is not a viable replacement.

Similar Products Used:

5 series, 3 series

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 17, 2006]
JD
Model Reviewed: I30

Strength:

Comfortable ride, many bells and whistles.Love the rear power shade.

Weakness:

Dealership stinks.

I bought this car for my wife so she cold have some luxurt at a good price. The car overall is great. Compared to my 2002 Lexus ES300, there are more bells and whistles in her car than mine. :) The problem we've had is with the infiniti dealership of Alexandria,VA. There was a problem with the vehicle in which it would cut off while driving on the highway. My wife and I both drove the car and was almost rear ended a number of times. I took it to the dealership who said they didn't find anything wrong. I went and picked up the car and it cut off again when I left. I was able to get the car back to the dealership and and after having it for two weeks, and $1700 in repairs, the problem returned months later while my wife was driving with our new baby in the car. Needless to say, i was pissed. We were able to get the vehicle to a maintenance shop with a local mechanic. He was able to find the problem overnight. One of the oxygen sensors had never been changed and it was rusting. This was causing the fuel to be cut from the engine while in motion. He said that there is no way if a dealer mechanic looked at this car, how could they miss this problem. anyway, not t blab on, the car is great. The dealership sux.

Similar Products Used:

Lexus es300, infiniti g20

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 07, 2006]
Harry Bunting
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30

Strength:

Engine/Transmission reliable. Black paint is thick.

Weakness:

This is really an old mans car but it likes 100mph. Airbags, did I mention that?

I have owned the 98 I30 for 6 years. It has 110k on it and still runs great and does NOT burn or leak oil. The BOSE radio has always been nice and better than some new cars I've been in. However, the car is not perfect. Here are a few problems:

1) Air Bag Light Blinks. (This should be a class action lawsuit because I am not alone here, they do have Airbag problems!)
2) Rear Center Reflector starts to bow out from trunk, looks ugly. (I saw a guy on Ebay trying to sell his old one after he bought a new one for $500)
3) The "throttle body" gets dirty quickly, and your engine will run rough or your steering wheel will vibrate at various speeds. If you own an Infiniti, make sure you keep it clean. There are web sites telling you how to clean it.

Overall this is a great car and I'm going to keep the beast until its well over 150k.

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Camry

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2006]
chris9909
Model Reviewed: I30

Strength:

Fast, great interior very comfortable, great sound system

Weakness:

Kind of looks like a "grandma" car

Bought this car used as my first car 118k on it, still runs like a dream. Only cars i can compare it too are my dads volkswagen which rides great (duh GERMAN engineering). But still a great car

Similar Products Used:

volkwagon passat, acura mdx

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2005]
Made in China
Model Reviewed: Luxury

Strength:

The engine! definitly..... and the sound system..obviously

Weakness:

exhaust system! Mine is broken and I replaced one. Power steering system! I can hear the noise, but I am not sure

It is a fantastic car, but my friends told me that the car is designed for old people(because of its luxury features).I really enjoy the sunroof,because I am a smoker......

Similar Products Used:

BMW 325i BMW 330xi

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 10, 2004]
attomica
Model Reviewed: Infiniti I30t

Strength:

Fit & finish; smooth, refined, powerful engine; great sound system; reliability

Weakness:

Less-than-great fuel economy

What a fantastic car! Fit & finish, design, engineering and quality were high priorities for the creators of this car. The I30t's road manners are great. I feel very in-touch with what's going on, whether on the highway or in town. Some seem to think the ride is harsh, but I disagree. It's tight, but compliant, and I have yet to encounter a situation where I thought the suspension was poorly tuned. The VQ engine is a refined jewel. It's smooth and quiet, but can dish out the power when asked. It does like the gas, though, so don't expect economy car mileage figures. I'm getting about 22 (combined) mpg. That equates to 300 miles per tank. The kicker is that it demands premium fuel. I think the exterior styling is pleasing. It's conservative, but contemporary, and has nice proportions. The Millenium Jade (dark green) on my car is truly breath-taking when freshly cleaned. The Bose sound system is awesome! Many seem to have problems with the quality of the sound, but I think it's great. The volume can be taken to levels that shake all your mirrors, if you so desire, and I cannot detect any distortion even at those levels. It has been a paradigm of reliability for the year I've owned it and I expect the trend to continue. Overall, the perfect car for my needs.

Similar Products Used:

Saab 9-5, Lexus ES300

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 101  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com