Jaguar XJ Luxury

XJ

The Jaguar XJ is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, or luxury sports sedan, available in 6 trims, ranging from the XJ to the XJL Supersport.

Yhe XJ is equipped with a standard 5.0-liter, V8, 385-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. The XJL Supersport is equipped with a standard 5.0-liter, V8, 510-horsepower, supercharged engine.

The 2011 XJ is redesigned for 2011.

User Reviews (39)

Showing 1-10 of 39  
Bill   [Jul 24, 2013]
Model Reviewed: XJ Super Sport
Strength:

Power, Interior, Stable at all speeds.Very nimble for such a large car. The tightest turning car I have ever driven. Road Service response time, for tire repair, is excellent.

Weakness:

Dashboard computer slow. New tires every two years- about 20,000 miles. Some push button controls are to close. High-Test Fuel a must be used for performance.If you want to keep a low profile, this is not the car for you. Back seats are roomy but it is a four person car. No dip sticks. The computer tell you what & when everything that is needed. Speical oil only can be found at Jaguar Dealers. Dealer not in every town.

All is as advertized MPG.You can do better then 23 MPG if driven properly.
Power is underrated. Jaguar give a rating about 4.7, 0 to 60. Two Auto Magazines rate the 470hp @ 4.0 & 4.1, 0 to 60mpr.
Easy for XJ SuperSport 510hp 0 to 60 under 4.0.

Similar Products Used: I did test drive most of the others in this class. The Audi 8 had a nice interior 2nd only to the Jag. The rest were black & silver plastic. The Caddy was nicer then the other imports.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
patrick p. cosgrove   [Jan 02, 2011]
Model Reviewed: XJR 100
Strength:

It brakes and corners like a dream, accelerates like a bat out of hell and always beats Corvettes especially on steep mountain roads! Superb Brembo cross-drilled brakes! Luxurious (e.g. four heated seats) fast (0-60 in 5.1) great styling car only black/black Commemorates birth of William Lyons, exclusive (only 200 sent to USA) Very satisfying in every way. Best Jag of the thirteen I have owned, each a different model.

Weakness:

Very poor on bad road surfaces (at least in terms of replacement parts. You need a felonious uncle in the Spare Parts dept. to keep it tiptop. Rather dismal "smoked bird's-eye maple" wood inside; not much legroom in the back; not (comparably) much trunk space either; needs much better bulbs in headlights. Sunroof not that reliable; parts can be exorbitant!

Despite glaring weaknesses, a fast, beautifully-styled comfortable sedan. Woth every miserable dollar. Too, it took me cross country TWICE with NO problems at all.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes-Benz, Caddy CTS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Paddy   [Jan 02, 2011]
Model Reviewed: XJR 100
Strength:

It brakes and corners like a dream, accelerates like a bat out of hell and always beats Corvettes especially on steep mountain roads! Superb Brembo cross-drilled brakes! Luxurious (e.g. four heated seats) fast (0-60 in 5.1) great styling car only black/black Commemorates birth of William Lyons, exclusive (only 200 sent to USA) Very satisfying in every way. Best Jag of the thirteen I have owned, each a different model.

Weakness:

Very poor on bad road surfaces (at least in terms of replacement parts. You need a felonious uncle in the Spare Parts dept. to keep it tiptop. Rather dismal "smoked bird's-eye maple" wood inside; not much legroom in the back; not (comparably) much trunk space either; needs much better bulbs in headlights. Sunroof not that reliable; parts can be exorbitant!

Despite glaring weaknesses, a fast, beautifully-styled comfortable sedan. Woth every miserable dollar. Too, it took me cross country TWICE with NO problems at all.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes-Benz, Caddy CTS.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
patrick p cosgrove   [Jan 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XJR 100
Strength:

Styling--this is a beautiful car by any standards. Handling, when pushed, and cornering at speed is astonishing for control and road grip. Likewise acceleration is phenomenal; interior very comfortable, luxurious but sporty too, as in 'business-like.' Heated bucket seats very comfy. A superb car all around; a source of enormous daily pleasure! Has been extremely reliable in the last year both in Las Vegas (6 months) and Conn. (8 months) Desert to snow!

Weakness:

Very expensive wheels with low profile racing tires are VERY prone to puncture on rim--it only takes a moderate pothole!
could do with greater reach on the steering wheel tilt; not a lot of headroom in back; Tires from Michelin $392.00 each.

Overall, this is the Jaguar i will always treasure the most of the eleven Jags I have owned so far. By a hairsbreadth, this one is the best looking and the most exciting to date!

Similar Products Used: Jag Mark II, Mark VII, mark X, Jag 420G, E-type, S-type (3.4 manual) XK 140. Some were double-ups.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
timfountain   [Dec 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XJ8
Strength:

Build quality, engine, interior ambience, performance, economy (for the size of car). Navigation and in-vehicle telmatics are simple to operate and intuitive.

Weakness:

Not a DIY car, parts and main dealers can be exensive.
Can cause other drivers to exhibit childish signs of envy and petty behaviour.
Makes people believe you make more than you do!

The XJ8 is a superb car, my 5th Jaguar and my 1st XJ8. The best Jaguar yet and a bargain used. The all aluminum body makes it light but strong, the 4.2L V8 is silky smooth and the 6-speed autobox gives me an average of 22MPG in mixed driving and over 30MPG on the freeway.
Jaguar still has an undeserved image of unreliability that is totally out of alignment with the truth. As with all modern complex cars, they are expensive to fix and poor maintenance is the main reason why things break. Look after them and don't skimp on the servicing and the car will reward you.

There is another 'review' of an 05 XJ8 that seems bogus. There are no systemic gearbox or overheating problems with the X350 [MY04 onwards in the US]. The poster reports something like 3 gearboxes in 50K miles, which is absurd and not at all in line with reality. Older XJ and S types did have issues with timing chain tensions, thermostat impellors and XF gearboxes. The first 2 issues could be addressed through proactive maintenance and in the case of the gearbox, one could expect about 100k miles before issues started showing up. Since Jaguar considered the gearbox sealed for life, this lead to replacement rather than repair.

Again this is not an issue on an 04+ XJ8 or S-type.

Similar Products Used: Jaguar X-type VDP, Jaguar S-type, Jaguar XJ6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AB   [Jan 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: XJ8
Strength:

Drives beautifully on the highway when it is running okay. The hood ornament is great.

Weakness:

see review above.

Junk. I am on my third transmission. Overheated several times due to poorly fitting rad caps. Computer won't "remember" seat settings. Glove compartment doors fits poorly.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
eurolease   [Jun 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: xj12
Strength:

comfort, power, materials,looks,smoothness, best used car value on market!!only 300 imported in 95 and 96, respectively.

Weakness:

none that i've found.

was scared to death at 1st purchase of xj12 based on horror stories heard. those must be from the 60's and 70's.i've never had a more reliable car and now i've had three. incredible power and top end.great growl.loose over 130 but how often do u do that?? nice to dust big benz's and bmw's considering how arrogant those owners are.jag owners very down 2 earth despite contrary reputation. nothing feels like driving a jag.

Similar Products Used: s class benz, bmw 7 series.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jrfischetti   [Dec 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: XJ/8
Strength:

V-8 has sufficient power, and XJ sedan design is timeless.

Weakness:

single windshield wiper (but that's just me)

This is my third Jaguar, all XJ's the first two were 12 cyl. (XJ12 and XJ/S). So this will be a positive review - no doubt. I was hesitant to accept an 8 cyl. Jaguar, but now that I have it, I'm glad I bought it. (verdict is still not out on the dealer, though). This particular car is a more refined XJ, as compared to the past Jaguar cars I have owned. Power is smooth and quite acceptable, ride is defineately Jaguar. Comfortable leather seating for four adults, no wind noise, climate control, need I say more.

Similar Products Used: Corvette C5 Convertible, Ferrari Dino 308 GT/4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jean-François   [Jul 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XJ6 Sovereign
Strength:

The refined & class look. The driving comfort, especially on highways and long distances. The feeling of having and being in a luxury object. The maximum speed is far enough (more than 220 km/h). The trunk is fine. The average consumption of 12 liters/100 kms is correct. It is a silent car, especially when driving at hi speed. I am tall but feel comfortable.

Weakness:

The unefficiency of the wiper. The V6 is slightly too slow when accelerating. I just wonder how will my three children be comfortable when they grow up in the rear seats (for the timle bein, fine !). It is not an efficient car in hills or mountains.

I always loved this car which we offered to ourselves for my 40. I have three young children and they like the car as well. My spouse just loves it more than me. I drive it for 4 years and have not one repair or incident. It just looks as brand new. Even when you look at the engine, though it has 120,000 kms, it is clean of dust. I ask to a garage specialized in collection cars to handle the maintenance (Jaguar is too expensive). Low value when used car (which is good for the buyer, not for the seller).

Similar Products Used: Class E Mercedes, old Porsche 911.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Stan   [Jan 26, 2003]
Model Reviewed: XJR
Strength:

Tremendous style, luxurious interior. The factory wheels look great! Engine horsepower and torque are very very good. This car is fun to drive!!! Next car is Mercedes Benz S55 (on order).

Weakness:

Seats are not as comfortable as I'd like. The built in voice actuated analog cell phone is horrible. (It only cost $2,400.) Reception is horrible and dropouts abound. My pocket cellular phone works FAR BETTER!!! Tight fit for someone 6 feet tall or over. Alpine sound system is good, not great.

Saw this car in the showroom and thought "WOW". Not only do I think the car is beautiful, I get positive comments all the time. The elegant interior makes me feel great every time I get in. Performance is terrific. The torque in this jewel is incredible. Road feel and ride are very good. Down side is the seating is not comfortable for someone 6 feet tall. I have gotten used to it, but it is cramped. My right leg regularly hits the parking brake and the keys hanging from the ignition. It's bothersome. However, the "Fun Factor" of this car is very very good. Although I wouldn't lease another one, I'm glad I have driven this car for the last three years. I just saw the new 1994 XJR model. This one looks far better.

Similar Products Used: Various Mercedes Benz over the years, 1997 Jaguar XJ6, 1999 Audi A8, 2000 Jaguar Vanden Plas.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com