Jaguar XK8 Luxury

XK8

(1996 - 2005) The Jaguar XK series (XK8 and XKR) is a grand tourer produced by British car maker Jaguar since 1996.

User Reviews (26)

Showing 1-10 of 26  
tim   [Dec 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: xk8
Strength:

great ride,well built,true clothe convertible,just the right amount of wind in the hair,and the comments are great everybody wantsto trade their car for mine, not for kids but for conneseurs

Weakness:

stearing wheel and seat memory don't work well,could use 50 more horsepower, it handles better than it's power allows,and yes some dealers really suck and all charge tooooo much

this is a great car used for the price, i have been very happy with all but the transmission that went bad(not built by jaguar by the way but same tranny in a 740 bmw and considered one of the best trannies u can get)it ia a car a non race car driver can drive, i have a friend with 2008 evo and i beat him every time because he cant get out of it what the evo can do, i get all the jag has. and looks to go with it. this is for those who want to cruise and be envied.

Similar Products Used: bmw 325xi (not worth it),vovlo 740 turbo(220,000miles till it fell apart),jaguar sovereign(always check oil level after getting it changed by someone else),chevy tahoe (great so far),
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
pete boland   [Dec 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XK8 Convertible
Strength:

Performance, looks, comfort, reliability

Weakness:

Yes it feels a little heavy, and (probably why) the mileage isn't great. But wouldn't swap it for anything else.

Best car i've ever owned (and I've owned Mercedes, BMW, Saab). Lifts your spirits no matter how short or long the journey is. The interior is a little cramped, but for me it's cossetting, in the way a Jaguar should be. Constantly get whistles and 'nice car' shouts from passers-by.
It's been 100% reliable - and I've driven it hard. Sometimes the seat memory seems to lose it's memory, but that's it. Looking at the new XF, but will definitely keep this one somehow..!

Similar Products Used: BMW 3, 5, 7, Mercedes SLK, Saab 900SE
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chuck Easttom   [May 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: XK8 Convertable
Strength:

Beauty, perforance, awesome curb appeal

Weakness:

I wish the convertable top where remote controled.

I had a 2003 Jaguary X type for 2 years. I brought it in for routine maintenance and while waiting for a loaner care decided to test drive this car. I fell in love with it. It looks amazing, handles great, is a combination of incredible luxury and performance. I cannot imagine myself ever driving anything other than a Jaguar. I have heard negative things from others, but this is my second Jag with no problems, nothing but car driving joy.

But the look is amazing. Everywhere I go (down my street, through a drive through, in a parking lot) I get positive comments.

Similar Products Used: Jaguar X Type, Corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike   [Apr 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: xk8 convert
Strength:

Looks....interior...smooth as a babys butt

Weakness:

Could have better cornering hold, feels a bit heavy...

Fell in love with this car first time I saw it! Sure theres some quirky things about it but theres nothing like it! Since we bought it used (but still under warranty) we were a little worried about reliability but have been plesently surprized so far. The only thing I felt we needed to change were the tires-I hate pirelli's! Now were talking. Handling improved greatly as did the ride. Drop dead gorgeous.....Dealer was most accomodating.

Similar Products Used: corvette
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
MJ   [Jan 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: XK8 convertible
Strength:

Beautiful looking; an eye-catcher.

Weakness:

JAGUAR SERVICE AND CUSTOMER CARE - not to mention the poor quality of car.

Gorgeous car - WHAT A LEMON!!! Save your money! Be smart - do not buy anything with this company.
I too had many a phone call to customer service, only to be pawned-off with "sorry you are having a bad expereince". Bad experience???---the doors lock on their own while the car is running and nobody is inside; the windows would roll down as you try to get in the car; all the interior and experior lights would stay and won't shut off...should I go on?

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
CGas   [Oct 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XK8
Strength:

Looks, smooth quit ride; even with the top up.

Weakness:

everything electrial and the differential

Drop dead gorgeous, smooth, quite and comfortable; yes. Reliable; not mine. I finally got rid of it after a year of this and that failing; attenuators, actuators, rear differential, steering column and much more. I drove around the Ford Explorer loaner more than the Jag. I wrote the president of Jag USA; his secretary sent it to some regional lackey who in turn arrogantly said "well, I guess you just had a bad experience with your Jaguar". I got rid of it right away.

Similar Products Used: Porsche 911
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
kevin   [May 28, 2004]
Model Reviewed: jaguar
Strength:

stunning beauty,everyone stops to watch it go by,great ride and fast.

Weakness:

im a big guy so its a little hard to get out of

what a wonderful car.truely a joy to drive and absolutly beautiful.i am so glad i picked it over the vette

Similar Products Used: 944,xj6,navagator,older vette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mikesonar   [Nov 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: xk8 coupe
Strength:

Safety in speed - by that I mean overtaking is so much safer.

Weakness:

Fuel consumption - shame there isn't an eco mode

Luxury sports motor at a (reasonably) affdordable price. Overtaking ability gives a buzz and is superb compared to 'normal' cars. Averaging 26mpg (UK) combined which is not bad. Had no problems yet although its a model without a CD player and an add on Jag player is so expensive!

Similar Products Used: MG ZT
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim   [May 04, 2003]
Strength:

The Engine is one of the best V8 power houses in the business. It's 300bhp is not only smooth, but very refined and quite on the highway, but can get you in the region of 155mph. It's simply one of the best looking cars in the world, it is so beautiful it makes Julia Roberts look average. It is very well made, and there are no squeaks or a hint of a rattle, well that's what you pay for though. It handles absolutley wonderfully, the turn in is so crisp and predictable. You are part of the machine, rather than a bit on the side. If you want to there is pleanty of oversteer to go around too. The interior is well layed out, apart from the centre console, see weaknesses, and it is very comfortable when there is two people in the car, and the hold me tight seats, have been made by a loving daisy and ermintrude who in turn went out and slaughtered the cows personally. The brakes are brilliant, and the feel through the pedals in commendable.

Weakness:

ITS TINY. What about me Jag, I am british and eat sunday lunch every day, how an i supposed to fit it? There is less space in this car than in the Ferrari Mondial, which is very poor, so tell me, why did they stick in the rear seats? This is a south of France cruiser for sir and his wife, not for a family of screaming kids. The leather is mega stainable, and a pain to clean, the centre console is messy and you have to stop to use the radio, and there blue dials look rather cheap. And finally, there should be a manual gear box on option

This is a hell of a car, comfortable, fast, glorious to look at, and wonderful to drive. It is a serious contender to an already full contenders list, and in my book, this is very near the top of the table.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
nikki   [Mar 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar XK8
Strength:

Looks, interior, comfort and value.

Weakness:

Nothing yet.

I got this new Jag as a first car. I looked at Mercedes-Benz SL500's, BMW M3's and Porsche 911's, but the XK8 is definitely the best looking and the best value. Everyone should own an XK8.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com