Lexus GS Luxury

GS

The Lexus GS is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in 3 trims, ranging from the 350 RWD to the 460... read more RWD.

The 350 RWD is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 303-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard. The 460 RWD is equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 342-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. A 8-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (55)

Showing 1-10 of 55  
CGas   [Oct 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GS 300
Strength:

Quality, quality, quality, ride, handling, drive train

Weakness:

None

I have owned this GS300 since new (May 1999) and I can’t seem to give it up when considering a new one. It pleases me that much and it drives like it just came off the showroom floor. I now have 131,000 miles on it and the only problem I had, A/C at 104,000, was taken care of by Lexus; these people are fantastic; they bend over backward to please their customers. Before purchasing this model I ordered a MB E300 TD; but, a friend convinced me to take a look at the GS. That was the best thing I did in automobile buying. I’ve owned S class MBs, Jaguar, etc. and there is no comparison with the quality in my Lexus… none. The fit and finish and over quality of this car is wonderful; it continues to be after all these miles. I wouldn't hesitate purchasing another Lexus automobile.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes S class and similar
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
forbidden_city   [Dec 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: GS300
Strength:

great look, smooth and quiet ride, power.

Weakness:

onboard computer too dominant, transmission smoothness

I chose my GS for several reasons: its brandname and reliability, its quiet and smooth ride, its power and torque. I'm so far very impressed with my GS, although I found myself not being able to control it too much. An example is that my car tends to downshift to 1st gear even if it is not at a complete stop. Also, auto-shifting at times create a jerk on the ride. Other than that the car is perfect.

Similar Products Used: BMW X5, Honda Accord/Civic, Toyota Celica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Abeokuto Asahguii   [Nov 22, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GS300
Strength:

looks,reliability,service

Weakness:

handling could be better,otherwise great balance between sport and luxury.

This car has been truly remarkable.Butter smooth transmission,great acceleration,and looks.Dealership is friendly and really go out of their way to be helpful.Very reliable.

Similar Products Used: E320,530i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cng   [Oct 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: GS300
Strength:

- Very quiet and very smooth - Good looking lines and curve - QUALITY!!! - RELIABILITY!!! - HID headlamp came with this car is awesome - Navigation system is very nice

Weakness:

Trunk space may be small compare with the car in the same car. Thats what the SUV is for :)

I was looking originally for the BMW 3 series, after stopped at lexus dealer, my eyes were caught by the evil sleek looking GS300. Its lines and curve caught my attention and the sales person took me for a test drive. After I got in the car, I couldn't believe how quiet the engine was. The closing door sound just spelled QUALITY!!! After adjusting mirror and seats, I was overwhelmed by its amenities. Heated seats, autodim mirror, navigation system,ECT,VSC,HID and more. Then when we got on the high way, the engine roar was like a kitten meowing but the power it generated instantly put a smile on my face. That sales person knew then he got me! How should I describe the feeling when I was driving the car?... hmm.... "Gliding on ice" probably don't justify it, but I will settle it for now. It was that good. And I bought the car the same week and with extended warranty, I am a proud LEXUS owner now.

Similar Products Used: Nissan Altima, Honda Accord, Lexus ES300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   [Jul 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Lexus Gs300
Strength:

Acceleration! Speed, Luxury, Resell price. Lexus is number one, honda is number two...lol..Roomyness...limo room for 4 ppl..tight for that 5th seat in the back...Style Style Style!

Weakness:

fuel injection delay while acceleration..no high perfomance preforated seats for the 430 model..seats dont keep you much in place while quick cornering

This car is unbeliavable, it was used as a sundays car for a few years now...its 5 years old and has only 25k miles on it..the car is absolutly gorgeous..the sleek body design and curves in all the right places..the chrome molding ( as a professional detailist) i must say makes it very difficult to wax to perfection...the engiene however in the 300 model..is odd....acceleration is very fast...pins u to ur seat as it takes off..shifting is smooth with a great low roar to its engiene had higher rpms..wen u slam the gas for it to go..theres a split second delay to b4 she takes off....which in some cases is very dangerous (highway merging, passing through lanes, quick moves through side streets etc.) other than that..the car is unbelievable...as a detailist again lol..the dashboard stays immaculutly clean, alhtough impossible to have a shine to it. audio system..not the nakamachi...the standard lexus 96w 6cd 7spkr (2 tweets, 4 in door 5x7, 1 8-10" woofer) not sure wud size..but....the audio..is..ehh...alright...not the best ive seen, unimpressive for a lexus however...but thas why the upgrade is there i guess...at half way....its loud..but not loud loud...clarity beyond this point cannot be found even with changing the EQ...distortion in the speakers..comes about at much higher volumes but thas obvious in most stereo equipment....take this car above 120mph...and this car still! and i mean still! handles like a dream...u feel weightless...this car roars and fires through turns, the steering becomes so tight it gives u a formula 1 feel to racing..imagine what the GS430 is like

Similar Products Used: I dont know where to start...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dred ted   [Jul 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: GS300
Strength:

All.....especially the body and handling

Weakness:

none

This car is excellent. I used to drive a Benz E320 98. And the feel is nothing compared to the lexus. The benz has this hard feel just like the old ones. The GS handling is so nice you dont even want to leave the car

Similar Products Used: Mercedez E320
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   [Jun 19, 2003]
Strength:

EVERYTHING - I cannot complain honestly

Weakness:

The only thing is that the room in the back could be a little bigger!

ABSOLUTELY - LOVE THE CAR. Great looks, inside is excellent, I LOVE IT.

Similar Products Used: BMW 5-series, Lexus RX300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
amaghazi   [Jun 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Lexus GS300
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Nothing

The GS is the BEST car in the market. I love this car. I've had now for about a year. I wouldn't even think about trading this car. I love every SINGLE detail in this car. Engine and Transmissions are just Beautiful. I've driven BMW 528 and 540, Mercedes Benz E series, and Acura. Lexus surpasses them all. The customer service is FIRST Rate. Road Side Assistance is Free 24/7. Dealers know how to fix ALL the problems and how to treat the customer with the utmost respect. On the road, this car is just soo sporty and soo luxurious that everyone who takes a ride with me just says wow. I bought the car used with 70,000 miles on it and drove it for 30,000 and I have had ZERO problems. The car runs smoothly and all it asks for are just some oil changes along the way. I've had a friend who has driven his 98 GS300 for 250,000 miles and had ZERO problems with it (just the usual few minor problems). inside this car, it's a whole new world. The audi system is awesome with PLENTY of power. the Climate control unit is so awesome. If you are in the market looking for a car, and can afford this car, just get it. This is THE car. P.S. I've tried both the GS400 and GS300. I didn't feel any difference between them except a minor difference in acceleration. I chose the GS300 because it saves me some money on Gas and handles exactly the same as the 400 and 430 (although fuel economy statistics disagree). But a 6-cylinder definitely sucks less fuel than an 8-cylinder engine.

Similar Products Used: BMW 540i, Mercedes Benz E class,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   [May 24, 2003]
Strength:

Looks, ride, its quiet

Weakness:

No sunglasses holder, gas and brake pedal are close together; only 24 hours in a day to enjoy driving it!

I think this car is the best option that combines a sporty look with a sporty, yet luxurious ride. With the optional spoiler, it looks like a sports car. Inside, it drives like a sporty, luxury car. I'm 6'4" and I am comfortable in the driver's seat. Enjoy using the navigation system. Love the stereo. Back seat is roomy enough for 2 adults. I really like this car.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
JOHN   [May 08, 2003]
Strength:

Interior and exterior styling. Smooth ride yet pretty good handling after I replaced the undersized OEM tires

Weakness:

Confused and hesitant transmission at low speeds. Cheap, undersized tires on an expensive, high-line car.

A very good car, but definitely not perfect. The build quality is very good, yet I had a severe dash rattle, which was fixed after two trips to the dealer. The transmission hesitates when accelerating from less than a complete stop, which is a constant annoyance. I also find the driver' seat to be somewhat uncomfortable. The car is a looker inside and out however

Similar Products Used: Olds Aurora and BMW 325
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 55  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com