Lexus LS (2010 and older) Luxury

LS (2010 and older)

The Lexus LS is a 4-door, up to 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the 460 RWD to the 460 L AWD.

The 460 RWD is equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 380-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. The 460 L AWD is equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 357-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (120)

Showing 1-10 of 120  
btexpress   [Mar 24, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Lexus/LS 460 AWD
Strength:

Quiet, comfortable and good looking.

Weakness:

The transmission shudders when travelling at low speeds (35-40 MPH). This is a known problem that Lexus will not fix so just be aware that you will have to live with it. Not sure why they won't address it.

have a shuddering problem in my LS 460 AWD (2009) and have been told that it is "normal". I have a hard time believing that this would be engineered in - I guess Lexus is just getting sloppy. I raised the issue with Lexus corporate to see if they had any plans to resolve this issue and they said it is normal. This is a significant problem for me because a good part of the time I am on surface streets with a speed limit between 35-40 which is exactly where the problem occurs. I have also noticed that it will shudder sometimes when it downshifts (like when giving a bit of gas on an on-ramp) - anyone esle seen this?

The problem, according to the engineer at Lexus Corporate, is that the issue occurs because of the desire to maximize fuel economy and reduce emissions - hence the 8 speed transmission. In short, the AWD version of the car is heavier and has less HP so and the logic for the ECT is shifting too soon in some cases and can't make up its mind on whether to down shift or not. To change the shifting patterns would require Lexus to do some programming and push it out to the dealers but they do not intend to fix it - unless they get more calls on the same issue. SO PLEASE CALL THEM IF YOU HAVE THIS PROBLEM.

He also said that Lexus wants their customer to be happy - especially those that buy LS' and that he would start the buy-back process. In short the "buy-back process" is the execution of the Lemon Law process and it was denied by the regional Lexus office.

I am now forced to use eithe sell the car and take a loss or go through the arbitration process.


OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Stuart   [Jun 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: ls 403
Strength:

Great Value for money

Weakness:

Tires wear out every 12 - 15000 miles.... battery died after 3 years free replacement

I'm a big guy was basically between BMW 745 and Audi A8l beautiful smooth ride ... Love the cooled seats and oscillating Fan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D Moore   [Jul 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: LS 400
Strength:

Excellent finish workmanship

Weakness:

Tires a bit small

Love everything about the car superior ride, super quiet, lots of room except yhe large hump down the middle for rear seat passengers. Good gas milleage for a large car 19 & 26.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sukkee   [Jun 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: LS430
Strength:

Quiet & very comfortable riding; Mark-Levinson audio system; No mechanical problem.

Weakness:

Style maybe.

I bought new car. No problem whatsoever after 26,000 mile & almost 3-year ownership. My son exclaimed: "This is like electric car. How come so quiet?"

Similar Products Used: None except 3 Honda
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ChewBakker   [Apr 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Lexus LS400
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

Fuel Economy. Needs a kitchen sink, microwave and shower, then you wouldn't need a house. No Television as standard.

Outstanding. Perfection. Quiet. Smooth. Performance. All these and more describe the LEXUS LS 400. I have searched wide and hard over the last 12 months to find a car that I can settle with. I have had two BMW 7's (735 and 740), two Jags (XJ6 and XJ8) and a Rover 75 (whoops). The ride, styling and comfort of the LS 400 outshines all of these. Everything about this car proclaims class. The engineers at LEXUS should be congratulated on producing what, for its price, must surely be the best car in the world bar none. Sit down in the driver's seat, turn on the ignition and the fully motorised steering column automatically adjusts the steering wheel to one of two memorised positions. Turn off the ignition and remove the key, the steering wheel is retracted to making leaving the car that much easier - not that you'll want to. The in-dash 6 CD changer is married to a sound system that must surely be the best factory fitted system there is. Pink Floyd has never sounded better!! Ride comfort is the best I have experienced. I drive more that 35,000 miles a year so I know what it can be like getting out of a car after a long journey. Riding in the LEXUS is like being driven on your sofa - only more comfortable. The soft leather seats, with heating front and back, are a pleasure to park your bottom on. Everything about this car has be well thought out. I cannnot recommend it highly enough.

Similar Products Used: BMM 735, 740. Jaguar XJ6, XJ8. Rover 75.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Paul   [Dec 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ls 400
Strength:

Comfortable, luxurious, stylish, reliable, practical, inexpensive to maintain (due to the overall lack of maintanence required).

Weakness:

You have to buy this car a lot of petrol. But I dont' regard this as a weakness on the part of the car really, more a weakness on your own ability to pay for it.

I have owned and driven hundreds (if not thousands) of cars over the past 20 years as it is my job to transport and deliver them. I bought an LS 400 about 5 months ago (having never driven one) and I must say that I am totally in love with it! The interior is roomy and very comfortable, with tons of space for the front and rear passengers. The dash and centre consoles are beutifully set out. The hi-fi is simply fantastic. The V8 takes you upto 60 MPH in around 8 seconds which, for a car almost "two tons" is not bad at all! You can sit at 130 MPH and then press the accelerator and WOW! the Lexus "lifts off" and carries you all the way to around 160 MPH. Beutiful. The build quality is superb with every care to detail. The wipers have a setting that speeds up when the car does. The power steering is "speed sensitive" and gets "tighter" the faster you go. The seats remember who you are! The auto-gearbox learns you particular driving style. The "sports" mode lets you throw the car about like a small GTi. You can do "house removals" in the boot (trunk). I can not think of any other car that I would rather own other than... maybe a Bentley Mulsan. Which is V12, twin supercharged 8.6 Ltr (3 ton) 2 door sports coupe. (prince charles has got one and I delivered it). EXCEPT.... it has not got as many features as a Lexus LS 400! I hope we never have to go to war against the Japanese. AMAZING! and thank you Toyota. Could I also just add one thing?.. People say that Lexus is very expensive when it comes to servicing and repairs... well... Nothing ever actually has to be done to these cars until they are well over 100 thousand miles! Most other cars are about to die at this mileage. The Lexus is almost like a human person, who is looking after you. My brother and me were out on a drive recently and I noticed that the petrol was getting low. My brother said... " I don't think it would ambarrass us so far as to run out of petrol, it will have a trick up it's sleeve".

Similar Products Used: Spider, Most Rolls, DB7. All Mercs. All BMW'S. Bentley Mulsan V12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul   [Dec 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ls 400
Strength:

Comfortable, luxurious, stylish, reliable, practical, inexpensive to maintain (due to the overall lack of maintanence required).

Weakness:

You have to buy this car a lot of petrol. But I dont' regard this as a weakness on the part of the car really, more a weakness on your own ability to pay for it.

I have owned and driven hundreds (if not thousands) of cars over the past 20 years as it is my job to transport and deliver them. I bought an LS 400 about 5 months ago (having never driven one) and I must say that I am totally in love with it! The interior is roomy and very comfortable, with tons of space for the front and rear passengers. The dash and centre consoles are beutifully set out. The hi-fi is simply fantastic. The V8 takes you upto 60 MPH in around 8 seconds which, for a car almost "two tons" is not bad at all! You can sit at 130 MPH and then press the accelerator and WOW! the Lexus "lifts off" and carries you all the way to around 160 MPH. Beutiful. The build quality is superb with every care to detail. The wipers have a setting that speeds up when the car does. The power steering is "speed sensitive" and gets "tighter" the faster you go. The seats remember who you are! The auto-gearbox learns you particular driving style. The "sports" mode lets you throw the car about like a small GTi. You can do "house removals" in the boot (trunk). I can not think of any other car that I would rather own other than... maybe a Bentley Mulsan. Which is V12, twin supercharged 8.6 Ltr (3 ton) 2 door sports coupe. (prince charles has got one and I delivered it). EXCEPT.... it has not got as many features as a Lexus LS 400! I hope we never have to go to war against the Japanese. AMAZING! and thank you Toyota. Could I also just add one thing?.. People say that Lexus is very expensive when it comes to servicing and repairs... well... Nothing ever actually has to be done to these cars until they are well over 100 thousand miles! Most other cars are about to die at this mileage. The Lexus is almost like a human person, who is looking after you. My brother and me were out on a drive recently and I noticed that the petrol was getting low. My brother said... " I don't think it would ambarrass us so far as to run out of petrol, it will have a trick up it's sleeve".

Similar Products Used: Spider, Most Rolls, DB7. All Mercs. All BMW'S. Bentley Mulsan V12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ardy   [Nov 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: LS400 MK2
Strength:

Build quality, Power, Comfort Passenger leg room

Weakness:

Expensive parts Consumption around town

This car is amazing. Perfect build quality, no rattling. Power oozes from this amazingly quite and smooth engine. 4 Liter V8 DOHC, 241 BHP. Unlike sports cars with this output seeming rather low actually means that the engine will go on and on without burning up. I have seen and heard ones around with half a mill on the clock. I would suggest looking around and ensuring that you get a MINT one. Smallest imperfection in idling / odd noise, must walk away as high bills are undoubtedly around the corner. One annoying this about the MK2 is the dash circuits! Make sure if you intend to get one you inspect the car first thing on a COLD morning. IF the dash is not lighting up, that's about $250 worth of electrical repairs IF you do the work yourself to get the circuit out and get someone to repair it for you ! If I was able to go back, I would gladly buy this car, and recommend it to anyone who wishes to have smooth quite enjoyable motoring :)

Similar Products Used: Peugot 205 1.6GTi VW Golf 1.8 GTi 16v BMW 325i Saab 9000 2.3 Turbo Mercedes 220 Coupe
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
seangd   [Nov 10, 2003]
Model Reviewed: LS400
Strength:

V8 power, wonderful smooth ride, reliable-reliable-reliable. Good value for the money. Fantastic dealer service at Sewell Lexus in Dallas.

Weakness:

Somewhat bland styling, less prestige than Mercedes or BMW (if that's what you care about). Other than that....hmmm, can't think of any!

I wanted a luxury car for a long time, and I quickly realized that buying used was the method. I checked Consumer Reports and found that Lexus did much better than either Mercedes or BMW. I started looking around at LS400 because I wanted a V8 under the hood. I found one in Addison Texas (a suburb of Dallas) and after some "discussion" I got the car at the price I wanted to pay. Overall, I can't go on enough about this car. It drives beautifully, looks nice, and has been ultra reliable; I have never been stranded once. I'm getting about 18 mpg combined city/hwy. The stereo is very good, and the CD changer is in the glove instead of the trunk like some European makes. It's got a 32 valve V8 under the hood, a fully independent suspension, and dual climate control just like it's European competitors, yet it's thousands less, but still holds it's value well. The only other thing I feel it necessary to say is GET YOUR CAR CHECKED OUT BY A LEXUS DEALERSHIP! I bought this car without doing so, and found out on my first service visit that the car had been somewhat mistreated. Some maintenance had been neglected and it showed. Consequently, I had some pretty expensive repairs to do. However, after getting it done and getting past the initial pain of writing that big check so soon after purchasing the car I was VERY happy I did so. I thought the car was nice and smooth BEFORE I did this stuff - boy was I wrong. These cars are simply incredible! 120 mph feels like 50 in this car, I absolutely love it. It's luxurious and heavy, which is why I wanted a car like this. I have a friend who bought a Mercedes E-Class at the same time with the same amount of mileage as my car . They paid almost $10k more than I did and the car won't stay out of the shop for this little thing or that. I love the BMW 740IL, as well as the E430, but I'm sure glad I made the choice I did. This car has been super in every respect, and it's priced well if you shop around a bit. I would buy another one and recommend it to anyone as well. When it comes down to it, unless I'm stinkin rich, the Lexus is the smarter buy. If I had a 6 figure DISPOSABLE income, then it really doesn't matter what car I buy, but I don't so the Lexus LS400 is the car for me right now.

Similar Products Used: Infiniti Q45, Mercedes E430, Acura Legend
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Rick   [Oct 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Lexus LS 400
Strength:

Power, Quiet, Low repairs

Weakness:

Maintenance costs, aquizition costs

I purchased this car in 1997 with 103,000. It had been well maintained. Now I have 183,000 and have only replaced the alternator other than normal maintenance. It still drives smoother than any mid priced new car I've been in. Power is incredible. I pull an 18' boat at times and don't even notice the drag at full speed on a steep hill on the freeway. This is my first foreign car in 25 years of prior car ownership.

Similar Products Used: Monte Carlo's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 120  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com