Lincoln Town Car Luxury

Town Car

The 2010 Town Car is a 4-door, 6-passenger luxury sedan, available in two trims, the Signature Limited and the Signature L.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 239-horsepower engine. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (73)

Showing 1-10 of 73  
Cecilia A Yturriondobeiti   [Feb 16, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Town Car Signature
Strength:

These cars are for the most part---champs! They always try to give at least 110% and they usually attain that. This is third one I have owned (and driven into 7 digits!) and even though my present man thinks I sould have a 4-wheel or all-wheel drive vehicle, I don't want to. I seem to get where I need when I need just fine and if the conditions are that bad- Maybe I should repect my limitations and take one of his 5 pickups!

Weakness:

The electrical system in my present car always seems to think it can get away with being slightly weak...I think perhaps there are so many demands on it that it needs to be tougher.

I have always felt safe and comfortable in these cars and also enjoy the look. I have been in some accidents (car versus deer and high speed exit of the road backward---while trying to execute a 180 after avoiding a dog!!! The traction override foiled my attempt however, as I can succeed at an occasional reverse turn, should the need arise). I also enjoy the ride, sound system, climate control and V8.

Similar Products Used: 1980, and 1990 Towncars
1998 Mercury Marquis LS (my Town Car's Little Brother)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Linda   [Jan 06, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Lincoln Town Car
Strength:

I purchased the The Town Car for the generous 8 way power seats, interior room and the most comfortable ride. Even though it is a luxury car that was not the reason for the purchase.

Weakness:

I have been driving the '07 Town Car for 3 winters and I cannot understand why such an expensive luxury car has rear wheel drive. There is no traction in the front and very little in the back despite extra weight I out in the trunk.

Living in the Chicago area I am not a sissy winter driver and have been driving for 47 years without an accident or mishap. I have no fear of driving in the snow but do respect icy road conditions. Since I have had the Town Car I have gone over a curb and almost hit a utility pole, slid thru intersectons and cannot accelerate even slowly from a stop without the vehicle skipping to the left every time in snowy conditions. On snowy road the ABS pumps the brake as it should but the car does not stop...it keeps on going until it reaches pavement and then it doesn't stop until the back end is on pavement...there is no control over the front end. I have developed fear due to lack of control of the vehicle. I am very curious if other Town Car owners are experiencing the same problems. It is not a safe vehicle for bad road conditions and is a most dangerous to drive. I am definately looking for another vehicle.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Paul Ryan   [Aug 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Signature
Strength:

Driveability, braking is very good for a big car. Handles easily. Also like the quality Ford put into options such as the sun roof, the night/day mirrors and the body-a 12 year old car in a snow belt with no rust? Also so quiet, and I think this car will be low maintenance-just has that feel to it.

Weakness:

Could have a few more options like my old Continental does. No CD Player, and I really miss the reverse tilt mirrors, floor stick, keyless entry and tacometer.

This will be a horse. A beautiful one at that. Some of the above options like the keyless, CD I can purchase so dont consider to be major negatives. So far I really love this car and keep making excuses to drive it somewhere. On the highway it shines. I travel about 2 hours to my weekend place and the TC just floats up there. So nice.

Similar Products Used: Lincoln Continental 95, Grand Marquis 89, DeVilles back in the 70's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mance3   [Nov 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Signature Series
Strength:

Leather seats are standard in the Lincolns. Loaded vehicle.

Weakness:

Could be more fuel efficient, but most of my miles are highway miles.

Great Car. No major problems. Replaced fuse in October that controls keyless entry. This is my 6th Lincoln T/C. There is nothing to com[pare to the smooth, quiet ride and the luxury of a Town Car.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
barawks   [Oct 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Lincoln Town Car Signature
Strength:

Exceptional ride quality, extremely comfortable, spacious seating with ample passenger and trunk storage. The best bang for you buck from most any car on the road.

Weakness:

Not quite up to par with some domestic and import luxury sedans as far as user land technology is concerned, but this is a tried and true machine that more than makes up for it in every other aspect.

What can I say? I am absolutely in love with this car! You can't ask for much more than this American classic. While it's not quite as technologically well-endowed as some other luxury sedans, it more than makes up for it in luxurious comfort, unbelievable reliability and commanding looks all without coming near the astronomical price of an import. The powerful 4.6L V8 provides for smooth, nearly silent operation in regular driving with more than ample power for confidence in high traffic/passing scenarios. The updated traction control does a great job of limiting slip and is remarkably responsive to all driving conditions. All that while maintaining a respectable 17/25 mpg fuel economy. Climate control is fairly quiet and very efficient, optional heated seats and heated mirrors work great on those snowy days. Keypad entry on the driver's side door is a complete life saver if you ever lock your keys in the car. Memory seats and adjustable pedals always guarantee I'll get in and it'll be right where I like it. =P All user controls are extremely easy to understand and navigate. The built in digital display has the capability of showing current fuel economy and digital compass (VERY USEFUL) among other things. At the end of the day, this is about as low maintenance a vehicle you will ever find. It's a plush, soft leather couch with wood accents, all wrapped in chrome atop a smooth yet powerful V8 chassis. What more could you want? Lincoln has certainly won my future business. Did I mention I LOVE THIS CAR?!? =P

Similar Products Used: 1996 Lincoln Continental
1991 Mercury Grand Marquis
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Leland Tunks Jr   [Aug 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: lincoln town car
Strength:

good gas mileage, comfort, trunk space

Weakness:

air conditioner, bumpers very thin plastic.

Have nothing but problems from beginning. Trunk leaks around gasket, air bag light fell itside dash (dealer fixed once and now it is loose again, gas gauge acts up sometimes and most important air conditioner doesn't want to blow out upper vents, blows on feet all time and eventually after 5- 8 miles you can get it to blow out upper vents. Had it into dealer over 8 times. They say they have changed blender motors and control motor but it still acts up. Since it doesn't do it all the time, the dealer says it is hard to find problem. I have owned another Lincoln Town Car and Mercury Marquis and was very satisfied.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Sanford M. Block   [Feb 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Spring Feature Car "THE LIMITED"
Strength:

Totally everything, especially the headlight that you have the ability to elect how long they stay on for AFTER you leave the car (30, 60, 90 or 180 seconds. My other car (Jeep Cherokee) has a pre-set 50 second stay on, and often that is just not enough !!

Weakness:

Lack of a few features that other cars have, such as heated REAR seats and headlight washers and adoptive cruise control.

Love the Town Car!! Smooth, secure, heavy, extremely quiet, comfortable, loads a gadgets and toys, love the power opening & power closing trunk, love the room inside and all the little places to keep things, and the dash wood that's REAL! Love the ultra low maintenance costs and the regular fuel it thrives on.

Similar Products Used: 1993 Cadillac Sixty Special
1998 Lincoln Mark VIII
1996 Lincoln Mark VII
1978 Imperial LeBaron Crown Coupe
1974 Imperial LeBaron 2-Dr Hardtop
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack Jaeger   [Dec 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Lincoln Town Car Signature Series
Strength:

Excellent finish inside and out. Reasonable gas mileage and servicing expenses. Nice ride and excellent alpine stereo sound system. Plenty of pick up. They seem to go on for ever if maintained. Great crash test safety.

Weakness:

Not easy to find parking spaces, not a compact by any means. Drivers run into the rear bumper. Exudes maturity. You seem to want to drive like you are pointing a limosine.

I may last so long that I cannot justify getting rid of a good running car that has hundreds of thousnds of miles on it, that is worth practically nothing except to a cab or limosing company.

Although I will give it the highest recommendations, I don't think I will buy another one. I may be ready for a change already.

It is a good car that can be serviced at a regular Ford dealership. It gets good gas mileage for a big car 17/25. A little better than the 2000 Subaru Legacy Wagon I drove before I bought it. I know because I tracked the mileage of both over the same 36 mile round trip commute for years.

It has a good ride and I don't mean it wallows. You can feel the road but not every bump or expansion joint jars you.

As a used car you are getting a bargain luxury car with a proven design, a very good reliability record and it is loaded with standard features.

I have driven it about 55k miles without any major problems. For a person over 6 feet who needs to haul 3 or 4 other adults around once in a while you can't beat the value if you don't want to got to a van or suv.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes Benz 300E.
Subaru Legacy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   [May 31, 2007]
Model Reviewed: town car executive
Strength:

good power for a smaller V-8, good gas milage for such a big car. very confortable, if my parents ever kicked me out i could build a duplex in my trunk and charge my other tenant rent.

Weakness:

bone head ford engineers think a plastic manifold will serve what purpose? air suspension could be a little more heavy duty and a $40,000 luxary vehicle without a CD player -WTF-

I bought this town car for a very reasonable $3000 with only 80K miles on it. i've had a couple problems, cracked manifold and flattened air suspension. the manifold cost me close to $1000 to fix and the air shocks i did myself. i must say my lincoln is far better than any ford and mercury i ever had.

Similar Products Used: 1987 F-150 (pure crap);
1972 mercury montego (my grandma made this car crap);
1966 ford galaxie 500 (got impounded before i could see if it were crap or not)
1993 explorer (if you own a vehicle like this, please slap yourself...)
2003 pontiac grand am (good car but do all american vehicles have a manifold recall???)
1996 chrysler sebring (all around good car)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
JOTAIGOMEZGAVI   [Feb 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TOWNCAR
Strength:

EVERYTHING

Weakness:

IT SEEMS LIKE AN EGG!!!

THIS CAR IS REALLY AMAZING,MINE HAS 309K MILES AND IT HAS THE SAME ENGINE,SAME TRANSMISSION,SAME FINE LEATHER SEATS,,,NO LEAKS AT ALL ,,,EVERYTHING WORKS AND YOU CAN FEEL CONFIDENT ABOUT THIS CAR THAT IT WILL PASS 500K & STILL GOING AND GOING,,,& REMEMBER ME THE FORD 55 FAIRLANE A REAL AMERICAN PROUD

Similar Products Used: VW JETTA,BUICK LE SABRE,CROWN VICTORIA,FORD FOCUS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 73  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com