Mercedes-Benz C-class Luxury

C-class

The C-Class is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, or luxury sports sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the C300 Sport Sedan to the C63 AMG Sport Sedan.

The C300 Sport Sedan is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, V6, 228-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard. The C63 AMG Sport Sedan is equipped with a standard 6.2-liter, V8, 451-horsepower engine that achieves 12-mpg in the city and 19-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (107)

Showing 1-10 of 107  
scastriota   [Feb 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: c230
Strength:

nice looking and hadling car, very fuel efficient.

Weakness:

brakes are the worste, they make noise and had mine replaced 3 times within the first 30,000km.and they still make noise not only when braking but when accelerating, seat makes noise, radio turns on when you open the door.

this is the first mercedes i have bought and it will be my last. I recently bought a Cadilac STS4 and it is a gem. No issues to report and the car is a year old. I just bring it in for regular maintanance.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
David   [Mar 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: C300 Sport
Strength:

very comfortable, easy to use technology, great styling

Weakness:

funny position for the turn signal, would have liked a bit more hp

I love this car! Compared to my Audi A4, this a true luxury sport sedan and the Audi is a wanna be. The ride and handling are great and all the technology is both intuitive and actually works. Overall, a great value for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick Ortega   [Jan 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: C320 4matic
Strength:

clean elegant styling, comfortable, generally good quality, power, handling

Weakness:

cost, lack of space, high running cost

This is our first mercedes. We bought the first refreshed c class and were relatively satisfied. It was loaded with every option except nav and only has 15,000 miles. Very comfortable, although rather small. It drives great looks great and feels great.

3 months in we brought the car in far transmission problems and was told the steering also needed to be re aligned. This was the beginning. The center glave compartment lid has detached itself 4 or five times and has been replaced twice. We cant even use it for fear of it getting jammed or falling off. The radio has mysteriously stopped working over a dozen times. There have been countless other issues but we feel the problems have been unresolved do to incompetant technicians.

Its a great car if you have the money and the patience to keep it going.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
siddhartha_mech   [Jul 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: C280
Strength:

Smooth and silent ride.
Fast acceleration.
High top speed.
Bose 8 speeker premium music system.
Great braking power.

Weakness:

Not found any.

Absolutely smooth and silent ride even after it being 10 years old. People riding in sometimes get confused if the car is on or not :). Great amount of power and fast acceleration. I did 2 services at MB dealer, did cost some money to replace worned out brakes and transmission belt (but that it very obvious considering its 10 years old), but its advantage keeping the car serviced at MB dealer.
It is much better in performance than the new C230, I found to have faster acceleration on my car and also the great sporty engine roar.
I have maxed the speed of about 145mph in it, without any modifications to the engine. Good thing to remember is that it has very high compression ratio of 10, which is higher than present C230. Thus, premium gas is a must, also it is better to add octane booster once in a while to clean the engine and also to get better performance.
Overall a superb german car.

Similar Products Used: 2006 Mercedes Benz C230
2001 Honda Accord EX V6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
shesaid68   [Oct 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: C240
Strength:

Interior is nice.

Weakness:

Performance, price.

Totally unimpressive performance. 168hp for $35k or more? Are you kidding? I test drove this car in automatic and it is a slug. It's pegged at about 9.2 seconds 0-60. Pathetic. This car was so slow, I thought I was driving an old Ford Taurus. This car is about $37k grand loaded. Anyone who buys this cars knows nothing about cars, doesn't really like to drive, and just wants the Mercedes badge. This is the most expensive and slowest car in its class. I've heard the less expensive C230 is faster. Why would anyone buy this car? BMW, Infinti, Acura, Audi all make comparable cars with better performance. And I've read it's not very reliable as well. This is not a sports sedan. Don't kid yourself.

Similar Products Used: 2000 BMW 323, 2003 Infiniti G35, 2003 Acura 3.2 CL Type S
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
ridethefire3211   [Aug 03, 2004]
Model Reviewed: C280
Strength:

Great engine power, smooth ride, great steering, excellent acceleration.

Weakness:

Takes a significant increase of speed to get it to shift to 3rd gear.

My dad bought this car when I was 7 years old, I'm 16 now, and he gave it to me. I wouldn't know, but he says it drives as well as it did the day he bought it. All I know is that this is the single most incredible car I've ever driven. At 9 years old, it still looks gorgeous, and rides like a cloud. Even beats a new C Class in ride and driving experience.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes-Benz C240 Ford Taurus Ford Crown Victoria Volvo S40 Volvo 240 Audi TT Honda Accord
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
sokhoms   [Jul 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: C 240 Sedan
Strength:

Overall performances

Weakness:

Brake dusts

I am coming back to report about this vehicle. I had one oil change I had this car. It takes a long time for change around 10 thousand miles. So far so go, no problem yet. Still love the car.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark G.   [Jun 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: C280
Strength:

Great looks. I live in Kansas so Mercedes-Benz are a rarity. Strong engine, I have left burnouts 100ft long. Rear wheel drive, great for anyone who likes driving. Nice audio system. Big trunk. Vinyl instead of leather (it depends on how you look at it). Smooth ride. 130mph top speed (governed). Decent gas milage.

Weakness:

Mechanical failure due to large amounts of dust. In Kansas, you can't get around without having to go down a gravel road every once and a while, so dust becomes and issue in an engine no meant for such filth. Premium fuel only, pain in the neck if you are a poor teenager. It would be great if they made a diesel model. Hard to service in rural areas. Poorly constructed steering wheel. Small back seat. I wouldn't mind if Mercedes would have admitted that it was seating for 4 people, not five. That middle seat isn't very fun to ride in. Poorly thought out floor mats.

I got this car for my 16th birthday and have had moderate trouble with it. I bought the car for $7500 with a blown head gasket and a bad transmission linkage, all fixed under warranty. I am currently trying to deal with a bad air conditioner. I took it into the local auto repair shop, and they recharged the freon (sp) and the problem persists. I have to take it to the nearest Benz dealership (45 miles) and get it serviced. I need a tune up anyway. But all in all, it is a great little car. It gets decent gas milage when I don't drive with a lead foot. It has a good audio system. I like the idea of vinyl instead of leather, leather tends to crack and look ugly. Vinyl lasts a pretty long time. It has had its problems, but I paid $7500 for a $12000 car. That is pretty good considering there are people around here wanting $7500 for 1991-94 Cadilacs.

Similar Products Used: BMW 3-Series. Mercury Sable. 1986 Benz 450SEL and a $65000 Volvo I detailed for 200 bucks, I don't remember the model, but my car could try and compare with it.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
docd   [May 31, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mercedes C230K coupe
Strength:

PANORAMA SUNROOF - that is why I got this car instead of the more practical 230K sedan. Bose stereo much better than the base stereo - (but not as good as the BOSE on my old Caddy). Handling great. Kompressor sound and feel. At top speeds, this little supercharged engine is quieter than my V8 Northstar! Has a smooth high tech, electric motor type sound and feel. very cool... LAST YEAR MAINTENANCE IS INCLUDED - NOT ON 2005 MODELS!!! can actually fit adults in the back seat. Fold flat rear seats are great if you need to carry big items. $2000 dealer incentive money that went to me!

Weakness:

It sucks that although they only put seat belts for two passengers in the back (coud have slipped in 3rd passenger seat belts), they didn't put in a middle arm rest and cup holders there. I read they did this in the 2005 model - they held out on common sense to make you want to buy 2005?

I looove this car. Have had Caddy, Jag, Nissan 300ZX. This is my favorite. I wanted a tight driving car with a back seat. Looked at Mazda RX8 (great handling - but the press about a usable back seat is a joke), Caddy CTS (pretty nice, but more body roll than the Mercedes - not as fun to drive), Infiniti I35 (great features and power for the money, just not a distinctive car -- though a very nice one), and Infiniti G35 (very fast, but maybe too fast, jerky transmission shifts, and very cheap plasticky looking interior) Local BMW and Audi salesmen are incredibly arrogant, so I stopped looking for them years ago. My 230K was not the fastest of the bunch I considered, but had the best combination of luxury and sport. It is hard to describe - nice tight handling and cornering - very solid feel - and yet the ride feels luxurious as well. Good sound and ride shock dampening. Lots of cool little luxury touches and innovations that I discovered for several days AFTER I bought the car - nice surprises. My wife says this little car feels more solid and stable than my Caddy DeVille! I hope I don't get the potential repairs and glitches many have posted, but so far so good. This car has a better ride than Audi and BMW, AND the salesmen are open to huge negotiations in price, especially just before the 2005 models come in. I promised I wouldn't say what price I got, but it is cheaper than most I have seen on these forums by thousands.

Similar Products Used: Jag, Caddy, Nissan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BlessedOblivion   [Apr 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mercedes Benz C230K Sport Coupe
Strength:

Very few, if any

Weakness:

Bumpy ride (rode smooth and quiet for about 2500 miles), now rides like an old Pinto. NOISY! Everything makes noise, from the sunroof, to the tires, to the suspension. Rattles throughout the vehicle. Mercedes cannot align this vehicle - it has steered to the right since day one - they cannot fix it. Transmission is consistently confused, always picks wrong gear, hesitates before upshifting. UGH! Even the Supercharger - sometimes you get a sugar-rush of power - other times, nothing.

I am reading the reviews on this car, and can't believe we're talking about the same vehicle. This is a TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE vehicle. A car not worthy of wearing the three-pointed star. Problems since day one - alignment, transmission, squeaks, rattles, NOISE (tire noise, wind noise, road noise, suspension noise). Just a Godawful piece of junk. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR! Don't think Mercedes will do ANYTHING to help you either. Mercedes Benz Customer Assistance Center in Montvale NJ doesn't care about your problems and won't get involved WHATSOEVER. You are on your own. I am so disappointed in this vehicle...

Similar Products Used: My first Mercedes - sorry.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 107  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com