Mercedes-Benz CLK-Class Luxury

CLK-Class

The CLK-Class is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury sports coupe, or luxury convertible, available in 4 trims, ranging from the CLK350 Coupe to the CLK550 Cabriolet.

The CLK350 Coupe is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 268-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. The CLK550 Cabriolet is equipped with a standard 5.5-liter, V8, 382-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 21-mpg on the highway. A 7-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims.

User Reviews (63)

Showing 1-10 of 63  
JEvans   [Mar 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CLK 500
Strength:

Motor, Handling, Comfort, Quiet, SMoooothness, Features, Flexibility, Style, and Class leading saftey

Weakness:

Electronic concerns; of which a longer warranty grately make more tollerable, slightly higher maintanence costs over the long term than similar products

This MAY BE THE BEST REVIEW EVER... You get what you pay for. My current CLK 500 makes my 3rd Mercedes. The first being a 1985 190e (read 'a legend') which gave more than 200 thousand origional miles without fault. This is a typical tale of a 190e. My second Mercedes was a 2001 C240 sedan (read 'mixed blessing'). After buying my first mercedes, I discovered a world where $5000 bought Rolls-Royce quality and Lexus reliability. Like many great sequels, however, when I came upon my C240 I found that this was not a like the smash-hit Mercedes-Benz of old, but rather a product of the new 21st century corporation of the same name. Gone now was the obvious robustness; replaced by near-futuristic computer-aged style and engineering which only lately is Mercedes blending successfully with old world traditions of dignity and comfort. Also unfortunate was the fact that in Mercedes' efforts to make more with less (typical of any company operating in an increasingly expensive, yet energy-conscious Europe) led to a finished product that sometimes comes across as "corner-cut". In short, I could see that some of the same materials that seemed to reek of quality in my 1985 car now lacked that same edge of precision when applied to the 2001 car; precision that the Japanese have since become so famous for. Additionaly, with the entire developement approach being reinvented, it seemd that the final product suffered, mechanically speaking. Namely the electronics. Like any smart consumer, I read all the reviews and follow Mercedes news closely and knew what I might be getting into. It was therefore no surprise when my C240 spoke up ime and agin for unscheduled visits to my dealership for 'minor issues'. Most of them were covered under warranty, and I always recieved a brand new car on loan until mine was ready. Perhaps the perks masked the reality that by the time I parted with my flawed beauty, she'd been in some 37 times for seatbelt sensors, faded information screens, a faulty trunk latch and the list went on. All in all, usual 'issues' cost between $100 to $500 which, althouh not always impossible, was always frustating. I shudder to think of how much I paid beyond the inital sales price. So you might be asking "why did anyone buy yet another one?" The truth is, it's all about priorities. Dispite the constant issues I experienced, my car never truly broke down. In fact, I can't recall anyone I've ever know who had one saying it left them stranded somewhere. I often tell people that if all they need is a reliable car, they should just buy Japanese (Toyota) and worry about other things. But I know better. I know that cars are more than just a box with wheels and a motor; and how one utilizes a car makes all the difference in their percieved value of it. In short, after having an old Mercedes, I bacame accustomed to having it all. Top-shelf ride quality, predictably superior handling, and a car that seemed to do every job asked of it without ever batting an eyelash. That was and always will be a Mercedes. I have driven numerous Lexus, Infinity, BMWs and the like and always found that at the end of the day, only two companies offer cars that seem made for life in the real world; they are Audi(read Volkswagen AG) and Mercedes. The BMW (any of them, really) will always shine on a track, but put 3 people in a bmw and hit the highway. Unless you drive a 7 series, no one will want to ride back ith you. BMW's just can't unwind enough to be truly at home on the Autobahn. And while one might argue that high speed is all that mercedes do well, they would be mistaken. the truth is that once you get all the gadgetry swithed off (there IS a way, mind you) a mercedes performs as brilliantly as any BMW but never punishes it's occupants in the proccess. Ask anyone who's traveled an L.A. freeway at 90mph. The harder you push a Benz, the better it responds. Seemingly indeifferent handling gives way to superior 100mph-plus stability and a highly forgiving nature. It's just sad that most reviews come from those who have only driven one, and only for a few hours at that. In reality, these cars truly shine when you consider the diverse rnge of situations thay accomodate and the ease with which they do it. And I'm sure that as you read this the 9000 plus Engineers in Stuttgart continue to fine-tune and integrate cutting edge science and technology with standards and traditions of yore and will inevitably regain the title of most reliable cars on the road. It's just a shame that I had to buy one (but hopefully not two) of the inbetween cars that seems to have tarnished the illustrious history of this great company.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes: all classes, BMW: all series, Lexus: all models, Infinity: most of their range, Jaguar: all models, Range rover: all, Bently: Coupe and Sedan, Porsche: Various, Volvo; all, American cars, Korean cars and Japanese cars: Numerous assorted. I know them ALL very well.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
AllanRodgers   [Jul 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: CLK55 AMG Cabriolet
Strength:

German Engineering, Handling, Performance, Appearance, Resale Value

Weakness:

Gas Mileage, Instrument Display Reliability.

I bought this car at 4 years old and with 25k miles. I was excited to find an AMG with low miles, in Black Opal, and with a Navigation System (Rare in 2002 Apparently). After checking CarFax I purchased it and took it to a local Mercedes dealer for evaluation. The car received a clean bill of health with only a few minor items requiring repair (The most expensive being two tension cords for the cabriolet soft top mechanism at $195). The 342 horsepower handbuilt AMG engine has an inspiring sound when in motion and the vehicle handles like the fine sports car one would expect from Mercedes Benz. The only disappointment is the instrument gauge which has an early generation digital display. On my car the temperature and Gear displays don't always work properly. Other than that the car is fantastic. I alternate trips to work between my 2002 BMW 745i and the AMG. Both great examples of fine German engineered automobiles.

Similar Products Used: BMW 330Ci Cabriolet
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeaninne   [Jul 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: CLK430
Strength:

Brakes are very responsive.
Take off is awesome!
Seats are quite comfortable, and despite what others have said about plastic parts in the interior, it still looks great.

Weakness:

Concrete car bumpers are not your friend. In other words, the front end on this one is a bit too low. And, being a Mercedes, the bumper cover alone costs $770.00. So, I'll have to be more careful!

Overall, propbably the most awesome car I ever owned. Very stylish, bought used at 7 years old and 58k miles. The paint is original (Black Opal Metallic) and still in great condition, as is the interior (charcoal). Car seems to run best at higher speeds, which is just fine by me!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jae Kim   [Jan 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: CLK 320
Strength:

This German car drives like an older American Ford Thunderbird with power everything (brakes, steering etc.) but can turn on a dime. When I enter the freeway on a sharp left turn I cut right into it hugging the left curb and I laugh at the little cars following making their large drifting turns

Weakness:

Unlike my other Mercedes' and my BMW, I am surprised that the 3.2L, 215 hp engine doesn't "kick" when I accelerate in the autobahn. Also, there is a Swiss governer which prevents further acceleration after 220 km/p/hr

Excellent car all around. I paid 27,000 Swiss Francs in 2003 when it had 135,000 km on it. This body model was started in 1997 and did not change until 2003 when the CLK became shorter. My 1997 CLK looks just like a 2002 CLK (price 100,000 Swiss Francs). The closest 2004 model is the CL which has the same E type headlights with the only differences in body are (1) the side rear view mirrors with turn signals, (2) door frame not extend to rear windows & (3) the 3rd break light is in the trunk not above it

Similar Products Used: BMW 330, MB SLK 200 Kompressor, MB C-230
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mwmmwm   [Oct 28, 2004]
Model Reviewed: mercedes benz clk430
Strength:

Exterior body design and acceleration from the engine.

Weakness:

Continuous electical problems, quality of interior materials is not what you would expect from a Mercedes.Rear view obstruction, tire sizes ( 2 different size tires for front and back). Difficulty driving in the winter even with snow tires.

I found this car to be definitely appealing to the eye on the outside, but after that, I was very disappointed with the quality and the workmanship that was definitely lacking in this car.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
pjeisen   [Jul 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CLK 320A - Convertible
Strength:

Very quiet engine. Handles extremely well in traffic as well as on the open road. Excellent finish and particular attention is paid to both the interior and exterior of the car.

Weakness:

the single CD player is not available on the dash unless you buy the navigation system. Inability to lock trunk when giving valet key to parking attendant. This is an unacceptable situation that should be corrected. The cruise control lever is to close to the turnsignal so that it is used when the turnsignal lever is meant to be used.

it is a great handling vehicle. It provides all the power and control needed. I highly recommend it.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Brad Pritchard   [Jan 13, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mercedes CLK 430
Strength:

Engine, brakes, looks, navigation system

Weakness:

1. This car is flat out DANGEROUS in the snow. Simply, don't even take it out if there is any snow in the forecast. 2. In the city, if curbs and potsholes are a nemesis, this cars wheels and tires are tremendously fragile (in my view, so much so that I wouldn't have bought the car had I known). In three years I have puntured three tires and broken two wheel frames on routine potholes in NYC. The tires WILL wear out and need to be replaced completely after 2-3 years.

I have the V8, and it is a fantastic ride on dry country roads and highways. All the acceleration you'll ever need, particularly after 60 mph, exceptionally smooth driving at all speeds, and fun handling. If you live where bad weather and city driving is minimized, this is an outstanding performance choice.

Similar Products Used: BMW 318i
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
sirini mupparapu   [Nov 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: CLK 430
Strength:

Strong performance and comfortable. Looks great. Moves excellent. Seemless motion. The best car I've ever owner. Solid in all areas. At least it has a cup holder.

Weakness:

I havn't found any yet. My wife likes it too much.

The Ultimate Driving machine has got nothing on this. This car does what Bimmers do but comfortably. I've owned 5 bmw's before this car 325 (1994) - 740i (2000). This car made me forget what a BMW was.

Similar Products Used: BMW's 3's, 5's 7's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Edward Martin   [Feb 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: CLK430 Coupe
Strength:

Style and performance (quick GT, not to be confused with a sports car)

Weakness:

Build quality, too much cheap plastic, squeaks and rattles, rattles and squeaks

This car is beautiful. I opted for the black with oyster interior. The AMG ground effects and wheels complete the package. The 4.3 liter engine is a wondefully smooth and powerful. You're not going to out accelerate any Corvettes or M3's, but it's plenty quick and downright impressive when accelerating from 70mph-100mph. The brakes are phenomenal. There is no fade from 90+mph to 60mph. And they feel great. Unfortunately, build quality and the quality of interior materials were not paramount to Mercedes when building this car. It's obvious Mercedes was on a cost cutting mission when they built this car. The interior is filled with cheap plastic and thin carpet. The squeaks and rattles get very annoying. This IS a Mercedes, not a Chevette.

Similar Products Used: 1994 911 Turbo 3.6 1997 M3 Coupe
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Steve   [Jan 25, 2003]
Model Reviewed: CLK 430 Cabriolet
Strength:

Powerful V8. Excellent styling. True Mercedes quality. Top-down fun.

Weakness:

Hmmm... it's a little difficult to reach back for the seatbelt.

This car is fun to drive. The 4.3 liter V8 supplies tremendous performance effortlessly. The smoothness of the engine is noticed by everyone who drives it. On the highway it drives like a dream, with the ability to accelerate from 80 to 110 (as fast as I have gone so far) with no problem. In fact, at 100 it feels so solid you would think you were going 50. This car is well appointed with many features that aren't immediately apparent when you first get in. Mine is equiped with the NAV system which makes getting to unknown destinations a breeze. Independant temperature controls keeps you and your passenger comfortable. The large 17" wheels and high-performance, low-profile Michelins, combined with the AMG ground effects give this car a very agressive looking stance. Put the top down, and the lines of this automobile are hard to beat. I also recommend the voice control system which lets you control the radio & CD changer, as well as the integral telephone without taking your hands off the wheel. This is a great car with lots of power, comfort, and smile inducing performance.

Similar Products Used: I have not owned, but test drove the Mercedes SLK, BMW M3, BMW Z3, Porsche Boxster S, Honda S2000, and the Lexus SC430. I felt the Mercedes CLK 430 beat all of these out for my personal needs.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 63  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com