Mercedes-Benz SL-Class Luxury

SL-Class

The SL-Class is a 2-door, 2-passenger luxury convertible, or convertible sports car, available in 4 trims, ranging from the SL550 Roadster to the SL65 AMG Roadster.

The SL550 Roadster is equipped with a standard 5.5-liter, V8, 382-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 21-mpg on the highway. A 7-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard. The SL65 AMG Roadster is equipped with a standard 6.0-liter, V12, 604-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 11-mpg in the city and 18-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Sam   [Dec 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: sl55
Strength:

AMG Supercharge V8

Weakness:

None...

By far one of the Grand Touring vehicle in the market in any price segment. The hand-build AMG sl55 engine is second to none. It's an amazning expereince every time I get into the car... truly outstanding.

Similar Products Used: BMW 650i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
blitz255   [Jun 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SL 500 Roadster
Strength:

Appearance and performance

Weakness:

Afraid to park in parking lots.

Beautiful automobile inside & out

Similar Products Used: SLK 320
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Blair Simpkins   [Jan 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mecedes 500SL
Strength:

Oozes German quality. Very very fast. Makes me look rich. Best damn convertable top - period. Reliable. Cheapest exotic car to own. Huge boot for a convertable. Very well thought-out car. Large, comfortable for 6' plus person. Gobs of panache.

Weakness:

Very fast! Got a ticket!

Bought car with 58k miles, now has 80k. I drive it not more than 4000 per year, but at least twice per week. This keeps it running fine. Lot of niggles at first but have them all sorted. Worst problem was stalling. Got screwed by every dealer, but found an independed who fixed it for free. Was too lean. EBC green stuff brake pads are a must! Find a good independent and you'll see much cheaper service costs. Mine are $500-$1000 now. Now the review. Performance: massive tourqe at the low end followed by howlling power at redline. My car will power into the red almost to 7000 rpm. I don't recomend this because the engine is 20000 to replace. But it sure is a rush! Chassis is well balanced and only understeers at the hairy limit - do not ever let up on the throttle or you'll swap ends. I did. Best to power though corners. Learn to down shift by tapping the throttle and shifting with the stick. That is why it's there! This car can keep up with a typical posrche driver it you learn to dive it properly.

Similar Products Used: None.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
panchita maria   [Jan 29, 2003]
Strength:

radio

Weakness:

speed

this is car is so amazing it makes me look rich

Similar Products Used: toyota
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vincent   [Oct 27, 2002]
Strength:

Great looks, classy and fun convertible

Weakness:

Acceleration is dismal. Brakes are terrible and slushy. Too much cowl shake and rattles. Interior looks dated.

I've always liked this car and appreciated its classy look. But I have to admit it's not a driving man's car. It insulates you too much from the road.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Alan Uke   [Jul 13, 2002]
Strength:

Ride, Comfort, Handling, Brakes, Build Quality

Weakness:

Heavy Doors, Headroom

I purchsed a 1990 new and replaced it with another new one in 1995. Beautiful car. The first one had many problems. The second one was reliable and had many improvements. I recently sold my second with 168,000 miles on it and it was running great.

Similar Products Used: Porche 911
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Taylor Intaphan   [May 13, 2002]
Model Reviewed: SL 600
Strength:

A 60 degree angle V12 engine. DOHC 6.0 liter. 80 to 100 in no time at all.

Weakness:

A little slow acceleration for a MB. Not enough oversteer.

I''ve driven a SL 600 and they''re quite fun.It has steady ACE when cornering, and incredible acceleration.Braking was a charm. 60-0 in 132 ft. 100-0 149 ft.I guess some world race car drivers would definetly count this as a personal performance car. Just a enchantment.

Similar Products Used: If a BMW Z8 and MB SL 600 were competing, I would say they would probably tie.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert Lent   [May 21, 2000]
Model Reviewed: AMG 500SL SPORT
Strength:

Everything on this car is the best. I have had many sports cars and none of them compare to this fine machine

Weakness:

What don't I like about this car, you ask.. having valet attendents park it.

$120,000.00 The MRSP of $65,000.00 listed is way off base!

Similar Products Used: Porsche
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick Changizzadeh   [May 25, 2001]
Model Reviewed: SL500 Sport
Strength:

really good acceleration
love the looks{18 inc rims}
good sound system{BOSE}
comfortable seating
fast convertible top

Weakness:

PRICE$$$$$$$$

if you want a classic mercedes that beats any modern luxury touring sport car, this is the car. it should cost a little less but i got a kick out of it specially when I use the spport transmision setting. under hard acceleration the 340 lbs ft of torque literally rips the asphalt.

Similar Products Used: CLK430-really good car, fast, handles great
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Harvy   [Sep 07, 2000]
Strength:

Giant mercedes on front is appealing
Good feeling when driving car, like you are above everyone because it's a mercedes

Weakness:

Too expensive and rather slow.
Someone stole my mercedes emblem.
Hard to get parts for the car.
I want speed for my money, not luxury

Mercedes is a luxury car company. They shouldn't try to pawn off a car for sports and racing. Most other cars would kill this one. But it is nice and smooth riding for daily driving.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com