Mercedes-Benz SLK-Class Luxury

SLK-Class

The SLK-Class is a 2-door, 2-passenger convertible sports car, available in 3 trims, ranging from the SLK300 Roadster to the SLK55 AMG Roadster.

The SLK300 Roadster is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, V6, 228-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 7-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional. The SLK55 AMG Roadster is equipped with a standard 5.4-liter, V8, 355-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (86)

Showing 1-10 of 86  
VANESSA   [Jan 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 380
Strength:

Last for ever and ever

Weakness:

Why must they get old.

Best car ever, to upgrade from a 1981 VW Golf Now looking foer the new 2009 SL, Hoping the Grill of the SL will be passed on to the SL.. PLS PLS PLS say it will.
Vanessa

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   [May 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: slk230
Strength:

Looks great, awesome stereo, hardtop, great mileage.

Weakness:

little underpowered, small trunk when top is down, premium fuel.

I was a little hesitant in buying this car at first but the dealer offered a 7 day money back guarantee and a 30 day exchange policy. I really love the car its a really fun car to drive, its small and nimble and handles pretty well. Sporty and stylish looks and the retractable hardtop is awesome.

Similar Products Used: 93 vette, miata.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
San Francisco dude   [Aug 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: MB SLK 230 Kompressor
Strength:

Best clutch ever. Best shifting ever. Decent pickup. Cool dash, everything laid out well. nice amg 5 point rims, auto dimming rear view mirror. flashy fat tires. cool car to own. dealer repai service was best experience ever.

Weakness:

changer in trunk. top would not go up or down for no reason. could not open trunk for some reason. took to dealer, replaced that. leather on steering wheel peeled off, door panels peeled back. Dealer replaced with new door panels and new steering wheel and new lock in trunk. great service, thank God. my advice, if you EVER buy a convertable car, get the warranty. period. you'll thank me when you see the $1500 convertable top motor bill you don't have to pay. the seats. my legs would ache after only 20 minutes in those seats. no matter what position you put them in. oil change place wouldn't accept me, didn't have the filter it needed.

Bought her on a whim. not recommended. probably overpaid by 5k at the time. Nice AMG 17" rims and triple black. was 18 months used and had low mileage at 17k miles. Great dash and feel once you got in. Looks great when polished up from outside.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
bobjenkins   [May 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: SLK 230
Strength:

1- Retractable hardtop 2- Brakes 3- Interior 4- Elegant look

Weakness:

1- Subpar Handling 2- Mechanical problems 3- Uncomfortable seats

Plainly put, the SLK is ideal if you want a sleek, elegant looking car but isn't for the true car enthusiast. The concept of putting a hard top down at a red light is something that attracts most buyers, but when you buy an SLK you buy just that, a retractable hardtop with nice curves all around. THE TOP: This is the SLK's main feature, which seals the car up quickly and does such a good job, you might forget that the top even goes down. I found the cabin to be relatively quiet at high speeds and suitable for the winter. The car comes with a net that can be put around the roll-over bars that reduces wind and noise significantly. THE DRIVE The SLK's performance is certainly above average, but not as sporty as its sticker price suggests. The SLK has a solid grip on the road for day to day driving, but it cannot hold its own when power sliding or turning at high speeds. The traction control is supposed to help but gives it more of a slothish feel than anything. Acceleration and brakes are pluses, with the former giving drivers some bang for their buck when they feel the wheels pushing them from right behind and the brakes performing better than your average sportscar. MECHANICAL QUALITY My SLK saw a handful of visits to the delearship for repairs. There was an overheating problem which was taken care of with my warrentee, which I recommend getting. The two other problems I had were the replacement of the hardtop motor and a new starter, all of which were covered by warrentee. The SLK clearly lacks the mechanical quality of the other Mercedes-Benz classes Despite these problems, the body's integrity is great, and you notice the quality as soon as you sit in the car. The heating and air conditioning are also well done, both offering temperature adjustments without hassle. The stock sound system is excellent, and still better than most stock sound systems today. INTERIOR The SLK has a retro feel, with the dials in the fashion of classic European cars. The cabin is roomier than other roadsters, with the seats being more suitable far a quick ride rather than a long trip. The cupholders come out of the console, which is not exactly the best place for them. The seats, shiftknob, carpeting, and trim are all of excellent quality, as you would expect from the world's premier luxury car make. A PERSONAL EXPERIENCE I dodged a cone falling off of a truck on the highway at about 40 mph, in which the SLK made a laser sharp turn, getting me out of the way without any problem.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
spotteddoe   [Mar 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: MB SLK230
Strength:

Attractive styling. Fun retracting hardtop. Good trunk space with top up.

Weakness:

too numerous to list.

Hindsight is 20/20...would not buy this car again. Has been in the repair shop 6 times, multiple "electrical" problems (I don't even have 10,000 miles on it yet). Car lacks power and even stalls with acceleration. Unhappy with customer relations. Cheap plastic interior. Am looking to buy a different car. I,ve gotten more reliable driving from the rentals they give me. Unhappy about quality of the work performed by the mechanics/technicians.

Similar Products Used: my first convertible sports car ( do have a 1968 cutlass supreme auto retracting ragtop...haven't had to repair anything on it!!!
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Robert Portney   [Sep 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mercedes Benz SLK
Strength:

Good handling, Responsive, Beautiful and Fun and the top is a wonder.

Weakness:

I am not sure yet

I am very happy with my beautiful MB SLK. I own 6 cars and plan to use this as my primary one. I had a Mazda Miata and was thrilled with it in every way. It was fantastic in snow and that is my biggest fear with the SLK. If the SLK is good in snow, I will be very happy with this fun car. If it is not good in the snow it will be someone elses car and I will buy another Miata.

Similar Products Used: Mazda Miata I loved it
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
uandjack   [Sep 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SLK230
Strength:

1)Excellent All Season 2 seater open Air Sport Coupe 2)Good Acceleration 3)Good Air Condition 4)Excellent design interior and exterior

Weakness:

1)Handling could be better 2)Fuel consumption is on a high side 3)dash paint is like paper thin

Just bought this car less than 2 months ago from at Private owner for estimated USD$22000, It is a 1996 which is the first Year model Benz SLK. I am located in Hong Kong where cars tax are extremely expensive. This car cost over US$80,000 New (HK$700,000)in 1996. This cars has only 32000Km or 20000miles on the clock the engine and the transmission feel brand new.The exterior car is Metallic Blue if my favarite color by far. Since most of the SLK on the street are Silver. Love the top. It is excellent. You can open and close you top at the stop light. It is so cool. Just love watching it. Accelation Acceleration is very good. Handling is not as good as my previous BMW. This is more like a cruiser NOT a real sport car. If you live in a highly populated city like Hong Kong this car should be sufficient. I found the SLK handles very bad on the wet. (Probably is my tire). Also there are some rattle from the roof when driven on the rough bumpy road. I am not sure this is due whether is the age of my car or it is apply to all SLK. This rattle remind me of my older MX-5 Mazda Maita I used to have back in college.

Similar Products Used: Benz S-Class, BMW 5-Series, Madza MX-5,MX-6, VW Golf GTI, Honda Civc, Accord,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin   [Jul 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: SLK 320
Strength:

Exhaust note is nice. Love the convertable top. Damn its a Mercedes!!!!!!!

Weakness:

Cup holders in a terrible place. No CD player in the dash.

I was looking for a car that could go fast and have a removable top. Well this car does all. Just to beat the Mustangs and Camaros off the line puts a smile on my face. But, it makes the people with mullets very upset. I did break the sway bar spring within a month from hitting a curve way too hard but other than that no problems.

Similar Products Used: Every car under $60,000.00
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve Johnson   [Jul 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: slk 230
Strength:

Good handling.Great sound system.no problems

Weakness:

NONE

Great car. i bought it 4 years ago and never had a problem with the car.The 4 cylinder has 190hp out runs any thing on the block.retractibale top awesome. People who do not take good enough care of this top will have MANY PROBLEMS.( dont open while driving) The coolest car ever. Greatest investment i ever made. buy it its fun and sporty!

Similar Products Used: HONDA 2000 NOT as good as slk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Johnson   [Jul 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: slk 230
Strength:

Good handling.Great sound system.no problems

Weakness:

NONE

Great car. i bought it 4 years ago and never had a problem with the car.The 4 cylinder has 190hp out runs any thing on the block.retractibale top awesome. People who do not take good enough care of this top will have MANY PROBLEMS.( dont open while driving) The coolest car ever. Greatest investment i ever made. buy it its fun and sporty!

Similar Products Used: HONDA 2000 NOT as good as slk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 86  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com