Acura CL Midsize | Compact

CL

The Acura CL is offered as a 2 door coupe with a 2.3-liter, 150-hp VTEC inline-four or a 3.0-liter/200-hp VTEC V-6 with choice of a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (93)

Showing 1-10 of 93  
jirios80   [Jun 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Acura CL
Strength:

powerful v6
EVERYTHING

Weakness:

TRANNY NEED TLC
POWERTRAIN IS ABASED OFF 98-02 ACCORDS

GREAT CAR FOR THE MONEY

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
wormydog   [Dec 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: acura/ cl
Strength:

gas milage, comfort,

Weakness:

transmition, front rotors

i loved this car and acura stood behind it until i hit 100k miles. the transmit ion was having trouble and i took it into the acura store and they have a recall on the 2003 acura cl's but not mine the vin . muber is off and my car is not covered even though it has the same symptoms as the other cars on the recall. I won't buy another acura just because of this. clearly acura is not covering all affected.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
jlgraha4   [Jan 15, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Acura 3.0 CL
Strength:

Great gas mileage, nice bose stereo system, heated seats and mirrors, has a lot of power(Vtec Engine)

Weakness:

Had the pwer windows checked continuously, power driver seat doesnt return to its automatic setting sometimes.

I received my Acura 3.0 Cl in 2004 and overall i haven't had any major issues with it at all as of date. It is highly reliable, which is what acura's are known for and is excellent to handle on the highway. the Vtec powered engine in the 3.0 is a must if you would like to get the full affect of what the Cl can really do rather than the 2.3 model. Overall i would reccommend anyone to test drive this vehicle to see its results for yourself.

Similar Products Used: BMW 325i
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Caterpillarman   [Mar 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CL S 6-speed
Strength:

Lot of torque at low rpm, lot of horses at high rpm. The sound of the engine at 4800 rpm (VTEC in) is pretty neat for the ears. Lots of equipment found in more expensive cars. With that 6-speed transmission, your always in the right gear at the rpm you wanted ( To make her scream ;)

Weakness:

You must get the 6-speed otherwise you might have lots of troubles. No fog lights, you want them for the look only cause the car got awesomes HID headlights. Tires if you want to get 100% of what the car can do.

What a pretty nice car! I own my CL for 9 months and havent got any issue yet. I bought it new. I put 6200 miles/10000km on it. I was waiting for some warm and dry days to pull her out of my garage and begin some real sport driving. Ill update my review later this summer.

Similar Products Used: 1986 Olds Cut. Supreme (restored + 350) 1988 Mazda 323GT Turbo (Nice1) 2000 Mazda 626 V6 5-speed 2002 Corolla S 5-speed (good winter)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Caterpillarman   [Mar 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CL S 6-speed
Strength:

Lot of torque at low rpm, lot of horses at high rpm. The sound of the engine at 4800 rpm (VTEC in) is pretty neat for the ears. Lots of equipment found in more expensive cars. With that 6-speed transmission, your always in the right gear at the rpm you wanted ( To make her scream ;)

Weakness:

You must get the 6-speed otherwise you might have lots of troubles. No fog lights, you want them for the look only cause the car got awesomes HID headlights. Tires if you want to get 100% of what the car can do.

What a pretty nice car! I own my CL for 9 months and havent got any issue yet. I bought it new. I put 6200 miles/10000km on it. I was waiting for some warm and dry days to pull her out of my garage and begin some real sport driving. Ill update my review later this summer.

Similar Products Used: 1986 Olds Cut. Supreme (restored + 350) 1988 Mazda 323GT Turbo (Nice1) 2000 Mazda 626 V6 5-speed 2002 Corolla S 5-speed (good winter)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lareen   [Mar 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2.3CL Type S Auto
Strength:

The headlights are like driving through a parking lot all the time -- excellent

Weakness:

The huge turning radius drives me nuts.

*in idle car lurches as if tapped on the bumper by another car *between 40 and 45 mph the transmission is indecisive *Turning radius is extremely poor *when accessing rear, seats rarely return to where was left (I've been squished several times) *several times seatbelt hasnt given slack (not abrupt stops) *automatic transmission is boring takes the enjoyment out of driving (and the sport shift barely compensates) *have to wait for the electronic seats to move to be able to access items behind drivers seat *cant reach behind driver seat to access rear floor while driving (I could in Integra) *seat lever sticks out too much (bruised several times) *filled cup holders are in the way of gear shift *parking brake hits drivers ankle (Accord has parking break recessed) *there is no driver side bar to ease exit from rear seat (Civic has bar on the driver side) *seatbelts are difficult to get clipped (Accord seatbelts stick higher out of seat and are easier to clip)

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord Acura Integra
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Jason   [Dec 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Acura CL 2.3
Strength:

-Lots of trunk space (specially for subs ^_^) -good handling -VERY smooth high way driving

Weakness:

-back looks a lil goofy -lacking engine power (im going to swap for a 3.0 engine which has 200 hp instead of the 150)

This car is pretty dam sweet. It has quite a bit of power and now with a sooped up sound system and neons it turns heads pretty nicely. The engine does lack some power but that can be easily taken car of with some intake or something of the sort. Over all this car is pretty sweet. You have to use the engine though, get it up to the red line some time and test out the power.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dajuice27   [Dec 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 3.0 CL Premium
Strength:

Strong 6 cylinder engine Remote trunk access Steering wheel audio controls Heated seats Silky smooth Automatic transmission Honda build and reliability

Weakness:

Lack of a Manual Transmission for the 3.0 Reported tranny failures

Excellent car for the size and price. Leather appoinments and other luxuries make it stand up against it's cousin, the Accord V6 Coupe.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kenny phan   [Oct 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: acura cl 2.3 - 5 speed
Strength:

Very smooth Power is great trunk is HUGE! handling is very nice

Weakness:

on a incline - (new drivers) BEWARE!! moving out on 1st gear? too much "power" everything. always forget to close the sunroof 52L+ for full tank of gas

This is my first post here. this is kinda not a review but asking for some help with car. Just got the car with 86000k and it runs sweet, but there seems to be a slight problem "moving out" when on 1st gear. I just dont get it. Maybe im new at drving a standard, thats why i cant really figure it out. I seem to can do it slowly, but when i try letting the clutch a bit faster it stalls, for me at a stop and gettting the car goign takes about 10s, and that is too long for my liking at a stop sign. But shifting from 1st-2nd-3rd-4th-5th is easy as 1-2-3 with no "jumps" or anything of that sort, not even a "hic-cup". Im not too sure if its just me or is there something with the acuras that the clutch is more delicate at lower speeds? But besides from that problem this car is a dream - beats my minivan ^.^ . If anyone have any tips i can stop it from stallin when in 1st gear, id be happy to hear it.... email me at pphan@cogeco.ca. Thx for your time, im just really stuck and lost now. hope this all makes sence.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Darrell Kirby   [May 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Acura 3.0 Premium
Strength:

Reliability, good ride, variety of options for the price, from heated mirrors, sunroof and power seats. Good Gas Mileage. Needs bigger tires.

Weakness:

No Fogs. Transmission seems jumpy at times.

Great car! I bought the car with 42,000 miles and it has treated me fine. I've only had to do the regular maintenance.

Similar Products Used: Nissan 200sx, BMW 323, Toyota Celica.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 93  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com