Acura RSX Midsize | Compact

RSX

Acura's replacement for the Integra. 2.0 liter 4 cylinder iVTEC. Only available in 2 door hatchback.

User Reviews (84)

Showing 1-10 of 84  
FREDERIC   [Oct 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: acura rsx prenium with leather
Strength:

engine smooth and powerful
sweet interior
great ride

Weakness:

the wheels are too tiny!! 16 inch

need to buy new ones

i before have an integra 1998 and i love it!
but this rsx is better in every way!
it is like a integra and last generaton of prelude put together! and the agility of an old crx.

Similar Products Used: 1998 ACURA INTEGRA
1991 HONDA PRELUDE
1994 EAGLE TALON TSI AWD
1992 ACURA INTEGRA LS
1992 CIVIC DX
1990 HONDA CRX
1992 CELICA GTS
THE RSX IS BETTER THAN ALL THEM PUT TOGHETER! IWILL HAVE A HARD TIME TO BEAT THIS ONE!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Enigma2142   [May 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: RSX TYPE S
Strength:

Car responds to mads greatly. I added Injen cold air intake, Magna flow exaust,Street header, 70mm throttle body and Hondata reflash #4 and my 175whp turned to 222whp with more torque. V-tech kicks in at 5200 rpm instead of 6500 and rev limiter is now at 8800rpm instead of 8100rpm. Car now does 13s at the track. 0-60 in low 5s. Not bad for under 2g in bolt ons.

Weakness:

Engine noise is loud for those who like it quiet. Interior needs holy shiat handles and an arm rest. Low torque stock. stock tire blow. blind spots... had to add those little dome mirrors. Hood chips due to design. 3m protection helps though. Head lights seem dimm for night driving had to change to HID's. Interior Hepa filter is 180 bucks canadian to change, dealer tries to get you on this every tune up. at 96000km dealer demands to replace timeing belt to maintain warranty.

I bought this car thinking it was fast. At first it was until I became obsessed with more power. Why? because every other sports car tries to race you, this sucks after awhile. The car itself has 201hp, dynod it has more like 175whp and 138fp torque. The 6 speed tranny is awsome and shifts with ease.
Styling is great but each to there own. Interior is classy and the red lighting is atractive. The bucket seat are nice, the leather is of good quality and the heated seats are a bonus. The Bose stereo is great for a stock system, 6-disc in dash changer. Stock tire blow, i opted for 18 inch rims with wider tires. Drove to Montana 8hrs and loved the trip, my butt was alittle sore but that could of been from my oversized wallet...lol

Similar Products Used: None so my comment may be bias... But I do know the car inside out and I would not trade it for anything in its class. Of course i would rather have a 350Z but I'm ony 29 and I believe in buying things with cash. I bought my RSX straight out.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Cynthia Gobbel   [Feb 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Acura RSX Type S
Strength:

Strong engine.
Fun to drive.

Weakness:

Flaws in suspension.
Poor quality in almost every way except the engine.
Its light weight makes it difficult to maneuver in rain/snow.

I would not buy this car new if I had to do it over again. I bought a new car to avoid the inconvenience of having to have it fixed frequently. However, from day 1, I've had problems with the front suspension. At first, there were loud grinding/crunching noises when turning left, and they made some adjustments, which helped, but there is still quite a bit of noise going over bumps. Apparently, it can't be fixed. Also, from day 1, the windows have been slow to go up or down and during the winter, they would even get stuck in the down position! I had to have both window motors replaced. Also, when it's cold outside, my windshield rattles until it warms up. Also, the paint chips really easily! I'm not sure what happened to Acura quality with my car, but it really only shows in the engine, which I'm very happy with.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
rotgut   [Jul 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Type-S
Strength:

Handles like a dream, tight suspension and decent ride comfort, HP is good, leather-trim seating, awesome white guages that glow red at night. Love that it gives me a feeling of confidence when I drive it.

Weakness:

Bose system is somewhat lame... not the pits, but if I were Bose, I wouldn't have been putting my logo on this... could be much better...

In all honesty, I have to say that I am completely impressed and more than satisfied with my new Type-S. I've had the car for a little over a month and every day I get in it I am so jazzed to drive it. The stick is extremely smooth (2nd gear sometimes seems to be a little less smooth, a notorious quality) and I seem to be almost bonding with the car as strange as that may sound. It gives me a lot of confidence because it handles so well, and the thing sticks like glue to the road. I would recommend that if you are on the fence between the base model and Type-S and you want to actually get some thrill out of it... go for the Type-S... it is very much worth it, IMO. I did not like the base model when I test drove it and almost did not consider even the Type-S. But then I test drove that one and WOW!! What a difference. I am now back to enjoying my long daily commute!

Similar Products Used: Test drove RX-8 - awesome but terrible mpg, more $$
Test drove Eclipse GT - nice power, lame looking front end styling, more $$, too bad it's driven by 90% females
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pupqy   [Nov 15, 2005]
Model Reviewed: RSX TYPE S CERTIFIED
Strength:

Not bad MPG. Very confortable. Transmition. 5k oil change ( not 3k ). Good Service AT SOME dealers.

Weakness:

Bose Radio ( don’t like Bose ) JOE RIZZA ACURA. After a month when I turned the steering wheel there was a noise coming out like a bending noise. And when turning right I heard / felt like a rubbing noise from front of the wheels. It turned out that the car was in an accident and the frame was bent and getting rust from inside. They told me that they MISSED IT! It took other dealer an hour to give me a report of things wrong with the car so I thought to myself how long did it take Joe Rizza to certify my 2k2. 1 star for the DEALER, 5 FOR ACURA

Very recommended vehicle. I have drove it for 5k miles or four months. Sporty but yet luxurious. Every time I drove it, it was a pleasure. The Bose stereo is OK ( I don’t like Bose ) seats very comfortable , good for long drives. My fuel economy was about 300miles on full tank (not bad, I drive 65% on highway) transmission was very smooth and engine was a blast to listen to! BUT check out why I had to get rid of it in my weaknesses. Now I have a brand new 2006 type s.

Similar Products Used: 2000 CERTIFIED Integra GS, 2002 CERTIFIED 3.2 CL, 2006 RSX-TYPE S.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
tonkovich   [Aug 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Acura RSX Type-S
Strength:

Unrivaled transmission, sharp handling, high revving engine, solid build quality, best in class interior

Weakness:

Stiff and jerky suspension, poor low end power, average acceleration compared to other sporty cars

The RSX Type-S is a fun car to drive that offers exhilarating power when revved hard and outstanding handling. While it does not accelerate as quickly as similarly priced cars like the Chevy Cobalt SS, Dodge Neon SRT-4, and Subaru WRX, it does *FEEL* very fast when revved hard, and the engine is remarkably smooth and refined all the way up to the 8000 RPM redline. The transmission is second to none with a shifter that provides short, buttery smooth throws and a clutch that is effortless to use. Handling is also marvelous as the car feels very controlled and solid during cornering and offers responsive steering. Unfortunately, the ride is stiffer than it should be; every little bump in the road is transmitted into the cabin and larger bumps can be disconcertingly jarring. The noise level is about average for a sporty car while fuel economy is above average (I’ve been managing about 27 miles to the gallon overall). The car's interior is driver oriented and very comfortable. All of the controls are conveniently located and have a solid, well made feel. The leather seats are soft and supportive. Air conditioning is powerful and the climate control system moderates the temperature well. The 7 speaker Bose stereo is only decent sounding and distorts relatively easily at high volumes but does offer a six disc in dash CD player that is easy to operate. The passenger side dash plastic, while functional an aesthetically pleasing, has a hard and somewhat cheap feel. There are only two major problems with the interior: the lack of a center armrest up front and poor headroom in the rear.

Similar Products Used: Acura Integra GS-R Toyota Corolla
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
nahirgil   [Jul 14, 2005]
Model Reviewed: R.S.X. Type S
Strength:

Power, Reliability, and resale value.

Weakness:

Blind spot and not so hot sound system, other than that it is PERFECT IN EVERY WAY.

With all the great reviews I read I just had to go and test drive it and I was immediately sold. I mean for the price you cannot find another car out there that compares! The car handles great. Very fast for a four banger and even though it is not as torquey it holds its own. I have been asked what car is it and what type of engine it has. When I tell them they cannot belive it. Hugs curves, great on gas, but has a blind spot but once you get acustom to it it is not a problem. The sound system is very good but would be perfect if it had just some more power!!! GREAT SHORT THROW SIX SPEED GEAR BOX!! Love everything about this car.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Corolla S 2004, Hyndai TIburon 1998, and Ford Probe S.E. 1995
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
turfdish   [Jan 07, 2005]
Model Reviewed: RSX-S
Strength:

Engine is great Looks great comfortable good inside design Norwalk dealer is great to deal with.

Weakness:

2nd gear grinds. many blind spots 1 person in the back seat is one to many to enjoy the ride. I wish it had: a delay on the rear whiper a one touch button to open sunroof. http://www.petitiononline.com/RSXgrind/petition.html

So I loved the car for the first 5 months. But the 2nd gear defect makes it a unplesant to drive to say the least: I've had this car for 13 months. after 5 months it became tough to enjoy as when I am shifting from first to second (or down shifting into 2nd), I have to pause to minimize the grinding. Finally after 12 months, dealer will be replacing a synchro b/c it has grinded down. I only have 16000 miles on the car!!! Will be getting rid of it.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
soylent   [Dec 25, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ACURA/RSX
Strength:

Quality Built, Materials, Performance, Economy, Speed.....

Weakness:

Ahhh, Dealers have Car Salesmen.......

Researched many rides and came to the conclusion that the RSX needed to be tried. I was amazed at the performance, comfort, quality, and mileage. I have never been more satisfied with an Auto. The dealer leaves something to be desired but I don't believe them to be any worse than most. I tested Toyota, VW, Honda Civic, Scion and found all to be either lesser for the money spent or [in the case of the VW] over priced and reviewed as a poor investment. My driving has long commutes as well as stop and go driving and my RSX is a blast. The ACURA Owners website is also a big plus. I expect this Mobile to last for 100's of thpusands of miles (thanks to the engine quality and Synthetic Oil). By the By get one. A lot of bang for the buck

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic (great), Saturn (good, great dealers), Toyota Tacaoma (fantastic), Crysler Van (ho-hum), Ford (don't even go there)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
imgng2gveugnarea   [Dec 23, 2004]
Model Reviewed: RSX
Strength:

-performance -gas mileage(24/34) -comfort -handling -looks

Weakness:

alot of people complain about the blindspot in this car but honestly unless your putting on makeup and talking on a phone while changing lanes or backing up its not bad at all... i havent found anything bad about this car yet

I bought this as my first car after much consideration... I looked at tons of different cars but finally settled on this car after driving it. It drives much better than its competitors i drove (VW Gti-nice car felt too heavy, Scion Tc-also really nice but too slow and japanese feeling) the RSX sticks to the road, and acceleration is amazing. The seats are awesome aswell. Mine is silver with black cloth. The cloth in this car is pretty neat the outside of the seats is like a fake suede with a durable cloth in the middle section. unlike the Gti or Tc they didnt try to squeze three seats in the back but instead put two comfortable seats with a cool console. I've never been in a car this small with so many cup holders...2 up front, 1 in the center console next to the front seatbacks and 2 in the back seat(one on each side). the front cup holder/tray is really cool. this car turns alot of heads as well, has awesome styling.

Similar Products Used: Scion Tc VW Gti Lexus Is300(would have bought, but couldnt find any local) VW Jetta MBZ C230 komp sport
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 84  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com