Dodge SRT-4 Midsize | Compact

SRT-4

(2003 - 2005) The new turbocharged version of the Neon.

User Reviews (69)

Showing 1-10 of 69  
1oldwolf1   [Apr 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: srt4
Strength:

fast, turns very well with wider tires, pretty comfi for a hot rod great gas mpg (if you drive nice)

Weakness:

really need stage 2 with toys more for ablity to turn turbo down, even better mpg and bit more fun. 225 x 45 x 17 tire are a must!!!! stock 205's will not hold the hp at the front tires

i have had my srt4 from 9 miles on to now over 63,000. still love this car it is my go to work car. right now i get between 26- 28 mpg drive combo city hiway driving. car handles very well and yes it still very fast. only mod to it are mopar cat back pipe, k&n air filter, 225 x 45 x 17inch tire with 7 inch wide rims and aftermarket cruise put in by dealer pretty stock for a srt4. car is still noise free as day i got it everything works great. srt4 is everything dodge made it to be to the point i am shopping for a second one with low miles to match this one. love the blaze orange color but living in fl. is hard on front end paint due to love bugs eatting the clear coat. i run simi senth oil by castorl change it every 3000 miles and the filter. so far it has been pretty maintance free. this is a real everyday driver but i do go to car shows and have 3 stright top 10,s at the mopar show in mobile al. 3 years running, and no i dont baby my dodge. srt4 is build to run and i run mine pretty hard most over time. that means red line a few times a day when needed to get in small holes in traffic. have have drivin it to kansas from fl. also sc. for srt track days too, done lone trips with my 2 wolfdogs in the back the wife and trunk full to the up to walmart 7 mile run in middle of the night. i am 51 now i also own a 1972 road runner, 1987 shelby charger, i would say say the srt4 is close or just a tic fastest then the road runner which is a not stock 440, 4 sp, ram 6000 disk, locker rear you get the picture i am shure. ok so for the bucks srt4 is very hard to beat and get 26-28 mpg and still can be a fast zoom zoom, would be very hard to go wrong

Similar Products Used: 1986/7 shelby charger i had 2 not bad. i would put the srt4 drive train in one in a heart beat!!!!! they have weak transmissions kill one every 2 years
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
spectre0618   [May 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4 Stage 3 TT
Strength:

Accelleration, virtually non-existent turbo lag, good handling, very smooth clutch and shifter, excellent suspension and braking systems, responsive throttle, fuel economy and the fact that you can still use regular pump gas on occasion.

Weakness:

Tourque steer, tire noise, very loud and aggressive exhaust note, lack of lsd makes driving on snow a bit challenging sometimes. Low head clearance in back seat for people above 6'0 tall.

A friend of mine went away on vacation for 2 months and loaned me his SRT-4. He got the Twin Turbo stage 3 upgrade from Mopar. All I can say is wow. The torque steer can be a real issue as this bad boy puts out 365 lb/ft torque and 355 Horsepower according to Mopar. In my time driving it I beat all kinds of higher end cars. The WRX STI, G35, 350Z, Supra TT, Audi TT, Civic SI by a country mile as well as the Cobalt SS and Ion redline. Several BMW's and the mustang GT. In short you will whoop any car below $55,000 Canadian. However, if it's refinement your seeking you may be better off with some of the other cars. I love the simplicity of the interior but I know many of you are probably looking for a more luxurious ride. Personally, I love the STI for that reason, as well as the Altima and even the civic si as they all offer leather interiors and all sorts of refinements. In the SRT-4 you will find a sunroof, viper style seats which I love, power windows, the same stereo as every other dodge (still a kick ass system and they have a kicker sound system available), a boost gauge, bluetooth function and the thing that has always made me favor the neons...A very high roof line and good all-round visibility. It still has a deep trunk which can haul it's fair share but the roof line in the back is a little low if you are above 6'0 tall. The exhaust is rather noisy and you can really hear the turbo when you punch it but again..I love that fact, and there is quite a bit of road noise. Also with the suspension being so highly tuned, if you hit a othole or a hard bump your apt to lose your fillings. But hey..these are the sacrifices you make for the best performance, suck it up. I currently drive a neon and I will definitely be buying this car for my next vehicle. If you wan't high performance at low cost in contrast to the competition, look no further.

Similar Products Used: WRX STI, CIVIC SI, Cobalt SS, Saturn Ion redline, RX-8, Altima 3.5. I have test driven all of the above and |I own a 2001 neon LE. Any cars I compared the SRT-4 to have all been driven by me before so I can say that with authority
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
quiquem76643   [Dec 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4
Strength:

The motor, the brakes, suspension, viper style seats, very reliable daily driver and also good on gas.

Weakness:

Wheel spin

The SRT-4 is one of the best tuner production cars outhere. Its handles well, its well built, is fun to drive. Performance wise the SRT-4 is a modern Hotrod. The engine is a 2.4 Liter. DOCH 16 valve Turbocharged 4 cylinder motor with a top speed of 153 MPH. The 0 to 60 time is between 5.4 to 6.0 seconds depending on driver. The 1/4 mile time is between 14.2 to 13.7 sec. depending on driver, with (slicks 13.4 stock) sec. The stock motor specs are 215 horsepower and 245 ft. torque 2003 model, (230 hp) with (250 ft. torque) 04, 05 model all on a stock car. Fuel economy is very good considering is a Turbocharged car with city driving 22mpg and highway driving 30mpg, combine is about 25mpg depending on the way you drive. My personal experience is 23mpg to 28mpg and 245 miles on one tank of gas 40% city 60% highway. If you like speed good gas well priced car with 4 doors for the kids or friends, get an SRT-4.

Similar Products Used: 2000 SVT Focus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ephraimlad   [May 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4 (ACR Option)
Strength:

Incredible acceleration and handling for a sub-30K vehicle. Good overall quality. Shifter is perfect. Solid and squeak-free. Seriously: good gas mileage (I'm averaging 26MPG.) The thinks I like about the PT Cruiser applies here as well - fit/finish, fun-to-drive, unique. I was fortunate to get among the last available new ACRs in existence, and would do it again.

Weakness:

ACR seats are good quality, but the hard seat bolsters are very hard on the thighs. Exhaust is loud - but it IS a performance car. Don't buy this car for winter driving.

Mind-blowing. My first car was a 1964 GTO, and I've restored a number of old muscle cars. This little car would pulverize them all.

I'm 6'2" and 250 pounds, but fit with no problem except for the hard, lower seat bolsters in the ACR seats. I'll have them modified. Absolutely no other issues; an outstanding example of how hard our carmakers are working on their products. The proof? An inexpensive, super high performance passenger car that gets great mileage and can be a daily driver too. Isn't that what the original GTO was supposed to be all about? Great job, Chrysler.

Similar Products Used: Also own a 2005 PT Cruiser GT.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Buhl   [Jun 29, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4
Strength:

Great acceleration, handling, brakes, and top speed. Yes, for the money, but even compared to much more expensive cars. Great raw feel. If you want a race car but need a daily driver, this is a great combination of the two. The "Kicker" stereo upgrade sounds great for a stock system. If you are into custom sound save some money and don't get the Kicker upgrade since you will be replacing everything anyways. But for a stock sound system, it is great. At the price, and even anywhere near the price, this car just kills everything else. Not just in drag races, but in overall performance. Great sound. The burbling and popping of the exhaust when you downshift is great. It doesn't sound stock, but it doesn't sound like a fart cannon at all either. It has a deep, throaty sound. Not like a racing V8, but like a great V6. Reminds me of the 350Z... but far louder. This car, at $22K, is compared to the $30K WRX STi and Lancer Evo. I feel those cars *ARE* better, but at 8 grand less, the SRT-4 is a steal. I much prefer it to the normal WRX, which I test drove before the SRT-4. Though the WRX is better for people in places where it rains and snows a lot. I live in South California. I even test drove a 350Z and bought this instead. Granted, a lot of the reason for that is because I decided I wanted the extra doors and seats since I often have to carry more than 1 passenger and guitar amps and such. But that is part of the appeal of this car. The 350Z is a better performance car (stock), but the SRT-4 is right on its tail and has 4 doors, 5 seats, cheaper insurance, and is about 5 grand less.

Weakness:

The interior door handle (the one to pull the door closed, not the one to open it) is on the back side of the door, so when it is all of the way open, I practically have to get out of the car to reach it. This isn't a major problem as I can just grab the handle as I get into the car, but until I got used to it, it was annoying. The car is too loud and too raw for people that prefer gizmos and luxury. Luckily, I am not one of them.

The SRT-4 is the hot rod version of the Neon. 230hp, 250lbsft of torque. And those are the numbers people are doing at the wheels stock. The offical power rating for this car are underated. It makes more power at the wheels than cars with 250 and 260hp. The car has A/C, a good CD player, power front windows, and all of the normal stuff, but it has a very raw feel to it. No cruise control, no radio controls on the steering wheel. It has everything you need, but nothing you don't need. I like the rawness of the car, but other people may not. If you want a Lotus Elise because it's a bare bones little sports car, but you also need 4 doors, 5 seats, and just plain want a good stereo and A/C, then you will like this car. If you like luxury and gizmos, this car is not for you. The exhaust is very loud, as the car actually has no mufflers. People that want a race car will love this, people that want a Mercedes will not. I am surprised this car exists. It offers so much for only 20-22 grand, and is so pure and raw than I can't believe it's a mass production car. It is exactly what I want and need at a price I can afford. Other people may prefer the more refined Focus SVT, Civic Si, Sentra SE-R, etc... but if you *WANT* a less refined, more race-car-like experience like I do, you'll love this car.

Similar Products Used: I test drove these and prefered the SRT-4: Ford Focus SVT, Nissan Sentra SE-R Spec V, Honda Civic Si, Subaru WRX, Toyota Supra Turbo MKIII (not the MKIV), Chevy Cobalt SS, Porsche 944 Turbo.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Josh B.   [Nov 21, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT 4
Strength:

Seats Body Style Color(Orange Blast Pearl Metallic) Exclusivity Acceleration Turbo Whine Muffler-free exhaust Wheels and Tires Very little to no turbo lag. Racy instrumentation with the old style red zone.(The entire gauge face in the red zone is red.) Has a useable trunk Can thrill(or terrify) more than one firend at the same time. Ten speaker Kicker SRT Livin' Loud Sound System with 6-disc CD changer and Mopar RB1 Navigation Radio. S U N R O O F ! ! !

Weakness:

NONE to date(Except small gas tank)

This car is probably one of the best I have driven and owned. It is better than the Firebird that I loved so much. The car will take anything you throw at it and then some. It will also deliver great gas mileage(mine is around EPA quotes). The best thing about it is its "stealth" appearance. People don't quite expect what this thing will do. It is awesome. The quality seems to be good. There are no rattles, although the transmission likes to be shifted out of first rather quickly, and if you are going up a hill, there is a faint vibration. The ride is stiff, but not harsh, and interstate driving is very relaxed and comfortable. The seats stay pretty comfortable over the long haul, which is suprising. It could use a larger fuel tank, though. My average distance on a full tank is around 230 miles. It says "premium fuel required" one the tachometer and "premium fuel recommended" on the inside of the fuel filler door. I put in premium most of the time, but because of high gas prices, sometimes I put in regular, which doesn't make the engine knock, you just don't get as much boost pressure as you would with a higher grade.

Similar Products Used: 1995 Pontiac Firebird Formula
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
srt4guy   [Aug 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4
Strength:

Speed, power, fun to drive, plus decent handling and ride. The car feels tight and well put together.

Weakness:

You get use to them, but the pipes could stand to be a little quieter. I don't care for the standard seats so I ordered the car with side airbags. This option sets the car up with the more comfortable seats out of the R/T neon.

A little pocket rocket which is just a blast to drive! It just brings on grins. Drove it on a trip for several hundred miles and got 29.3 miles per gallon, this on a car that rips to 60 in less then 5.6 seconds, turns a high thirteen second quarter mile and tops out at 150 plus. And all of this for a little over 20 grand, unbelieveable. For bang for the buck, there's nothing out there that can touch it. For that matter you have to pay another 10 grand to find anything to even come close to it.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Neon. Drove over 60K mile without a glitch.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ojotigre   [Jul 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: srt-4
Strength:

powerfull engine, good price and very fast

Weakness:

none yet.

The best car that i ever had. it's cheap in comparation with other car in the same scale and it's even faster than a wrx, 350z, rx-8.

Similar Products Used: wrx, 350z, evo, sti.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EvoisGod   [May 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4
Strength:

acceleration, braking, handling, exhaust tone, value, looks

Weakness:

wierd shifter, a little tricky to launch

I drove the little lovely after a friend bought it. It's a fun car but I would pay to see it beat an Evo like some people claim it can. I saw a WS6 waste one the other day and WS6's aren't even a challenge for me. I've only spent $3.5k on my Evo and I burn Vipers. For the price though, the SRT-4 is the best car you can ask for. The only thing I didn't like about it was shifter. Too long and vague to me. I'd buy one if I didn't have my dream car already. If you want an SRT-4 then get it. It's better than anything in it's class.

Similar Products Used: Daytona turbo, wrx, souped up eclipse gsx...none compare
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Danerss   [May 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Dodge SRT-4
Strength:

The turbocharger is perfect 16 lbs or boost really makes this car scream

Weakness:

none when other then the seat mentioned above. NOt a problem for most people though

One work... AMAZING! I was in the market for a good sports car, I test drove everything from an RX-8 to a 350Z and all I can say is BUY AND SRT-4. Granted the fronts seat are a love-em or Hate-em thing and are not made for those of you with bigger rumps. Power, style, and afforablity, I went for the full bells and whistles package, that included a 6 disk cd changer, infinity sound, and a 10 inch KICKER sub factory mounted in the trunk.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 69  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com