Ford Crown Victoria (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Crown Victoria (2010 and older)

The Crown Victoria is a 4-door, 6-passenger family sedan, available in two trims, the Standard and the LX.

Upon introduction, both trims are equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 224-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (120)

Showing 1-10 of 120  
sean   [Feb 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: crown vic p71
Strength:

v8 power, 3.55 rearend, heavy duty, fast, pretty fuel efficient,trunk size, fun to drive.

Weakness:

everyone thinks your the police and slows down

the police intercepter is one of the best cars!!!! i got it for really cheap and it will still outlast any other car. This car can do small jumps with ease, and normally goes over 220 khm. Also it is very roomy and comfertable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean Ireland   [Sep 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: LX
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

Coooooooooooooooooooooooooooooool

Similar Products Used: Ride On Lawn Mower
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Louise   [Aug 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford/ Crown Vic
Strength:

Power, room, smooth ride

Weakness:

Front end shakes,

Bad in snow AND rain. Don't touch Traction Control Button, it turns the traction OFF. I didn't know this, went off road in Pennsylvania during snow.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jonnier exposito   [Aug 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: police interceptor
Strength:

a/c its really cold works for ever,transmission ,engine ,suspension ,big ass trunk.

Weakness:

electric windows brake easy.

This car is a really good car.This car has 452,698 miles and still going strong. only a few modifications like synthetic oil,new fuel filter,flow master, intake and kinetic coil spark plugs,I cant kick some craprice,mustangs and vtech's booty.change the oil every 3000 miles froget those oils that say go strong 7500 miles. this will keep the car new remenber this is not & lx this is an interceptor.lx suxs.

Similar Products Used: use mobil for sinthetic oil & k&n for filter, kinetic spark plugs
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Barbara540   [Dec 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Crown Victoria LX
Strength:

Its big and heavy and roomy

Weakness:

It rides like a garbage truck - what happened to the float of the '93? The electric windows continue to fail. What was I thinking when I got light grey leather interior?

I hate this car. I LOVED the 1993 model I had for 200,000 miles. This rides like a garbage truck and I can't keep the windows remote working! The last straw was another replacement of the thingy that makes the windows remotely go up and down from the driver's control panel - yes the one that fills with ashes and rain. AND is never covered by the warranty. This is a design flaw. I drove the '93 for 10 years and never had this problem and with this car I am plagued. The dealer says it is from smoking.....I realize that smoking causes everything from heart attacks to athelet's foot but my windows not working - get real. The rain flows in a steady stream with the window cracked just an inch - right into the windows controls. It is driving me crazy and poor. The dealer says it is packed with cigarette ashes and that is the problem. I think there is a design flaw and if ashes can get in there then so can that rain. I ordered and added one of those "rain caps" that fit above the window but that didn't help. Anyone with any ideas?

Similar Products Used: This will be my last Crown Victoria - after four.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Danny Cello   [Dec 01, 2005]
Model Reviewed: crown victoria lx sport
Strength:

Good zip, feels strong and sturdy. Freeway acceleration is immediate. The interior ride is smooth and quiet. It is very very fun to drive. I like getting in and going places. Every time I get out and walk away, I look back at the car and say ' I love that car, I have the best car'...Sounds goofy, but it's true. I wouldn't take nothing but a brand new one for a trade. I am not willing to take five thousand dollars more than I paid to sell...

Weakness:

Haven't found it yet. I don't expect great fuel economy. I know what I bought.

This black exterior with grey leather insides is the only car I've ever seen and wanted in my 47 years of life. I flew down to L.A. and the seller picked me up at the airport. I bought it and drove back to the bay area. It has been a love at first sight experience and I am not a car guy, and never have been. It's the only car I'll ever want to own. I drive Crown Vics at work. I am a twenty three year veteran of the San Francisco Police. I knew they were dependable cars, and the LX Sport raised the entire " personal experience " level to pretty much where I thought it might go,... way higher. Smooth and strong. No flash. It has been a truly luxurious driving experience.

Similar Products Used: I've driven fleet police Crown Vics throughout my carrer.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
blue32   [Nov 26, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Crown Victoria Police Interceptor
Strength:

Motor is strong, I added a cold air intake. Trunk is HUGE. Love the look.

Weakness:

Even though it's the police package I now seem to bottom out, or at least scrape something on some bumps.

I have owned this car for one year and love it. It used to be owned by the local sheriff's department, so everyone around here hates me now. The only problems I've had was a bad starter when I first bought it, and shortly after had to replace a coil(Note: I filled all of the boots with electronics grease and haven't had a problem since. I have hit 2 telephone poles with it, I fixed it after the first one haven't got around to this one but it isn't very bad. I have installed a Pioneer stereo, Alpine subs, Rockford amp, XM radio, VHF radio, police scanner, and a radar detector. When I first got it all the cops would wave to me.

Similar Products Used: 1982 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
blue32   [Nov 26, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Crown Victoria Police Interceptro
Strength:

Motor is strong, I added a cold air intake. Trunk is HUGE. Love the look.

Weakness:

Even though it's the police package I now seem to bottom out, or at least scrape something on some bumps.

I have owned this car for one year and love it. It used to be owned by the local sheriff's department, so everyone around here hates me now. The only problems I've had was a bad starter when I first bought it, and shortly after had to replace a coil(Note: I filled all of the boots with electronics grease and haven't had a problem since. I have hit 2 telephone poles with it, I fixed it after the first one haven't got around to this one but it isn't very bad. I have installed a Pioneer stereo, Alpine subs, Rockford amp, XM radio, VHF radio, police scanner, and a radar detector. When I first got it all the cops would wave to me.

Similar Products Used: 1982 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
vicpusher458   [Aug 08, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Crown Vic LX
Strength:

engine interior

Weakness:

fuel pump!!!!!

Greaatr car

Similar Products Used: hada 2001 Taurus (Great Car)!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
miami-k9   [Mar 14, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Crown Victoria Police Interceptor
Strength:

Acceleration to 70 is good. Slightly more interior space than the chevy. Comfortable seating...this is something that amazes me, complaints abound with domestic manufacturers concerning their seats and comfort, particularly long term comfort, and yet with all our various back problems, I know of not one police officer that has ever complained about feeling uncomfortable in the seats in a police car. You know why? They put stiffer foam padding in taxi and police package cars. Chevy and Ford both. So if that is a complaint you might have, try seats from a police car or have a good interior guy put stiffer padding in the seats. It works I dont pay for the gas, or the things that break, and thank god cause this is gonna get expensive quick.

Weakness:

Engine-Weak for its size, weight and compexity. It takes up the room of a big block, its DOHC makes it weigh almost as much as one, and it puts the weight high in the chassis (this does not help handleing), and the mechanics hate working on them. Not enough torque for a car this heavy. runs out of steam after 70mph. Transmission-overheats quickly and warns you by hard, high stall shifting. Backing off the throttle between shifts confuses the computer and sends a harsh shock thru the driveline. Chassis-high center of gravity, crash safety sounds great in a lab but real world is costing officers their lives Handling-see review Body-weak bumpers, paint is chipping in places, some guys have squeaking doors, doors that wont shut/open, trunks leak, poor fit and finish. Its not built like a police car should be. Ford knows it and yet wont do anything about it. Modern car companies are all about filling a niche in the market. Well police, fire and taxi services are a big market but all we get is yesteryear tech, a build it big and stupid mentality, with substandard safety equipment. Ford needs to step up and build a real police car.

Well let me begin simply like this. This is not a police car. They say that it is, the lights and sirens would make you think that it is. The stripes and barking police dog in the back would make you believe that it should be a police car, but it's not. It astounds my buddies and I that despite the fact that FORD has been building cars for 100 years now and yet they cant make a power window work reliably. I'll elaborate by saying that with just 22K miles on the car my drivers side rear window stopped working, and every member of my unit has had similar problems. Ford apparently hasn't figured out how to make a fuel pump either because our cars now have a "silent " recall due to the fuel pumps going bad. Since I imagine that most people want the police to arrive in a timely manner when called, my being delayed by a vehicle that bucks, stumbles, stalls, and barely moves over 20mph has got to annoy them, it annoys me anyway. In addition its not like its a constant problem, its intermittant, which means that when we take it to the dealerships and tell them "It no go.", they invariably go out to test drive it and say there is nothing wrong. They're not lying, there wouldnt be anything wrong. Apparently leaving the car off for a few minutes would do something and it would return back to normal operation. This problem was of particular concern to those of us in the K-9 unit. Hot Miami days mean leaving the cars A/C on all day so not to give our dogs heatstroke. Sometimes officers would walk out from court or the station and found their cars had just died and their k-9 partners were inside sweating it out. We all leave our rear windows down, but since they sometimes DONT WORK! its a concern. Oh yeah and when the engine idles, it shakes, alot. Lets get into handeling. I drive for 10 hours a day, 60 miles of highway and at least 50-80 miles in the city, thats stop and go, screaming to calls, sneaking at a snails pace and hard knocks. I know what im talking about when I say that this car needs alot of improvement. Ford went and tried to fix previous complaints of loose handeling, a high center of gravity and poor response. They didnt get it right. The watts linkage rear end means that high speed breaking and some times just VERY high speed lifting of the throttle gets the rear end very light and wobbley. Not cool. They replaced the old 15 inch tires with new 16s which did help a bit in the response dept but its only a band aid for sloppy steering and bad cornering manners. They also lowered the car by a bit over the previous generation but again this was only a band aid to try to counter they high center of gravity they built into the car. I continually find myself comparing this car to our old 93-96 Chevy Caprice's, some of which, 10 years later are still in service. By comparison not one of the fords bought in 96-98 are still in service, they have all been wrecked (wonder why that would happen), or just had so many catastrophic parts failures that they just deadlined the cars. I had taken that chevy to its limits and it never let me down, full 4-wheel drifts on wet roads at 30mph were predictable, planned, and perfectly controlable with just the right throttle input, handling was superb for such a huge pig. The engine was nothing to write home about but the 4.3 (yes 4.3) liter LT1 based motor could still out hustle (its all about torque) the newer and more sophisticated 4.6L ford motored cars. Over-all fit and finish were better and when I turned that car in with 134k miles on it it still ran fine and except for a few squeaks and rattles. I simply cannot imagine these current crop of Crown Victorias making it that long. Let me make it clear, You, the average consumer would never, could never legally, illegally or any combination, including racing, met out the kind of punishment that police cars take. High speeds, low speeds, all day idleing, full throttle upshifts, redline for extended periods, hard brakeing, driveing thru deep water, snow (not in miami), high heat, curbs, potholes, badguys, and fleet management. But, I think FORD could do better than to have a car with only 36k miles now, have this many problems. There are a few things I expect from a police car, RELIABLITY, DURABILITY, SAFETY, POWER, HANDLEING. This car really does not have these qualities in any significant amount. Police cars should be built like race cars, big engines, safety cages, fire suppresion systems, superior handeling and braking and high standards for quality and durability. Exceptional standards for safety should be the norm, not the exception. Exploding fuel tanks, and hard plastic interior bits are not exceptable. This car does not even have real bumpers, its just a cover, lean against it or put you foot on it and its just soft plastic. Its kinda like the rest of the car. Soft, weak, and fake. Im driving a fake police car.

Similar Products Used: 94 chevy caprice 96 chevy caprice 97 ford crown victoria 03 ford crown victoria
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 120  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com