Honda Accord (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Honda Accord (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Accord is Honda’s midsize car, which was completely redesigned for 2008. The latest-generation Accord includes three firsts for Honda in North America: next-generation Variable Cylinder Management, interface dial controller and dual-chamber driver’s and front passenger’s side airbags.

Offered in both sedan and coupe versions, the coupe receives more aggressive styling to differentiate it from the sedan.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 699  
[Oct 19, 2011]
Gadaffi's Taylor
Model Reviewed: VP Sedan A/T

Strength:

Handling, smooth engine, interior room, MPG.

Weakness:

Bland styling, body rattles, monochrome interior.

I bought this car to replace a 2001 Hyundai that was breaking down every week. I decided to go with another Honda because I owned a 1996 Civic that went over 200,000 miles. I like the car because it drives and handles very well for a family sedan. It stays very level in corners and you can plant the car exactly where you want to in corners. It drives like a BMW although it will reach its limits sooner. The ride is a lille stiff for a family sedan but not uncomfortable. The engine also has a lot of power and revs very smoothly for a four cylinder, emitting a sports car like growl at high RPM. Five speed auto tranny shifts smoothly but can get confused during full throttle rolling starts and when going down steep hills. Over the past year I've averaged 29 MPG in mixed driving, good for such a large and powerful car.

On the minus side there are some squeaks and rattles on bumpy roads. The styling, inside and out, is somewhat bland, but at least its not ugly. My Mennonite edition VP lacks adjustable lumbar in the seats, variable intermittant wipers, and some other convenience features that maybe it should for the price you pay. I have had to make one unexpected visit to the shop- the heat sheild fell off on a busy interstate. Fortunately I had tools with me for an unrelated reason and was able to fix it. Although the car is still under warantee, the repair was not covered because it is a "general wear item" the dealer claimed.

Overall the 2007 Accord is a good choice for the sedan buyer who wants a capable and fun to drive car but doesn't want to spend Acura or BMW money.

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Camry, Hyundai Sonata

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2011]
Sheryl Long
Model Reviewed: Accord

Strength:

Good Gas mileage- back row seats are ok.

Weakness:

This car is completely uncomfortable. This car is not for families. The cabin is equipped with the worst material you can find.

I am sure to let all of my friends about my troubles with the 2010 Honda Accord. I owned the car for all of six and a half months and I regret buying it. Honestly- it was a huge waste of money. The head rests are ridiculously painful. I've been to the chiropractor five times within my ownership of the car. Many people that I know of that have owned or own any Honda have been led to disappointment. Like any car dealer, they make it sound like the best car on the market. Unfortunately, I took the bait and bought the car. I really only use this car to drive to work, and I am still disappointed within a thirty minute drive. On occasions if my husband is working, I bring my daughters to tennis in this car and I always hear moaning from the backseat; "Mom- this stupid car is killing me, I am sitting on rocks".

Similar Products Used:

I am looking into a Nissan Altima or a Ford Fusion. Both of these cars have better gas mileage and price value than an Accord. My sister has had her Nissan Altima for a good amount of time and it is still going strong. The Ford Fusion is recommended by my own parents, who aren't really into any 'bells and whistles'. These cars are recommended for families and I can't wait to trade-in my Accord (if they even accept these poor cars).

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Dec 30, 2010]
djstam
Model Reviewed: Ex-i

Strength:

Engine, and 5spd Trans, body and rear suspension are engineered and built well. Good Gas mileage, up to 240K and still going.

Weakness:

A/C system, climate control, cruise, side airbags, o2 sensor, pwr locks, and radio.

This is my 3 rd accord and I see trend with having the EX models. All the accessories keep breaking. Mechanically it's sound. The past 2 models I had lost the A/C twice, and the automatic version had terrible shifting. Funny enough I'll probably end buying another... It's hard to find a Mid size sedan with 4 cyl, heated seats, sunroof, alloyed whls and 5spd.

Similar Products Used:

Mazda 626, older accords, Lesabre, Lincoln TC, and Nissan Altima.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 30, 2010]
Chan Singh
Model Reviewed: Accord

Strength:

Powerful engine, nice styling. reasonably priced.

Weakness:

Extremely uncomfortable seats.
Very poor stability. I nearly lost control on four occasions. I have to drive the car as like I am handling eggs.

Will not recommend this car due to the above two weaknesses. I should have bought a Hyundai. I will trade it in as soon as I can afford to.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 13, 2010]
Sandra
Model Reviewed: Honda Accord EX 4 DOOR

Strength:

thrird Honda

Weakness:

Break problems

I have owned this Honda brand new 2006, I just now had the brakes squeeking

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 29, 2010]
Matt_Landers
Model Reviewed: Honda Accord

Strength:

Personality of the car. Intuitive controls on the car. Nicely weighted steering and solid road feel. Premium audio system (270 watts)

Weakness:

Lack of some features for an MSRP of 25,480.00, EX trim level... Such as fog lights, XM radio which are standard features in many other vehicles.

Overall, its a great car. Have owned several Honda's and have enjoyed them. Gas mileage isnt bad but should be better coming from an auto maker priding themselves on it. The car handles WONDERFUL in the snow and has a nice solidi feel to it in general. Ill keep buying them if Honda keeps making them this good!

Similar Products Used:

2011 Hyundai Sonata but prefer a Honda.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 29, 2010]
k.p. walsh
Model Reviewed: honda accord

Strength:

power, smoothness, tight suspension, no timing belt, no rattles or odd issues and its a 55k mile used car ! ! !

Weakness:

WOW - hard seats, thought I'd get accustomed to them but no way, will have to buy memory foam seat padding.
2nd complaint - grabby brakes, 4 months and still difficult to adjust to.

overall is a very good car, decent power and fuel mpg balance. tight like a honda is supposed to be. lately i have been using several different cars, mostly toyotas and this 1 honda. the brakes are extremely sensitive. the front seats are hard but thats on me, it was like that when I test drove the car so thats really on me. I'll get some high dollar seatcovers at McCartys Sacro Ease Auto Seat Cushions website. I will get the hard seat problem fixed and maybe read up on front brake replacement, surely by now someone makes a better rotor / pad setup, maybe even honda.

Similar Products Used:

1990 civic, 1989 civic, 1989 VW GTI 16v,

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 20, 2009]
J D S
Model Reviewed: Accord LX

Strength:

Attractive. Competitive. Steering wheel controls light up. Tons of headroom and legroom for 6'3" driver like me. Curtain airbags. (7 or 8 total!) This car will last a long, long time. Best brakes I've ever used, and I'm 42. Excellent stereo system. This is the best car I've ever owned. I think the V6 Accord ( I own the 4 cyl.) makes it the Best Car available at ANY price, anywhere. My '08 Pilot is the best SUV on the road; it seats 8 (8!)-in comfort, even in 3rd row! My 17 yr old nephew sat back there this summer! Twice!

Weakness:

Non ethat I have found. People who don't like Hondas complain abut the seat comfort. I think they make them harder than some so they last forever-like the car itself. I'm 230 lbs, and I like them just fine. Beautiful fabric!

This car is large, comfortable, quiet, very competitive, fairly quick, and very economical. Very attractive, also. High quality as is typical of all Hondas. I also own a 2008 Honda Pilot, and neither vehicle has had any service done other than oil changes.

Similar Products Used:

1991 Honda Accord, 1995 Dodge Intrepid,(HUGE car),1998 Nissan Altima (good car, but BIG step down from 91 Accord),2003 Trailblazer (one of few good ones), 2005 Venture (DO NOT BUY THIS P.O.C. !!) 2008 Honda Pilot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 14, 2009]
Regretbuyinghonda
Model Reviewed: HONDA ACCORD

I traded my 2008 Honda Accord coupe, which I bought brand new, because brakes were squeeling, to a 2009 Honda Accord (4door). Same problem! Service department changed disc and pad couple of times. And due to change them again, waiting for new pads and disc. Still the same problem. How many more times do they have to keep changing until they get it right? I'm just one out of 7 or 8 (maybe more) with the same problem. I'm very disappointed with Honda. The reason I buy their cars because they used to have a good reputation on quality. Now it seems they're making cars by quantity and not quality anymore. They insist it's not a safety issue. That's right, but it is an issue! Buying a brand new car and encountering this problem, how would you feel? And how would you feel to hear this problem everyday when you drive your car? I'm really sad and disappointed, I should have bought something else :-(

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 15, 2009]
watchmovies2
Model Reviewed: Accord

Weakness:

Transmission,
Ignotion switch
fuel pump
Paint

I used to think Honda is the best brand for any vehicle and used to refer the same to others until i used it for my car for 3 years.
Transmission died below 100k mileage, Ignition switch is a major problem for Honda vehicles.
For a Honda Accord with 100k mileage, had to spend 4000.00 dollars. I think Toyota camry is better compared to this vehicle

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 699  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com