Hyundai XG350 Midsize | Compact

XG350

The 2004 Hyundai XG350 remains unchanged from the previous model year. The XG350 is again available in two trims, Base and L Sedan. Features such as an automatic climate control system, a trip computer and a six-speaker AM/FM cassette/CD stereo system are standard.

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
gailygirl   [Jun 26, 2011]
Model Reviewed: xg350l
Strength:

V6, leather, lots of bells and whistles

Weakness:

black interior (hot) in south.

This is the second XG we have had. My husband had bought one new when we first met and sold it at two yrs old, due to personal issues, but he 'mourned for" the car and said selling it was a mistake. He did not have any issues with the first XG and adored the car. He is a 'reasonable driver'. When I decided to buy a used car, he suggested the XG and I bought one in "mint condition", one owner, with a solid car fax, and under 20,000 miles. He drove it 5 hrs from point of purchase to home because I didn't want to drive it through Atlanta noon traffic so I waited until "20 miles" from home for my turn at the wheel. The car "saved my life in the first ten minutes". I ended up in a "freak accident" involving a funeral procession and a 4 lane divided road multi 'pile up'. I was able to go from a "dead stop" parked @ the side of the road to 60 miles an hour almost immediately in order to "out-run" a "ricocheting car" that was impacted by another auto, headed for me at a high rate of speed. If I had not had a V6 and been able to "gun it" in order to avoid impact, I probably would not be here writing this today. If I had been in my 4 cyl. truck, I would have been "history". So as far as I am concerned the car has 'already paid for itself". This is my "trip" car and I baby my cars. So in a year or so I will update this site for any problems I may have, but so far it has been a good car with no problems, as was the prev. XG we had. I love my car so far...

Similar Products Used: nissan,hundai sonata, mazda


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Freelancer   [Mar 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: XG350L
Strength:

Love the car and it's elegance. The previous owner kept it in mint condition. It has power when I need it and cruises like and ocean liner.

Weakness:

Haven't found any yet, but plan to care for it and stay ahead with good preventive maintenance.

The dealer knew I would like it and he was right. My wife can't stop talking about it and all our friends love riding in it. It is a great advertisement for Hyundai

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Vistar   [Feb 08, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai 350 XG
Strength:

Lots of bells and whistles. Appeared to be a lot of car for the money.

Weakness:

Sudden acceleration.
Paint irregularities.
Poor mileage.
Soft suspension.
Trim adhesion problems.

Immediately after purchase experienced sudden acceleration after cold starts - when temp was between 60 - 70 degrees. After serveral trip to dealer service, the car was replaced free of charge. The second car did exactly the same thing. Hyundai corp would not allow another replacement. The car was in service perhaps another six times. The defect could not be duplicated. District office told dealer they were not aware of any problems like this. Told them to tell me "it's the way I drive a car." Dealer suggested going through Lemon Law procedures, but cost of lawyer would be greater than selling the car "as is" at auction. That's where it went and I will never buy another Hyundai.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
dyxiegirl   [Dec 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai XG 350
Strength:

lots of bells and whistles, comfort of ride, style, great power and acceleration at higher speeds

Weakness:

Ever since I owned this car there has been a sporadic condition that cannot be resolved. Always on a cold start, about twice every 3 or 4 months, the car will jerk right when I put it in forward. It's like the transmission or the fuel or something gets stuck. After about a few seconds it goes a way, but it looks like a beginner is driving the car.

I really like this car. I have had it for 5 1/2 years so far. The only problem I have had with it was that weird acceleration problem. When the car was about 3 months old I ran over a huge chunk of metal in the road. It tore up the underside of the car, taking out the oil pan. The car was in the shop for 3 weeks, and I had a Jag as a loaner. I couldn't wait to get back to my XG350. No comparison in amenities, pickup, styling! I haven't gotten a new car because it would cost me $35-40K to get the equal amenities, and the car is still in great shape.

Similar Products Used: 1997 Chrysler 300L, 1990 Mazda 9
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jeanettedix   [Mar 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: XG350L
Strength:

Large interior, lots of leg room,

Weakness:

low milage, bad brake system,

My husband purchased this car in 2002 and there have been problems since day 1. First the gas light would not go out, had it back to the dealer x2. Finally figured out on our own that if you do not turn off the engine when filling the tank the sensor will stay on. The next 6 months were great but then the rear breaks went on Christmas Eve. Could not get it to the dealer because they were closed. Had to have replaced. 2 months later had a tire blow out. Since then I have had the breakes replaced 7 times and I do not ride my breaks. Just had them replaced again along with new rear tires again, because they say the calipers were bad, again, but I still have a shimmy in the sterring wheel and seat. Do you think that the mechanic would take a little pride and fix the whole problem I brought it in with, and not let me take it home only to bring it back again for more repairs which already cost me $1000. This car was a beautiful ride when purchased but now frustrating because you never know what is going to happen. Yes I also agree with someone else who talked about how the car lurches forward when you step on the gas. You do not want to be to close to someone because you could end up on their bumper. I have driven a honda for 20 years prior and was pleased with the performance but my husband wanted something a little larger so he gave this a try. Sorry to say that I will not try another Hyundai.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
milodog   [Oct 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XG350
Strength:

Looks, ride, overall reliability.

Weakness:

Some service problems.

Purchased this car new in 2005. Didn't know that it was going to be the last year the car was made. A/C condenser and compressor went out. Hyundia covered both, but after several failures at diagnosis, and me having to escalate the problem to regional service executive. Probably will not but another Hyundai because of service trouble with local dealer. But I have to say that otherwise, I love the car. Other than problem noted, the car looks great and rides great. I keep it clean, and get remarks on it all the time. I love the new Genesises, and I will give some consideration to getting one, but my service trouble with the local dealer will likely steer me back to Honda or Toyota.

Similar Products Used: Honda, Toyota
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
SONIA FLORES   [Jul 26, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XG350L

BOUGHT THE XG350L IN 2004 AND HAVE BEEN DRIVING IT EVER SINCE. I'VE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR. I LOVE IT. I HAVE ALL THE BELLS & WHISTLES AND ENJOY THE FACT THAT IT DIDN'T COST AN ARM & A LEG TO GET THESE LUXURY ITEMS. I LOVE THE MOON ROOF & HEATED SEATS AND ESPECIALLY LIKE THAT WHEN I STEP ON THE GAS, I GET THE POWER I NEED. I LOVE THIS CAR & INTEND TO KEEP IT TILL IT DIES.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
BBG   [Apr 24, 2009]
Model Reviewed: XG350
Strength:

Soundness, performance, quality, and maintenance cost.

Weakness:

Gas mileage, acceleration, and stereo speakers.

Have had this car since new.
Have not had any problems or repairs.
Change oil and gas only.
It has been an excellent vehicle for our family.
Stereo speakers are not anything to brag about and even break up now and then.
Overall we have been very pleased with the quality and performance of this vehicle.
The gas mileage is nothing to brag about either but is not a real factor considering the quality and price.
Have owned many vehicles over the last 45 years and never thought about owing a Korean product but we are glad we took a chance because it turned out to be a good choice.
Very easy to work on and perform maintenance. Very thoughtful engineering design for maintenance and do it yourself folks.
Easiest oil change vehicle we have owned.

Similar Products Used: Hondas, Datsuns, Toyotas, Nissans, and most makes of American autos.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
carman41   [Jan 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Hyundia XG350L
Strength:

Looks great cleaned up. Rides nice.

Weakness:

Gas mileage is bad. Drivers seat belt does not retract very well. Wish it had a better suspension.

I thought I was getting a pretty decent car when I bought this and for the most part was happy. I have had to replace hood supports, 2 sensors by the fuel tank, repair wire connections for airbag system and now have had to replace the radio due to it coming on by itself and switching between FM and CD and now it is doing the same thing again and the dealer will not cover it under warranty as I am out of the Radio warrant of 3 yrs 36k. I called Hyundia Customer Service and have a case open to see it the will do anything. Now my trunk lid supports need to be replaced. Most of this stuff has happened within in a 2 year period. I was possibly thinking of buying an Azera, but with all this I think I might have to go back to either Honda or Toyota. It really bums me out because the car looks so good,it is Pearl White with Black interior. As for the bumper to bumper coverage I think that is a joke to. I drove a 2003 Sonata and never had any issue with that car, wish I had it back.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Cecely Birkenfeld   [Jun 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai XG350L
Strength:

Lots of bells and whistles.

Weakness:

Low gas mileage, lots of road noise, lots of problems, not enough power.

This is the worst car I have ever owned. I have had nothing but trouble with it. I have had it in the shop 7 times in less than a year. First it would die when I would put it in reverse. That took 3 visits to the shop for them to fix, then I took it to the car wash and my kids got wet in the back seat because the seals leaked. I would be driving down the road, and it would lose power and then pick back up. I still have problems when I leave a stop sign. 7 times out of 10 it will lunge forward and then lose power and when you hit the gas, it will peel out. The little drawer in the dash broke and was stuck out. The gas mileage is horrible. I bought this as a dealer demo car, so it had never been owned before, I now know why noone had ever bought it. It is the biggest piece of junk I have ever owned. I am trying to get rid of the stupid thing now, but am too far upside down.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Chrysler 300M ***
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com