Infiniti G20 Midsize | Compact

G20

The G20 is offered as a four-door sedan with a 2.0-liter, 140-hp DOHC inline-four mated with your choice of a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (92)

Showing 1-10 of 92  
g20   [Nov 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: g20
Strength:

Quality, looks, gas mileage, reliability, sound system

Weakness:

...ummmm cupholders, power perhaps....

This car is great! I've driven it for like two years + and it still has the same appeal it had when I got it! I love everything about it! What can I say? It's a unique car, not many people have it which gives you a feeling of uniqueness as well. I love the design, way better than civic. The power isn't as good as a bimmer, but for me it's enough. I have heard people say that sometimes it feels like a v6, and I have felt it sometimes... I guess it has good days and bad days! The sound system is the best! It comes with Bose and man that is more than enough for even those who love bass and lots of it! A slight cup holder issue, but that's okay. Gas mileage is pretty good and have found myself to get about 300 miles in the city. I recomend this car to anyone who wants a car that is unique, good on gas, looks good, and is reliable. (I have found my g20 to go from 0-60 in about 10 or so seconds... oh I have an automatic)

Similar Products Used: Bmw 528i (not really same, but quality wise I would say is pretty much equal), honda accord (g20 more luxury obviously, a little less power though)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Josh   [Feb 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: G20
Strength:

Looks, RELIABILITY, gas mileage, comfort, size, RIDE AND HANDLING. Peppy little car.

Weakness:

No cup holder, No keyless entry.

In July 2006, I purchased the car from a co worker. When I got it, it had 235,000 miles on it and of course it needed a very very good cleaning like you couldn't imagine and also motor mounts. Once done with all of that not only did the car look gorgeous for being a 92 but it also ran and drove smoother than A LOT of new cars on the market today. I bought a rear spoiler out of a junk yard off a blue G20 and had it painted to match the car and that gave it a super sporty look. I had the car for a year and a half and honestly I BEAT the HELLLL out of the car and only ever had to replace the break pads and ball joints ask anyone that knows me, the can confirm this. The original automatic tranny shifted smooth with no problems what-so-ever. The A/C blew ice cold. ALLL the power options functioned as they should and it got great gas mileage. I took the car on two long road trips (800 and 1200 miles), not only did the car NOT skip a beat but if was still very comfortable and cozy even after 8 hours of driving.

As far as performance, the only upgrades that I did to it was a K&N air filter, NGK Irodium spark plugs and wires, new cap and rotor and a couple bottles of injector cleaner. My report is that it basically has NO off the line power but just about 4900 RPM's in first gear is when you would hit the power band and then it seemed to have tons of power a lot more than a lot of cars, heres a list of cars I beat with my G20, i know its not a big list, i'm not really a racer so i didnt do it that often.

- 2001 Camry (v6)
- 2001 Civic (I4)
- 1999 VW Golf (1.8 Turbo I4)
- 1994 Beretta (V6)
- 1997 Integra (I4)

I really liked how the car had absolutly NO warranty and the few times I drove it to the Infiniti dealer with questions or concerns they were the most polite and helpful people I've ever dealt with.

If you are looking for a luxury car that wont break the bank. You CAN NOT go wrong with a G20 it has all the luxury ammenities and one of the most reliable vehicles out there. Besides that they handle like no other car I've ever driven even with snow on the ground. Around town and running errands or just taking a long drive this car is comfortable and enjoyable even more so than a lot of new cars. and the 99-2002 G20's not only look more modern and newer than most new cars today, but all the mechanical parts from 92-2002 are just about all the same.

What did mine in is that a deer leaped off a bank in front of me in about a split second, what was good though is that even though it sustained a lot of damage from it, i still had about 15 more miles to go before I was home and the car took the beating like a champ and made it home without even missing a beat. I did get it repaired and drove it a little while longer, but in the end a short in the wiring from getting hit by the deer ruined the wiring harness under the hood in about three weeks.

The only thing that I didn't like about the car is that there is no cup holders, but its not that much of an issue considering I dont like to eat while in the car or driving and most of the time I drink bottled drinks so all you had to do is just lay it in the passenger seat if you didnt have someone riding with you.

Rest assured though, I will be getting another G20 this summer, probably a 2002.

Similar Products Used: Audi A4 1.8 Quattro, Jetta 1.8T, Suzuki Forenza, Mercedes C230 Kompressor.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
P. S. Brown   [Jun 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti G20
Strength:

Nimble, sporty, excellent gas mileage, very reliable in winter and summer, extremely comfortable interior.

Weakness:

No cup holder - definitely not a problem.

The most trouble-free vehicle I've ever owned! Purchased from the dealership in '93 and other than a new set of tires and a new battery a few years ago it has only required the usual maintenance. No surface rust and plenty of offers to buy. Not on your life!!

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic, Toyota Camry, Jag Mk ll.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Arlene Abrego   [Oct 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Infinity G20T
Strength:

Great on gas. Takes to the road well.

Weakness:

I did not find any weaknesses except the air conditioner was not as cool as many other vehicles I had been in.

I loved this car when I first received it. No major work ever needed. I do miss not having a cup holder. Many who have driven it, really like the way it drives. I just had an auto accident and the insurance company considers the car totaled. I am really going to miss this car.

Similar Products Used: This was my first car after children. Always had a van, suburban or station wagon since we had three boys. I would purchase another Infinity if the price is right.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dario   [Aug 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Infinity G20t
Strength:

Handles like any BMW 3 series of the simillar era and has seats that are just as comfortable. It will not harm your wallet as much when its' time to service either. Also, it looks smart with light chrome touches, the rear spoiler, and front fog lamps. Gas mileage has been great compared to the Mazda. In fact we still have the Mazda but I drive the G20 daily to work. Insurance rates also seem favorable.

Weakness:

Not enough power, especially when running the A/C. BMW wins that one. I could not imagine this car w/an automatic. Another point, NO CUPHOLDERS! I like to keep a couple of bottles of water w/me while I commute.

The lease on my 2004 Mazda6 wagon is soon to expire and I was considering a used low milage Infinity G for purchace, but by chance neighbors put thier 95 G20t for sale.(They bought a new M45) I was trying to get my sister inlaw to buy it, but because it was a stick that was a no go. Instead knowing it was a one owner, always garaged and dealer maintained car we could not just let it go, so now it sits in my driveway. I/we love it. We now will have no car payment for the next couple of years and I have a comfortable entry luxury car. Everything works as if it were new! This car has just over 100k on it and doesn't have a rattle or squeak nor does it leave a drop of anything in the driveway. All other cars, new and used we have owned always seemed to make some kind of noise. I will absolutely buy another Infinity new or used (well maintained W/records) based on this car.

Similar Products Used: Friends 92 BMW 3 Series, Saab 9-3 convertable.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
amanda579   [Jul 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: g20t
Strength:

smooth ride, comfortable, power seats, power windows, power sun roof, keyless entry, power locks, fantastic bose sound system, the head turning is always nice, safe, reliable, entry level luxury car without sacrificing any of the sporty look of a bmw...its also more comfortable than my mothers 2006 bmw.

Weakness:

when i find one, i'll get back to you. oh however there is this one thing, your friends might be jealous angry because they dont have one.

GO BUY ONE NOW!!!! love love loveeee this car! i've only had it for a month and it's amazing! mine is black with tinted windows and a tan leather interior with a sun roof and all that. the guy that i got it from kept it in mint condition and let me just say to all the parents out there that if you get your kids one of these they will be thrilleddd! i was looking for an inexpensive car since i'll be moving to manhattan in under a year but i didnt want to sacrafice the comfort of a luxury car. impossible? not with this car! for myself im not really concerned with the v4 engine because im not really a speed deamon. it also has fabulous gas milage and trust me thats important for a college student. the handling is awesome, far better then a few bmw's i test drove. i cant wait to see how it holds up in the long island winters and snow. the cup holder situation? not the best but do any of us really need those big gulps and large sodas from mc donalds? no. someone else on these reviews put it perfectly, we're american the car was not made with american concerns in mind, and these days our main concern seems to be food. all in all its a fantastic car. the best part about it is theres virtually no difference in appearance from the outside between the 1999's and the 2002's. my car doesnt look out dated and its 7 years old! it looks newer than my boyfriends 2003 honda! all this is fantastic but the absolute best moment ive had with this car was parking it next to a nearly identical bmw and mine looking better than the bmw and just knowing that they probably payed 5 times the price of mine made my day.

Similar Products Used: havent found anything i like better and i gotta say i'll be sad the day i have to let this car go. all i know is that my next car will definitly be an infinity without a doubt.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jpound   [Jul 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: G20
Strength:

It handleing, it design and the interior

Weakness:

It feels weak when the ac is on, and need more kick in the first gear

The look of the car is perfect, it almost resembles a BMW 325. I like the way it handles and it has that kick that you need when its time to hit the pedle.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
yjchicago   [Jul 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: G20
Strength:

Very smooth engine, loud though. Power seat, power window, power mirror.

Weakness:

The G20 is a turtle compared with American cars.

Both the reliability and performance are not to be recommended. This car is 12 years old, so I expected parts to be replaced. But there are too many problems during this one year of ownership. First, two oxygen sensors went out. I bought parts and replaced myself. Second, the catalytic converter must be replaced otherwise O2 sensor won't fit; third, one fuel injector went out, $300 repair; fourth, windshield cracked, a $300 repair; fifth, A/C went out, $500 repair.
The car has a miserable acceleration and on the other hand the engine is noisy. The engine itself seems very healthy though. Either the G20 is not well designed or, the age of 12 years makes any car tired and performance decreases. In a word, I won't recommend this car to people.

Similar Products Used: Daihatsu, VW.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
4l3xIs   [Jun 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: infiniti g20
Strength:

speed, engine, looks, etc...

Weakness:

nothing that i can think of at the moment.

the best car EVER! deffinitely RELIABLE! powerful TWIN CAM engine. power windows and locks. though the g20 may not be a new model, it still has that sporty exterior look and at the same time with luxury interior. in short... i LOVE this car!

Similar Products Used: nothing i can think of at the moment.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jasonjagessar   [Apr 17, 2006]

I fell in love with it when I saw it in the lot and am glad I put a deposit on it. The car is great. The best of both worlds, fun and economical. It may not be as powerful as some of the other cars in its class, such as the BMW's or Audi's but it is a better deal. Not only does it have enough power to get you around safely, while having lots of fun, but it is great on gas and very reliable from what i've heard. Mine has 113,000 KMs and drives like a brand new car. The handling is awesome, the interior is great and it's an Infinity. My only concern is that the word will get out on this great car and everyone will want one. Then mine will not stand ot anymore.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 92  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com