Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Midsize | Compact

Lancer Evolution

The Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution is a 4-door, 5-passenger sports sedan, available in 3 trims, ranging from the GSR to the MR Touring.

The GSR is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 291-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway. The MR Touring is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 291-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
NaranKPatel   [Oct 15, 2005]
Model Reviewed: EVO IX MR
Strength:

Extraordinary performance Handling to rival 100K+ cars Kudos for owning a car steeped in World Rally Championship wins back to back. Racing bucket seats and steering wheel.

Weakness:

Ride quality feels harsh on GSR, but actually quite refined on MR. Tire wear, due to being formulated of race compound Brakes expensive to replace Clutch known to wear out if driven hard for extended periods

I previously owned a 03 EVO VIII GSR, that was wonderful car and I thought little could beat it for the price. That is until the 04/05 EVO VIII MR came out, I had my eye on it as an upgrade and waited for IX to arrive, when it did I bought one. The car is better than the 03 in every way. It rides easier due to uprated bilstens, it has more torque through the gears, 6 speed and leather, carbon fiber and zero lift kit for stability at speed. If you've owned an EVO before you already know that no car at it's cost can rival it. The MR manages to make the EVO an even better buy.

Similar Products Used: 03 EVO VIII GSR 01 Subaru WRX 92 Celica GT4 Carlos Sanitz
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mitsuboy   [Feb 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Lancer evolution MR
Strength:

exterior design, brembo brakes, recaro seats, six speed manual,light weight, fast acceleration, turboed, all white euro lights.

Weakness:

a little bumpy, small gas tank as well as poor gas mileage.

my dad has worked for mitsubishi all my life. therefore i have been raised driving mitsubishis and test driving numerous cars. the new 2005 evolution MR is amazing. the 2005 EVO VIII also have updates as well. now all evos have an added 5 HP to make 276 under the hood stock. The MR has a six speed transmission instead of the 5 speed in the VIII or RS. it is also 27 pounds lighter due to alot of replacement with aluminum and the black BBR light weight rims. the MR is also the first car to use the vortex generators. little mini fin looking things on the top of the car to prevent turbo lag, and keep the car down. the interior is the same, with the purple/blue recaro seats. personally i love the interior, but it seems to be a minus when i talk to other people. its all opinion. the cars handling is amazing. 0-60 in 4.4 seconds. this is one of the most respected japanese cars on the road.in handles around turns so tightly and sensitive you must always be aware on whats going on. the shifter is in smooth short shifts, and you can actually hear the twin turbos burnin. i think the exterior design of the car is amazing as well, as long as your into spoilers and such. the ride is a little bumpy due to the tightened suspension, but anyone who knows what they are getting into when they drive this car wont mind. this car is for extreme car racing enthusiasts, as the EVO also mods great. i defenately recommend this car and give it a 5 out of 5 stars.

Similar Products Used: lancer ralliart
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
2004EVORS   [Aug 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Evolution RS
Strength:

Great launches, no wheel spin, great braking, great tires, hissing turbo noise, 3 years free maintenance, handling is A+, has air conditioning, sleeper (no boy-racer wing), 6 year financing, cheap insurance, seats four.

Weakness:

Tire wear & cost, small gas tank, no radio or speakers, have to pay for antitheft device, slightly bumpy ride only for true enthusiasts, 1.5k break in period, theives like it (park in a visible area).

This car is very fast for a 4 cylinder. Would say that it is better handling than any V8 Sports cars in stock form up to 50 grand! The main issues are aesthetic. You have to add the radio, speakers, and power options. You are going to beat any car that doesnt break 14s and any V6/V8 car with the same or less hp/tq. It is not going to be the best drag race car without big bucks but it I guarantee it will out handle just about any 33 grand car that is stock, especially V8s. Buy it for the handling if for any reason. The interior is not the best but it is expected for a car under 30K. At least you get recaro seats, a 2K value. And Brembo brakes, a 3K value.

Similar Products Used: WRX, Integra GSR, CRX Si, 65 Mustang 289. The old muscle cars are not as fast stock. The hondas spin tires stock, and the wrx suspension is soft stock. The evo addressed all these issues.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Michikotsiawd   [May 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Evolution MR
Strength:

0-60 4.3 sec (Same as Ferrari 360 Modena) 1/4 mile 12.8 (Same as Ferrari 360 Modena) Skidpad 0.98g Lighter BBS wheels Bigger Brembo Brakes w/ 4 piston caliper in both front and rear ACD(Active Center Differential) + AYC (Active Yaw Control) More Power

Weakness:

Top speed(after 1/4 mile Ferrari starts pulling away...lol) NO RADIO(at least there is an option...whew...but i gotta pay extra) Shift Knob looks like a baseball(hopefully there will be an option to change knobs) Still the same interior (wish there was sumthing in the interior that you will be able to see that it is an MR not just a regular Evolution)

EVO MR(Mitsubishi Racing)> EVO > STI The MR was tested on the tracks as better handling machine than the Porsche GT2 and GT3. Isn't GT2 and GT3 Porsche's handling machine? $200K and $80K cars being out handled by a mere $33K car? Also, this $33K car is just as fast as a $160K car. Hmmmm, and people say this MR is way too expensive. This MR is about 350 lbs lighter than the base Evolution, and is 200 lbs lighter than the RS. It also has better center of gravity than both. It will be coming out this fall, which is what Mitsubishi has said.

Similar Products Used: My Roller Blade and My Scooter
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rx-7_romeo   [May 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Rx-7 Type "R"
Strength:

Handling Take Off speed Cornering All around performance

Weakness:

Nothing Major My But two of my friends own Evo's and they say the tranny slipps But that's wut they say.

The Evo is a real tight car it has nice handling, take off, speed and all around nice-ness But I would Still choose my ride over the evo I just had to give the Evo The props It deserved.

Similar Products Used: Nadda
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
klins_mann   [May 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mitsutbishi Lancer Evolution MR
Strength:

Acceleration; Recaro; Enkei; Brembo; Momo. To rip off a certain major German car manufacturers' saying, "Sheer driving pleasure".

Weakness:

Strangely, despite the Brembo's installed, at times it feels that the car might just not stop in time. I've been told by the dealer that I should consider fitting some aftermarket break discs. The ride comfort factor definitely renders this car a drivers' car rather than one for passengers, so it's probably not a good idea to use it to pick up the mother-in-law from Church on a Sunday.

Excellent! Been a proud owner of an Evolution for just over a month now. The roads in Hong Kong are such that stretches of road to demonstrate the cars true prowess are few and far between. However, this has not stopped me from already receiving two speeding fines! The first time I took off from the car dealership was simply super. The car is definitely a "head-turner" (well, it is in HK since people are used to seeing the regular Porsche's and Ferrari's and BMW's all over the place), and I have seen several envious EVO VI and VII owners give the car a once over while stopped at lights.

Similar Products Used: I used to drive a regular (1999) Lancer. NOTHING COMPARABLE! I have driven a WRX before (non-STi), but that car belonged to a true boyracer who really took that car to its limits. When I tried it, it had just about reached it's expiry date. I guess the Nissan Skyline R32 is similar. But that beast is much longer and heavier than the EVO.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
camarrowz28   [Apr 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Lancer Evolution
Strength:

Good acceleration and good in bad weather conditions. Otherwise, it just carried the badge name of a typical commuter brand name. Reliability isn't as good as some magazines may say.

Weakness:

gear shifting is weird. Small engine creates strain in the higher mph. Good sprinters, but not good 1/4 milers. Not the best looking either.

This car is not too bad. I for one am not crazy about these new imports coming on the scene. This cars come pretty fast stock. But at the same time, it would be more impressive to say that you have a 5.7 liter under the hood rather than a small little suped up engine. I still think the camaro is a flashier looking car not to mention probably a better built and stronger engine than the one used in this evolution. Of course this car could beat a stock camaro. But at the same time, when it comes to upgrades, in the end, an f-body could turn into a much faster car than both the evo and wrx. I would know since i've suped both types of cars up. And all and all, the american muscle growl sounds a lot manly than the farty exhaust coming out of the smaller Evo engine. The camaro and firebird are still a much better bang for your buck than these cars are. Most people keep them for 2-3 years and then get rid of them from where i am from. Most people i know have already deepsixed them and drive regular commuter cars now cause they are fed up with the whole race scene.

Similar Products Used: 98 z28 camaro, 02 wrx(not that much different from this evo), 94 impala ss
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
jr4jc   [Apr 02, 2004]
Model Reviewed: lancer evolution 8
Strength:

handled and accelerated STRONG from about 3200 rpm's up, great seats

Weakness:

yellow, that's all the dealer had in stock, i don't like yellow

got to test drive an EVO today after test driving a WRX. i have driven the WRX a couple of times. it does not compare to the EVO. i have raced SCCA on and off road and was not ready for the power when i let out the clutch and punched it, VERY surprized and impressed!!!!

Similar Products Used: 1986 subaru 4wd turbo off road race BMW z3 porsche 914
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peleg   [Dec 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Lancer Evolution VIII
Strength:

- Styling, but that's just me personally, some people don't like it. - POWER, you can pretty much take on anyone. Mustangs, T/A, Camaros, BMW's, Nissan's and other fast cars. I feel sorry for the average driver who doesn't know anything about cars who will attempt to challange an Evo. You'll get blown away. - Feels pretty darn solid. - Insurance rates won't be as bad, I did the research. It's still a "4 banger", although very smooth and powerful.

Weakness:

- The front mount intercooler needs a grill to protect from rocks. - Ride may be harsh for some people, but this is a performance car, not a Caddy. - No 6th gear.

I'm in the market for the WRX STi, but got a chance to test drive the Evo today. Car feels pretty solid, the interior isn't too much, but not as bad as I thought the first time I saw it. Looks are nice, I dig both cars but that's a matter of taste. Performance wise, this car delivers. It's pretty decent off the gate, but after a second or so, the engine just explodes with torque and the whole car pulls like a beast on stereoids. Cornering was very impressive, it is more nimble than the STi. The power curve isn't as liner, but still very good. Overall, if you're single or married and want a PERFORMANCE sedan with wicked styling and insane power, this car might be for you. Again this is an extremely high performance car, if you're a parent this is defenitly not a car for you 16 yr old to learn how to drive on. It looks funny, but it's very serious performance.This car can take a stock Trans Am, as I witnessed at the track.

Similar Products Used: 2004 WRx STi - much smooth power curve, better low end due to bigger motor and less boost, nicer interior.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
RedEvo8   [Dec 16, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Evolution VIII
Strength:

-Superb handling! -Very handsome design! -Excellent engine and performance! -Recaros! -Brambos! -Momo Steering wheel! -Enkei wheels with specially desgined Yokohomma rubber! -So on and on and on...

Weakness:

I wish car came standard with Turbo timer and Turbo pressure gauges. It's not the money but it's very hard to find the right mechanic to work on.

I've been waiting for this car ever since Evo VI. After arrival of Subaru WRX, I knew Mitsubishi was going to bring this legend to USA. Anyways after saving for 11 10 Months and 10 days, I purchased my shiney new Evo on November 20th, 1 Month after my birthday. There are no words to describe how much I love this car. I wax it every other week. Luckly I live in Florida so I get to enjoy sun year around to drive this babe any day like new. I highly recommend those interested in buying WRX STi to drive an Evo afterwards, because after all this is the true WRX standard vehcile. As ou all know WRC vehicles can go as high as 2.0 liters not 2.5 liters like STi. True STis come with 2.0 liter engines.Hey if you don't want an Evo I don't really care beacuse I want to be the only one who shows off this red devil!!!

Similar Products Used: WRX WRX STi Honda Civic Type R Honda S2000
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com