Nissan 240SX Midsize | Compact

240SX

The 240SX is available with a 2.4 liter 4 cylinder with 155 hp. ABS is optional. Choose between a 4 speed automatic or a 5 speed manual transmission.

User Reviews (281)

Showing 1-10 of 281  
Flying_Monkeee   [Feb 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 240SX SE w/ SR20
Strength:

Awesome handling, even when stock... Due to the suspension and low center of gravity... Handles even better w/ bigger rims and thinner tires. Pretty fast... Crazy w/ an SR

Weakness:

Lacks cargo space, you feel most bumps when driving on long roads... If you don't change out the driveshaft or get it balanced, there is horrible vibrations @ 70+ MPH.
KA24DE<-- Not a horrible motor, but the walls are too thin for turbocharging

This is the 3rd S13 that I've owned and loved every one of them. Before, I used to drive Hondas, Toyotas, Buicks, and Oldmobiles... But when I got in this one, while is was still stock, she was amazing. Great throttle response... fast... (I was beating Mustangs)... I feel like I can keep this car forever... The suspension is off the chain and there's minimum body roll... Oversteering is easily recovered, even in the rain. I love it! FRs baby! If you like to turn a lot while going fast, this is the one you want.

Similar Products Used: 2- 1989 Nissan 240SX
Toyota Corrola
Honda Prelude
Buick Regal
Olds Cutlass
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
col_blu   [Jun 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 240SX Convertible
Strength:

looks, reliability, looks, handling, looks.

Weakness:

Noisy rear brakes (even though they are still good), little rear legroom, cheesy retractable antenna.

Great looking, fun convertible. Decent gas mileage and it doesn't really need 93 octane. Great cornering, reliable AT, good interior layout and accessories. Bought with 40K miles; now has 120k with no major repairs (although I think the valve seals are shot). Blah interior trim so I recovered seats with leather, vinyl trim to match, new carpet. Added K&N intake and removed deck spoiler (silly).

Similar Products Used: Nissan Frontier, Pulsar, 2 Maximas
MGB, TR3A, Buick Reatta
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Andyc3020   [Dec 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 240sx se Hatchback
Strength:

Handeling Looks The 2.4 liter has a lot of power, and with a little work and modifications, you can add some more horses to the stock 155. Very easy to find modification parts. Great gas mileage!

Weakness:

Bottom of car rusts easily. Acceleration is not very impressive. I may have paid a little much for a car with all the problems.

I have had my 240 for about 6 months. When i bought it, it there was already an intake installed. It has several problems such as there is a sound coming from the timing chain which i hope is just a broken guide or tentioner, but i may have to replace the timing chain. There are a few broken engine mounts, my exhaust pipe ie completely broken off from my resenator and i have had to replace the clutch. When i bought this car it had all these problems and still has some of them, it did not come with a sterio and i haven't gotten one because all my money goes to fixing the car, the trunk also had a water leak and the bottom is very rusty, but even with all of these problems, i am in love with my car. It handles turns at high speeds with no problem, it really allows you ro feal the road, it has a great, smooth manual transmittion, excelent styling and a lot of potential with a little work this car could kick some serious a$$ I also like the hatchback model for its sleek look. I do not like all of the non-functional cheep body kits and spoilers that kids put on their 240sx, the stock body looks good enough for me. Add some rims and you have a great looking car that LOVES TO BE DRIVEN HARD!

Similar Products Used: Chrisler cerrus 2.4L Toyota Camry
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Zilvia240OG   [Jun 20, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 240sx se
Strength:

Smooth ride, fun to drive. Good gas mileage, about 28 on high way, 24 in city.

Weakness:

Small backseat

Very beautiful car, i have the coupe model instead of the hatch, very pleased with performance. Has a mostly rebuilt engine is all stock for the moment with new belts and chains, a new intake manifold and clutch boot, and new tires and 7 spoke rims. 5 spd manual transmission shifts really smoot and has nice pick up for a stock car. Intake is on delivery with K&N filter, and have plans for new cat back exhaust and turbo kit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Komeng   [May 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: 240sx
Strength:

Highway cruising. Front and Rear weight ratio. A very rare car where I live.

Weakness:

Small leg room for rear passengers and valve seals wear out easily. Sealed-Beam headlights. And

Acceleration from a stop is a little dissapointing but handling is great. Capable of handling fast corners without oversteering. A very popular car nowadays with the drifting scene. The interior design is very classic. Controls are easy to access. If you own a 240sx Do not sell it. If you sell it then sell it at a higher price. This car is perfect for unexperienced racers who want to learn the basics of racing.

Similar Products Used: Nissan Pathfinder
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
smokeyT   [Nov 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 240sx
Strength:

later models have amazing options like a lsd and the 5lug wheels.many parts easily interchangeable with z32(twin turbo)300zx's and infinity j30's

Weakness:

small backseat-nice decoration though,keeps insurance lower than an mr2

the nissan 240 is a true car enthusiasts dream. light weight,rear wheel drive and so easily modified. i have read revies from others here saying they have a "r34 v8 twin turbo" and others regarding the ka as "the best v4"...all i can say is,well, what were you smoking? do you know anything about the car you own other than it has been in sport compact car recently?first off, if you want a skyline engine, it'ss be an rb25(2.5 inline6 turbo) or an rb26(2.6 inline6 twin turbo)i also read alot of people who want an sr conversion.cool.why?because you heard about it? dont get me wrong, i am not knocking any1 who wants a 4banger with mad power,but for a little more you can have a skyline under the hood!oh, and for those of you who think all skylines are all-wheel drive, no, only the gt-r is.and to the fool who said he had the twin turbod v8 from a skyline,i bet you are like 12 years old because you say the car runs low 8's and is all-wheel drive? that would be ALOT of money. far more than it is worth. anyway, i love mine.and to the guy who lodt to a v6 camaro...what did you do, leave the 240 in 1st?

Similar Products Used: if by this you ask what i have had, 1-84 thunderbird with 89 5.0 w/intake/heads/exhaust 2-83chrysler cordoba w/318/intake 3-87 chrysler 5th ave w/318 and heads 4-92chevy caprice police package rebuilt 350/exhaust/heads/intake 5-89mercury w/5.0 intake and exaust 6-80 grand le mans-no mods 7-89 buick lesabre w/exhaust 8-86 audi a100 w/intake/heads/exhaust 9-(2)87ish hummer-military vehicle,restricted mods
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
valmont3000gt   [Aug 17, 2004]
Model Reviewed: nissan 240sx
Strength:

Great highway runner. smooth ride at any speed. great for turning and cornering. quick pickup for v4. excellent for long distant traveling.

Weakness:

No cupholders cuz I like to travel. Kinda small for us 6 footers but just push the seat all the way back and it's fine. no room for back seat riders unless they sit sideways accross the seat. otherwise i love my car.

Love my car. Talk about 2 fast 2 furious. This is a sleeper car. Has a great look but not too flashy for those high theft neighborhoods. Since I bought the car I have only 2 or 3 minor fix em ups. Tranny seems to be slipping from 1st to 2nd gear but otherwise that a wonderful piece of machinery. This is gonna be my project car. Looking to do sr-20 det swap and change to manual tranny. So to those who got rid of their 240's. (Don't it always seem to go that you don't know what you got till it's gone)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fmfern85   [Aug 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 240 sx se
Strength:

i have kiong rims with toyo tires hks downpipe non smog headers and a foger nitrus injection with drop zone suspension i hug the roads any ways for all you 240 owners if you wont your car to get hooked up e-mail me and when you visit florida i will give you a whole tune up

Weakness:

none

i have owned this lovable dream car for a year and a half i love it and no i dont want to sell. It outputs 352 hp at the wheels i have modified the fire wall to install the R-34 skyline 8 cylinder twin turbo to add to that a 150 shot of nitrus sending me at a wopping 8.73 second quarter mile at moros speed way in florida with all wheel drive 8 cylinder twin turbo find me a honda worth racing i will pay you!

Similar Products Used: toyota supra mk111 it was nice untill i got my 240
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MercedesBinns   [Mar 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 240sx Coupe
Strength:

Gains speed really quick. Its nice and small so you can squeeze through a lot of tight spaces. The speedometer is digital and it has the number show in the windshield so you dont have to keep looking down at your dashboard.

Weakness:

Its a nice and small car but there is really no room so when you have someone in the passenger seat, you can barely see out that window anymore but other than that, i havent had any problems.

My first car. Its fifteen years old. It only had 88,000 miles on it. There are a few problems with it but you expect that with an old car. Its nice and sporty so I am hooking it up and I am going to put a turbo charge in it.

Similar Products Used: honda civic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Baja Bill   [Jan 17, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 240 SX H/B
Strength:

Handling (a power slide at a highway onramp to beat a Mercedes trying to cut me off) need I say more. Styling: refined, understated, classic. Performance, or at least potential performance: the stock KA24D can be tuned to produce over 230 hp in a naturally aspirated form. Rarity: often overlooked by the consumer means exclusivity down the road.

Weakness:

Nissan: Not promoting the model enough and not offering enough in the way of performance or tuning upgrades. Seats (again Nissan's fault): the seat padding is more like an afterthought. Not enough support nor grab. Leg room for us over 6'. The aftermarket: in not recognizing the potential and offering us the upgrade that Nissan failed at.

The Nissan 240SX is a rather underrated performance car. It is quite nimble with it's 4-wheel independant suspension and front to rear weight ratio. While the factory KA24D engine may seam undderpowered, don't let it fool you. The 240 is an admirable highway cruiser not a drag racer. The 240SX is quite attractive with it's understated body styling, more of a refined sports car rather than an overt 'look-at-me' visage. The cockpit is clean and simple in it's layout with all controls viewable and accessable. I really feel than Nissan short changed the 240SX and abandoned it as a viable alternative to the 300ZX. Every 240SX owner I have spoken to has been enthusiastic about thier car, but disapponted at it's demise. Did you know that the 1992 Nissan 240SX had the most horsepower and torque for non-turbo models that year???

Similar Products Used: Toyota Celica Acura Integra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 281  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com