Toyota Celica Midsize | Compact

Celica

The Celica is powered by a 1.8 liter DOHC 4 cylinder with 140hp (GT-S model with 180hp). Standard features include 15 inch wheels/tires and 5 or 6 speed manual transmission. Options include ABS and 4 speed automatic transmission.

User Reviews (219)

Showing 1-10 of 219  
Wayne   [Jul 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Celica
Strength:

Dependablity, cornering, excellent as mileage, stylist looks. you can't help but turn heads. seats are built well, comfortable. ergonomic cabin gives the feel of a true sports car.

Weakness:

Blind spots on the rear, but after extensive driving, you get used to it. back seats are not made for people, but rather storage. paint chips easily, upon purchase buy some touch up paint (your going to need it) trust me! none of these affect proformance, style, dependabilty, or gas mileage. So buy one!!

First and foremost, dang this car is hot! I have a black '01 GT. I bought it used with over 115,000 miles on it and have had it from the date of this review for about 3 months and have had no problems. The only maintainance has been an oil change. I traded in a 96 saturn coupe that was very dependable, but felt that a gold saturn was not my cup of tea anymore. So in short I would recommend either a saturn or a toyota now. For those of you who want to stick to the domestic cars and no one can talk you out it, go with a saturn. But those of you that are looking to go foreign, toyota is your best bet. My celica has given me nothing but joy and excellent gas mileage. At the dealership the finance lady asked me, "Why do people buy celicas?" my answer to why I bought this one was, "dependable, looks, and price. I was looking for a couple to start with. My choices were a honda civic or a toyota celica. You can see which one chose. The only upgrade I wuld see fit to install on the car is aluminum alloy wheels. The car came with wheel covers. If anyone wants pics of my "black beauty" send me an e-mail. These cars are no longer in production and the ones left out there on dealers lot are going fast. Grab them while you can. This the 7th and final generation of the celica. This car is so stylist and am so happy with it, I think I'll take this car to my grave. lol. My e-mail address is Rxdude54@aol.com. As celica owner's, we are a rare breed and have to stick together. lol. Take care and god bless.

Similar Products Used: 1995 chevy camaro, 2000 ford mustang, 2000 chevy cavalier, 1996 saturn Sc2! My first import!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jsarkas   [Oct 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Celica GTS
Strength:

Quick
Good body

Weakness:

Bad Flywheel
Leather Seats Cracked

Car is quick. Definite pull after about 4200 RPM til 7000 from the twin cam 2L 3SGE motor. When I bought it the car had a loose flywheel that I was unaware of. As a result it ruined my clutch. Also the motor is a newer JDM motor and the wiring was messed up. Overall I like the car but I got screwed.

Similar Products Used: Civic coupe, nissan sentra ser, integra
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Steffen   [Aug 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Celica GT
Strength:

Corners, Suspension, Sound. The seats hug you when you sit in them. Toyota Reliablity

Weakness:

None really, other than the nasty Amber lighting for the guage cluster and the ugly green lighting for the center console.

Bought this car for 9500 (Dealer thought it was a 2000, but it was an 02!) Drives Great, Suspension is Great! Not the fastest, but after a Short Ram Intake and Exhaust, it has great pick up and go! It was alright to begin. Looks amazing, very sporty look. Interior is cool, except the 03-05 interior is black which is better than the 00-02 grey interior! Amazing clutch, mine's lasted 100k miles. No problems since the begining, or no new clutch since the beginning and still drives like new. Good amount of trunk space. Rims are good, except the GT-s 16 inch are better. :) Runs very well, everything is well put together!

Similar Products Used: Nissan 240sx
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
badboyz091   [Sep 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Celica GT
Strength:

Toyota quality. Excellent MPG. Sporty looks, low maintenance--the only thing I've had to do is keep the oil changed every 3k. No mechanical problems or recalls. Would recommend TOYOTA products.

Weakness:

Very thin paint (chips VERY easily). It's difficult to see out of when backing up w/spoiler, I know this because I hit a car in my own driveway !##*!. Aluminum wheels are starting to chip.

Purchased it new, now have about 40k on it. NO PROBLEMS..Overall it's a nice car. Excellent MPG. Drove from OH to MD on 1 tank! Handles well, suspension a little stiff but knew that from other reviews. Powerful, smooth, quiet running engine. I do all my own repairs, but it's somewhat intimidating under the hood of this car. Just about everything is covered by plastic, even the overflow for the radiator is not accessible w/o removing a panel. Shifts well. It does sit low to the ground making it a little difficult to get in/out of after a long day, but it does have that cockpit feel once inside. The rear seats are not made for adults. Dash/controls are easy to see/use. I special ordered it directly from Japan the way I wanted it. A few delays from the dealer but wasn't too bad of an experience. Reading the other reviews on this site prior to purchasing the car were helpful. I thought I would add a review now that I own a Celica.

Similar Products Used: Nissan 200sx Nissan 300zx
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
friggerman   [Jul 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: toyota celica gt
Strength:

looks and engine strenght

Weakness:

none, just blind spots

This is the sweetest car on the market, and since its the last time celica will be around after 2005, imma take care of this car, it might have a 140 power engine but it is light as hell and it is fast. i live in germany and this car keeps up with the other coupes, its as fast as you want it to be and the looks are sharp. buy it before there is none left to buy.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
skating2salvation   [Jun 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Celica GT W/action package
Strength:

Super reliable motor, good looks, nice interior, looks great stock or fixed up.

Weakness:

None really come to mind, mines not a GTS lol. Back seat is cramped, alignment was a tad expensive due to lack of alignment bolts, stock tires are a little low on traction.

I bought this car because I wanted something faster than my ranger, and when I saw this on autotrader, there was no other car on the road lol. It gets amazing gas milage, looks pretty killer with the action package, and responds well to the aftermarket, which has everything if you look. When I got it I had a magnaflow race exhaust installed ( read my review if you'd like) which sounds killer, a short ram intake, and full sound system with alpine screen, as well as paint on the dash trim to match the exterior. It just fits like a glove, and the motor is like a pair of Levi's, can't bust it. I'd like to get to the low 15 quarter mile, but i don't want to mess with it to much :-> . The seats are very supportive, although the back seat is pretty cramped. Just an awesome car for the money. The action package, exhaust, intake, and rims is enough to satisfy me for as long as I own it. Any Celica person who wants to share some info just email me christs4life@msn.com, i'd like to get a power fc and a new body kit, and i have good advice on other mods, take it easy an God bless :->

Similar Products Used: 98 geo metro, 99 ford ranger stepside
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
barefoott4   [Dec 16, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Celica GT-S
Strength:

Well built, great gas mileage, awesome VVLT-i, Excellent handling

Weakness:

FWD sucks, small aftermarket, not a ton of hp potential without forced induction.

This is my second car, and I have to admit, I never expected so much from such a small little car with a 1.8l engine. This little rocket just begs to be redlined everytime I get behind the wheel! The VVLT-i is amazing! (for those who don't know, variable valve timing with live and intelligence) At 6k rpms, it's like being slammed back into your seat as the lift kicks in all the way till 8200 rpms. As for the handling, I haven't driven anything better under $30k. By just simply lowering it and a couple sway bar upgrades, I can't think of any front engine car under $50k that is has better cornering and handling ability. As for the gas you would expect it to consume, I regularly get 28-30 mpg even with my very agressive style of driving! Excellent buy, especially for a young (18ish-24ish) driver.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Camry (not in the same class)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sonarrat   [Nov 17, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ST 5-spd h/b
Strength:

Reliability despite a few problems, handling, utility, high-quality parts inside.

Weakness:

Tires too small, brakes too small, some rattles, paint started peeling off the hood.

I drove this vehicle from September 1999 to September 2004, exactly 5 years to the day. It was my first car, and it was my decision. I was educated on what kind of cars were out there, and despite a poor result in a C/D comparison test, I decided on a used '95 Toyota Celica that I found advertised by Capitol Ford in San Jose because I really liked the reptilian styling of the thing. The dealer was terrible, pushy, frightening, mob-like, but I never dealt with them again after buying the car, so phhhhbbbt. At least I got what I wanted. If I had decided I really loved the looks of, say, the Dodge Avenger, I would have hesitated more, but I was confident that a Toyota would hold up better. Did it? Yes and no. It had quite a few expensive problems during the time I had it. I have the attitude that s*** breaks, especially once you get around the 100K mark, and so I saw it as expected and inevitable, even in a Toyota.. but for the sake of full disclosure I'll tell all the stories in grim detail. I had the battery fall out of my home and onto the engine, multiple times. Of course this instantly cut off the power brakes, power steering and all the lights and gauges, which would have been even worse if I was driving at night. The primary reason for this was because it was a replacement battery of a different size than the original, and the original rubber mount simply didn't fit right. This was a major headache for a couple of months before I found a mount that fit. That story was not over, though, because it didn't take much longer after that to figure out why the battery had been replaced in the first place, as it lost its charge several times. The replacement, which had been done by either the previous owner or the dealer prior to my purchase, obviously was their wrong solution to a bigger problem. I got my money's worth out of my AAA card during this dark period. The problem was finally traced to an underperforming alternator which was replaced. I also had a horrible, frightening episode of misfiring on the freeway, which at its worst made the car struggle to maintain 45 mph with the pedal floored. It never died, even though I was sure it would. A dying fuel pump was the culprit in this case. That sums up the mechanical problems, really not that long of a list truth be told. In the area of quality, I had a persistent wind whistle around the right mirror which was there when I bought it, and which stayed until I sold it. The windows rattled, the fuel cable rattled, the glovebox rattled, and the aftermarket tweeters rattled. The plastic antenna was pitiful. The leather shift boot wore out, exposing the mechanism underneath. On the plus side, nothing ever actually broke inside the car, and it was well equipped (as it should have been - at $20,500 new). How was it to drive, though? Well, I never had complaints about the 1.8L, 105-horse engine. It was livelier, quieter (though still too loud), smoother and quicker than the numerically more powerful GT automatic (my ST was a 5-speed). As time wore on, and the idle dropped, it started to make a "boomy" sound at rest which hurt my ears. Power delivery, pickup, all fine and good, but my ears needed a rest after 5 years. Fuel economy was consistently around 30 mpg. There are two major saving graces to this car, though: handling and utility. I never grew tired of flinging this car around. It was capable of handling absolutely stupid speeds with ease and never scared me. Sometimes in the rain it would oversteer, but it could always be caught. The steering response, road feedback, and the action of the transmission/clutch combo were all as faithful, honest and natural as my own two hands and feet. These parts were also all amazingly reliable; the steering, chassis, suspension, brakes, transmission, and clutch all needed zero work in the five years I had the car. The hatchback body was a huge blessing. I couldn't believe the things that I could stuff inside this tiny car. My Celica also happened to have a trailer hitch, which I used for a bike rack. All in all, my first car was a mixed bag. I was always encouraged by thinking, as the niggling problems materialized, that it could have been a lot worse. I could have had a car that wouldn't start when the battery was working, that would overheat, that would develop transmission problems every 5000 miles, that would slowly disintegrate from the inside like it had developed cancer, and I never saw any of that happen. And every day I enjoyed the expensive-feeling leather steering wheel, wrapped dash and shift knob, high-quality parts which helped what was basically an economy car make this college kid very happy. I now have a Honda, but someday, somehow, I will definitely own another Toyota.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
TRDGTSJapan   [Nov 03, 2004]
Model Reviewed: TRDToyota Celica GTS
Strength:

handling is one of the best in its class, but i still recommend the new MR2 chassis. power delivery was good stock but now its a monster with the mods i put on

Weakness:

drones on the freeway especially after adding modified parts

When I bought this car at the dealer, it was displayed in a detail garage for inspection delivered all the way from the land of the rising run. it was equiped with a TRD action package with all the ground effects kit and the tall spoiler. when i took it home, man it was a head turner cuz it looked so mean and sporty. so far i added a injen cold air intake, DC Sports racing headers, Greddy Evolution exhuast and a Apexi Power FC. i managed a impressive 1/4 mile time of 14.5 at the track. when i had it stock i did a decent 15.1. if u are in the sacramento area in california you'll see me at the sacramento raceway.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord=reliable but not a sports car Honda Civic= too generic
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alexis   [Sep 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Celica GT
Strength:

ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!!!

Weakness:

Blind spots, front is low and easily scratched.

I love my Silver Streak Toyota Celica GT! Not only is it one of the best looking cars I've seen for such a great price, it is also comfortable and dependable. I have recieved a ton of compliments on it. It is fun to drive, and it shifts and accelerates smoothly. Would definately recomend a Celica to anyone who craves the attention of a beautiful looking, but also dependable car. I am also 5'8" and find no problems as far as room in the car.

Similar Products Used: Saturn, Mazda
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 219  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com