Chevrolet Venture Minivans | Wagons

Venture

The Venture is Chevrolet’s minivan that was introduced in 1997 to replace the Lumina APV, and 2005 will be the final year for Venture before it is replaced by the Uplander.

User Reviews (223)

Showing 1-10 of 223  
Bobbye   [Jul 23, 2010]
Model Reviewed: chevy venture van
Strength:

It has over 190000 miles and still the engine is smooth. It has just starting having little things needing replaced. It has been the best little van.

Weakness:

oooo I have has no trouble with the van so I really can't say there is a weakness. If anything I could use self cleaning carpet.

I have run this van and was dissappointed to find they quit making them. Very sad so I guess I will have to keep this one running.

Similar Products Used: used another mini van from chevy and it was a lemon from the start.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jake   [Jun 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Chevrolet Uplander LS
Strength:

Great flexibility, lots and lots of cargo space, great style inside, and out. like the aggressive stance on the outside. comfortable, its a pick up and go car, family friendly, sport utilitly, overall just a great car

Weakness:

Blows the blinker bulbs to fast, radio fuse pops but then works still, rear windshield wiper broken but lasted a long time had it for over 3 years

just a great great car.

Similar Products Used: Chevrolet Blazer, Venture LS
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
jane wells   [Mar 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: chevy venture
Strength:

roomy and very comfortable to drive. very roomy and easy to get in and out of the kids and cars seats and strollers groceries and fit lots of people in and out of.

Weakness:

first week of owning it engine light came on passager side window didn't work any more, and that was just the begin of this money pit, the head gasket went the in take manifold then fuel pump new gas tank and then after all these repairs and almost 3000$ later the engine craps outanothe 1500$ they are lemons and no good for nothing un reliable. my first domestic and last ventures are the biggest pieces of crap out, they are nothing but dissposible vehicles, think twice about ever buying one of these!! we took very good car of our van and it still did nothing good for us, we ended up stranded on the side of the road many times and no fun with kids. do not recommend thisvan at all. I hate Chevy ventures, we call it the chevy venture don't venture too far!!

this product sucks!! never buy one the are money pits, spend the extra and buy import, we learned the hard way.

Similar Products Used: we now own a mazada 10 years older then our venture and it runs better the the venture ever did. Love my Mazada MPV
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Wayde   [Jan 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Venture Extended
Strength:

HOLDS ENTIRE FAMILY, AND THEN SOME. GOOD GAS MILEAGE (EXTENDED RANGE TANK). GOOD IN THE WINTER.

Weakness:

NONE. A FANTASTIC MINIVAN.

I WAS VERY RELUCTANT TO BUY A MINIVAN. I TOLD THE WIFE I'D RATHER BE SHOT THAN BE CAUGHT DRIVING A MINIVAN. KEEP THE OIL CHANGED ON SCHEDULE, AND YOU WILL HAVE A VAN THAT WILL LAST A LONG TIME.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Sam   [Sep 17, 2009]
Strength:

ZERO

Weakness:

By the way a found two rear brake lines, they are very thin and long completely rusted. In my 1955 Toyota Corolla those are intact, because Toyota covered the lines with a thin plastic layer. This was one more reason why I got reed from this car. This GM problem now is the new Owner PROBLEM but not my anymore.

To replace air filter it took me one our job. The owner manual description was a GM LIE. Replacing thermostat impossible, without creating big problems. 3 hours job to replace 3 front spark plugs, and for the rear forget about it. The red GM coolant turns in a gel and block all passages. Heater core gone and more...
The radiator refuses to drain, disconnecting the radiator lover hose was a nightmare, got reed of GM red coolant and replaced with Prestone. The only solution get reed of this car. If it start to overheat, take off the thermostat, sell it and Never Ever buy a GM product again.

Similar Products Used: Honda Odyssey, Toyota Sienna, Nissan Quest!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
R Tomlin   [Sep 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Venture

We have had nothing byt problems since we purchased this van. We have had to do major engine repair work (we later found out this is a common issue with the Vnetures), the cruise has not worked since the tail lights started going on the blink (no pun intended), and the headlamps must be replaced every two to three months. Not to mention the keyless entry that stopped working right about the same time as the tail lights and the cruise control. I will never purchase another Chevy...thank good ness we are two payments from having this one paid off.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
vince   [Feb 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Venture LS
Strength:

LOTS of room, decent gas mileage, AWESOME AM-FM/CD/Cass radio, cold A/C, and for a minivan - it handles very well around corners. Brakes are great.

Weakness:

Definitely, lack of power. The 3.4L V6 is too weak for a vehicle this size. And Chevy should have kept improving the vehicle in the powertrain area every year it was produced. For this reason, I would not buy another.

We bought our '02 Venture used w/only 30000 miles for $14900 ALL taxes & fees included back in 2004. We got a rare one that seats 8 passengers. The ONLY problem we've had was a bad starter wire that was replaced. THAT'S IT! It has served us well and it has almost 100,000 miles on it.

Similar Products Used: 93 Mercury Villager
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Craig Hamilton   [Feb 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Venture
Strength:

Mileage, power, comfort, handling, affordability (used), absolutely a wonderful vehicle....

Weakness:

Weak intake gaskets, windshield leak, fuel sending unit wiring goes through the rear floorboard and wiring loses connection causing guage failure. Hard problem to find but is common. Mechanics want to pull tank and replace unit but it won't fix the problem. Pulling the carpet and redoing the connection where the wire comes through the floor will fix the problem 100% of the time. These few repairs will get you 300K miles out of the average Venture...

We bought our Venture at an auto auction and it was a trade-in from the original owner. The only problem at first was the in-dash fuel guage didn't work until the tank was almost empty and then it dropped from full to empty. Not a problem as the overhead readouts are correct to a fault. City mileage has been 19-22mpg and highway mileage is 22-28mpg which is only about 2mpg from my tiny ford escort-amazing!!! This van finally dropped the intake gaskets with 240K miles on it and I think a lot of it was due to an oil change I had which caused a lot of stress on the engine. I went to the local Penzoil quick lube and they put a defective oil filter on it which stopped up within 300 miles and came close to burning my engine up. I changed the filter myself and got my oil pressure back but the heat guage goes nuts when it starts warming up and it steams out the tailpipe badly. I haven't fixed it yet but I'm sure it's the dreaded intake gasket problem and maybe head gaskets too as they are a common problem. Other problems are the engine light has been on for the last 40K miles but when you clear it, it comes back on within a couple days. Power side door failed as plastic coating came off the cable and caused it to fail. Park lights blow frequently. All in all it is one of the best vehicles I've ever owned and we didn't care to jump in and drive a thousand miles with confidence. I've owned about a dozen chrysler, dodge, and plymouth mini-vans and they were ALL junk. Had a decent Astro but didn't like it at all. Ford Windstar was total garbage, bad engines and trannys. I'll be putting Fel-pro upgraded gaskets on this engine and have no fear that I'll get another 100K miles out of it. If I buy another I'll buy a GM Venture, Montanna, or Olds with the same drive-train. The 3.4 is awesome if you use the good aftermarket gaskets instead of the junky GM gaskets for the intake job.

Similar Products Used: Chevy Astro
Ford Aerostar
Ford Windstar
Chrysler Town & Country
Dodge Caravan-about 10 of them
Plymouth Voyager-about 4 of them
Chevy full-size van-about 6 of them
Dodge full-size vans
Ford full-size vans
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Venture Victim   [Dec 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Extended
Strength:

Good highway milage
Lots of room
Good folding rear seats
Comfortable interior
Excellent winter heat system

Weakness:

Weak service support from GM
Pathetic crappy original tires
Pathetic quality of engine selection Leaking gaskets at 36k and again at 41k ? i mean seriously incompetent dealers or bad product.

GM has produced a terrible van and wished I seriously had done at lot more research before buying the product.

Day 1. Take van home.
Day 2. Van DOA, cause: ignition starter blown, required replacement.
Since then, We are at 41,000 KM and replaced all the tires already, Front Brakes, Head Gasket Seals at 36,000 KM, Right sliding passenger door serviced to properly shut, and again at 41,000 KM the vehicle is leaking OIL again on my brand new garage floor, Newest problem is a wierd problem where on breaking the vehicle lurches forward, like its either throttling improperly or the tranny is slipping while reducing gears and is not smoothly transitioning during downshifting.
.
I HATE THIS VAN
.
DO NOT BUY VENTURE or CHEVY UPLANDER Vehicles (The venture renamed = Uplander)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
monically34   [May 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: warner brothers edition
Strength:

lots of room, tv/dvd for kids, built in car seat, low maitenance

Weakness:

the only thing i can think of is it blows blinker lightbulbs more often

this van has been extremely reliable and useful. i bought it because i needed extra seating when i opened my daycare. it has a great built in car seat, seats fold down for a ton of extra cargo room. i have only had to replace brakes and tires and it has 98800 miles on it. i thought that i would never buy a mini van, but i have to admit i like it.

Similar Products Used: 2001 pontiac aztec, 1996 corsica
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 223  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com