Dodge Grand Caravan Minivans | Wagons

Grand Caravan

The Grand Caravan is a 4-door, 7-passenger mini van, available in two trims, the SE and the SXT. The SE is equipped with a standard 3.3-liter, V6, 175-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard. The SXT is equipped with a standard 3.8-liter, V6, 197-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (554)

Showing 1-10 of 554  
Heather   [Oct 30, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Grand Caravan
Strength:

none

Weakness:

Our 2008 Dodge Caravan is a lemon, electrical, front and rear brakes, rolled backwards, damage due to rolling backwards,2 rust spots,rad cap,air conditioning hose,plastic panel x2,door lock back behind driver,engine light on twice and reset twice,wheel bearings.
Chryslers response if its been fixed or it cannot be duplicated then we have fulfilled our warrenty agreement.

Dont buy this vehicle. Its a ........

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Kristy   [Aug 04, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Grand Caravan
Strength:

It seemed to be a real deal and was everything we needed in a family vehicle. Boy was I wrong!!!!

Weakness:

So we had this van for about 3.5 years and really had no problems with it until...the engine ceased in the middles of a freeway lane change in front of a semi truck. And it gets worse, we were on our way home from Disneyland vacations with a 12 hour drive still ahead of us in the middle of the desert. We had to walk 1/2 a mile on the side of the freeway in Barstow, CA in the middle of August with three kids. Then after 9 hours of sitting in the dealership we were forced to leave it there, give all our beach and other belongings away to people or simply leave them there for the taking. Pack up a PT Cruiser rental with our threes kids and what could fit of our things and say bye forever. We had thousands of dollars left on the loan. Most annoying part we had just had it tuned and the oil changed before we left on the trip. We maintain it very well throughout the 3 years. Then we find out that this is kinda not a surprise for this van, what? I cried my eyes out as we left and realized a had left the new CD by husband had just made for me for my birthday. The best part was that we actually got a little bit of money (like 1/4 of the loan balance) for selling for parts. If you couldn't tell I was being sarcastic.

LAME!!! Don't buy this van.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
armando del castillo   [Feb 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: dodge grand caravan 4 door
Strength:

non

Weakness:

all

this car has a electrical problen the only solution its $3000 in new cables
and they are not guaranty that this its the problems please dont bay this products.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Jan Besancenez   [Dec 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Caravan SXT
Strength:

Power sliding doors with windows that roll down, swivel seats, lots of room, stow and go compartments, halo lighting, easy to clean seats and carpets, zone heat and air. Good looks.

Weakness:

Console, shift on the dash, attaching the front license plate by drilling holes in the bumper.

I really like my van. It rides well, gets over 20 MPG, and easily accomodates my family. I did not get the entertainment package, but we enjoy the room and the convenience for the seven of us. It has the bigger engine and 5 speed transmission. Its not a luxury vehicle in the inside, but still nice and a good value for the money. If I had to do it all over again, I would get the power tailgate and a better console. Of course, my gear shift knob fell off in my hand today, so I hope it was a fluke and not an indicator of what is to come! We bought the warranty for as long as we own the vehicle. It has 7000 miles on it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
JerryinComo   [Nov 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Grand Caravan xlt
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Bad drive, Bad tranny, bad bushings, bad brakes, bad power door.

JUNK.
Miles
35,000 new drive train
40,000 complete new brake
50,000 passenger power door quit working
68,000 Transmission catastrophic failure
70,000 Stabilizer bushing shot.

3+ recalls for other issues

Dodge dealer in Columbia, MO. drive train repair the dealer tried to make me rent a car and Chrysler found they had the parts. Dealer trying to stick me with a rental on warranty work.

Transmission failed, had to have complete rebuild. Went to a tran shop rather than Dodge dealer that tried to rip me off earlier.

Chrysler won't back it. Chrysler CSR was from India and was rude and I actually had to tell him to stop talking and listen 2X. Complained again got a can letter of refusal.

CHRYSLER = JUNK AND POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
regis   [Sep 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Grand Caravan Sport
Strength:

seats 7

Weakness:

transmission, A/C, electrical

Bought this van from an auction five years ago. It only has 51,000 miles on it after six years. I have had to rebuild the transmission, twice. The A/C no longer works. The driver side window will stick at random. I will absolutely never buy a Dodge vehicle on any kind unless they improve their quality substantially.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Abs   [Mar 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Caravan

we have a basic one door caravan it lacks quality because basics are just bad. But the '08 Grand caravan's are actualy better than toyata's right behind honda.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
klh   [Jan 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Grand Caravan
Strength:

stow n go

Weakness:

no maintenace warnigs from computer
auto open at rear opening doesnt work
locks take several blocks before the engage
power steering repair at fairly low miles
wind noise
turn signals

This van has to be one of the most poorly made vans I have ever been in. Aside from the great feature of stow n go seating I want my Chevy Venture back. The wind noise on the freeway is ridiculous. I just took my van in to a mechanic and the van is leaking power steering fluid repair cost for a van with less than 51,000 miles? $400. My blinkers do not work properly. If iwant to make a right turn often the left signal comes on and sometimes the signals do not come on at all! I cant wait to get out of this van, although I will be losing alot as it is worth far less than I owe.

Similar Products Used: Chevy Venture sport
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Link   [Dec 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Grand Caravan
Strength:

- cargo room
- price (cheaper than others)

Weakness:

- electrical problems left and right
- paint chips easily
- carpet stains w/ the protectent
- won't hold alignment
- little things keep breaking (head rests seat flaps)
- stow-n-go gets squeaky.

Let me start by saying that we have had this van for 3yrs. Which I must say is a good time to really review a vehicle. And let me summarize by saying that this vehicle has done so much for me. Namely by helping me realize that I should never by another Chrysler product again as along as I live.

My wife, God bless her, had to have a minivan. More importantly, she had to have the stow-n-go option. I must admit, this van seemed to be a great deal, with great features. But heed my warning.

First things we noticed was their "special" paint that doesn't rust, fade, or whatever, was doing just that rusting. New vehicle right off the lot. Now did they say, don't worry about that we'll fix it. Sure did. Touch up paint. YEEEEAAAHHH. That fell off about one month later. So they did it again. I informed them that they probably needed to take the rust off first.

Other than that things were great. Well at least for another couple months. Then the fun began. Next thing that happened was the ABS computer chip on one of the wheels went out. I figured no worries, they'll fix it. Stuff happens. And it does, over and over and over again. Next thing to happen was the stow-n-go flaps on the bottoms of the seats broke. One after the other. Not our fault, just cheap plastic, but they wouldn't fix it. Then the head rest locks broke. They wouldn't fix it. Then the interior light started acting weird. They claimed nothing was wrong. Then the locks started acting weird. They claimed nothing was wrong. Then, my favorite, the locks were operated by the window controls. WTF? Ironically, all the other problems where attributed to the same problem, however, now it was outside of the real warranty and we had to pay for it. I know what you might be thinking. Why didn't I get the extended 7yr B2B warranty that I saw another post brag about? I did. Doesn't mean you don't have to pay for the repair to. WHAT? Yeah, the fine print. There is a deductible with that great warranty.

Great. Problems all fixed. No. They break away mirror, ha, broke off when tapped in a parking lot. The latch on the one of the sliding doors broke. How on earth stuff like that happens is beyond me. They tried to fix it, after I again paid my deductible, but they didn't line it up right. Now the door hits and the paints chips and it is rusting more than it already was.

Wheel alignment is another saga I went through. In all the vehicles I've ever owned this has got to be the worst alignment I've ever had. This reflects mostly on Dodge service, in the fact that I was having issues w/ alignment. I took it in, and they charged me $70 for the alignment. Hind sight being 20/20. I realize now I probably just needed air in the tire or a rotation of sorts. Nope, these clowns didn't check that. They "aligned" the wheels, and basically broke them. I, in two years, have not had straight alignment. No matter how many times I take it in.

I agree with another post on this vehicle about the easy denting. I was pushed into the back of the van, and put a dent in it. So either I'm built like a rock, or else they used recycled coke cans. Trust when I say that I'd lean toward the coke can idea.

Similar Products Used: First dodge, First minivan. Result.
I hate dodge.

I've owned 4 F-150s, Saturn SL2, 2 Saturn VUEs, 2005 Mustang GT, and I just traded the dodge Crapavan in on a Hyundai Santa Fe. I pray that it at least keeps me happy until it is paid off.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
M Kallevig   [Dec 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Caravan
Strength:

DVD Player, A/C works well and it steers well through corners for a minivan. Rides okay for a basic model and I like how the rear benches have rollers on their frames to remove them.

Weakness:

Electrical! Electrical! Electrical! In the first two months of operation the air bag clock spring was replaced. Eight months later the PCM was deemed defective because of a pinging (pre-ignition) problem in the engine. The EGR valve failed 10 months after that because the pinging problem returned. I have never had to replace an A/C condenser because of a rock puncture but I had to with this vehicle, it looks like it is open and more susceptible than other vehicles. Finally, just before base warranty went off I noticed that there was something drawing power drastically. Turned out the alternator was lagging and required replacement. The battery did not hold a charge under load so it was replaced as well.

We have leased this vehicle for three years and have had the usual Caravan brake problems that were corrected when I relined the brakes with after market parts at 42K. The park brake levers require more maintenance than I thought necessary. The factory tires squeak and I will be glad to be rid of them this winter.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 554  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com