Honda Odyssey Minivans | Wagons

Odyssey

The Honda Odyssey minivan lives up to Honda's reputation for refinement, convenient features and great fit and finish.

The Odyssey is available in four trims: LX, EX, EX-L and Touring. All trims use a 3.5-liter V6 engine mated to a five-speed automatic transmission. The EX-L and Touring trims carry the most recent version of Honda's variable cylinder management system (VCM), which allows the V6 engine to switch among three, four, and six cylinders to increase fuel efficiency. The interior features a third-row Magic Seat that folds into the floor. Maximum seating capacity for the Odyssey is eight passengers. Safety features such as side-impact and curtain airbags, four-wheel disc anti-lock brakes, traction control and an electronic stability system are standard on all models. Luxury features such as leather trim, dual-zone automatic climate control, satellite radio, navigation and entertainment systems are available.

The Odyssey carries-on for 2010 with minimal changes

User Reviews (297)

Showing 1-10 of 297  
Turner   [Nov 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey Touring
Strength:

Room and flexibility.

Weakness:

Dangerous steering! Minor road irregularities suddenly pull the vehicle off course. It has been pulled toward oncomming traffic and completely off the road several times. The power steering offers no assistance untill a driver pulls abnormally hard on the steering wheel. It exhaust a driver trying to control the vehicle. Honda acknowledged the problem, but refused to correct it.

Great all around vehicle, except for the dangerous steering.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Gerard Majerczyk   [Sep 21, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Odyssey EX
Strength:

Get to have the spark plugs replaced every 6,000-8,000 miles

Weakness:

Must have the spark plugs replaced every 6,000-8,000 miles.

Purchased Honda Odyssey EX in August 2009. Less than 8,000 miles later, it started running rough, engine light went on, couldn't run car. Towed it to the dealer. Spark plugs were fouled, needed to be replaced.
Eventually figured out that the car started to need a quart of oil every thousand miles. Honda says this is normal. (In what universe?).
Over many visits to the Honda dealership, the only response Honda could give is, "Honda is studying the problem." The dealer says Honda doesn't know why this is happening. But it's normal. Yeah, sure.
Just tonight (21 SEP 2010), same thing happened again to my wife and kids while they were on their way home from school. Nearly stranded. The car has less than 13,000 miles on it. Once again, had to have it towed to the nearest dealership.
Who should buy this: Anyone seeking adventure and likes to spend time at the dealership waiting.
Who should NOT buy this: Anyone who needs a vehicle they can trust to get their family from point A to point B.

Similar Products Used: We had a 1987 Honda Civic that lasted over 120,000 miles until some jerk with a suspended license hit me head on (crossing over the center line). We brought our twins home from the hospital it it, and it was the first car they remembered. This was before mandatory air bags, but that little Civic and it's seatbelt saved my life. Why has their quality gone down so much in the last 23 years?
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ashley   [Sep 11, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Odyessy
Strength:

Excellent on gas for a van, spacious, Actually seats 8 people, hardly any major problems, the dual sliding doors, the DVD system allows just the back to listen while fron gets to listen to music, the trunk space is awsome, and drives great!

Weakness:

When driving above 65 miles per hour you can hear a high wind noise from the front windshield.

I traded my Lexus SUV for this van because we now have three children and a van was something that we really needed. We also do a lot of traveling and now everyone has room; including the dog. If you have children I really recommend the DVD system because they can use the wireless headsets and you can enjoy music in the front. The trunk space is amazing: it goes deep down instead a normal van. The leather seating is very easy to clean up. We have had this van for almost a year now and have only experienced one problem, which was covered by the warranty. The cruise control went out, but Honda fixed it with no problems! The other feature that I really like is the school bus type mirror, so, you can see the children in the back! This was a great buy, and I would more then likely buy again. Another great point is that they hold there value and you cannot beat the price with all the features it offers. The seat warmers are great when you are going through cold areas and you do not want to blast the heater. The van is also comes with sun shields in the back doors, so, it protects your little ones. Honda has taken every spot and used it: the storage compartments are great! If you have kids this van is a great buy. Everything is built well, so it's not like the Caravan that starts to break after a bump in the road. The doors are heavy and sturdy, and all the other features have lasted. We bought the van used and everything was like new. It's well worth it!

Similar Products Used: This is our first van, but I have had Honda Vehicles in the past.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kay Shen   [Aug 31, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Odyssy
Strength:

spacious in width.

Weakness:

It already start to fall apart. My dashboard is already showing Crack. The splashguard under the car was draging on the groung after I bump a wall on my driveway going maybe 1 or 2 mph. What's worst was El Cerrito Honda Service refused to fix it even if I paid them. They sold me the part (it took 2 trips for them to get me all the parts) I have to take it to another mechanic who put it back up in 15 minutes.
It is not airodynamically design. When only the back window is open. It creats a vacuum in the car that hurts your ears. To mitigate that you have to open a front window. Compared to my old Toyota of 15 years, it has less power and has worst gas milage.

I wished I stay with Toyota

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Gerry M.   [Jul 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honda Odyssey
Strength:

Makes oil disappear without a trace, can be used to clean up the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

Weakness:

Makes oil disappear without a trace, can be used to clean up the oil spill in the Gulf of Mexico.

Bought brand new 2010 Honda Odyssey in Aug. 2009. At between 7,000-8,000 miles the engine ran really rough and the warning light came on. My wife was afraid to drive a 1/2 mile to our house. We towed it to the dealer. They replaced the completely fouled spark plugs.

After several long stays at the dealer for it to be checked out every thousand miles for oil consumption, the dealer still couldn't figure out where the oil was going.

HONDA USA's official statement is that it is acceptable for a brand new Honda vehicle to make a quart of oil disappear without a trace every one thousand miles. There is no repair to be made. Boy, that's not in the advertising or manual (I checked). When the spark plugs need to be replaced again at 14,000 miles due to fouling, and every 7,000 miles after that, will they continue to pay for it, or just add that little change to the owners manual.

New motto for HONDA: "It's not a defect, it's a feature!"

Similar Products Used: A 1987 HONDA Civic that gave me 120,000+ miles before being wrecked in an accident.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Mitch Lu   [May 24, 2010]
Model Reviewed: EXL
Strength:

Decent Exterior and Intrerior design

Weakness:

Very Poor Mileage (MPG)

With all the talk about Honda quality, I was negatively surprised with this NEW Honda Odyssey 2010.
Although ride is not bad, I would still say that judging by Honda’s past reputation, this minivan scores average or below.
The overall feel of a quality build car, is not present here.

Main disappointment is the extremely low fuel economy. While Honda states avg about 20 MPG (17/24) is simply not realistic.
I am hardly getting 11 MPG !
I have had several older vehicles and none of them provided such low MPG.

Some other minor issue which all add up to regretting of buying this:
I would recommend: I fuel economy is important to you, do some research on other minivans before getting an odyssey

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Joe Buda   [Apr 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: honda odyssey exl
Strength:

Horse power,comfort, style,

Weakness:

Needs speakers in the side doors and should have a power outlet in the center door or somewhere around there. Road noise you hear.

We have recently purchased this Odyssey EXL 2996 it is a very smooth ride. Seats 8 ...has plenty of power. The heated leather seat are great. The stow and go seats are great for making it spacious. Don'ttest drive one unless you are ready to buy one.:) We traveled to North Carolina from Florida and it was a very comfortable ride. I bought it with 35,000 miles on it and purchased the 5 year or 50,000 mile warranty but hope to no to have to use it.

Similar Products Used: Traded my 2005 jeep liberty
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
stevandd   [Mar 16, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey Touring
Strength:

Great minivan, has a solid ride, handles great, grate storage, versatile and gets great gas mileage. Put a 10' shade in the back and closed the door. Try that with a truck and still get into a parking space!!

Weakness:

Run Flat tires - De-PAX if you can and if you do there is still a special place to store the spare tire. WOW

The best minivan on the market by far. The Toyota Sienna just blew itself up!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
teampaul   [Jan 14, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Honday Odyssey
Strength:

Car is great, however the engine went bad after less than two months. Spent over two weeks in the shop.When it was finally returned then the engine was smoking. We just rode it out for a few days and the smoke went away. Very concerened?

Weakness:

The service department at Go Honda in Colorado in particular our service advisor were not very nice or understanding considering the circumstances.

We bought a brand new car, the engine went bad and it truthfully spent over two weeks in the shop. American Honda Corporation and Go Honda in Colorado were of no help. We tried to explain we did not feel good about a brand new car having a rebuilt engine, but they did not care. We had only made one payment when all of this occurred. They offered to take care of one month however we did not want money we just wanted the new care we had purchased. It is a real shame as truthfully we think it is a great vehicle for families but due to the treatment of this particular dealership and American Honda's handling we would not recommend the purchase of this vehicle for service purposes.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
minivan mom   [Sep 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Odyssey
Strength:

Comfortable Seats, plenty of luggage space, mechanical endurance, interior seat durability, great for several long trips.

Weakness:

I would agree with others that there is a lot of road noise. If you are seated in the back it is very hard to hear the people up from and carry on a conversation. I would hope that is something they could improve on.

Can you get over 140,000 miles with this van? Yes, but with some cost near the end. This van was 2 years old when we bought it (33,000 mls). We have owned it for 7 years with 4 kids. For 13 years now we have drove 24 hrs each way to see family. It has been dependable. We went 6 years without any engine or mechanical problems(up to 120,000 miles), which we were pleased about. Shortly after our transmission went out. We were not aware of the transmission problems that some of the year models had. Because the vehicle was not under warranty anymore, Honda agreed to pay half of the cost. A few months later the computer connections went out which did not fall on the Honda Dealership as any known mechanical failure, so we paid the $800 to fix that. Now the automatic doors are having complications and the drivers side window switch. I would say the interior seats have kept up Beautifully. The floor... not so much, that is to be expected. Overall, Does it drive great now after repairs? YES. You just have to put up with power doors and windows apparently. For the length of time that we keep our vehicles, the transmission problem would have happened at some point in the future, so overall we were very happy with not having ANY costly repairs up to 120,000 miles for 6 years. We would definitely buy another Honda Odyssey!

Similar Products Used: Toyota Tundra
Chevrolet Truck
Toyota Corrolla
Honda Civic
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 297  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com