Kia Sedona Minivans | Wagons

Sedona

The Kia Sedona is a 4-door, 7-passenger mini van, available in 3 trims, ranging from the Base SWB to the EX LWB.

Chosen as a “Top Safety Pick” by IIHS in 2007, 2008 and 2009. All trims are equipped with a standard 3.8-liter, V6, 244-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
Rich D   [Jan 26, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Kia/Sedona LX
Strength:

Has good power. I do pull trailers and it can handle them. I have pulled a 17' boat and 2 place ATV trailer no problem with that. It has been a good vehicle for our family. We have 2 kids and they like the room in it also.

Weakness:

We had a ground issue the first week the dealer did fix that. We also had some Gas cap issues. We did have a recall with it and the shifter had to be replaced and we did have a noisy Air conditioner pump. All of these were fixed under warrenty. But it is still a pain in the rear to take it in and get these items fixed.
Gas milage is lower than expected 17-20 mainly 18.5 not matter how you drive when pulling trailers 15 or less.
I have replaced the head lamps at least 4 time not sure why I can only get about 1 year out of the bulbs? And nn I do not touch the glass lamps. I have tried GE and Phillips bulbs neither last much longer than that mainly low beams.

We purchase this vehicle new and this is my first review. I have had mixed thoughts of trading it or replacing it. It was great that we didn't have to pay 25-30K for it but the flip side is that it is lucky to be worth 10K now. We have taken it on a couple vacations and it did well for us we have a luggage rack on it and never have used it. When on vacation and traveling on the I system we were hoping to get more than 21 MPG but that is about the best we ever get. Mainly we get 20 on trips and 18.5 around home with mostly HWY driving on weekends and work trips. I have talked to some friend and they have the Honda Oddessy and it is hard to believe that they get 25-28 mpg with it? I can by alot of gas for 15-20K that is the main reason why we have kept this van and it has served us good but not great.
We live in Wisconsin and this van does go through the snow good. A lot better than my Toyota Camery.
We did get some very good rebates when we purchased this new.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
JIM JOHNSON   [Dec 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: SEDONA

NEVER WILL OWN ANOTHER KIA PRODUCT..MOTOR BLEW AT 47,000 MILES..NOT EVEN HALF OF WARRANTY...KIA WOULD NOT COVER TO FIX...NICE

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dan   [Nov 15, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Sedona LX
Strength:

Has a 5 star test crash rating

Weakness:

Broken since day 1. Series of emissions and electrical problems that multiple dealers and 2 technicians brought in from HQ have not been able to fix.

Since the 2nd day driving the vehicle off of the lot, car had check engine light on for 9+ months while multiple dealers and technicians were unable to resolve. Went to settlement under lemon law after vehicle was finally "fixed". 4 months later, car went dead again. Instead of placing car in dealers hand for the 14th or 15th repair, replaced battery, and 3 months later, car died while driving. After Generation Kia "reparied" this problem, new problem with vehicle. Attempt to start car, and car would die completely. This happened 6x during 2 week period. Car was able to be started after opening/closing doors, hood, playing with shifter and key. Brought car back to dealer - Generation Kia, and they were unable to replicate problem. I went there and had to adamantly insist that car had problem, and after 20 minutes of being adamant about problem, dealer "allowed" me to demonstrate problem, which I had previously described to technician and service manager (Anthony) no less than 8 times, and was able to reproduce in less than 1 minute in 3 tries. Dealer admitted problem and "repaired". Dealer noticed my XM FM radio transmitter wire coming through dash vent, and removed radio because they suspected someone was intentionally damaging vehicle, as was told to me by Anthony the service manager. In fact, the dealer broke the radio while trying to prove sabotage to vehicle, and then refused to service vehicle after they broke it. Vehicle was then brought to another dealer for repair, at which point it was determined that new problem with vehicle was because when radio was re-installed at Generation Kia, they damaged the radio and had buttons jammed, which in turn, caused a battery drain and caused vehicle to die if left unattended for more than a couple of days.
Car had has been in shop 16 times at this point, Kid has been sued under lemon law and car still having problems.
Ability for Kia technicians to properly diagnose and fix one of their vehicles is under suspicion from documented problems and repeat trips to dealer for electrical problems over and over again..
Have lost multiple days of work and 40+ days of use of the vehicle because it was in the shop, all while still paying for it.
Also note, main 200amp fuse has blown 3 times already, ask anyone or any mechanic you know, how many times have you seen a 200amp DC fuse blow in a car. Something that happens extremely rarely, if ever.
Never would buy a Kia again, or recommend to anyone due to after sale service and support. Kias' philosophy appears to be. Buy the car, if it breaks, even if we cannot fix it, you are still going to have to keep bringing it in, paying for it, but not be able to use it. If you do not like this, sue us.
I can state that in all of my driving year (25+), this car has had more problems and been in the shop more often and for more days then every other car I have ever owned, combined.

Similar Products Used: Subaru Outback, Subaru Impreza, Subaru Forester. Never had a problem with any of them, nor with any other car I have owned in the last 25+ years.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
rmeyers47   [Nov 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: EX
Strength:

The comfort, ease of driving, & pickup is great. Leather seats-heated-great, automatic doors sliding & hatch back auto open-close. Back-up camera on mirror-lots of storage in front- back storage, seat fold down w/ease. Back heat temp.controls for passengers. Windows in second row- that can come down. The car seat for my 3 yr old granddaughter fits great and she can see out of the vehicle. Love the mirror so I can check on her without turning around.

Weakness:

So far found only one thing- Flasher button located above the Heat direction control button- I have bumped it numerous times when turning the dial-I would suggest moving it to a different place on the panel.

I have had this vehicle since 10-15-10. Love the vehicle- I am 63 and getting in and out is a breeze- sitting higher I can see everything. I have a shoulder issue so the back hatch is wonderful when I go shopping to have it open automatically. Also having the side doors open automatically is wonderful too.

This is only my 3rd new car I have purchased in my lifetime. The first was in 1968- Chevy Nova and the last new car was a 1973 Chevrolet Impala- purchased for $4000.00 when gas was 50 cents a gallon. So far the Kia Sedona has met all my expectations. I did a lot of reading and reviewing on-line before purchasing - and am very satisfied. Also- my saleman at Capital Kia- James Costello was wonderful. He provided me all the information I needed without being pushy-which I loved. Great guy!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
soundofmuzegit   [Oct 15, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Kia Sedona
Strength:

Acceleration, roominess, convenience

Weakness:

A/C compressor makes noise occasionally, mediocre gas mileage

My wife's brother-in-law has an '06, and she fell in love with it, so we bought our '08. Being soccer-parents we have taken it on a few cross-state trips already and we love the functional aspect of it.
I have read quite a few negative reviews here and the majority of them are about the 1st generation Sedona. I talked with the bro-in-law about the reliability of his '06 Sedona (also 2nd Gen), and he said the only issue he has had is replacing the headlight bulbs 2x/year.
Overall, we're quite pleased with it and would recommend one primarily for its value.

Similar Products Used: Jeep Cherokee (trouble defined)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
chris   [Jul 14, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Kia Sedona
Strength:

Safety

Weakness:

Quality

My 2006 Kia Sedona has had Gremlins since I purchased it new in 2006. I get more frustrated with this vehicle and now being past warranty, problems continue that have already been addressed. If you are curious, here are just a few....
Numerous things:

AC does not blow cold continually and has been repaired several times. Unless I am traveling on the highway, the AC does not always blow cold.

The horn has been fixed several times (It Does not work properly when lock vehicle and it is to "chirp" when it locks or if you push to use the horn it does not always work). Also, security horn sounded wrong.

Shifting / odd transmission type problem - the vehicle "bangs" when you come down a hill to a stop. Also, when slowing down to a stop light it actually has a surge or acceleration. Very scary and they say this is ok or they can not find a problem. Also as you are driving it accelerates or decelerates oddly.

Brakes - vehicle only has 62000 and have replaced brakes twice.

Similar Products Used: GMC, Chevy, Dodge
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
jmdrmenea   [Jun 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Sedona
Strength:

We were T-boned while going down the highway. Our wonderful Kia was totalled but every living sole in the car (including our dog)that day walked way from that accident because the Kia stood up to a 55 mph side impact. 90,000+ miles at the time of impact. We were all wearing seatbelt also. Don't wear your seatbelts because the law tells you to, but because this story could be you someday and if you don't, you may not be around to write your story here too.

Weakness:

Everything will break eventually. I felt that there were no real problems and mine was 4 years old when I bought it.

Wonderful mini van for anyone but I highly recommend it if you have children or pets. Especially if you get it with a DVD player for your children or yourself.

Similar Products Used: We had a Dodge Caravan. Was under the hood of it almost every weekend and the problems started around 50,000 miles.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rivets   [Aug 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Kia Sedona
Strength:

Good performance at a low price. Other owners are satisfied with their Kia products, and family members have returned to Kia for second vehicle purchases.

Weakness:

Aft quarter windows only open 3 inches. Tailgate not power operated.

Good value for money spent. Bought this Sedona new in Richmond. Roomy, and well appointed. Excellent turning radius for ease of parking. Much better quality than domestic products. Less expensive than Honda or Toyota, but same features. Good air conditioning.

Similar Products Used: Dodge van. Chevrolet van. GMC van.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryan Isaac   [Apr 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Kia Sedona LX
Strength:

Acceleration!!!!! DVD system is a must with kids. Nothing like a long road trip and not one child asking, "how much longer?" Also the 3 zone climate control.

Weakness:

Fuel economy, cheap interior knobs and dash.

So far so good! I have read and heard mixed reviews on this vehicle and brand. We got a great deal and could not pass up on this one! We did pay the extra $1600.00 for the additional warranty which goes from 5 years or 60k miles up to the full 10 year 100k mile bumper to bumper warranty! Figured if the negative things we have heard were true, at least we would have a great warranty to back us up! I will keep updating as I have the vehicle longer.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Dodge Grand Caravan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Candice Carrier   [Jan 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Kia Sedonna
Strength:

Good amount of room. Great acceleration. Rear windows go down half way. Rear air conditioning/heat controls. Rear seats fold down.

Weakness:

This doesn;t seem to be a cold weather car since most of the issues I have are during the winter. Living in the Northeast that's a major thing.

After a bad buying experience with the dealer, there are a number of negative things about this van.
1. Windshield is not sealed properly and whistles when on the highway.
2. Wears tires quickly-all tires wear evenly but I have to keep replacing them and they are always going low on tire pressure so the warning light is on a lot.
3. Switched into netural a few times on the highway on it's own.
4. The windsheild washer fluid is topped off but warning light continues to stay on.
5. Rear hatchback door is stuck between open and closed so I can't do either-the warning light is on and the warning sound keeps beeping whenever I am driving.
6. Slider door safety feature of locking in the open position doesn't work so, when on an incline, the door will slide shut.
7. Third time in two years that I have had to replace a headlight that burned out.
8. If the rear windows are down and the front ones up, the air pressure is terrible on the ears so I guess the van is not designed properly.
Before buying this, we had a 2003 Chrysler Town and Country and never had problems with it. I traded it in with a little over 100k on it and just wanted something different. I will probably go back to a Chrysler.

Similar Products Used: Chrysler Town and Country (liked it a lot), Ford Windstar (Didn;t like this very much)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com