Mercury Villager Minivans | Wagons

Villager

The Villager is powered by a 170-horsepower 3.3-liter V-6 with a 4-speed automatic transmission. ABS is optional. Sits up to 7 passengers.

User Reviews (95)

Showing 1-10 of 95  
michigansrini   [Oct 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mercury Villager Sport
Strength:

Ver good mini van for driving long distance. Very reliable and very smooth. It holds 6-7 people comfortably and it is realy good on highways.

Weakness:

Tires wear and tear unevenly. Steering shakes but might have to do some wheel alignment.

Overall, this is a good relaible vehicle for a family. I would like to buy this again if it is manufactured.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Shalyn   [Dec 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mercury Villager
Strength:

Body has held up nicely as has the upholstery and carpet (other than coffeemuddirt, etc.)
Lots of room for storage under the seats so when we travel, we are able to stash small suitcases under the seats.

Weakness:

Wish it were roomier.
Newer models have rear passenger doors on both sides, '96 model doesn't.
Takes two people to remove the middle seat. Haven't needed to remove the rear seat-don't know if it comes out or not.

Uggh...I will NEVER buy a Ford/Mercury product again.
We paid for a towing package which was supposed to include a heavy duty tranny. Well, at 62,000 miles,just before we paid it off, the transmission gave out and we had to have it replaced. OF COURSE, IT WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY and Mercury would not do anything about it.
We have also been through 2 or 3 tie rods and are about to have it replaced again-what is it with the tie rod?
Lighting for heater/ac went out early-a year or so after we got the van.
Let's see, what else....?
Oh, currently, the driver's side headlight is out and cannot be fixed with a mere replacement bulb-something else is wrong with it.
Steering is loose-I don't really know how to describe it other than that.
Grrrrrr..........

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tamara Webster   [Oct 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Villager Sport
Strength:

Excellent straight body, perfectly clean interior, car almost looked brand new and was 11 years old when I bought it.

1. Comfortable Seats.
2. Radio, Cassette Deck, CD Player all actually work.
3. Tinted Windows.
4. Gets up and goes for a V-6.
5. Luggage Rack.

Weakness:

ANYTHING ELECTRICAL!

1.Air Conditioner.
2.Back Gate Latch.
3.Power Windows.
4.Door Locks.
5.Dash Lights.
6.Head Lights.
7.Overhead Lights.
8.Brake Lights.
9.Starter.
10.Ignition Switch.
11.Plastic Inside Sliding Door Handle - Broke.
12.The on & off switch for the Heat & A/C: 1, 2, 3 do not work. It only works on 4 - So either your freezing or your baking.
13.The back seat radio, A/C, and heat do not work.
14.Too narrow for a mini van. Crowded.
15.Middle seats do not remove easily at all, and rear seat does not come out at all.
16. Tires continue to wear down fast. May have something to do with the front end alignment that nevers stays aligned.

I know I'm forgetting something!

I have read all of the reviews on the Villager and it doesn't seem to matter the year or model, we all have a paid the price of owning a Ford vehicle!

After reading my review and you agree with me and everyone else, please join me in writing to the Ford motor company and asking for a recall. No tjust on the parts, but the entire car!

This car has cost more time, trouble, and money than any other car I have owned. Every Ford I have ever bought has been the same way - Needless to say, this is my last.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Mini Van
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Drew Tucker   [Aug 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Villager
Strength:

very comfortable, very reliable, easy to drive, great AC, digital display, cd changer, adjustable 3rd row, sharp looking van all around (nothing cheap on this Nautic Edition Villager), Pretty Peppy for a little V6

Weakness:

passenger side door does not unlock every time, one sliding door is a major downer, middle captain chairs should swing up like the caravans so there is easy access to 3rd row, right now adults have to go through front door and slide all the way to rear of van because of the two child seats that take up the entire middle space (not enough interior room for large families)

Most comfortable vehicle I have ever had. I am married with two children and was dissappointed that I needed a minivan in my life; however this van has been no dissappointment. We have had the van from 69000 miles to 92000 miles and we have not had a serious mechanicle problem. I don't know anything about the newer models but this 98 villager is a great van! We are in the market for a larger minivan however the look and feel of the little villager has got us spoiled and it is hard to give it up for something else.

Similar Products Used: Tahoe and Suburban I have driven a venture and 2 windstars but never owned.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt, Columbus, OH   [Aug 24, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Villager
Strength:

Engine. Interior and exterior look great for age.

Weakness:

Problem, after problem, after problem.

The only good thing about this van is the engine and appearance. Power windows and locks act up, replaced window motor. All cup holders broke, and were not abused. Since I've hit 80,000 miles the service engine soon light has come on about every 1500-2000 miles. You pay $100 at the dealership for a diagnostic test, then pay for parts and labor. Every other month I am out $300-$700 on repairs. If I would've read the reviews before I purchased the van there is no way I would've bought it. Trust me it would be cheaper to buy a H2. Save your family money, don't buy a Villager.

Similar Products Used: Ford Taurus, had to have allot of repairs. Dodge Caravan, no problems, should've bought another one.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
mca   [Jan 27, 2005]
Model Reviewed: mercury villager minivan
Strength:

hey..no major problems..!

Weakness:

those locks..definitely an inconvenience..especially w/kids..and in the rain!

we bought the 1997 villager in april 1998..it's a pretty good van!..despite a few quirks. apprx 2002.we had to rplc air cond hose/hose&labor vry costly...thn 'chk engine' light comes on.but van runs fine..mechanic's diag scope mach reveals..'emission system problem',,..private mech(NOT DEALER)..found a worn pressure regulator hose..rplcd it/$hose..he charged $80labor..(now light out..car runs fine..lates prob...power locks don't wk..not sure if minor fx need..dealer sys must leave it to figure out..the manual only provides ino on fuses for all other power feat's(window,defroster,wipers..)no fuse listed in book for the locks..have to decide if using the key manually it too much of an inconv to me!..

Similar Products Used: no other vans to compare with..but drove a nissan 200sx for 12yrs..excellent car!
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
redvox   [Nov 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mercury Villager
Strength:

- Reliability, reliability and reliability

Weakness:

- It's a minivan. - The suspension is getting soft and it tends to lean heavily through corners.

I can't believe I'm writing a glowing review about a minivan! Like most men, I find them a statement of middle-age mediocrity. But enough about me. The Villager is easily the most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. I've taken this van from 65,000km to 270,000km and aside from brakes, tires and the occasional bit of exhuast work, I've spent almost nothing on maintenance. I did have the rear windshield wiper motor repaired once. And I seem to have gone through a number of tie rod ends since buying a cottage at the end of 4kms of unmaintained road. But that's it. The vehicle seems to have a bit less power than it used to, but it's running very well still.

Similar Products Used: - Ford Taurus - okay - Chrysler Minivan - don't get me started! - Mazda 323 - nice, but a bit light in constuction. - Honda Civic - very fun to drive - Volvo - nice old heavy one.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
valerina   [Jul 28, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mercury Villager
Strength:

reliable, roomy, fun to drive, few problems

Weakness:

freezing door in cold weather, cracking paint on bumper, corrosion of AC lines that run under vehichle

I have had this minivan (my 1st) for 3 years and it has been one of the best vehichles. I love the way it drives, its quick, its roomy, its dependable. I bought this van used (it was 2yrs old with 18,000 miles) and due to poor history with other brands I purchased an extended warranty for it (to 60,000 miles) and I NEVER used it! Only quirks are 1 sliding door freezes every winter and now at 65,000 my automatic lock on the driver door doesnt operate anymore and I'm having trouble with the AC, the lines under the van corroded (told thats very common) and unfortunately not an inexpensive problem. Because I dont have the cash to fix it I was thinking about trading it in BUT I dread the thought of not having my reliable Villager and I'm terrified of getting something that has to be in the shop over and over.

Similar Products Used: 2 volkswagons - a passat and a jetta (one new and one used but both a multitude of problems) 1 mazda 626 (leased for 40,00 miles and never 1 problem) 2 fords - a taurus and a mustang (both brand new and a multitude of problems)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Yoder   [Feb 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Villager
Strength:

Handling, roomy, good looking design

Weakness:

Replace the brakes every summer.

We purchaced this vehicle from our local dealer with 114,000 miles on it. It handles great and it serves our family of 7 very well. We have done preventitive maintence on this vehicle the whole time we have owned it. We recently replaced the water pump and timing belt for the 2nd time. The vehicle has an amazing 326,000 miles on it and it still runs beautifully. Starts first off and the motor doesn't smoke or rattle. I highly recomend the Mercury Villiager to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rrich127   [Feb 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Estate
Strength:

Ultra reliable motor. Handles well for a mini van.

Weakness:

Vehicle has shook from the time I bought it. Door locks lock when they want to. Engine is noisy. When braking around a bumpy curve, you're likely to slide off the road.

This is my second Villager and overall they both have been reliable except for one common problem. THEY BOTH SHAKE. I have had tires balanced (many times), Front ends aligned, and tires replaced, all for nothing. None of these things ever helped. Because of the shaking, it causes the tires to wear unevenly as well. I am so frustrated now, that this one will be my last one. The door locks occasionally have a mind of their own and lock whenever they feel like it. I notice that my 2001 with the 3.3 engine is considerably noisier than my 1996 with the 3.0 engine. Again, nobody seems to know why. When it comes to the shaking, I am starting to hear "They DO that" a lot.

Similar Products Used: 1996 Mercury Villager LS
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 95  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com