Nissan Quest (2009 and older) Minivans | Wagons

Quest (2009 and older)

The 2009 Nissan Quest continues as the most distinctive and original minivan on the market – as well as one of the roomiest minivans in its segment. Following a major redesign just two years ago, changes for 2009 are minimal. The 2009 Quest is offered in four well-equipped models – 3.5, 3.5S, 3.5SL and 3.5SE.

The Nissan Quest powertrain comes from its standard 235-horsepower 3.5-liter V6 engine, 5-speed automatic transmission and responsive suspension design. A Traction Control System (TCS) is also standard, while Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) is standard on the 3.5 SE model.

Road car handling is not an afterthought with the Quest. The Nissan Quest features a 4-wheel independent suspension with a rear multi-link design and front and rear stabilizer bars. Power-assisted rack-and-pinion steering is also standard, along with 4-wheel vented disc brakes with Anti-lock Braking System (ABS), Brake Assist (BA) and Electronic Brake force Distribution (EBD).

Standard Quest safety features include Nissan’s Advanced Air Bag System (AABS) with dual-stage supplemental front air bags with seat belt and occupant classification sensors, front seat-mounted side impact supplemental air bags and roof-mounted curtain side impact supplemental air bags for outboard occupant head protection for all three rows, front seat Active Head Restraints and Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS).

User Reviews (124)

Showing 1-10 of 124  
Greg Johnson   [Aug 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Quest
Strength:

none.

Weakness:

Total and utter mechanical flop. The van cannot hold and alignment. Have gone through 4 sets of tires in 87K miles. The engine went out 2 days after repair the transmission failed. Nissan gave their typical it is out of warranty excuse.

Do not buy ever. Unless you have deep pockets and have nothing better to do with your money.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Grand Caravan
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
airforcer   [Aug 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Quest S w/Dvd pwr dvr package
Strength:

HANDLING, Price, Steering and looks.

Weakness:

DVD system I have the Panasonic the supposed upgrade it leaves something to be desired....

this Vehicle handles better than the Odyssey PERIOD. I dare you to test drive both. The Odyssesy Dvd is better though. But with the 3000 rebate + the dealer will come off of 2500 at least. This Van is solid and has no issues. the power train might be the strongest in Mini vans for durability. Nissan is tough

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Quest Driver   [Apr 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Quest 3.5 SE
Strength:

Nice ride, original and unique style inside and out. Performance is very nice for a large van. Great for longer trips.

Weakness:

Quality problems get very, very costly once warrantee is up. Be very careful when looking for a used one, to ensure any problems are taken care of. Mention tech bulletin on timing chain.

Used 2004 Quest Buyers Beware. Problems with wheel bearings and timing chain once out of warrantee are very clstly, nd occur frequently. Nissan has a tech bulletin out on timing chain (which they will say is supposed to last the life of the engine). It is a known problem with Nissan, but once out of warrantee, they will not cover it. So check before you buy any used one to make sure there are no problems with timing chain.

Similar Products Used: 1996 Plymouth Voyager, has less problems than the Quest.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
sandrasylvester   [Jun 06, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Nisaan Quest
Strength:

Style!

Weakness:

Nissan USA support of there product, especially one I paid alsmost $50K of my hard earned dollars for.They continuosly state not our problem.

Nissan does not stand behind it's car! Nice styling but terrible quality. Numerous recalls, braks are repatedly an issue, skylights leaked, sliding doors freeze shut, engine ticks and Nissan USA does nothing to help! The absolute worst car company ever!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
patrick   [May 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mercury villager
Strength:

engine

Weakness:

rear drum rattles after brake installed

I have had my villager/quest for about4yrs
and with 427000 miles and still going strong with only one tranny change at 233000 one could not ask for a better minivan. getting ready to but another quest.

Similar Products Used: 95 villager
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Scot Bauer   [Jan 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Quest S
Strength:

Nice cockpit layout. Good heat and a/c. Easy to walk around inside. Comfortable seats. Great visibility. Haven't gone on many long trips, but was able to observer 25 MPH on a long stretch.

Weakness:

The Dealer-David McDavid Nissan of Houston-were complete clowns. There isn't enough room here to explain the problems, but I literally had to STAND ON A TABLE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SHOWROOM AND YELL LIKE A MADMAN TO GET THEM TO DO THEIR JOBS in the following MONTHS after the sale. I will ride the bus before I buy another vehicle from those idiots.

We compared this with the Honda and Toyota minivans. The Honda's interior screamed '1996', and the Toyota had the same sized engine as the Nissan with 25 less horse power.

Similar Products Used: none.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
L.A.Ward   [Dec 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Quest
Strength:

overshadowed by MAJOR ISSUE

Weakness:

Won't start, Dealers won't fix.

Car has refused to start and key won't turn. Three separate dealers have said that its only a rod out of line and that if we "jerk" the steering wheel it will start. Little comfort for a wife in a dark parking lot at night with a car that won't start.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Mark   [Oct 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Quest SE
Strength:

Strong engine. Lots of room. Can hookup ipod/mp3 player. Kids can use remote to control dvd/media.

Weakness:

Rear seat hard to stow, no place for headrest.

We have 3 kids. We traded in a 1999 Chevrolet Astro for a new 2004 Quest SE with DVD. We love our van and have never had any serious problems. We now have 28k on it with none of the problems others report (lucky?). Trip last year from VA to Disney World we averaged 28mpg on interstate, 12 hour drive.
We like preset settings for seat/mirrors, etc. often found on high end cars. Second row passengers always comment on the seating position and the high beltline that gives a 'safe' feeling.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
garywcox   [Sep 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Nissan Quest
Strength:

Good quality engine.

Weakness:

Brake problems, rotors constantly need turning, pads often need replacing. Tires are OEM special size available only at a high price. Steering stake while driving often, even with new tires, brakes constantly a problem with steering wheel shake. Poor customer service at Nissan.

Great style, great look, like the van but brakes are horrible, constant problems, warping rotors, brake pads worn out.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
smjetski   [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: nissan quest
Strength:

fun to take on trips, but dont step on the brakes, it will cost you

Weakness:

bad brakes, should be recalled,

I bought a 3 month old quest, and have had the front rotors replaced twice in the 36000 miles on the care, and rear brake only once, the shifter has been replaced twice due to any incline on the tranny in park you can not shift unless you reef on the shifter, tires are one size no one else makes but goodyear at 165.00 each,driver side sliding door always seem to stick,using super unleaded at 3.15 a gal hurt the wallet, recomended by nissan,

Similar Products Used: 2000 ford winstar
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 124  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com