Volkswagen Eurovan (1992 - 2003) Minivans | Wagons

Volkswagen Eurovan (1992 - 2003) Minivans | Wagons 

DESCRIPTION

In the USA, the short wheelbase Eurovan 5 cylinder passenger models (CL, GL, GLS, and MV) were only sold for model year 1993. VW only imported the Eurovan to the USA for one year (1993) because sales in the USA were disappointing, but sales continued in Canada and Mexico. VW reintroduced the Eurovan passenger models in the USA for model year 1999 with a VR6 engine as standard, and discontinued it again with worldwide T4s after 2003.

The Eurovan Camper by Winnebago was introduced in the USA in 1995 with the 5 cylinder engine, and was upgraded to the VR6 for the 1997-2003 models.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Aug 30, 2006]
lowhoho2
Model Reviewed: CV

Strength:

-holds value

Weakness:

see review summery

crap....weak engine, mechanical problems with engine, bad paint, poor camper conversion by winnebago, fridge problems

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 24, 2006]
lrdcb
Model Reviewed: eurovan mv

Strength:

Plenty of power,tons of room and very versitile.The Swiss army knife of vans.Electric cooler,curtains on windows cup holders,power outlets,and pop top sleeper is fantastic.Great for cruising the highway and better than my Caravan which my family loved.

Weakness:

No console in between front seats and rear facing middle seats are a little to close to the back of the front seats, no rear outlet for air conditioner in my model(pop top).Expensive to service for routine mainteinence.

Purchased van primarily to transport my disabled child in his wheel chair. As the van is tall and the middle,rear facing seats remove very easily,this van was perfect. No need for major alterations in vehicle,just have some tie downs installed in floor and buy a couple of aluminum ramps and your on your way. perfect for this application.Van has turned out to be more than we expected. Great view while driving,traction control works great in bad weather. Pop top easy to operate and use. Nice to have a vehicle that's different. The styling seems to be holding up well as some other vans are beginning to look dated. All in all a good reliable purchase for our family. Several long trips(canada,atlanta,alabama,washington d.c.) and no issues whatsoever.

Similar Products Used:

97 Dodge Grand Caravan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2006]
dreiter
Model Reviewed: GL

Strength:

Totally reliable and incredibly comfortable seats. I've put 300,000 KM on mine with nothing but expected wear and tear items (tires, break, exhaust).
Incredible space for bikes, skiis, kids, bags - even when fully loaded the kids can still move around. I take this car over my new Honda any time I can.

Weakness:

I have the 5 cylinder 2.5 engine, which is OK, but not not great power. Long stretch for my short wife to reach the gas/break pedals.

Overall this is a fantastic vehicle. It's not your ordinary mini-van - there's nothing mini about it. If you're an active family, moving lots of stuff and kids around there's no better van.

Similar Products Used:

1972 VW Westfalia, 1987 VW Westfalia, 1988 VW Vanagon, 2003 Ford Windstar, 2005 Honda Element

Just ordered my replacement Eurovan!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 19, 2004]
Tracy Bellamy
Model Reviewed: VW Eurovan

Strength:

Lots of power, usual VW craftsmanship. Many think this is a weird van but in fact there are no others in Europe where they have harsh weather testing for this van is perfect for our weather conditions. Heat and A/C are also very good nice dash lighting blue and red makes night driving very easy on the eyes. Floors easy to clean level with the door seats are high enough to get under the interior doesn't seem to make you feel claustraphobic. My wife likes both front and rear seating the abck seats are a bit higher making the passengers much more comfortable and providing great visibility. This does in no way restrict the driver from rear view clutter.

Weakness:

Some small pieces falling off. My centre caps on the mag wheels just decided to exit late Fall of 2003 and the drivers slider window black strip has taken to flight on its own twice now. Nothing major. Needs a centre console would be nice if VW came out with a retro and provided it at cost to all of us North American coffee drinkers and paper collectors.

We have had VW's for years and almost left for another product but couldn't seem to find the quality and the look we wanted. The 02 came out with Summer tires and nice mag wheels and for 225$ we got a set of 4 wheels and tires for the snow. I kept my CD player from my 99 Passat and simply had to route the cable that I purchased at the dealer to the passenger seat location and boom we have CD. Ours is a 7 pasenger lots of room adn rides like a dream high visibilty. We had a 92 Eurovan very nice but the 02 has a much better interior great wheel small and sporty. It fits in out garage and when I'm out it feels like its own little house on wheels. With 3 kids and lots of activities its A1.

Similar Products Used:

1981 Rabbit, 1987 Jetta, 1988 Plymouth Voyageur minivan, 1992 Eurovan 8 pass 2 sliding doors, 1999 Passat, 66 Bug

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2003]
billyisme
Model Reviewed: Eurovan Camper

Strength:

Reliability. Fuel economy. Interior capacity. Quality of materials used on exterior and interior (our camper still looks brand new). Its good-looking. Well-thought and constructed camping interior. The dealer-installed side awning (with walls) was WELL worth the investment. Other Eurovan owners wave when they pass (I consider this a strength!). People STILL (Oct 2003)come up to us and ask if our van is new and claim to have never seen one! I feel confident that we'll get another 100,000 amazing miles out of our camper.

Weakness:

Factory recommended tires have not been manufactured by Goodyear for several years and are impossible to find--this isn't really a weakness because we have been using a MUCH better (and cheaper!) tire for over 4 years now. Weird fridge issue from factory--easily fixed. Requires rear wheel alignment more than expected (we do drive off road a lot, though). Low ground clearance. Stock sound system was underpowered.

I'll start off mentioning that I have strictly followed the recommended VW maintenance regimen. Our camper is currently in its 9th year with us (110,000 miles). We have a VERY early 1995 model (originally purchased from dealership in 10/94). I was a bit concerned about buying the first year model, but we have never spent a second regretting our purchase. I cannot describe how much we have appreciated nearly every aspect of ownership. The 5cyl motor provides excellent power and fuel economy, the transmission has worked flawlessly, the suspension has performed well (after we added stiffer Bilstien shocks), the interior has held up VERY well, we have had absolutely NO electrical problems with switches etc, and the camping equipment is very durable (it is now very well-used and still looks/functions as new). We often tow a trailer loaded with up to 4 dirt bikes, gas, and gear and we don't even know its there--75mph with a/c blowing cold through the desert. I recommend this vehicle to any adventure-seeking family looking for a practical and reliable vehicle to meet nearly every need imaginable. We keep our camper 90% packed and ready to go at all times-- should we happen to get a late Friday itch to head out and camp for a couple nights, we're ready! (I can't count the number of last minute trips we've enjoyed)

Similar Products Used:

No similar products are available!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2003]
Ken Haley
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen Eurovan Weekender

Strength:

Superior engineering, good power on the highway, smooth and quiet ride with windows up, cold a/c, excellent ventilation, roomy for all passengers, great weekender appointments, classic VW styling.

Weakness:

Average sound system, lacks cd player. A little noisy with windows down. Engine could use an overdrive. Needs a center console between driver and passenger seats. Back-facing seats are too close to the front seats. Have to scratch my head to come up with any major weaknesses.

My first VW in 40 years of driving, and I'm sorry I waited so long. The engineering is precise and tight. The 2003 is the end of the line, and is an instant classic. It fulfills various needs, including solid travel vehicle, comfortable passenger van, good investment value, and versatile camper that sleeps at least four. The front seats are comfortable on long trips, though not quite as relaxing as captain's chairs. The back bench is more comfortable than minivan benches, and the back-facing seats are plush. We're planning a month-long trip to Alaska to shake the "love-buggy" down. I wouldn't go up there in any other vehicle.

Similar Products Used:

Dodge Caravan, Plymouth Voyager. Eurovan is superior on many levels.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2003]
Donal
Model Reviewed: VW EuroVan

Strength:

Smooth ride for its size, Excellent turning radius, brilliant A/C, loads of room, good pick-up. Alloy wheels standard.

Weakness:

Gas mileage could be better, no leather or CD player option.

The wife and I had tried every minivan on the market but the Eurovan was unique. In Ireland they were quite common but since I came to the U.S.A. no one had ever heard of them. Took some time to find one I knew more about it than the VW salesman. The wife thinks its quite brilliant. We have had no trouble what so ever with it. Our children have a wee room of there own complete with a pop up table (we have the MV model so the middle seats are reversed to face the rear bench seats) People are always fasinated by the van and asking what it is. I did my research on all the minivans before I bought this. No leather, or CD player option. Well, you can get a CD changer (over $450) under the passenger seat but, take my advise get a after market in-dash CD player. Silver VW Eurovan MV

Similar Products Used:

Volvo 850Turbo Wagon.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 31, 2003]
Owen
Model Reviewed: MV

Strength:

Lots of cargo area.Can carry a considerable payload. Very easy to maneuver in a city environment. Heated seats and very clean styling!

Weakness:

Milage is not any better than a Ford E250 cargo. I am over six feet tall and I feel the driver seat is too high, my head is up near the cieling.

I sought this van out for reasons other than family. I am a furniture maker and have been driving a big Ford Cargo van for many years. I bought the euro because it has a strong history as a cargo van. It will hold 4x8 sheets of plywood (up to 15) and still drive nicely. It has seemlessly fit into my business carrying materials and tools and a happy pooch that has windows to look out.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 03, 2003]
Scott Bartholomew
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen Eurovan

Strength:

Plenty of room. Saves money on hotel rooms. Kids can play in it. good quality. Very reliable.

Weakness:

Uses premium. Gas mileage not the greatest(17-21mpg). I'd love a TDI version.

We bought the pop-top Eurovan a little over a year ago. Performance has been flawless. No defects. Combination van and play fort for the children. Sleeps all 5 of us in comfort. Decent power. Very solid. Should be very durable. Only one in town. Wife loves it.

Similar Products Used:

Dodge Caravan.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 20, 2002]
Alan

Strength:

LOTS of room!! We've managed to fit a queen size bed+frame in with room to spare (after removing all seats). -Much higher than other minivans (even new models) -Fantastic comfort on long trips and tough as nails - we were rear ended on a merge lane by a nissan pickup. Needless to say the front of the nissan was a mess, but the Eurovan sustained minor damage!! These vans are built very tough.. just count the number of roll bars in the frame! -Handling- 4-wheel independant suspsension is wonderful and you can feel it in the corners.

Weakness:

We opted for the 4-spd auto tranny. I've never been a fan of VW auto tranny's and this is no exception. It doesn't take advantage of the 109 horses available, and hurts the gas mileage. On the highway the revs are right up there at 110kph, where as the 5-speed manual is better ratioed. We had to replace the tranny around 210,000 but it cost quite a bit. -Typical VW eletrical problems, but this comes with age. -VW didn't release the 4WD version in North America like they did in Switzerland (the Caravelle) In truth, the van has done very very well. Highly Recommend one!!

When we bought ours in 1992 we had eagerly been awaiting production. We were promised in late 1990 that they were redesigning the beloved "Vanagon" so it was definately worth the wait! 269,000 Km's and going STRONG!

Similar Products Used:

Driven the Odyssea and Windstar. Good power, but too low to the ground.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com