Volkswagen Passat Wagon (2010 and older) Minivans | Wagons

Volkswagen Passat Wagon (2010 and older) Minivans | Wagons 

DESCRIPTION

The Passat Wagon is a 4-door, 5-passenger wagon, available in 3 trims, ranging from the Komfort to the Komfort SULEV.

All trims are equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 200-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 22-mpg in the city and 31-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Nov 26, 2010]
Robert Doeden
Model Reviewed: VW Passat Stationwagon TDI

Strength:

I bought this car for the diesel motor. Gets an average of 35 mpg around town and 41 on the highway. This is only a small 2.0 four cylinder motor but has the guts of a V-6 gas engine. Great handling.

Weakness:

Have had to replace both front drive shafts.

I've been well satisfied with the car. Will replace only when VW offers another Passat TDI.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 04, 2010]
Bob Hiscott
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon

Strength:

Great styling
Comfortable

Weakness:

Unreliable
Poor quality
Poor drive train

After owning several Volvo Wagons, I though it time for a change. I went with my wife to a VW Dealership while she was looking for a new car. In the showroom was a brand new 2008 Passat Wagon. I was not really familiar with the model but once I sat in it, looked at the fit and finish, I was quite impressed. I took it for a test drive, and was even more impressed. The price was substantially lower than that of the Volvo.

Now less than 2 years later, I can honestly say that it is without a doubt the worst car I have ever owned.

It all started out last winter when the dealer installed a set of winter tires and rims. Immediately after driving it off the lot there was a tremendous amount of noise and vibration. After several trips back to the dealer and being told that this was normal for snow tires I went to another dealership. They said that the lug nuts were not correct for the rims - and oh by the way, your transmission has some play in it and we'll have to replace it - less than 30,000 kms. Went back to the dealership who installed the snows and they eventually changed the lug nuts, and put a new set of tires on the car. It was better, but there was still noise.

In the spring I put the summer tires back on and had the car serviced. Again complained about the noise and vibration. According to the dealer - everything checks out.

The noise is now getting unbearable. Took it back to the dealer. This time they replaced the wheel bearings. A little better, but not right. They are now saying it's uneven tire wear. The tires were not rotated properly! All service has been down on schedule by VW Dealers.

Two weeks later I'm driving along the QEW in Toronto during rush hour and I loose all power. Of course I'm in the outside lane and because of the construction there is no shoulder to pull off on to. The car gets towed to my dealer and I am told that the driveshaft has failed - new driveshaft is installed. STILL NOT RIGHT.

Everyone who gets into the car asked about the noise.

Today I called VW Customer Service to express my concerns about the quality of the vehicle and was told that as long as the dealer was fixing the problems that there is nothing that they can do.

The car now has 45,000 kms on it.

Similar Products Used:

V70 Volvo

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 07, 2010]
lee
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon

Strength:

Stylish

Weakness:

extremely unreliable

have had the throttle body, throttle body wiring, and steering column replaced. The car has broken down on my 5 times over the past year and a half. Horrible car. I'm totally bummed I have the car for a four year 60,000 mile lease.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Feb 16, 2010]
Michael
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon Komfort

Strength:

Great fuel economy, very good interior room, great power, everything where you need it.

Weakness:

Power front passenger seat not offered, dual climate control not offered.

This is the first Volkswagon I have ever owned. It has turned out to be a surprising joy to drive. Craftmanship and finish is superb in and out. Handling is easy and effortless. Mileage is great averaging around 30 on the highway and 25 around town. The turbo does what a turbo is meant to do. Power is better than expected for this four cylinder engine in all situations. It is very easy to hit 80-90 MPH without noticing it - I think they mean it when they say top spead is 130 MPH. There is some road noise from the tires (OEM and different tires may reduce this) at higher speeds, but not too bad. Four adult can ride in comfort in this car and still have the rear for luggage. Put the second row seats down and you can put around 72 CF of stuff in the back - and I do regularly. Controls are typical for a German car and placed where you want them with a minimum of flashiness. The navigation system is easy to use and usually gets you where you want to go (haven't figured out how it is updated, yet). Audio system is more than adequate. Service at our dealer (Keffer in Huntersville,NC) has been excellent. Car has 23,000 miles on it in less than a year - I drive it a lot - so I'll update when and if any service issues come up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 14, 2008]
BigBoy
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon

This is my second Passat Wagon. It's the turbo with tiptronic. Great gas mileage, handles well, excellent acceleration, comfortable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 27, 2007]
punkin2267
Model Reviewed: passat wagon

Strength:

It's a nice looking car, VW customer relations is very easy to work with. It's got alot of great features.

Weakness:

The more features it has, the more can and will go wrong with it. Parts of the car just seem to break, almost like it's made out of cheap plastic. It's definitely not worth the price.

I bought my Passat in May of 2007, it has 5400 miles on it and it's been nothing but problems. I've had to bring it in to the dealership 4 times now to be repaired. I owned a Jetta before that and that vehicle also had issues. Against my better judgement I traded the Jetta in for the Passat and have been so regretful ever since. I would highly suggest to anyone that buys one of these cars, to really research it before you do it. Check out the dealership that you want to buy the car from also, on the BBB. It would probably be in your best interest to purchase the extended warranty on the vehicle also, that way your covered later on, if you purchased a car that ends up having a lot of issues. In the end, I will never buy another VW again, it's not worth all the time and energy I spend in the service department getting it fixed.

Similar Products Used:

2003 VW Jetta

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 22, 2004]
Sam DEC
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon 4cly GLS

Strength:

We use the wagon for weekend travel to ski areas. It holds all of our gear and has no problem in snow. Has plenty of power over mountain roads. Car handles as well as Audi which I have owned in the past. Has been very realiable to date 35k miles, only small problems with the sun roof track. Dealer service is OK but not great.

Weakness:

Turbo lag off the line is a problem with this engine. Drive this car before purchase with this in mind, you may want to go with the 6cyl.

Great interior room and finish for a car at this price range.

Similar Products Used:

Audi A4

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 2003]
kevangi
Model Reviewed: Passat Wagon GLX

Strength:

Styling, options, fit and finish. And 4yr 50k mile warranty.

Weakness:

Gas consumption(could be my fault) Difficult clutch Could use some more power

I have an 18 month old and needed a car with some room. I was looking into SUVs but they cost too much and don't drive like cars. So I decided on the Passat Wagon GLX in a 5 speed. I have almost 5k miles on it and so far no problems. The car drives great especially in a stick. My brother has an 03 passat glx 4motion and drives like a slug compared to mine. The vehicle is loaded with options(leather, sunroof, memory seats, climate control, monsoon system, power folding mirrors and more...). The only things I dislike about my passat is it burns too much fuel, im getting 20 mpg on the highway. EPA estimated at 26mpg, but they probably tested at 55mph in 5th. Another thing is that the clutch's engagement point is a little inconsistent. Never know exactly where it is, I basically have to hear the car to get a smooth start, but Ive gotten used to it. In addition, the passat could use some more power(190 hp from a 2.8 V6), especially with what the competition is offering, however you will not find a better looking, nicely finished car in this price range. Jap cars just don't look as nice.

Similar Products Used:

01 Jetta, Audi 100, Subaru Outback

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 28, 2003]
Bob Johnson
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen Passat Wagon 1.8T

Strength:

Interior. Ride. Safety features.

Weakness:

Mechanically unsound, poorly engineered. If you buy this car and intend to keep it beyond two years, get the extended warranty and check the terms and conditions.

More problems with our 2002 Passat Wagon. From the defective coils (still not officially recalled) to the recall for the "tire guard," this car has produced a steady stream of problems. We just brought it in at 11,700 miles to have the rear brake rotors replaced (under warranty, thank goodness). The car is making a high-pitched squeaking noise now and it gets absolutely horrible gas mileage. (The shifting of the automatic transmission is completely inefficient, revving the engine sometimes to 7,000 RPM before shifting.) The rear speakers on the "premium" Monsoon sound system are worthless.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 27, 2003]
dscaplan
Model Reviewed: Volkswagon Passat 1.8T

Strength:

Very nice styling, excellent interior layout with thoughtful controls and gauges. Great road feel with reasonable acceleration for a 4 cyclinder

Weakness:

Failed Ignition coil at 10,300 miles and abysmal customer service from VW of America. The "customer advocates" in the call center are ill informed, and rude to callers with questions that go beyond the "customer advocate's" script. I have never been so mistreated by a customer representative + supervisor. VW seems ambivalent to fact that a customer spends $26K dollars for their product and is concerned that the vehicle may be unsafe at highway speeds. The car has been parked a VW dealer for over 3 weeks waiting for parts. VW, thus far has refused to sanction the replacement of defective coils until threatened with a 93A (MA Lemon Law)notice drafted by a law firm.

I was drawn to the Passat Wagon for its Styling, Comfort, and Road Handling. I was duped by all the reviews (circa Summer 2002) into believing that the Passat rivaled Honda and Toyota in quality and customer service

Similar Products Used:

Honda's, Subaru's, Toyota's, always had positive experiences with parent companies, all defects were handled promptly with recall notices and, if warranted, calls were met with courteous company repre

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com