Acura NSX Sports

Acura NSX Sports 

DESCRIPTION

The NSX is available with a 3.0-liter DOHC 24-valve V-6 with 252 hp or a 3.2-liter DOHC 24-valve V-6 with 290 hp. It also has an option of a 6-speed manual or a 4-speed automatic(available only on the 3.0 liter engine). This car is rear wheel drive.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 38  
[Jan 25, 2007]
Phil
Model Reviewed: NSX-T

Strength:

Cornering. Braking. Fit and finish. High performance limit.

Weakness:

So-so acceleration. Understeer. Limited after-market products

I recently found myself in a position where I could buy any car I wanted. I'd considered a Ferrari 430, but know that maintenance is a nighmare bacause my father once owned one. It cost him $500 just to get a mechanic to get within 10' of it with a wrench. I'd also considered an SL65, but it would have cost more than my house and didn't have a pool. The Corvette C6 is beautiful, but commonplace. I even looked at a Lotus Esprit, but didn't like the ride or the low comfort level. Then, I test drove the NSX and kicked myself for wasting my time looking at anything else. It has all the comfort of the SL65, but at one-fourth the price. This car is perfect for Colorado Mountain roads. This car is perfect, just perfect. It's at home on city streets, and handles like a dream at the upper curve. I've pushed this car close to its performance limit, and was only alarmed once. I WON'T oversteer, no matter how much I tried to bring the tail around. Only once, did it threaten to swap ends with alarming speed, but just letting off the throttle brought the tail around instantly. I wouldn't recommend trying to drift in an NSX. It takes a lot to get the tail to let go, and once it does, it comes around quick. Thankfully, this car is very forgiving and won't bite you unless you really push it. I'd driven the stretch of highway between Loveland and Estes Park with a buddy of mine who was in an '04 Corvette out of the Lingenfelter shop. He was all over me on the straights, but could't come close during cornering and I was able to brake whole car-lengths after him. It'll hang fairly well out of the hole with alost any challenger, provided they're driving stock. It will out-corner and brake quicker anything you're likely to meet so long as they're willing to hang with you into a few curves.

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 05, 2005]
Moral Armor
Model Reviewed: NSX

Strength:

Looks, fit and finish, broad powerband (awesome passing power), phenomenal comfort and elegant from one end to the other.

Weakness:

Stock power is fun but not thrilling.

I bought my NSX to tide me over after owning a Lamborghini Countach for four years. I was busy writing Moral Armor and needed to pare down expenses. Now, after four years of driving and looking to buy either an Aston Martin DB9 or a 360 Modena, I'm having a hard time letting go. The NSX is truly one of the world's finest cars, and while people look, I don't get mobbed. I don't freak out when it starts to rain, or panic leaving it at Best Buy or Kroger, and I have yet to see a maintenance bill that has to be financed. Imagine a super car you can have fixed anywhere. Most wouldn't know how similar the NSX handles to the Countach, on much slimmer tires. The new triple-compound Michelin Pilot Sport A/S's stick like glue and last 17k miles now. It's like a baby Countach.

Similar Products Used:

87' Lamborghini Countach QV, 86' Lotus Esprit Turbo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 22, 2004]
pporter
Model Reviewed: Acura NSX

Strength:

"Wow" looks, amazing powerband, handles like it is on rails. Acura reliability. Best bang for the buck in looks, ride, and performance.

Weakness:

Everyone wants to touch it.

This is my second NSX, my previous on was a 1995 model. my next sportscar will probably be another NSX. There is not another civilian sports car made that can compare to this one. Are there faster cars from 0-60? Sure! Are there equivalent 0-60 for less? You bet! But there is not one out there, NO NOT ONE, that can perform at ALL levels like this car for the price. Porsche? Fun to drive, but beats the crap out of you every time you run it. The NSX rides very comfortably while still providing amazing performance. How about a Ferrari? Maybe, but take a 2nd mortgage out when it needs a repair. Can a Corvette beat it? Maybe, but they are a dime a dozen. The NSX has the "wow" factor every time I take it out for a spin. Can a Mustang beat it? Doubt it, but if a souped up one can, does anyone really care? It is still just a Mustang. Most people that can afford to buy an NSX, can afford to buy most any other car, but they choose the NSX. It is the total package sports car exotic.

Similar Products Used:

911 Turbo, 3000GT VR4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 26, 2004]
six7777
Model Reviewed: Yellow NSX-T

Strength:

Everything...

Just got my Brand New 2004 Yellow NSX. Bought it in San Fran and drove it down the coast back to LA. It is awesome!! I had a 1993 NSX before, so I knew what to expect. I love the color and mine has the yellow interior, which looks great. I love the handling and the removable roof panel. The seating position is really fantastic. If you haven't driven one and ever get the chance to, don't pass it up. I have owned many cars, but this is by far my all time favorite. I would love to meet up with other NSX owners in the Orange County area..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 25, 2004]
sparkso
Model Reviewed: NSX Type R

Strength:

Acceleration, Handling, ALL. Also the noise it makes. Recaros. Aerodynamics. Its weight.

Weakness:

Very difficult to get insured.

If the Acura NSX can't beat the Z06s or mustangs or any other domestic "super cars", then the NSX Type R can. Even in straight roads. The Type R badge had made the family car for your granny (The Civic) into a pure race brand. Can you imaging what can the Type R magic do to something that has already been classified as a Super Car? I can't really describe how good it is here. The R tuned engine is just soooooooo great. Suspensions are just right. Handling is superb. I also have the Porsche GT3 in my garage, but sorry to say, its boring compared to NSX-R.

Similar Products Used:

Porsche GT3, VW Bora, Subaru WRX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 11, 2003]
daveeeboi
Model Reviewed: NSX

Strength:

Handling, MPG (18/24), Quality, Craftsmanship, Reliability, Comfort, Acceleration

Weakness:

High price, a bit underpowered

What's wrong with you losers insulting the NSX. You don't even own the car, you're just jealous you can't afford one. Japanese cars are so much better than domestices. Power and straight line speed is not everything. If you really want to test a car, take it to the track. Gas mileage, reliability, practicality, among other things, are also critical factors in determining the overall strength of a car. The NSX is good at everything. Its handbuilt as well, and you don't see one every six miles. When was the last time someone said that about a Corvette? By the way, I'm an editor for Car and Driver magazine; I know my way around cars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2003]
ladell eutsey

Strength:

521hp 3791bft 11.92 123mph 1/4s 200mph! est. road car handling/ evrything

Weakness:

not alot of power stock but really worth it

very nice car. never owned anything of the sort. also own bmw 325ci, only drive the nsx, to the job to the store evrywhere.I have recently added turbonetics t-51 turbocharger, 10-1 headers,cat-back exaust system,tunable ecu, light weight aluminum wheels, new street radial tires, and ot os extras including full race suspension. all this equipment adding $20,000 plus

Similar Products Used:

none at all

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 10, 2003]
ladell eutsey

Strength:

521hp 3791bft 11.92 123mph 1/4s 200mph! est. road car handling/ evrything

Weakness:

not alot of power stock but really worth it

very nice car. never owned anything of the sort. also own bmw 325ci, only drive the nsx, to the job to the store evrywhere.I have recently added turbonetics t-51 turbocharger, 10-1 headers,cat-back exaust system,tunable ecu, light weight aluminum wheels, new street radial tires, and ot os extras including full race suspension. all this equipment adding $20,000 plus

Similar Products Used:

none at all

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 05, 2003]
danny
Model Reviewed: NSX

Strength:

Handling, high revving enjine, seating position, paint job, ergonomics, view of road, ease of targa top.

Weakness:

no indash cd player.

once i first drove it the one thing that impressed me was the ease of using it. While driving i do not want to exit it. Everyone stares at and asks what is it ? It is not as fast as my z06 but when was the last time you stopped at a red light and saw another nsx next to you--exactly !!!

Similar Products Used:

corvette z06

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 22, 2003]
Andrew
Model Reviewed: NSX

Strength:

none

Weakness:

my corvette could beat it

My C-5 Z06 is much better than any japanese car ever built. It could wipe the floor with the NSX for almost 30,000 dollars to spare. The smart buyer will not buy this imitation corvette nut go for the real thing that could whoop its butt any day of the week.

Similar Products Used:

2002 Z06 Corvette

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com