Audi TT Sports

TT

The Audi TT is a 2-door, up to 4-passenger luxury sports coupe, or luxury convertible, available in two trims, the 2.0T Prem Plus Coupe quattro S tronic and the 2.0T Prem Plus Roadster quattro S tronic.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 211-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 22-mpg in the city and 31-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (82)

Showing 1-10 of 82  
dmlph   [Aug 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: TT Roadster Quattro
Strength:

Great performance. Excellent gas mileage.

Weakness:

Shoddy workmanship (outside the engine) making the TT roadster a very costly proposition.

TT Roadster is really a standout in a class full of standouts. Audi TT delivers a driving experience unlike no other car. There are no excesses, no unnecessary trappings; just the honest functional necessities. You don't even have to drive the Audi TT to feel its power. One look tells you instinctively that this is absolutely and undeniably an authentic German sports car!

Yes, this a is cute car. Until things start to fall apart. In my humble opinion, FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS BUY AUDI!

I bought the car in April 2000 and for a few months I loved how it drives and how it turned heads wherever I went. Then the trouble started. First it was small, irritating stuff. The lock on the glove box fell off TWICE. Then I learned not to lock it. The right front grill cover came off. I replaced it for $70 and three weeks later, it came off again. So I just left it with the gaping hole at the front. Yes, just small stuff.

Then things started to get worse. In 2007 the power top slowly died. The Audi dealer told me that it would probably cost $2000 or more to replace. I learned to raise and lower the top manually. This is good exercise, no big deal. This week, things got more serious. After 9 1/2 years the car has only 68,000 miles on it and runs great. Problem is, I can't afford to keep it maintained. Without warning, the rear window separated from the convertible top, severing the rear defrost wiring in the process. The window is fine. The soft top is in excellent condition as the car has lived in my garage all this time. But the fix is in. Although the window has obviously been glued on to the soft top at the factory, repairing it requires a new top. Cost? $1995 for the new top. $1100 labor. The total cost is $3095, just to have a back window. I have pics showing the ugly and expensive mess.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
orthotist   [Apr 22, 2008]
Model Reviewed: TT Roadster 225HP
Strength:

Gas Mileage is around 31mpg on hwy,AWD drives through the snow like nothing, turbo power, top goes down in less than 3 seconds

Weakness:

Electrical problems are the main problems with this car. Seems like there is always a dash light on for something. Too many sensors for its own good.

Excellent car if you only want a two seater

Make sure you buy an extended warranty because of all the little things and with the dash lights coming on for small things

Similar Products Used: 2004 Nissan 350z
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Yannis   [Sep 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TT 225 Bhp
Strength:

Powerful, good looking

Weakness:

Electrical.. After buying my TT, the Engine Managment System light came up on the dashboard. I took the car to an Audi workshop. Problem got sorted... 50 miles out of the workshop, the light comes up again.. I am starting to get annoyed, specially on my way to france for some well deserved holidays... during this 3000 miles journey I have read everything on the dashboard, breakpad to be changed ! how come they are brand new.. :-(, light bulb to be changed.. how come they are on and its night time ? :-(.... I came to the point where I start ignoring these warning as I think they dont relate to any problems... at all.. Now the Turbo seems to have some problems as the accelarator does not reply to my command... My TT is going for anothor hospital check next month.. verdict, if it carries on, I will just sell it.. by the way it was only 70,000 miles.. should a car at this prices (brand new) be a little more reliable ?

Fantastic car... so many electrical problems !... I purchase an Audi TT 225 bhp 2 monnths ago.. best ride I have ever had at an affordable price.. but Oh my God.. computer goes mad !

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Stephen   [Aug 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT Quatro Roadster
Strength:

Hot looking car!!!

Weakness:

Electrical!!! Electrical!!! Electrical!!!

Love the looks of the car!!!! Unless you want to spend a ton each month on repairs, don't purchase this car. The electrical is crazy. Window rolling up and down on their own. Hazard lights coming on and off. You name it and if it is electrical it has probally happened.

Similar Products Used: Audi A4
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
aseltzer   [Aug 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT 180 FWD
Strength:

Very satisfying driving characteristics, top quality materials throughout, unique design and styling that, despite newer Audi desgin elements, still does not look dated, a well proven 1.8T turbo engine that can be software or firmware tuned to achieve even greater performance, highly usable horsepower and torque band that kicks in at low rpm and extends all the way up to the redline, minimal turbo lag which disappears at the rapidly rached 2500 rpm mark.

Weakness:

Top down driving enjoyment is conducive to overexposure to the sun.

Less than a year after my 225 Quattro Coupe came off lease, I started to miss the TT. Just recently, I picked up a 2001 180 FWD Roadster, just to make things a bit different. I was concerned that I might be disappointed with the 180 performance, having had a 225 before, but this is not the case. The 180 Roadster rocks, like any TT will. Likewise, I don't miss the sixth gear as the ratios are so nicely spaced and the power is more than ample with the 180. I also rationalized the 180 thinking that I could always software tune it to add 30 horsepower and perhaps another 60 ft lbs of torque, but I am even questioning the need to do that. Having driven the 180 in adverse, stormy conditions, the handling was unaffected in a way that made it hard to tell the difference from the Quattro car. Sure, the Audi Quattro system has its virtues in all driving conditions, but the FrontTrak car still performs admirably and of course, still features ESP stability control.

Now a two time owner of the Audi TT, I am inclined to state that this is one of the best sports cars ever designed - period. Handling in either roadster or coupe variation is as expected in any German sports car. Acceleration is commendable if not comparable to its competitors, but anyone who buys a TT for its performance characteristics alone does not fully understand the TT. The car is a design tour de force that deviated little from its concept car roots. Its styling is still being emulated, to nowhere near its beauty, in a host of other cars. A glass windscreen, real glass rear window, excellent audio, top notch build quality and entirely unique interior make this an outright stellar sports car and certainly one of the best bargains ever in a car of this class.

As with any car, especially a sports car, the prospective used car buyer needs to carefully scrutinze the car and ensure its working order. If you find a TT in well maintained condition, jump on it. Even a fiver year old TT remains a state of the art car and thrills like a new car.

The TT remains a great car and, based on it timeless looks and performing characteristics which have withstood the test of time, is a car you will not quickly tire of. If reasonably well maintained, the TT should still have a very useful lifetime and a design that will remain unique. The TT is a drivers car for a driver who sees beyond its mere performance and sees it for the work of art that it is.

This is a car I actually did buy again.

Similar Products Used: 2002 Audi TT Quattro Coupe 225
2002 Audi A4 3.0
2006 Volkswagen Jetta GLI
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
glen freyer   [Jul 25, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TT
Strength:

Over-all very good, mpg, etc

Dash needed replacement a few months after buying, bushing need replacement other wise very good.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
TracyLK   [May 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT Roadster
Strength:

Fast, fun, comforatble.

Weakness:

Oh so many problems. Replaced turbo at 30,000 now at 39,000 needs to be replaced again. 5 sensors replaced. Roof leaked. Myriad of electrical problems.
It has been in the shop consistanlty every few months with some sort of issue. Will not buy another Audi. When the Audi Assure warranty ends, so will my Audi ownership.

When I don't have mechanical issues...Great!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Tipit-the-TT   [May 18, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT Roadster 225HP
Strength:

Good acceleration. Excellent interior. Bose stereo is a must. Heater is excellent and doesn't start until car is warm. Adjustable steering column is great. Good amount of legroom. Four-year warranty with all repairs covered. Beautiful design. In-dash controls and indicators are useful.

Weakness:

Intermittent electrical problems: brake lights suddenly went out but blinkers worked; trunk and gas cap buttons stopped working for a day; middle console door doesn’t always open. Things that had to be replaced: CD changer door lock and high-tone horn. There are blind spots with roof up. Windshield wipers, whether old or new, do not slide across windshield smoothely. Manual seat adjustment is annoying. Both glove compartment and middle console are very small. Having to take Audi to service provider more often than my old Jetta.

Huge fan of German-made automobiles. For purchase of an impractical car, the Audi TT was the first choice. Purchased used, one owner, with 8400 miles only and under original factory warranty. Original intent was to buy a brand new TT but this was an excellent deal (maybe). With used purchase, loaner car is not offered when car is in for warranty repair. As a commuter car, it is easy to park and makes for a quick getaway. Aesthetically, the TT is absolutely beautiful. Upgrade leather option is a must. Seats are much softer and more comfortable. Excellent heater, keeps interior compartment warm while top is down. Heated seats are a must. Able to ride with top down without getting cold. Unfortunately, Audi authorized service providers are few and far between and are NOT very good. Service received has been abysmal. Only provider located in the Seattle proper area, broke the mechanism that controls the windows during roof opening when trying to replace a warped passenger-side window seal. Had to wait a full week for the replacement part. If thinking of purchasing a used TT, make sure to try every single button to ensure each are working properly. Make sure to learn how everything works by test-driving a new TT so when it comes time to buy the used one you know how everything should work. Buy the extended warranty, as I believe electrical issues may be a reality. With all the negatives, I still recommend the Audi TT 225HP with all upgrades.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   [Oct 28, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 180 Roadster
Strength:

style...style...style...turns heads everywhere, everday unless you beat your cars and race, it has plenty of power just a blast to drive! roomy enough front seat and trunk for a roadster

Weakness:

squeaks a bit no other problems to date

I can't say enough about this car. It is just a blast to drive. If you take into consideration that it's all wheel drive and convertible, it makes up for the lack of power, however suitable.

Similar Products Used: Volkswagen Corrado G60 Acura Integra RS Mistubishi Eclipse GSX
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
xizor000   [Oct 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Audi TT /coupe Quattro
Strength:

Style, even beter when you throw on 18' wheels. Handling is incredible. Quattro is a must, sticks in rain when it shouldn't. Brakes very good. Love the Hid Xenon lights Doesnt' attract as much attention as my old car, but then again my old car had 19' rims and yellow graphics. Definatly more of a luxury car. Best of all I got it for $20 grand with only 23k miles and all the options can't beat that.

Weakness:

Does make creaky noises, low end torque does suck, but after the chip upgrade it ups the torque +40, hp +30. Don't park it near any other cars. scratches and dents show up very easy. b/c the car is basically one big piece of sheet metal. especial the rear bumper, or the lack of it. The alarm could be better, i like beeping alarms, not ones that honk.. very annoying. and mine doens't seem to activate itself after the designated time. --ohh back seat is useless, except for storage space. ---requires 91 octain gas.. and since no one sells 91 here, gotta get 93.. pretty expensive

OK, I’ve basically wanted this car since i first saw it in "99" when i first started college. Style is amazing. well 4 years later, graduated and found it used for $20,000 23k miles, mint con. 180 coupe.. I've had the car for about a month, and after the initial awkwardness of learning how to drive stick, this car is now a blast to drive. Interior is amazing, the steering wheel i think is the best part, nice leather wrapped, solid feel, brakes are very firm, maybe a little too firm.. bose stereo is a must. very good sound. Can't wait to chip it.

Similar Products Used: -test drove a 350Z, basically a bite off of the TT style , Way faster, but interior feels cheap. May have bought it but it's too much money for me right now. --Also looked at RX-8, and Lancer evo 8 again too much money to drop right now. also it's the first year model.. prob lots of bugs. -Z3 please,, that car was cool in like 1995.. -S2000, sick car but dont' look to good stock, needs veilside body kit, and 19's. -BMW 3 series, yeah if i wanted to look like every other yuppie in long island i would get one in silver. haha too common around here.......
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 82  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com